Topic: Cheap Suit Hire or Buying

Good'ay i got my GF's graduation coming up and i have to be buy/hire a suit.
To be honest i will only ever wear it once and kinda want to hire but my gf is pushing me to buy one. Is there anywhere i can buy a suit for a couple of hundred, i got a shirt and tie and shoes or hire for cheaper.
Ps i hate suits.
pps. arggggggggggggg
Lowes will hook you up.

Two suits from Lowes for the boys at our wedding cost $272, That's $136 a suit. Much less than hiring and most hiring places mean you have to hire the WHOLE kit which is way too much for a simple graduation - plus you get to keep it
sup jiggers!

i just went through this as well, but i had to have a suit for 4 wears, so hiring was no good:

a few mates went the super cheap option from lowes, nothing wrong with that;
lowes suits didnt look any different to te more expensive suits:

i spent a bit more on a suit from a place at carindale as i plan to get a few wears out of mine, was about $400 all up in the end
Ross
If you can't tell the diff between a lowes suit then why buy a $400 one?

You sir are a fool
judge
u could probably fly to thailand and get one custom made for $120

I remember at my school formal a few kids hired some and never took them back, all they lost was the $50 deposit
Ross
And there is heaps of difference in suits, 40% looks and 60% comfort. If you spend a little more and don't get a plastic fantastic you will be a lot more comfortable wearing it. You will sweat profusely and mess up your fag gel!
judge
If you can't tell the diff between a lowes suit then why buy a $400 one? You sir are a fool

He said he wants to get more mileage out of it
well, i spent a bit more for nicer material and for it to be better made:
im sure i was more comfortable in my suit at the wedding on the weekend standing around in the sun than others were

a suit from lowes is still a suit is what i was getting at:

im sure a suit expert like ross could easily identify the difference at 100 paces

last edited by Spook at 11:10:55 19/Nov/08
or you could make one from tree bark, hemp and other natural fibres like judge probably did.
Ross
4 times isn't mileage, 10,000 times is mileage. And seriously I have never seen a lowes suit but if they are only good for 4 wears then buy something else.
haha nf, probably stores the hair from his hair brush and weaves it into a suit

also ben sherman suits are hawt

last edited by paveway at 11:14:17 19/Nov/08

last edited by paveway at 11:15:58 19/Nov/08
Yeah Lowes is fine. Otherwise, we went to a hire place across the road from Suncorp Stadium at Milton. They seemed to do good work and have a good range.

Ross
haha no, i have a wardrobe full of them but I haven't had to put one on in 4 years. I hate suits!

Actually, what are your measurements? I probably have a decent suit, packaged shirt etc.. you can buy for $50 :)

I don't fit half of mine anymore because of umm errr cock size.

I'm 198cm, 95cm in the arm and i forget the neck.
judge
or you could make one from tree bark, hemp and other natural fibres like judge probably did.

Whats wrong with that?
id say you could probably fit 3 jigzies in a ross suit, maybe 3.5
Hubby refuses to wear ties, so he wasn't about to spend a lot on a suit he was going to wear once. If you like good quality and want one to wear every now and again invest in a nice quality one. Otherwise cheap ftw
Good'ay i got my GF's graduation coming up
you don't need a suit for primary school graduation
Hire it. Why buy cheap crap when you can spend that amount to hire a nice suit. Considering you're only to be wearing it once.
Jigz - just hire it.. if you buy a suit to wear once it will forever sit in your cupboard collecting dust, fading away and being a constant reminder how you could've put that money towards crack instead.

Unless you're wearing a suit day in and day out then there's no need to buy one - even a Lowes special that will fall apart after it's first dry clean.
It's a graduation. It is cheaper to buy a crappy suit and maybe use it again than to hire one
wear your birthday suit, cheap as!
hawter too!
or perhaps cooler
buy a crappy suit. wearing suits is for fags so minimise your fag outlay.
Don't buy a f***in s*** house suit from lowes. Do you buy anything else from lowes? Why buy your number one look like the s*** item from lowes.

You can get a decent pure wool suit from Roger David for about $400. Charcoal, 2 or 3 button will serve you well. Make sure they tailor it up a bit so it fits you properly.

The $800-$1000 boss/whatever suits a david jones/myers etc are s*** house. "Off the rack" designer suits are not good at all, they are of poor standard and mediocre materials. If you want to buy a nice designer suit then spend around $2k.

Getting one tailored in Thailand is a good idea if you are ever over there. Vietnam even more so you can get some good quality suits (and also s*** ones so you have to find out where to go).

You probably wont wear the slacks that often but the jacket can be good for nights out etc.

If you don't want to spend much money then hire one, don't get a piece of s*** bogan lowes suit. All you'll be missing is a mullet and a powers bitter.
Ross
Singapore efor suits mate, not thai
I got about 4-5 suits made in vietnam for about 130 each.
http://www.adongsilk.com/main.html

They also do it over the tubes - give measurements, order. I've never ordered online so I dunno how trustworthy it is.
nitro speaks truth
suits, shoes, tampons... what's next?
you missed hand cream