Topic: Storm thread!
here Gold Coast are starting storm now, is it start there?

we got f*** all here aye, sky looks blue as over the city (from coorparoo)

just looking at bom now, looks like you goldies are getting messed up heh
been damn hot last few nights.
Killer humidity.
I hate those melboure players
looks a little dark
jogging sucked today. start sweating within bout 3 mins.

It looks about to rain here though (tingalpa).
im at Runaway bay and we have had 5 mins of rain so far but looks like theres a big cell coming i can only hope f*** it was hot down here today
As long as there is no hail, Im all for rain like this.
Yeah pissing down right now.
Nothing better than watching kids go ape in the rain
Sipawhore

ok in bris looks like its gonna piss down, GOOD TIMES!
I'm at work at griffith uni nathan campus.. Pissing down outside and the thunder is booming pretty hard.
Light Rain at Logan... Sparse lightning but nothing note-worthy.
LOL lights flickering and photocopiers turning off and on.. must be hitting pretty hard outisde.
Foxtel just died :(

Rain and Thunder and Lightning etc here in Bulimba. I swear lightning hit one of the trees in the park cause DAYUM that was a loud crack of thunder.
GuessWhosBackAgain
Your avatar deeply disturbs me.
Yeah at bulimba my comp just switched off. Elite gamers like me don't let the weather get in the way.
PICS OR LYING
Anono
in bulimba too and i actually saw a lightning strike hit the hill just up from our place, so yes it was close boys.

actually reset my s***ting billion modem, nothing else seems to have been affected. not even my s***ty clock radio lost the time.
Which hill - one behind Oxford Street or up where the school is?
Ross
hawthorne yeh saw that strike too, set off my dam car alarm
isnt it a bit redundant putting thread in a thread title
Sweet storm, at Kallangur we got heavy winds, rain, thunder and some fork lighting. Had the coolest cloud swirls going before the storm hit.
Anono
was up the top of the hill with the school.
that would have to be the most intense storm we've ever had here. It hit Bunya like a ton of bricks.
I'll post some pics and a vid up once we get power back on.
We got absolutely raped in burpengary - horizontal rain, massive winds and stuff. Was almost like a mini cyclone. We lost power about 2hrs back and looks like we'll be down until tomorrow at the earliest, if the last time this happened is any indication.

what really sucks the most is I was down to 800 of 2100 to get on to blackrock :( was so going to hit 74 on my warrior tonight too!
We were visiting friends at Redbank Plains and were just about to leave when it hit. The house is brand new (they were laying the turf yesterday) and the driveway's not ready to drive on so we couldn't put the cars in the garage :(

I think the car is ok. Haven't had a chance to get a good look yet.

Wildest storm I've seen for a few years.
work at morayfield got cained! could see the entire sky just go dark, and sorta greenish, although i didn't see any hail. once it hit the it was so thick, could barely see across the street.
that's awesome cerb
We got calls from family on the northside. Water damage inside, water dripping through light fittings, no power, and the list goes on.

Sucks to be on the northside!
Always sucks to be on the Northside.

BTW those peeps need turf laying lessons.
damn, nice Cerb ... I miss those storms so much :( Dont get them where I am
Any
Same story here. Fam at McDowall got cained. Water everywhere etc. Over 60k homes without power atm over that side of town.
Yeah, what was with that turf laying?
rrrocket
cerb that looks like the same street I live in at Redbank plains. Is that Tait ave?
you could be related!
rrrocket: yeah it is. how could you tell that through all that rain? or did you recognise the patchwork front lawn? :P
rrrocket
recognised the houses and well it is my street so i should know lol
who said you couldn't drive on the driveway? theyre full of s***, you could have
I didn't get any pics, but one guy in my street lost his garage door, his neighbours lost their fence and a 30ft tree fell on their house, woman up the top of our street has a massive tree lying across her driveway. Big branch off one of our trees has flown from one side of the house to the other. My sister and her fiance just moved into a house 2 days ago and had 3 trees fall down, 2 of them are in their neighbours kitchen lol. Good thing my dad's a tree lopper so he's out clearing up our street for us.
power got owned for about 12 hours here :(
Yea, our power was off from 5pm last night til 5:15 this morning.
strathpine didn't loose power but it looks like parts of bray park did.
We just got power back about 10 mins ago - got in from brekkie at mcdonalds & everything came to life just after we stepped inside.

It's absolute carnage around Burpengary, with totally uprooted trees all over the place, the local Coles had part of it's sign fall off, lots of debris & other stuff strewn about. I'm just glad I've only got 2 tree branches to deal with!
yeh live at everton park still no power :(
Underground power FTW
judge
This is gods work on your sinful QLDers
yeh we have underground powerlines but the main road we are near doesn't :(
anyone took any good pictures

Linky 2 Photos

last edited by TiT at 10:37:29 17/Nov/08
Ok, We still have no power at home. Lucky the office at Brendale is fine.
I have some interesting video on my iphone but I need power at home so I can get it off with itunes.

In the mean time, here are some pics of my place. We have been very lucky that the house got away with out much damage at all.

http://www.users.bigpond.net.au/et/images/1.jpg

http://www.users.bigpond.net.au/et/images/2.jpg

http://www.users.bigpond.net.au/et/images/3.jpg

http://www.users.bigpond.net.au/et/images/4.jpg

http://www.users.bigpond.net.au/et/images/5.jpg

http://www.users.bigpond.net.au/et/images/6.jpg

This poor little guy was in shock. WTF is my tree??????

http://www.users.bigpond.net.au/et/images/7.jpg

last edited by E.T. at 12:05:30 17/Nov/08
BOHEMION
Narangba Valley was hammered. Lost power for around 12 hours. Damaged roof tiles and leaking roof, Can see the water damage from the inside on the ceiling. Trees snapped and strewn all over the place. Was up at 4am with the chainsaw helping clear massive gum trees that we heard snap ealier in the storm.

My Neighbour had some flooding through out her house

Some lighting strikes close to the house and heaps of hail.

I heard some poor kid around 19 years old, drowned as he was taking photos in a storm drain at Upper Kedron.

Got smashed at Bardon, interrupting our backyard cricket game. Biggest storm I've seen for ages, amazing lightning.
Underground power FTW
sames. Didn't lose power once, couple of blips though.

I heard some poor kid around 19 years old, drowned as he was taking photos in a storm drain at Upper Kedron.

Yeah. I was in chermside and there were several ambulances, fire trucks and a plethora of cop cars. They'd set up an incident command marquee and had the divers go in - they from the road to the creek 3 by 3 - i didn't know what had happened by that stage but i could tell it was no rescue they'd be performing - it'd be a recovery.

Yeh that sucks, but seriously, they're called storm drains for a reason. Keep away from them in storms.
BOHEMION
The PR speaker for the emegency services sounded sad and pissed off that it happened. He said "Large Drains such as these are there for a purpose and not entertainment"

I'm going to head home early to finish off some tree work and try and fix my roof before more rain hits.
lol someone at couriermail must go through youtube looking for videos to steal cos I didn't submit mine to them and yet here it is: http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,24662161-952,00.html
that's quality journalism... in the past they woulda just shown a bit of footage from the 1974 floods ;p
god, just like the rest of us, doesnt care for northsiders;
Hahaha, Spook <3

The storm that passed by us (greenslopes) wasn't too bad... very impressive lightning but nothing too serious.. No hail.
more joanna moisties for spook

you lucky mother f***er
Ospi
Some shots I took around the Samford/Ferny Grove area.

http://img249.imageshack.us/img249/4599/storm055yp9.jpg

http://img235.imageshack.us/img235/6673/storm040tj1.jpg

http://img146.imageshack.us/img146/2806/storm039xf4.jpg

http://img255.imageshack.us/img255/9471/storm033kn2.jpg

http://img412.imageshack.us/img412/9959/storm025xn2.jpg

http://img249.imageshack.us/img249/5963/storm027mz6.jpg

http://img146.imageshack.us/img146/9031/storm051rv3.jpg
in the casino i was fine
rrrocket: yeah it is. how could you tell that through all that rain? or did you recognise the patchwork front lawn? :P

lol was watching vid and saw similar intensity rain and wind that i had seen from my veranda then relised the houses looked familiar to that down the road. Im not on the same street but a stones throw away!
Ospi
:( Found out the guy killed in that drain was a mate from uni. Worked together on our Formula SAE car and shared various units. Last spoke to him on Saturday after our final thermodynamics exam :(.
From the sounds of that he should have been intelligent enough to stay away from big drains when there is a huge ass f***off storm bucketing down :/
i wonder if our favourite little arab was out on that expedition!
its very sad and such a waste. all that talent down the drain.
dafugg
Got power back yesterday evening at around 7pm. Mum's house didn't get power back until 11.30pm last night.

I spent most of the storm holding a 2.5 storey shed door closed because it wouldn't lock. In retrospect it was stupid as the entire thing is made out of steel. Wind was so strong it came through a window in the back of the shed and lifted the door and it's passenger up for a few seconds.
its very sad and such a waste. all that talent down the drain

I shouldn't laugh but that's awesome
I spent most of the storm holding a 2.5 storey shed door closed because it wouldn't lock. In retrospect it was stupid as the entire thing is made out of steel. Wind was so strong it came through a window in the back of the shed and lifted the door and it's passenger up for a few seconds.

it would have been a better use of your time to video it with your mobile phone so if it did fly off into the sky it could be submitted to the courier mail's storm blog.

haha nf
dafugg
Hey ET where do you work in brendale? Our offices there didn't even lose power. The UPS unit I connected to didn't even register a blip on the AC power graph during the storm.
might have only been a brown out. switch mode gear doesn't normally care if the line voltages drop. i think in theory so long as it stays at or above the battery charge voltage it should work fine.
dafugg, I'm in Hinkler court. The office was fine, thats where I posted from. We only got power on at home (Bunya) at 1:30 this morning.
i only got power back at 10pm tonight, yes 30 mins ago! its pissing down rain but the energex guys still were out there fixing s*** up, top effort under the conditions! we got pretty hammered, my parents live around the corner and their living room roof collapsed, as did 4 others on the street that i know.

best discovery we had when we got home just after the storm (driving in it was s***e) was several 3-8 inch shards of glass embedded in a wall 4m away from a broken window, mind blowing stuff.
Apparently The Gap is a warzone!
KRudd even diverted his flight to see it!
Freaking crazy! Contaminated local water, no power, 7,000 families/people (forget which) out on the streets!

I am counting my stars living in the innerish city on a hill!
Last I heard (Radio this morn) it was 3000 people in the disaster relief centre.
I wonder if China is going to send us any international Aid?

Little bit of stuff in your water isn't going to kill you, but I would be boiling it first if I were in the area, just incase... yet i'll drink out of many running creeks/streams when camping. Go Figure.

My Mate didn't have power till yesterday lunch then lost it again mid Afternoon.
No damage to his house or car or anything though, so nothing bad.
I've only just heard about this, and it was a tiny article in a free London Lite newspaper about the contestants of "I'm a Celebrity get me out of here" being slightly maybe possibly in danger as they are situated 70km south of Brisbane or some bollocks!

I checked out some news sites and apparently its been declared a natural disaster area? State of emergency and some such? Anyone from around Enoggera/Ashgrove that can comment on conditions?

last edited by Viper119 at 10:32:36 19/Nov/08
haha, poms love that show!
No idea what area a mate is in Qld, but they had a row of trees along their fenceline... not anymore. Any tree over about 2 meters was basically torn in half or pulled out. Water coming through the light fittings, no power for a while there, water needs boiling to be drinkable.

I was pretty sure he said Brisbane and not Africa anyway.
It's bad Viper, but not as bad as some news are making it out to be.
Well, for the people that lost their homes it would be.

Perspective:
Over 275,000 homes destroyed (beyone repair) during Kartina.
34 homes destroyed (beyone repair) in Brisbane.

With ~4300 being damaged (300 Significant, but repariable, damage)
Lot of work to fix up the rest though.

Logan had hundreds of calls about 'Dangerous' trees since Sunday. We normally get 1 maybe 2 a month.
Perspective:
Over 275,000 homes destroyed (beyone repair) during Kartina.
34 homes destroyed (beyone repair) in Brisbane.

Yeah but the homes in Brisvegas are owned by white people, so that makes it way worse.

No? Too soon?
Did anyones house get damaged? I just got a call from the real estate looking after our place in North Lakes that said its got water leaks and all sorts of s*** happening :(
More coming:

i aint scared of that piss ant storm.
So im not the only one thinking that this is all a big media beat up. I mean seriously, declaring a natural disater with 34 homes destroyed.

No one died (apart from that dude that was doing stupid stuff)

No one is trapped inside collapsed buildings/flooded in.

No one is without food.

Isnt the gap a pretty expensive area to live, so no doubt they all have good insurance.

All in all, i think it just a huge beat up. Sure it would suck for the people there, but they arent dead, they arent gonna starve to death, the should have insurance that will cover all of it (if they dont its there own fault).
bewm
its upped to 78 homes i think.. prolly crack the 100 once a few more houses are actually investigated thourghly..
Yeah just heard 79 homes on the news flash. Still a Drop in the ocean compared to what I would consider a Natural disaster.

The recent fires in Cali destroyed over 1300 homes...
Lynx
i aint scared of that piss ant storm.
How about this one?

http://img246.imageshack.us/img246/5231/bomgb1.png

last edited by Lynx at 23:44:20 19/Nov/08
just got some thunder off in the distance..

was gonna sit up for this one.
in case the soccer (boreball) is one at least there will be something to watch if its an exciting nil-all-draw

refer other thread for times of soccer please
thats f***ing massive that storm! Dams better get some damn water!
its off in the distance near Strathpine, looks to be a doozy :) loving the light show.
yea I'm at Eatons Hill and the thunder's pretty damn loud. Think it'll be a pretty big one. Supposedly flash flooding somewhere
http://www.bom.gov.au/cgi-bin/wrap_fwo.pl?IDQ20038.html

looks bigger than the sunday one

i love it when the warnings roll in...
Cubanpete
Just got hammered at Kelvin Grove. Underneath house was flooding pretty bad. Hope that’s the end of it so I can get some sleep!
simul
Yeah it was pretty hectic on the roads, spent half the night getting home, moggill road went for a bit, ipswich motorway is closed and centenary highway was about to get closed, got through it but only just.
sLiNky
Brisbane airport was closed for quite a while and incoming flights were delayed. Lots of late mail but you get that.
The little creek out the back, aint a little creek no more :(
Is it a big creek?
was working for a bit after indoor cricket last nite, by the time i went to bed, it was pissing down in salisbury something fierce

no flooding downstairs which was surprising
My backyard :-

http://lh6.ggpht.com/_hfe90lHotco/SSRyxhZHrkI/AAAAAAAAFIE/FCQCN1rBpPI/s800/PB190011.JPG
Just saw on Sunrise someone that looked like paveway getting rescued from their car after it got stuck in some water.
bad ass
what a cainer
if it was paveway it would have been a bus
I was watching the morning show (not sunrise, the other channel) and cerbs footage that is in this thread was on.

Should his car and the chick looking around the corner at the bin that was blowen over.

We had heaps of rain at Annerley.
Yeah but stinky how do we know that's not what it always looks like ?
So how about that ICB Traffic today

http://img525.imageshack.us/img525/6097/r3155731397006zj6.jpg
phathead
thats nuts scuzzy!
is that a taxi?
Yeah

Other Angle: http://www.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,,6358684,00.jpg

ABC Article: http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2008/11/20/2424545.htm

last edited by scuzzy at 10:09:38 20/Nov/08

last edited by scuzzy at 10:12:10 20/Nov/08
Yeah but stinky how do we know that's not what it always looks like ?

Waterfront property in tranquil bush setting.

holy s***!@# that is amazing scuzzy. Our Bigpond Cable internet is out AGAIN but after seeing some of the crazy s*** that other people are absorbing I can't really complain too much.
The head engineer may have some explaining on that tunnel, and I know him!
wow, that's unreal.
It sure was a lot of rain, but I thought that tunnel could take anything. guess not
Meh, it doesn't look that Deep.
Nice solid bottom and clean water so your car wont stink as much if the seals do leak a little.
I'm confused about the way the cars are parked, if they got stuck in the water would they be facing in the direction of travel rather than across the lane?

If they are across the lane would they have done it to stop other people from caining down into the puddle. If that was the case, why didn't they reverse up and away when the water level kept rising..
Maybe they floated into that position?
i cried a little about the maxi taxi
lol you're such a f*****
you're pretty emotional when it comes to mr hardware.. anything you want to tell us?
woke up at 2am lastnight and it had to be the heaviest rain i have ever seen/heard.

last edited by ravn0s at 11:00:32 20/Nov/08
woke up?
apparently some people hit the hay before 2am
freaks!
yeah but he said "work up" jim.
jim's not the sharpest tool in the shed.
yeah but why would you be asleep before 2am?!
see now ravnos has edited to frustrate. we see what you're doing!
my humour is lost on you barbarians
it's so lonely up here
it's a trap
had about 1.5m of water descend on our place.. No photos cause im a lamo and was too freaked by the oncoming wall of water. The water just appeared after a neighbours colorbond fence 'broke' like a dam. Apparantly they had about 4-5m backed up behind. It just let go and away everything went...

So lots of mud to trudge through now, good times.. Still got the roof on and nothing important got wet so can be thankful (in bardon btw)
wow, all of this is so foreign to me.
went to bed at 10, didn't lose power, no trees down, no flooding, no damage.
I suppose it's that easy with underground power and living at the top of a hill.
Articuz
The water just appeared after a neighbours colorbond fence 'broke' like a dam. Apparantly they had about 4-5m backed up behind. It just let go and away everything went...

must see photo's..
must read posts...
BOHEMION
More storms forcast for late arve/tonight. Hope I got all the leaks in my roof tiles sorted.
Got woken up at 1:30, gutters overflowed and started flooding ek's room through his windows.

My room was fine so I went back to sleep :D

The garage has a nice layer of water on the floor.
what hood do you live in Stinky?
my street flooded at 2am and I got woken up by our kind neighbours. woot for early morning car manoeuvring through deep water.
Any ICB open yet? Traffic just cleared on Hudson road feeding into Bowen Hills where there is a ICB ramp.
Articuz
must read posts...

so... I still wanna see it.
what hood do you live in Stinky?

Gailes, but I prefer to call it Upper Jindalee Heights.
Severe Flooding around Ipswich.
They are saying the damage bill could top $100
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3070/3044988324_030824129f_o.jpg

Fairly lame but yeah, basically that fence acted like a dam.. it then split its banks, lifting up the panel and sent all the water coming towards out house (its sloping down from the left so its collected water prolly for about 500-800m up and back)
BOHEMION
I can see Bowen Hills section of the ICB From work. Still closed.

thanks for that, gota cross from albion to milton :s
I think i'll be going accros the gateway tonight and tomorrow morning :) ICB being closed = STUPID TRAFFIC THIS MORNING
Well that was fun, had a taxi driver in a hiace pull into my lane (I was on a motorcycle), rock up next to him at the next set of lights, signal him to wind down his window, and he's on the f***ing phone, GREAT!
Yeah traffic this morning was ultra s***e on the freeway even on a bike :/
River's pushing the edge of its banks at Toowong atm.
some girl once told me her grandfather, who was some form of engineer who did s*** after the 1974 flood, claims that coro drive is going to fall into the water if there was another big flood.

sounded like bs but fingers crossed!
you're right in a sense reload, the '1 in 100 year' flood levels around brisbane are pretty high, and a lot of people are gonna be in huge trouble when it hits. Lots have people have forgotten the lessons learnt from the 1974 floods, and have built in places that would have had 5m of water in 1974. Just remember, the 1974 flood isn't the highest recorded in brisbane either...
Just remember, the 1974 flood isn't the highest recorded in brisbane either...

true dat' ho'

the flood line is indicated at the XXXX brewery with a big red mark on the wall
thinking about that now, pretty much everything below about the train track line at milton would be -f***ed-
yup.
Yeah, but we have Wivenhoe Dam now, so if a similar storm/rain formation that caused the 74 Floods to occure we would hardly notice it.

You would need a very significant increase to the amount in 74 to cause the same flooding. The likes of a Storm that hasn't ever been recorded in any similar climate to Brisbane.

I'm not saying that it couldn't happen, because it could. Recorded data of weather patterns is a meer blip on the existance of the Earth.
More rain tonight jeeeez
after the scare we've had with water over the past couple of years which probably isn't over, i don't think i'll ever get sick of the rain anymore
s***, i work right on the river at west end, hadnt noticed how high the river was!!!!

ITS HIGH
Yer the bridge here near my place is almost submerged.. usually clears the water by about 20-25 metres.. really weird to see it so high.
Are those of us all but surrounded by the river here at UQ about to die?
my workplace is right on the river and about 10ft above the river now:

should i panic and start looting yet?
Some pics my mate took

http://i373.photobucket.com/albums/oo180/jimNeso/IMG_0022.jpg

http://i373.photobucket.com/albums/oo180/jimNeso/IMG_0023.jpg

http://i373.photobucket.com/albums/oo180/jimNeso/IMG_0025.jpg

http://i373.photobucket.com/albums/oo180/jimNeso/IMG_0031.jpg
ah Oh... another one's coming:

SEVERE THUNDERSTORM WARNING - SOUTHEAST QUEENSLAND
for DAMAGING WIND and LARGE HAILSTONES
For people in the LOCKYER VALLEY and parts of the GYMPIE, MORETON BAY, IPSWICH CITY, SOUTHERN DOWNS, SUNSHINE COAST, SCENIC RIM, SOMERSET, SOUTH BURNETT and TOOWOOMBA Council Areas.

Issued at 4:14 pm Thursday, 20 November 2008.

http://www.bom.gov.au/fwo/IDQ65621.gif?foolcache=200811201614
The Bureau of Meteorology warns that, at 4:05 pm, severe thunderstorms were detected on weather radar near the area east of Kingaroy, the area northwest of Toowoomba, Dalveen, and the area west of Warwick. These thunderstorms are moving towards the east to southeast. They are forecast to affect Warwick, Toowoomba, the area northwest of Warwick and the area north of Warwick by 4:35 pm and Gatton, Peachester, Crohamhurst and Conondale by 5:05 pm.

http://www.bom.gov.au/cgi-bin/wrap_fwo.pl?IDQ20038.html

they're trying to wipe out teh brisbanes
Eeekk we're being flanked on all sides.. They're trying to drive us to our watery death...
A mate has to demolish half his house in the Gap cause of the Sunday storms... haven't spoken to him since yesterdays:/
The likes of a Storm that hasn't ever been recorded in any similar climate to Brisbane.

No one will ever need more the 640k ram
these storms are softcock. i remember cyclones back in teh 90's. now that was scary s***.

global warming my ass, storms are getting weaker.
mate, i lived through cyclone winifred back in cairns in the day

now that was a storm!

the old man had these big f*** off steel cables that he used to put over the roof, which hooked into steel hooks that were set in the foundation (he instructed the builders to put them in when we built our house in cairns)
A mate has to demolish half his house in the Gap cause of the Sunday storms... haven't spoken to him since yesterdays:/

You should. He probably needs a friend right now.
I was in innisfail for Winifred.
cyclone rods have been mandatory in qld houses as long as I can remember
sunk into the concrete, up the wall and thru the topplate and a metal plate is bolted on the top then the roof is strapped to the top plate
Round 3 - Fight!
storm started here in gold coast, TITANS VS STORM!!! :D
faaaaaaark I can hear the f***er smashing the windows now.... I'm @ work in spring hill BTW.. Can't see s*** but I reckon it's hailing...
Holy crap, it's hailing here in Holland Park. I haven't seen hail around this place in f***ing years.
crazymorton
at last the storms are living up to the hype on the threads!!!

this is the brisbane i know from the 70's & 80's
full on electrical storms...

hope everyone stays safe

that was heavy... Madest show from my place
yeah it was a bit soft

must have killed the internets, its all slow now
Lighting struck a power line 1 block from my house, sparks flew everywhere, now power is out :( thank god for the blackberry!
Jesus.. when are those Melbourne players goin home !

The sky at around 6:30pm was almost like a Strobe Light.
Havent seen lightening dancing around like that for a while.
Yeah, twas the best lightning I've seen in a very long time. A friend from work is is over at North Straddie camping atm so he should be having quite a bit of fun in his tent.
Resonate
Thank you storm. You now owe me a new psu.

last edited by Resonate at 21:01:03 20/Nov/08
Ahhh camping is so pov.
holy s*** where were those pics taken jakeg?
Photos taken in ipswich, i think its the end of bremer river.

Walking distance from my place :S
I was stuck on Stanley St 'Gabba between Main St and the M3 when it hit...f***ing hell it was dry dry dry and then suddenly I'm watching a f***ing WALL of water accelerate towards my car. Wipers didn't do s***, visibility was zero. Traffic just f***ing stopped, most intense thing I've ever been in. It was like somebody was letting a fire hose go over the roof of my car, water coming from every direction.
Some of the best lightning ive ever seen. I couoldn't stop watching it.
Lynx
What a storm! Hail was hammering so hard against the windows, we thought they were going to break. Yard was flooded after a drain got blocked and some water diverted in under the house, soaking chipboard and carpet. We can't complain though, other people will have it much worse.

When the rain passed, I went outside to join many others from throughout the street, to watch the light show in the thunderhead that was passing out to sea. Constant flashes and forks, better then riverfire.

Looks like the trees in the front yard have been snapped by the wind. Clean up tomorrow.

last edited by Lynx at 00:22:51 21/Nov/08
I left work just after the second storm had passed by Acacia Ridge. I noticed as I was driving along that there was a patch of cloud driectly overhead that seemed pretty active with lightning so I pulled over and got a short video of it. There was more but typically I missed it.

object width="425" height="344">

Oh and would someone mind telling me how I get rid of that text crap beside the video?

last edited by Taipan at 01:07:04 21/Nov/08
Nice vid.. i should have took one from my place.. in the distance it was flashing 3/4 times every 2 seconds.
Ahhh camping is so pov.
you f***in useless prick
ahaha sorry jim but thats my feeling, f***ing mozzies and dingos.
i think you hit a nerve infi
ahaha sorry jim but thats my feeling, f***ing mozzies and dingos.

you f*** mozzies and dingos? f***ing sicko!
Nah jim is just stunned someone could be so un-Australian ... he prolly can't bowl a cricket ball either.
Anyone who drives a Nazi sled is not 'Australian'.

lulz on the front page of The Australian today they have a massive pic of two Broncos players cleaning up after the storm... epic caption opportunity was not taken :( Still lolled me though.
HerbalLizard
I am guessing you guys are still on water restrictions
i bowl like a demon but not at a gay campsite lolol
i bowel like a demon at a gay campsite lolol
reload cracked a funny. well done.
I am sure this is probably closer to the truth

ouch
I felt embarressed for him
a PM that can't play cricket? Bob Hawke would roll over in his grave if he was alive to see that.
Bob Hawke is alive silly. (or are you joking?)

Anyone who drives a Nazi sled is not 'Australian'.
QFT.
stinky never jokes about rolling old men over in their graves
heh
rigor mortis makes me hard!
ouch
I felt embarressed for him

+1
eu4ia

that vid is epic.
woah, that is full on
Articuz
Pwhoar...! 1:37 onwards had everything!
holy crap, intensity in 10 cities.
Jolly good show.
Stormageddon tonight.

Saw a guy on ABC news last night was saying that this storm event we've had is very rare anywhere in the world. The upper atmosphere should have released all of its energy by now but it hasnt. They have no idea why it hasnt.

Stop spreading fear.

Please. I am a nervous wreck from this thread.
i blame manbearpig
Please don't rainzors tonight it will make for a messy football game.
Articuz
any one got any updates for tonight?
eu4ia
any one got any updates for tonight?

Yeah. Don't forget to bring a towel.
http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i114/jrhetz/TOWLIE.jpg
eu4ia
:) Best South Park character.
like crazymorton said... this is what brisbane was like in the 70s... massive fkn tropical thunderstorms every arvo in summer :D hasn't got anywhere near as bad as 1974 tho! :P

top video eu4ia ! :D
wow that is a serious storm (vid) :O
épic™
that video is f***ing sick
once again the bureau is full of s***
They cant even predict the weather 12 hrs ahead.
And they expect us to believe in Global Warming.
Planets cooling.
bom doesnt seem to want to work
Anono
radar site is working but that's about it
Morax
not a cloud in the sky on bom.. i'm scared :(
Am I the only person in this country that thinks the Bureau of Meteorol sucks a massive dick when it comes to weather forecasting? I only ask am I the only one because I don't naturally assume everyone will always share my opinion.

I have spent a considerable amount of time in the US the UK and NZ and in all 3 of those countries the accuracy of their weather forecasters seemed pretty good. In the US I found that even their 7 day forecast was almost always pretty damn spot on with only a moderate variation from day to day.

I get the destinct feeling that if it wasn't for the fact that we have been stuck in a drought for near on 4 years (making it dead easy to forecast fine and sunny everyday of the frigging week) that their accuracy would be somewhere south of f***ing 20% s*** maybe even 10%.

s*** there are some days you get the impression that they don't even look out the f***ing window. If I am missing something please fill me in I really want to know whats so hard about forecasting wheather here in QLD.
crazymorton
hasn't got anywhere near as bad as 1974 tho! :P

ahhh 74' what a year....everyone remembers Tracy in Darwin but forgets Brissy.
now my memory is somewhat addled (due to excessive drinking) but i do recall two good ones in the 70's.
1. we lived in the gardens. well down the back where there's now a music bowl or something. my grandad was Head Caretaker and the job came with a house down behind QUT, as it was called then. and they were just building the Captain Cook expressway. lots of pontoons out to the foundations where dad and i used to fish off. tonnes of catties and bream and whiting. well the cyclone was brewing and the loose roofing iron was starting to fly so me and dad hoofed it back home.

2. we lived in Wilston. (haven't been to Bris for over 2 years so things may have changed) the whole of the area down at Zupps was under. near that railway overpass at the bottom of Kedron Brook road meets Newmarket road. dad took me and my cuz for a look and we went swimming!! also downey park was under and as it dropped we used skim boards....rad fun....
also Kedron Brook near the old brothers.....great swimming holes around there.

lots of good memories of Bris coming out from this.....
bom is working fine

keeps coming up address not found for me :(

try marburg
I've noticed that ever since they started using hot blonde girls like grant denya to do the weather the accuracy has dropped significantly. this can't be coincidence.
The storm was pretty crazy down the coast on Thursday night. Came over all dark and scary really quickly and there was heaps of rain and lightning and strong winds. I was out for dinner and when I got back to the place I was staying I whipped out the camera but most of it had already passed over north. I took some pics of the lightning anyway (first pic you can see surfers in the distance):

Lightning 1 Lightning 2 Lightning 3 Lightning 4 Lightning 5

I have spent a considerable amount of time in the US the UK and NZ and in all 3 of those countries the accuracy of their weather

PFFT, how hard can it be to predict the weather in the UK? Just say "rainy" for every day for the year and you'll be 90% right!

lots of pontoons out to the foundations where dad and i used to fish off. tonnes of catties and bream and whiting

This dude I did work experience with in high school told me that there was plenty of fish and crabs in the river back in his day. Did you actually eat them though? I imagine that would contribute to the brain addling :P
Damn nice pic's Saint .... what camera are you using?
crazymorton
This dude I did work experience with in high school told me that there was plenty of fish and crabs in the river back in his day. Did you actually eat them though? I imagine that would contribute to the brain addling :P

s*** yeah.....not real keen on catties but the rest were good. used to be lots of mangroves down the back of QUT around the bend. also used to fish out near Luggage Point and off the grain wharf....same thing, good tucker. even used to swim out there. also lots of swimming holes in Kedron Brook. around Stafford, used to be an archery field there. and down around Alderly was also good. lots of bush land and swimming holes. was before they cleared it all out and made bike/walking tracks....
Damn nice pic's Saint .... what camera are you using?

Was using my Canon 400D with a cheapy Canon 50mm prime lense, I didn't think they looked that great though heh.

there still is!
Were you staying down in bilinga saint?
Ross
HAHAH I spent 5 minutes looking for people on boards
Close, was staying at Coolangatta
so much for a super-cell hey.
apparently a few triple-0 operators were laughing when they said supercell. apparently nearly every time the forecasters say supercell, nothing happens.

http://trog.qgl.org/up/storm-nov-29.jpg

Here comes another one!@#
damn trog, beat me to it! i was just about to post a storm thread.
yeah, looks like a funny kind of wall going on hey
'possible gusty storm'
just drove past the supercross at anz

man its gonna get drenched
hehe the drenched supercross last week was ca-RAY-zey, same again this week awesome.

The storm here in sumner park was short and sweet. very gusty but only about 10 minutes :(
I want more!!
hmmm, seems to be done now:

gone back to just "stinking hot"
doesnt look like a bad one atm.

yeh we got 10 minutes of heavy rain now it looks like its clearing up
That was disappointing.

I even fetched beer from the downstairs fridge so I didn't have to out in the anticipated storm.

last edited by mission at 16:28:54 29/Nov/08
lol rain came and went within 2 mins
Articuz
that was short...
GuessWhosBackAgain
Apparently a truck/semi of some sort got flipped over at Kessels rd and it's chock a block.

Not sure if it was the result of the storms or what not but avoid the jam at all costs.
Yeah that short storm this arvo knocked over all the plants at Hawkins nursery.

Luckily i was just leaving so I didn't have to pick much of them up ;)
kessels rd was ugly before the storms (due to the motorcross)
When isn't that road ugly... with teh possible exception of about 3am on a Monday morning.
More coming in - already lightning visible in Indro:

http://mirror.bom.gov.au/products/IDR664.loop.shtml#skip
Shhhieeeeetttt im driving home in the next 20 mins.. this is going to be aquaplanefuntimes.
massive lightning strikes it didnt look so bad on the radar
gk
I so need a good camera. From my back deck you can see the storms coming from out over Ipswich.

You also get a pretty good light show but I wasn't able to get any good pics of that tonight
http://members.iinet.net.au/~gregnloz/Pics/IMG_1548 (Large).JPG
I so need a good camera. From my back deck you can see the storms coming from out over Ipswich.

You can see Ipswich from your deck? Bummer.
I think we need a weekly storm thread, as we've got storms running through until Monday.
Not a bad show tonight:
http://photos.aaron-77.com/upload/lightning/lightning_20081203_1.jpg

http://photos.aaron-77.com/upload/lightning/lightning_20081203_2.jpg

http://photos.aaron-77.com/upload/lightning/lightning_20081203_3.jpg

http://photos.aaron-77.com/upload/lightning/lightning_20081203_4.jpg

http://photos.aaron-77.com/upload/lightning/lightning_20081203_5.jpg

http://photos.aaron-77.com/upload/lightning/lightning_20081203_6.jpg

http://photos.aaron-77.com/upload/lightning/lightning_20081203_7.jpg

http://photos.aaron-77.com/upload/lightning/lightning_20081203_8.jpg

cool photos cerb;

also

saw your footage on channel 10's storm round up the other day
yeah, my sister saw it too. pretty funny.

here's a new one for the news to steal, though it's not as exciting:
Yeah I had an ok view of things from work down at Acacia Ridge. I wish I had my camera with me as it all passed over because it was one of the best light shows I have seen in a very very long time. Some of the bigger lightning was branching out for as far as I could see and in all directions.... I loved it.
Incoming!

f*** yeh cerb, awesome pics!!!!
saw your footage on channel 10's storm round up the other day
Are they using them with permission?!@! If not you should sue their asses off and get one back against Big Media. You know, the people that are telling us its not OK to steal s*** from the Internet, but it's OK when they do it.
Trog has a point there. Would be interesting to see if you can go anywhere with it. Maybe they'll bribe you to drop it.
BOHEMION
Invoice them for freelance material ?

Why? Do you get a bill for $20 from the record company if they catch you torrenting a CD? Nope, you get a giant f***off lawsuit
Big Media will probably say it was on a public web space so was OK to use.
BOM site died _again_... I think Ausgamers should school them on how to host a big heavy traffic site :(
http://mirror.bom.gov.au/radar/IDR503.gif?20081204165215
piss weak
Looks pretty mega from the City.
BOHEMION
Why? Do you get a bill for $20 from the record company if they catch you torrenting a CD? Nope, you get a giant f***off lawsuit

Touche!