I had an air conditioning unit installed in my apartment the other day. Two guys were here for it - the older guy in charge and a young pre-apprentice kid about 17 or so probably.
I had to open up the garage so they could access their car without going around the whole building. I'm on the 3rd floor and the garage is accessed through a normal door on one side and the roller door on the other. The kid was going in and out through there all day and because it's 3 floors below I couldn't keep an eye on things down there (installation took like 5 hours). I guess I'm naive in that I thought if you paid people to do work at your house they wouldn't steal from you. Lesson learned. I keep a fair few things in the garage - it's used for storage not car space. I had some sports supplements on a shelf in there and today I went in to grab some and 2 bottles are missing. Value around $100 or so. I've double checked my records etc and I'm positive they've been stolen because I only put them in there a few days ago and made a mental note about how many of a particular one there was as I was planning to use it and went in today to grab it and it's gone. I also have a list on my computer of what I had there. I don't know if they've stolen anything else as I don't have any record for a lot of the other stuff in there. I'm fairly sure they've just taken the couple of bottles as everything else is a fair bit bulkier. Now they actually have to come back to finish the job so I'll get a chance to confront them. I think its more likely the kid who stole them as he was going in and out of there all day while the older bloke did the work in the apartment, however they both would have gone through the garage at some stage. The older bloke was a psycho and giving s*** to the young guy all day, but I just don't really see a qualified guy who's been doing electrical s*** for years just stealing bottles which he wouldn't have a clue about. I'm thinking my plan is to hit up the young guy on his own when they come back and tell him to fess up and return the stuff or I'll tell his boss and call the company and the cops. I'll wait till the job is finished to tell the older bloke as to avoid an awkward situation with work left to be done. I don't really expect to ever see my stuff again, but I just want the f***er to know I know they stole it, and if possible put the heat on the kid and see what sort of response I get. Any other ideas for what I could do? |
| #0 06:55pm 24/10/08 |
If you want to "put the heat" on a stupid kid, report it to the police. |
| #1 06:59pm 24/10/08 |
Got anyway to setup a Camera?
| #2 06:59pm 24/10/08 |
épic™
setup webcam, leave something expensive in the garage.. profit
| #3 07:05pm 24/10/08 |
Drink all your "sports supplements" in one go and then smash him in a fit of roid rage.
| #4 07:07pm 24/10/08 |
f*** it, I f***ing hate bogans. last edited by Le Cock at 14:35:28 25/Oct/08 |
| #5 03:35pm 25/10/08 |
get them to come back and complete the job
then don't pay them. tell them you want the stolen goods or discount back. |
| #6 07:17pm 24/10/08 |
f***ing look out! Why on earth would a 17 year old wanna steal 'sports suplements'.
| #7 07:19pm 24/10/08 |
Topic: Aircon Installers stole stuff from meFile a police report. |
| #8 07:20pm 24/10/08 |
Because they're in nice shiny bottles and he's a bogan who probably steals s*** just for the sake of it. I don't know why he would do it, I just know he did it.
| #9 07:21pm 24/10/08 |
f***ing look out! Why on earth would a 17 year old wanna steal 'sports suplements'. protius... |
| #10 07:26pm 24/10/08 |
Go over to the kids place to install some sports supplements and steal his aircon!
| #11 07:27pm 24/10/08 |
If you left the garage open, how do you know someone else didn't spot the supplements off the street, realised there were tradies going in and out, and took advantage of it...?
| #12 07:30pm 24/10/08 |
Actually you sure this 17 year old wasn't a relative of acetame or acetame himself? He fits aircons? 1 + 1 ???
| #13 07:30pm 24/10/08 |
heavy_rocker
AHAHAH reso
i ruv ru |
| #14 07:48pm 24/10/08 |
benneth
Could someone else have walked by your garage and stolen your stuff?
| #15 09:11pm 24/10/08 |
when one of the removalists stole my expensive drill from my garage which i deliberately left out to do repairs on the place i was leaving i confronted the guy in charge over it.
no point messing around or whatever, they get accused of stealing s*** all the time - or so it seems. Turns out it wasn't stolen, it was in the box as they said. But if i hadn't confronted them then in my head they would've got away with stealing it for probably 3 days before i found it in the unpack. That's a lot of unnecessary worry I avoided simply by accusing people of being thieves. So i say, confront them up front as soon as they arrive. Start off reasonable but angry. Swear a bit. It'll sort itself out. last edited by natslovR at 21:04:27 24/Oct/08 |
| #16 10:04pm 24/10/08 |
haha ^
| #17 10:04pm 24/10/08 |
this stuff happens to me all the time. usually youve just forgotten because your s***faced alot.
| #18 11:01pm 24/10/08 |
Yeah like when I wake up to an empty wallet after a friday night only to realise it was the friday night that did it :/
| #19 11:03pm 24/10/08 |
indeed the more it occurs is in fact a sign of how most excellent your life is slowly becoming. enjoy |
| #20 11:14pm 24/10/08 |
what suburb?
| #21 11:57pm 24/10/08 |
umm central amsterdam, quite easy to lose cash :(
last edited by Le Infidel at 23:19:29 24/Oct/08 bad spelong fixe last edited by Le Infidel at 23:19:48 24/Oct/08 |
| #22 12:19am 25/10/08 |
Update. My idiot mother...f*** it, I f***ing hate bogans. That's no way to talk about your mother. |
| #23 12:14am 25/10/08 |
loose cash Cash isn't the only thing loose amirite? |
| #24 12:14am 25/10/08 |
f***ing look out! Why on earth would a 17 year old wanna steal 'sports suplements'. i reckon. just ask them direct face to face. you will know by the initial reaction if there is anything dodgy going on. we do live in a country of innocent until proven guilty. imagine if the same thing happened to you and you were accused of something without right of reply. people get strange ideas in their heads sometime, then compound them into believing them, themselves. it may be theft, it may be by them but i think you need to have more proof or solid evidence before you start going off half le cocked. |
| #25 12:52am 25/10/08 |
p.s. anyone interested in some serious merchandise i just layed my hands on. sports suppliments going cheap. retail $50.. will accept trade similar value chesty bonds or slazenger tank tops.
| #26 12:56am 25/10/08 |
Assume the worst of people. You'll either a) be right, and be glad you were wary or b) be wrong, and be glad that the person isn't as bad as you thought.
You win both ways! |
| #27 01:16am 25/10/08 |
épic™
My idiot mother show some f***ing respect would you? |
| #28 09:47am 25/10/08 |
Pretty stupid thing of his mother to do, specifically when he told her not to.
Therefore she's an idiot. |
| #29 10:43am 25/10/08 |
show some f***ing respect would you? mothers day was over long ago |
| #30 11:04am 25/10/08 |
Yeah she didn't listen to her son that a lot of people here disagree with anyway... what a disobedient woman
| #31 11:11am 25/10/08 |
they were just doing you a favour.
| #32 11:28am 25/10/08 |
After checking for the stuff everywhere and also checking records etc etc I'm convinced it was the kid.
The way the apartment complex is setup it couldn't have been someone just passing by or anything. And there was no one around and the kid was down there like all day. He also didn't know that they had to come back to finish the job another time. Less fired up about it now, will probably just call the company and have a word and leave it at that. last edited by Le Cock at 11:40:48 25/Oct/08 |
| #33 12:40pm 25/10/08 |
You said before that you couldn't keep an eye on garage from where you were. So how couldn't it have been a passer by?
| #34 01:08pm 25/10/08 |
step
Indeed, if he could come and go, so could others...
| #35 07:19pm 25/10/08 |
an eye for an eye, while they are busy why dont you help yourself to some of their gear?
| #36 08:31pm 25/10/08 |
UPDATE!
I ended up ringing the owner and he cracked massive s***s he was pissed as. Fast forward to now, and it seems it was the main guy not the apprentice, and he's been fired! |
| #37 06:36pm 14/11/08 |
Wow nice outcome dude
| #38 07:08pm 14/11/08 |
See, what would a 17 year old want with sports supplements.
| #39 07:15pm 14/11/08 |
haha nice.
lucky he doesn't know where you live! qgl has really picked up of late |
| #40 07:20pm 14/11/08 |
Yeah I'll be locking my doors big time. The guy looked like angry anderson and was twice as angry.
| #41 07:40pm 14/11/08 |
It was me.
| #42 07:43pm 14/11/08 |
I ended up ringing the owner and he cracked massive s***s he was pissed as. I had some clown turn up to do the Foxtel install. He brought a mate with him to help out. His mate was not qualified and they did a s*** job and didnt leave cables that I had asked for. Guy lied to me. so I rung Foxtel to complain. Got a call from the guys boss asking what happened. He blew a gasket when he heard the guy had his mate doing work and let loose with a huge amount of swearing about what he was gonna do "that fu^^in kiwi c^nt". haha. |
| #43 08:40pm 14/11/08 |
did u get the s*** back?
| #44 08:58pm 14/11/08 |