Topic: Organic Food - awesome.

So I decided to give organic food a go after a hearing a lot of positive reports on it. Signed up to www.foodconnect.com.au and you get a box subscription - I started off with 4 weeks alternating between the basic box and the gormet box. The boxes get delivered to a "city cousin" in your local area and you just pick up on the same day each week.

So got the first box yesterday, and the verdict....DELICIOUS! Everything was so sweet and tasty and I was eating carrots and tomatoes and celery straight out of the box. It was so good it was almost as if I'd never tasted real food before and I just had to keep eating it!

What's more, the value is very good and a basic box is $36 and is enough for 2 people for a week. However the food is very good so I think my intake of fruit and veg will increase significantly which is also a positive. I'm sitting here today just eating the stuff on its own its so good, instead of eating some other snack food crap like normal.

Anyone else get organic? One bite and I'm sold for life. I also bought some "farmer dave" organic lamb sausages and rack of lamb at the markets and it was friggin delicious - the sausages insanely good.
We get fruit and vege delivered from 'Aussie Farmers'. I don't think it's organic stuff but it is generally pretty good, much better than supermarkets.

Also means it's one less thing you have to go shopping for.

last edited by mission at 12:14:46 22/Oct/08
yeah i try and buy organic meat nowerdays not because i want to be a hippy but after watching a few doco's about battery hens, the thought of eating a mutant, cannibal chicken pumped full of hormones and chem's is very unappealing.
it tastes better also.
psychosomatic imo. ie: it all sounds good & natural & healthy & that is all your brain requires to re-interpret the taste as better. a lot of what is sold as 'organic' food is such bulls***!@$#! a mate of mine won't eat anything but 'organic' & i went with him to an organic shop at sunnybank & they had organic salt ffs!! salt is sodium chloride... that's as inorganic a compound as you can get! :P

i often eat meals with my mate & he raaaves about the taste... but to me they just taste like steamed vegitables eh.

i don't doubt that there is also a lot of really good food that goes along with it... but the new-wave feelgood bulls***ness about it puts me off.
There's a vast difference between good, average and s*** fruit and vege. If you can't tell the difference you are either a smoker (I've heard they are s*** at tasting) or you just have no clue. (not directed at you demon, just in general).

In saying that, I don't know if there is a real difference between good 'normal' fruit and vege and organic fruit and vege.

you're all f***en hippies
gimme massive caged chickens and eggs any day of the week
I don't even consider the new-wave feelgood crap, and i also don't believe in man-made global warming i think it's a big scam.

However, the food does taste a lot better, it looks a bit munted which i like as all the perfect shiny looking stuff in supermarkets just isnt right, and the farmers get a better deal out of it. It also makes sense that it is better for you, and there's studies showing there's more nutrients etc in it as well (although yes there's some other study showing the opposite, like everything).

I wasn't actually that enthused about it but my room mate was dead keen to get it, and i'm completely sold on it after tasting it.
casa - you can keep your caged pale egg yolks which are all watery and have no taste. The difference between caged eggs and free range is massive and anyone can see/taste the difference.
yeah eggs are the worst when they arent free range

even looking at them you can tell the difference (pale yellow yolks vs much darker - not red yolks)

vege gardens for the winna
f***ing hippies... I want GM modified brussel sprouts that taste like bacon.
Climacteric Fruits (tomatoes, avocado, melon, apple, pear, peach, kiwifruit, ..) sold in Woolies and other big supermarkts are picked before they are ripe and stored in an atmosphere that prevents them ripening. This is partially because they are easier to transport without bruising and to ensure they all ripen at once.
They are artificially ripened by gassing them ethylene. This makes them all ripen at roughly the same time and rate.

If you look at the banana's sold at the supermarkets they are usually a tad green, they haven't had time to ripen fully. I would guess that Organic Banana's have had a longer time to ripen and would taste better.

If you give your supermarket bought fruit more time to ripen they would probably taste similar.

and there's studies showing there's more nutrients etc in it as well

That very much depends on the soil the food was grown in.

last edited by Tollaz0r! at 12:44:12 22/Oct/08
Cages chickens are the bomb, knowing how much they suffer makes them all the more tastier for me.
Can you pick and choose what fruit and veg you want with those boxes? as that's the main reason I've avoided them in the past, I'd end up with a box full of eggplants and cucumber and other s*** I don't eat
There's places that you only pick what you want, there's other places that you get a box and can swap out stuff for other things you want, and then there's foodconnect where you just get whats in the box because thats what is ripe that week. I like getting a random box of whatever is ripe that week because it forces me into a bit of variety. But yeah, just go to one of the other providers where you can choose if that suits you better.
we only buy eggs from happy farm

you can taste teh happy!
Screw cage eggs, they're horrible. As said above, if you can't taste or even see the difference between cage eggs and free-range, you're crazy.
I really hate the term 'organic' being thrown around in regards to food. What else would things like carrots be - Synthetic? Manufactured?

It's a silly term coined by the anti-GM crowd that's just grown to encompass everything soley for the purpose of false positive reinforcement :/
Freerange > cage

Would get into organic...but lazy, and convience of getting from supermarket far outweights possible benefits. When i start my new job (and get 2-2.5 hours a day more) I may investigate!
The Aussie Farmers is a random box. As far as I know you can't pick and choose.

They do cover the staples pretty well, and they are there every week, but then they do throw in some other things, but only a small portion, which is good for variety.

Plus it's delivered. I hate wasting my time shopping.
Same. Almost 100% of food is organic materal...

Cept for minerals and water and stuff. Organic just means material from a living organism which is capable of decay..

I ate an organic wholemeal sanga with organic lettuce, organic tomatoes, organic beetroot, and organic onion. And cheese too which isn't organic... Well if it comes from dairy which comes from grass then it is organic. Woot.
I love how 1/2 the eggs in the organic box are just spare egs out of a "Savings" brand box because some of the 'better' eggs got damaged.

Dont think it doesn't happen.
I heard the adrenaline produced cage farmed chickens made them tastier ?
You are all a bunch of suckers.
Hormones aren't given to chickens, thats a myth spun by Peta and other vegetarrorist groups.
I eat a carton of caged eggs a day. Bugger paying double so the motherf***er has a backyard before he becomes KFC.
Furgle

last edited by Furgle at 20:14:21 22/Oct/08
lol i went to byron bay on the weekend and ate orangic donut... lol
one of my mates mothers in australia used to feed left over bbq chicken and egg shells to her chooks and damn they laid some fine egg! the yolk was nearly orange

Good tomatoes are really good fruit. One of my favorite sandiwches is good bread, tomato onion + salt'n'pepa + butter

last edited by Le Infidel at 00:18:23 23/Oct/08
frankenchooks may not be pumped full of hormones but its pretty obvious they are pumping the c***s full of something dodgey.
No it isn't you are an idiot.
I assume that's from Furgle's deleted/"OMG did I just say that out loud" post? And also yes, it's called "chicken feed".
one of my mates mothers in australia used to feed left over bbq chicken and egg shells to her chooks and damn they laid some fine egg! the yolk was nearly orange

f***ing hell ... Hanibal Hen
Mum farms her own eggs. People come from far and wide to buy em so they must taste good. /cue a mum joke.
Is that what she tells your dad ?

isn't that how mad cow disease happened? feeding dead cows to cows or some s***?
HyperJ
I have to say that the majority ofe fruit, veg and meats in most supermarkets are terrible, flavourless, bland and expensive.

By finding suppliers of locally grown food you will notice a huge increase quality of your produce.\

I read the following article recently about how the organic food industry is totally over hyped and add the unsustainability of the global food indutry.

http://www.cosmosmagazine.com/features/print/1567/organic-food-exposed
no it wasnt furgle. I thought i would repost when i could find a clip of the doco i saw with the 2 chicks of the age one sent to the nugget factory and the other sent to the free-range farm. then they show them 1-2 months later .. the battery chook is twice the size of the free-change chicken. this was a normal doco about modern food processing it wasnt made by those peta ppl.
also there was a jamie oliver special on a few weeks ago the point of his doco wasnt so much about animal cruelty although he did show the approved culling and slaughtering practices on stage, but how bad the mass produced s*** chicken meat and eggs were compared to free-range.
Furgle
not from my post. I wrote some long s*** about growing my own stuff now I have 5 acres. Screwed up the edit and CBF typing it again.