Topic: blog thread
Three weet-bix and im ready for work. Looks like today is going to be a good day. The AUD is up!
woke up, got a2m from your mother

got dressed went to work had porridge and now i'm working and s***
Today im lashing out at callous indifference, shallow vanity and mindless hedonism. Mood: Oppresive
Discovered I'd read the wrong book for uni for my speech tmrw - same title, wrong author. So now I'm waiting for the library to open so I can grab the right one and start reading.
Today is a new day and I'm making a fresh start.

As I walked to walk, whistling with the birds and holding my chin up high, I reflected on my days to date.

I realised that I have wasted many a day with inadequate posting on QGL, which made me feel hollow and lost.

From this day forth my post count shall rise to dizzy heights with witty and informative posts.

Today it begins.
Skipped breakfast, Had a Summer Roll when I got to work, Started reading QGL and Fark.
Tired of my s*** job, can't wait to start at my new one in February. It seems so long away though.... mood: exhasted
all the apps disappeared off my phone yesterday. All app data gone. Music and porn safe, but my alarm didn't go off this morning. Late, but at least I've got my porn.
i went to uni slightly earlier today which resulted in more waiting at the train station
banana + redbull. now off via public transport to conquer the world.
épic™
thought for the day: reality is what you make it.. everything you see exists only in your brain.
Found a new way to get to work with a tram+train+tram combo - shaved another 15mins off my travel time.
f*** catching multiple forums of public transport
woke up with a head cold. cursed the fates. came to work anyway to spread the infection. sneezed a lot. mood : apocalyptic.
up at normal time, 5:20am

read forums, checked on job that went belly up in melbourne last nite, stared at wife in son in bed for 45 minutes, skipped for 30 mins, had breakfast and came to work:

mood: hopeful
Strong cup of double shot espresso for breakfast. A bit tired this morning from boxing training last night and 10km run on Sunday. Not pyched about the 8k run home tonight either......
Woke up at 7:45, thinking if only I could sleep just another hour. Got up, spent 20 minutes practicing on the QGL Admin backpunching(tm) machine. Ate, showered, came to work. Mood: sleepy
i cant wait to hear about what bobs going to get up to today!
ate toast, had a cuppa tea, killed some trees
Crusty old man
Got up at 7:30am, had smoke, shower, shave and thought "I think I'll work from home today." Sitting in my lounge room, I put together a project plan and budget and sent that on to work. Now I'm dicking around til 3:30pm when I have a teleconference.

Mood: Ambivalent.
Went shopping to buy dad a birthday present, then went to the library to grab this book I need for tmrw. Came home and wrote an angry msg on a baskin & robbins serviette to pass on to the a******s parking across the cul-de-sac in my street stopping anyone from being able to turn around.
Came home and wrote an angry msg on a baskin & robbins serviette

Should follow that up with a 2 scoop baskin & robbins all over their windshield.
I actually have no idea how I even have a baskin & robbins serviette in my car, I certainly don't remember the last time I would have eaten from there. But that's a very good suggestion. I mean, honestly, what kinda fags park 2 utes and a trailer parallel across a cul-de-sac?! No idea how the garbage man managed to do his run in our street this morning
Should follow that up with a 2 scoop baskin & robbins all over their windshield.

sif waste icecream
Well, I wouldn't waste baskin & robbins. Perhaps a maccas 50c cone tho.
Day is progressing well however limited posting means days objectives are not being met.

Someone in office said funny joke. We all laughed.
This thread is seriously lacking in the reporting of morning sex.

Or are you all losers who don't get it? (because we all know none of you are classy enough to not share)

(just doing what I can to get qgl alive and kicking again)
Crusty old man
Sex while the sun is up! Gno whey!!!!!
Must resist Kat..... don't want.... post limiter...

Woke up, ate left over noodles, played guitar, now I'm getting ready for midday TF2 action.

Internode (Goldrush / Badwater), 24 player server, hit me up 12:00 - 2:00 daily, steam id = Kn1fe

My life is very, very complex.
Sex in the morning or an extra 17 seconds of sleep - I know which one I'd be choosing.
Haha Kat's been paper bagged before. Someone didn't want to look at the mantle piece while they stoked the fire.

17 seconds? You need to call those nasal people.

last edited by mission at 10:52:25 14/Oct/08
Wake up, check calendar, decide to work from home today.

Couple of emails to light a fire under some people who are holding up a project.

Realise (yet again) just how noisy my house is, during the day. Resolve to go into office for the afternoon.
17 seconds? You need to call those nasal people.
Anyone noticed within the past week that those signs have a massive black "CENSORED" bar over the word Sex?

They have been up for months, some christian must have finally got there wish.
they are f***ing retarded ad's for it though
had a stupid meeting this morning. ice break beforehand helped me through. stupid meeting stopped me posting on qgl for just over an hour. now back to posting again.

mood: pensive; thoughtful.
Anyone noticed within the past week that those signs have a massive black "CENSORED" bar over the word Sex?

There used to be a good parody ad near my place. It said "Want longer lasting LUGGAGE?". It would make me lol.

As for me, woke up, did the three S's, and found that we had no milk for cereal. I walked to the train station instead of waiting for the inevitably late bus, but ended up being a few minutes late anyway because the train stopped outside Roma St for no apparent reason. Came into work, had some fruit for breakfast, checked my usual websites.

I too am looking forward to midday for some TF2 action. Best way to spend a lunch break.
Midday - still havn't been paid. f*** monthly pays.
lol monthly pay

forget that s***
lol king for a week fool for the next 3
woke up late cause we're moving office (hadn't seen it before today)

was mighty impressed with the new diggs, got to work and had no computer/etc so i had to go chill and have coffee on the mall

new view is an upgrade

http://unix.org.au/~brett/images/newofficeviewr.jpg

also got paid finally, weekly pay rocks
I was on monthly for a few years, it's pretty gay but I got used to it.

Recently changed job and now on fortnightly, much better. Just feels like you're getting paid more as it happens more often.
ive been on monthly pay for a few years, hated it at first, by the end of it, we rocked it bigtime (petal runs a pretty tight ship to a budget)

back to fornitely pays now, dont like them, coz it f***s with our system;
Crusty old man
I don't mind monthly pays. You get most of your bills monthly, stick a chunk in your savings account and then divide the rest by the number of days till the next one. It helps that my wife gets paid fortnightly though.

I used to get paid weekly when I was contracting and we just spent everything and suffered at the end of the month because I'd have to use a weeks pay to pay all the bills.
I get paid whenever the bloody debtors remit.

This can be good or bad, really need to budget as it can be a bit up and down...
I've been on monthly pay cycles for the last >4 years and I *hate* it.

Seriously, what's so hard about paying us fortnightly?
It just costs more.

Reducing payroll days by 50% saves a s***load of administration.
Crusty old man
Ah yes, I used to work for myself. The joy of chasing people for money, and listening to the bizarre reasoning behind some of the excuses as to why they aren't!

"We only do cheques once a month"
"Then I can take cash or direct deposit"
"We don't do that"
"Then you only pay for anything monthly?"
"Yes"

or

"We think this enhancement is actually a bug so we aren't paying anything till you issue us with another invoice."
"You signed this change request saying you would pay for it, see!"
"I didn't know what I was signing."
"Be more careful in the future then."

In that last example, I fought with them for 3 months over $150 on a $50k job. In the end I refused to do anything till they paid the entire amount. So they paid the bill... minus the $150 for the enhancement. So I refused to work with them anymore until they paid up, or got rid of the nutcase bitch that handling things. After lots of abusive phone calls, faxes and letters, they eventually shut up.
It just costs more.

Unless it's fully automated, in which case it doesn't cost more - they just earn less interest on that money sitting in their bank account

Say company X has 100,000 employees paid monthly vs. fortnightly.
it means they've got around $200 million (((50000/12)*100000) = $416,666,666.666 per month) earning interest for that two weeks

based 50k average wage
Most companies don't completely automate payroll. They have a chick whose job it is each week / fortnight / month to go into MYOB and 'do the pays'.
my last few jobs have been with companies that have >100,000 employees

they were automated, sometimes though it felt like it was a room full of monkeys on type writers
when your payroll help desk is outsourced to india, you know you've got problems
Crusty old man
And the larger companies have a HR department full of people passing leave, sick days new starters and finishers onto the payroll contractor... and the payroll contractor charges them per cycle as well, and they have to reconcile what they asked them to pay with what they actually did. Now imagine how many people it would take to reconcile 100,000 fortnightly pays along with a companies cash flows and financial statements which happen monthly and quarterly?

If you pay your people at the same time you're paying everyone else, it just makes life easier and requires much less people effort, and people are the most expensive thing a company has.
At my old job we had 4 people doing payroll for around 1000 people. We got paid monthly
Crusty old man
At my old job we had 4 people doing payroll for around 1000 people. We got paid monthly

So there! That's around $40k per person per year, so $160k + on costs (electricity, IT, lighting, cooling, super, holidays etc) so roughly $180-$200k per year to just pay the rest of them. Even if they outsourced the actual payment process, they'd have to pay them as well.

I forgot how much I liked procrastinating...
Yeah, I'm a massive fan of it too.
Mass
I get paid weekly.......manufacturing companies rock. Normal for factory workers to get paid weekly (apparently) so I get paid weekly aswell. Its like having a never ending bank account, as soon as I (the wife) managed to spend it, they put more in.
I like fortnightly pay.

Weekly made me impulse buy too much.

Never had monthly, but that's far too long.
Went from monthly to fortnightly in a new job and my start date meant that I missed a pay cycle so now I haven't been paid in f***ing ages and its hurting :(
haha ticman, we went through that exact problem here too when we got bought out and went from monthly back to fortnitely

who knew monthly was 2 weeks in advance and 2 weeks just gone!
Arrived home, opened this thread and just saw lots of tears and Mantra stories. Needs more blogging.

Mood: disappointed
Our band won a 4ZZZ (who listens to that anyway) comp (to do a live broadcasted gig in the city)!

Mood: Bouncy
Trying to motivate myself for the 8k run home. Not sure if I really wanted to do it now.

Mood: indecisive.

Crusty old man
Mood: Incredulous at Saint

Sif this is any better than your hourly Bob updates...
So I happened to have the TV on while a current affair or today tonight was on and they had a story on that AMI group for the dudes who cum fast. Apparently dudes are paying like 700 bucks a month or something for this and it doesnt work most of the time so they get you onto these pills which a doctor script can give you for a couple of bucks.

Preying on some c***s insecurities is big business.
$700 a month?! Shiitt
Stayed up till 2am last night doing a biology assignment, biology test in two days, maths assignment friday.

Woke up at 5:45. Usual day of school.. fun lunchtime 'coz i did this sweet defense of a soccer ball hanging onto the goal bar... Also accepted a $50 bet that me and a mate would learn dragonforce through fire and flames (not on GH2!!) by the middle of next year.

Basketball to 5, pretty s*** since I'm playing with a bunch of TCs (the curse of being good at sport :( ).

Got home, found out my Marvel comics (the good ones) finished downloading.

listening to some Craig D'Andrea to calm my nerves.

last edited by Phooks at 18:20:15 14/Oct/08
maths assignment?
still at work, wasn't as good a day as i originally hoped.
maths assignment?

Yep.
Articuz
woke up 5, did 90k on the bike, came home at 9:30, worked...
Crusty old man
maths assignment?

Yep.
Could the conversation be anymore riveting!!??
It's obviously private Mantra.

Mood: Tired

Work up at 4:20am, got ready for work, at work at 5am. Worked till 1:30pm. Left for uni at 3pm. Got to uni at 4pm, bought a Lemon V. Sat in lecture theatre till 6pm. Chatted to friends till 6:40pm. Left for home. Home by 7:30pm, QGL by 8pm.

last edited by Triamks at 21:09:31 14/Oct/08
woke up at 3, wrote assignment for uni, went to uni 9-12, schooled noobs 12-3, massive noodle feast around 5 then uni 5-8, home now qgl ftw
woke up at 6:55

made some avocado on toast with lemon and pepper. it was amazing

went to tafe, s***ting myself about driving up and down the hills through camp hill with this gay low front bar.. mad it to tafe intact

had 2 backstreet it because there are too many stupid anti-hoon medians which would own me.. got to tafe 10 late

f***ed around all day learning s***

came home and went out to dinner with kate, her shout because she feels bad because she thought it would be a good idea to get s***faced and ruin mine and her night on sunday

mood : annoyed because i have this c*** of a cough
her shout because she feels bad because she thought it would be a good idea to get s***faced and ruin mine and her night on sunday

Story?
cool thread,

woke up, made scrambled eggs while naked, was careful not to get an oil/bacon splashed onto my nuts. ate and rode my bicylce to work. in pain from gym last night. mood: kinda pissed off even thoug the weather is good
Jum
rolled out of bed in time to get to uni by 9. had a close call on coro drive when some f***head cab driver almost merged on top of me. i would have booted the s*** out of his door at the lights if there wasn't a cop car a few cars in front

finished up by midday and got some kfc on the way home. ate kfc then had a nap to make up for the sleep i missed out on last night. now im wide awake and won't get enough sleep tonight

good times
Came home from work at 7:30am, postie dropped off my new diff while i was eating some toast. Toast was rad.

Went to bed at 8ish, woke up at 2 and watched some movies

Walked to the shops to buy some garlic bread and peanut butter

Girlie came home around 7 and made me this steak that was pretty sub par

Watched NCIS and part of that gay cop show with Drazic from Heartbreak High

went to work at 10
woke up at 8 wishing it wasn't still weirdly dark in Amsterdam. Checked emails, did the usual stuff, watching the beautiful day outside slowly vanish. Spent the last 4 hours or so battling blizzard's s***ty download system to try and mirror a goddamn patch, an operation which should take about 10 seconds and 4 brain cells but has consumed me for far too long and I still don't know if it works. Going to have a beer soon if I can finally figure out if it's working.
Came home from work planning to pack my bag to leave London for Brisbane. Came to the conclusion I can do it tomorrow.
stacked my bike on the tram tracks tonight for the first time, fun but hoping it doesnt happen again. at home looking at swallen knee grow.
Both babies woke an hour early like DST had just ended. Watched 24s06e24 on the train. s*** ending. Next is Mad Men. Wrote reply to rudd thread, probably racist, didn't post. Why am I at work only 10 minutes early with an hour head start?
Got woken up by my son at 5, fed him, went back to sleep. Got woken up at 7 by my husband, had to get out of bed :(
Got my daughter ready for school and put on a load of washing. Now doing my daily ritual of browsing the web and shaking my head at idiots and wondering why I bother any more.
Woke up at 6, then 6.20, then 6.50, then 7.15, then 7.34 and decided it was time to get out of bed. Had vegemite on toast for breakfast, ironed shirt, checked weather forecast, went outside and decided forecast was to be cold. Had a shower, got dressed, missed tram by 35-40 seconds. Missed connecting train by about 1minute but got into work about 9.20. New tram+train+tram way is not as great as it was yesterday.

Checked QGL, saw new WoW patch and felt glad I cancelled my subs. Now trying to figure out how I can keep avoiding the problem of looking into why the firewall doesn't failover to the backup DSL properly.
Woke up at 6, then 6.20, then 6.50, then 7.15, then 7.34

lol what

this post is dedicated to loki

6:21AM - Woke up.
6:25AM - Had shower.
6:36AM - Enjoyed breakfast of Up'and'Go.
6:40AM - Watched the Today show for 29 minutes while getting ready for work.
7:28AM - Drove to Garden City
7:34AM - Walked from car park to busway station.
7:58AM - Boarded a bus headed to the City.
8:23AM - Exited bus and started walking to my building.
8:26AM - Arrived in office.
8:26AM - Set up computer.
8:27AM - Turned on computer.
8:30AM - Checked e-mail, opened incident management software, MSN and Firefox.
8:35AM - Received call from annoying client.

etc...

<3 u Loki.
woke up to the alarm clock, refused to get out of bed until the wife tickled me. the wife and i went to work in her car as mine is getting the air-con looked at. rolled into work, looks like another uneventful day. might play around with my salary sacrificing options today. wife wants to go to bunnings after work, i don't.
New internet kicked in at 8:30, TF2 pwnage time.

f*** you AAPT, sneaky noobs changing from downloads only to downloads/uploads after being with them for 3 years and not telling us resulting in capping.

Did speed test, get 4500k (from 8000k max) from my new iinet ADSL1, good to go!
lol what

Snooze button.
why wouldn't you just set your alarm like an hour later instead of having broken sleep for like an hour and a half?

forbidden sleep is awesome though, even if it is only 9 minutes but an hour and a half...
I'm with Paveway, I don't get snooze buttons .. if you can snooze for an extra hour then set the alarm for an hour later so your sleep isn't broken!
f*** alarms, go to bed earlier and wake up naturally.

If you need an alarm to wake you up, it means you're getting sleep deprived.
yeah but you're a lazy c***, so it doesn't matter if you for whatever reason wake up half an hour later
I wake up at 5am, I don't need an alarm clock.
Woke up feeling like s***. My body clock still hasn't adjusted to brisbane time and I'm just getting more tired each day.

Dropped the car in for repairs. Starting back at work after a month of holidays is slooow going. Luckily I don't mind work.

Mood: sleepy
Ok so I wasn't clear in my original post, this is my first time blogging.

The alarm is set for 7.00 but I woke up at those random intervals to various other noises. Please don't e-hate me.

last edited by TicMan at 10:46:16 15/Oct/08
Woke up and it was clear that today is a 'bad day'. Can't walk well and couldn't drag myself out of the fart sack until about 10am. Shuffled some appointments (haha get it?) and will bash my way through it again. Will feel much better tomorrow no doubt.

Murphy's law, of course the physio appointment is this afternoon. Just once I'd like to see a doc when I'm feeling well.

Edit: I don't think that last sentence makes much sense looking back at it, but its true haha.

last edited by Hogfather at 11:06:45 15/Oct/08
Woke up this morning, had a s*** and then went to work. I am now sitting here thinking of ways to pass the day without doing any actual work.
I wake up at 5am, I don't need an alarm clock.

oh f***, im chublike;

i dont need no alarm, my body gets up itself;
woke up at 7.30 with uber hangover took dog for epic walk and swim now feeling a million bucks woot
Woke up at 7. Got ready for uni and then drove in. Cursed the fact that I left 10 minutes early today and got stuck in the worst bit of the traffic. Got to uni and went to a lecture. It sucked. Skipped my next one to practice for the two speeches I have to do in tutes this afternoon. Still had an hour to kill. Went to the labs to QGL and facebook. Couldn't get on any computer except the express 15 minute one. Just after I was logged out and logged back in again, someone left one of the other computers. Logged back out again and logged into this one. 45 minutes left to kill and wondering why Mongie dedicated his post to Loki
Woke up late this morning despite having all the intentions of getting up earlier today, last night. Slightly tired and jaded from yesterday's 5.5 k run, really wish I'd done the 8.6 k but pussy out of it...

Had a so-so day when arrived at the office, but, mood improved significantly after having had the usual espresso and listening to some funky tunes - at moderately loud volume.

Planned the Sydney trip for the other half's birthday at the end of the month, finally. Now really am excited and really looking forward to the trip.

Mood: Enthusiastic
f***ing furious. $50 parking fine. I've parked in that street 3-4 times a week for the past two and a half years. The sign says no parking between 6-10am Tuesday. So why the f*** they are fining me now I have no idea, when there is no time limit posted what-so-ever. Grrr f***ing council

last edited by Minxy at 16:20:29 15/Oct/08
Also, has anyone ever disputed a fine and won?
Write a letter to the council. It has worked in the past for people I know.
It does? Sweet. I sent them an email the second I got home. Hopefully that works.
haha, he said letter. You know, like on paper and with a stamp and stuff
f***ing furious. $50 parking fine. I've parked in that street 3-4 times a week for the past two and a half years. The sign says no parking between 6-10am Tuesday. So why the f*** they are fining me now I have no idea, when there is no time limit posted what-so-ever. Grrr f***ing council
You should ask them to back log all the fines they've missed out on.
Seven
Woke up this morning at 7:30 after bbq/party last night. Went to work in the labs, despite wanting to do anything but. Had lunch, went to lecture that was canceled - that sucks. Back to the labs for more work.

Came home, checked emails, facebook and QGL.

Mood: Exhausted
awesome day at work while the boss is away for the week..

just been for a 3k run now off to the gym then touch at half 7 then im sure ill sleep well
Almost finished doing paid work for the day, after going to the gym this morning.
Now I start study (at work) for another 3 hours.

Mood: Tired & Unenthusiastic
haha, he said letter. You know, like on paper and with a stamp and stuff

Yes honey, I realise what a letter is. I said email, because that was something I had already done. You know, like a previously completed activity.
yeah girls, I think I speak for everyone when I say we wanna see some e-growling !@

also

f***ing furious. $50 parking fine.

I moved back to Sydney recently for a job, it costs me $48/day to park in the city

A $50 parking fine would be f***ing sweet because I could just park anywhere and pay the fines for only $2 extra, rather than being stuck in some dead end f***ed up parking garage with some kid earning $8 an hour that insists he wants the keys to my brand new car "Just incase he has to move it" - like f*** buddy

f*** Sydney for everything except for jobs
Gabby

Yer, sydney is the biggest s*** hole in Aus... and i have to put up with the seedy c***s.
it costs me $48/day to park in the city

:O Why drive when it costs so much? If you need your car for work, work should be paying.
Got up ridiculously early to beat morning traffic and attend 8am lecture.
Result? No traffic, took me 10 minutes to get here AND find a park.

Nightmare of a day ahead, need to drive up the coast and make preparations for a wedding.

(Not mine)

Bedtime yet pls?
Woke up at 7, checked bank balance and still haven't been paid. Went for a walk with the dogs and realised I should have put more warmer clothes on. Had breakfast, had shower, decided to wear trendy pants but found out they weren't clean so back to jeans. Am now at work and thinking it's time for a coffee.

Mood: Lethargic.
woke up at 7.30 with uber hangover took dog for epic walk and swim now feeling a million bucks woot

thanks for that update chub
Red
:O Why drive when it costs so much? If you need your car for work, work should be paying.

Do you honestly think he's the type of person who would lower himself to public transport?

Agreed.

Yesterday I slept in, got to work at 9:30, took a 2 hour lunch-Wii-break, left at 4:30 for drinks with the boss, had a free dinner on the company and was told to get a cab home and expense it. Some days are good.
thanks for that update chub
LOL paveway, you have a man crush on me or something.

I didn't even post that.
heh

orly?
Do you honestly think he's the type of person who would lower himself to public transport?

I knew it. What a dill if that really is the reason. I guess I'm being an optimist and I need teq to confirm that the only reason he drives is his car.
I didn't even post that.

it was the meth speaking?

on the days when I do drive, I need the car
on the days when I do not drive, I have to be AT the train station by 6.39am or earlier in order to get a seat - trains are seriously over crowded, even before 7am

the $50~ is worth every cent when I don't have to leave home 2+hrs early and for the comfort of not having to play sardines for over an hour each way to/from work
i don't believe you
i like driving to work

public transport is icky

mood: glad im not icky

last edited by Spook at 10:21:49 16/Oct/08
Trains are great if you got a good station for carparks, and you don't travel anywhere near peak times.

Cheap student tickets (even cheaper for offpeak), good carparks at sandgate and I travel at times where I have a 4 seater to myself and can relax.

Travelling on peak trains is hell, fat people squashing into you and coughing flu germs in your face... and that's IF you get a seat.
i don't mind my bus because it stops right near my house and pretty much goes express from chermside (2 stops after i get on) to the busway where you just cruise

will keep catching it sometimes even once i have my license back

and i always get a seat
Red
I'm pretty lucky as the train I usually get in the morning my station is the second on that run so there's always seats. Furthermore, the oldest and newest trains have a single seat beside the stairs on the upper deck, so you can sit by yourself and enjoy the stress-free 20 minute trip to the city. Happy days.
once i have my license back
you musn't have got that memo like 3 and a half months ago when i first said i lost my license, maybe you were high
I stopped getting my weekly newsletters from the paveway mailing list a few months ago, I was meaning to contact you.
still it's a LOL
hasn't been all bad, i've got a stack of work done on it while it's been off the road
I enjoyed catching public transport to work. The only downside is I can't read due to motion sickness.

The only downside was when I was pregnant and having to stand while nearly passing out. Normally I wouldn't mind and would happily stand but sometimes I would white out and go all cold and clammy and no one would bother offering a seat
where has chivalry gone? *sigh*
Sometimes you meet interesting people on public transport.

Some 90yo guy on his death bed sat next to me the other day. I was playing a DS and he started yelling "WHAT ARE YOU DOING, ITS NOT REAL, YOU ARE WASTING YOUR LIFE!!".

Went on for 35 minutes, every 5 seconds he would say something random, I couldn't stop laughing, he said whatever came to mind.

The "feminists" took it out the back, cut off it's balls, shoved em down it's throat, stabbed it in the guts, ripped it's balls out through it's stomach and then shoved it up it's arse
back when i was in school (early 90's) the grade 12 prefects on the public transport were on the lookout for kids who didn't stand up for old and ladies. if they busted you they reported you for detention.

we f***en hated it but in retrospect it was a good system.
What do you call the male version of a feminist? A sexist.
Public transport in mexican land rocks, I'd says it costs me about 1/5 to do a return trip to work using it than if I drove. Helps that I'm fairly inner city though.
Travelling on peak trains is hell, fat people squashing into you and coughing flu germs in your face... and that's IF you get a seat.

hell yeah, the other day on the western line some kids got one (12-13 tops)
both of them were drunk as hell, started yelling and screaming and both stunk

had a fight between themselves, ended up walking off in different directions and one of them yelled out 'f*** man you're being a c*** again, its because you're always drunk'

i srsly couldn't believe what i was hearing

also there is an infinite amount of f***ING RETARDS who insist on playing music as loud as they can via their crappy ipod earphones which everyone else can hear, or theres always the ones who just play their music w/o earphones thinking we all want to hear it

or people having a convo on their phone as loud as humanly possible, smelly fat people who don't believe in deoderant etc

anyone who puts themselves in that position is obviously doing so because they don't have any other choice for getting to/from work, no one would actually choose to sit through public transport every day because its the "better option"

I still don't believe you

my train ticket (return to the city) is $11.20 per day
It's going up in December by 17%

did i mention that unless I get a seat in one of the booth styles (where you have two seats facing each other) - I don't fit?
i mean I can spread my knees apart and squeeze into the dual seaters but then the other person sitting next to me death stares me or asks me to move my legs

and then im all like, where the f*** would you have me put them?

down here (syd-er-knee) school kids are allowed to occupy seats on concession tickets while adults are standing..
no one gets up for anyone, everyone just pretends like its not going on

if someone does happen to give up their seat, it makes it into the paper (mX) the next day because its like one of those flowers that blooms every 100 years

this town is full of rude self centered arrogant c***s

last edited by tequila at 11:38:14 16/Oct/08
also there is an infinite amount of f***ING RETARDS who insist on playing music as loud as they can via their crappy ipod earphones which everyone else can hear, or theres always the ones who just play their music w/o earphones thinking we all want to hear it

or people having a convo on their phone as loud as humanly possible, smelly fat people who don't believe in deoderant etc,
What about the retards that use portable speakers, seriously nobody wants to hear pussy cat dolls from your ipod through a 3inch speaker you bought from crazy clarks.

Also on the phone thing, it's 10x worse when it's a foreigner.

35 minutes of an arab SCREAMING (seriously, can't these people talk soft) in his phone... it's annoying enough when it's english, but f*** off.
down here (syd-er-knee) school kids are allowed to occupy seats on concession tickets while adults are standing..
no one gets up for anyone, everyone just pretends like its not going on
I get concession as a uni student, but I'm definitely not giving up my seat for an adult.

Old people, pregnant women and people with kids/prams... yeah, I'm the first person to jump up.

But your regular city businessman, screw ya.

last edited by CHUB at 11:42:44 16/Oct/08
35 minutes of an arab SCREAMING (seriously, can't these people talk soft) in his phone...

hahahaha yeah that is pretty annoying, asian's are the same
But your regular city businessman, screw ya.

in Brisbane I have no qualms telling kids (who are obviously wearing school uniforms and therefore concession) to GTFO a seat when I'm paying twice what they're paying and probably travelling 2-4 times further
...and they move? I wouldn't think kids these days would and you can't physically touch them.

You shouldn't expect another adult (uni student) to give up a seat though, I sure as hell wouldn't move.
CHUB, it depends if you have any respect in your body at all, or just treat life as owing you.

Concession students can eat s*** and give up their seat IMO.
No way.

They beat you to the seat, you can stand.

We're all adults, the price doesn't even come into the equation.

I got bunged knee's and ankles, I'm not giving up my seat for a guy in the suit because he paid $2.00 more.

last edited by CHUB at 12:02:40 16/Oct/08
No way, half price = half service. Full price = full service.
never tried with a uni student but school kids quiver in fjear

I wouldn't really expect an adult to move, but school kids need to learn some respect
if they aren't wearing a school uniform its a moot point anyway, they could just say they're going to work?

and as for 'i got here first' and 'money shouldn't come into it'

WHY the f*** should you get it cheaper than me? I actually contribute MORE to the economy than you do and therefore I deserve more, such as a seat when I go to work 60hrs a week to pay taxes which support your poor ass while you're at uni
WHY the f*** should you get it cheaper than me?
Students have less money ;)
Students have less moeny ;)
haahah what a crock of s***
What do you call the male version of a feminist? A sexist.

True feminism (I really REALLY hate that word) isn't about being a female (and yet they call the movement after female... o_O).

A man can be a feminist, but as a woman I question what movement can be about true equality when it is named after one sex
thats your choice though, its not fair to the rest of us who choose to work instead of being bums

you could work full time and study part time, therefore still getting it done while not being a drain on the economy

either way, gtfo my seat you bums
I think a male feminist would get bashed pretty quickly.
you could work full time and study part time, therefore still getting it done while not being a drain on the economy
I do now.

I just got my new ID card, 2014 ;)

BAM!
Red

"Students travelling on a free student pass are required to give up their seats for fare-paying customers. This condition of usage is noted on the pass. Any student not complying with the terms of their pass may have it confiscated at any time.

For more information visit the Code of conduct page."

start yelling teq! I know that says 'free student pass' and not 'concession ticket' but really if a kid is eligible for a free student pass why would they be buying concession tickets so let's just assume uniformed student == free pass, k?

Also, all that s*** you said about the western line... it's the f***ing western line what do you expect?
i'm going to enrol in 4 subjects next semester, then drop back to my normal 2 so i get a full time student card loll my full time tafe student card is covering me into september next year

as if i'm getting up for any c***
Hi-five paveway!

Got to work the system, cheap movies and travel for the next 6 years ftw.

Even then, before I graduate (if I do?), I'll get a new ID that will cover me into my 30's.
I am happy to get up for those who need my seat. Older people, pregnant women, and disabled I would happily stand up for.

Unfortunately being a c*** isn't a disability.

It's not that hard to be nice to someone
I just work full time so i can afford to pay full price and think nothing of it.
When I didn't have a car, I had to catch the BUS, but dressed in business attire, and having student rates was for the WIN!
Students have less money ;)

This is a fair point. I also have less money than millionaires, so I expect I should get a discount on Aston Martins.
Also, all that s*** you said about the western line... it's the f***ing western line what do you expect?

yeah ok well I wasn't really *that* shocked

the other day I got off at blacktown to go shopping and the first thing I heard over the PA was "if there is any police or security guards on the platform could you please make your way to the main ticket booth as a matter of urgency"

some fat 15~ year old kid was GOING OFF and kicking signs/bins/screaming obscenities for no particular reason at all

s*** like that you just rarely see in Bris - or at least I never really saw it
but dressed in business attire, and having student rates was for the WIN!

heck yes, no one asks me to move because i'm usually dressed better than them anyway

and the fact i usually sit towards the back which old people don't like to venture down that way
Noone asks anyone to move, full stop, except apparently teq.

Never seen that ever happen once in my entire life travelling on trains.
I specifically stated kids wearing school uniforms
what is it with hot chicks only sitting next to a male if there isný another female to sit next to?

srsly

then i feel awesome if one sits next to me and there was another female to sit next to lols
Jum
f*** public transport, on my bike it takes me less than 15 minutes to get into the city regardless of traffic, and every morning i get to lol at all the f***heads in their 4w drives backed up along coro drive as i split down in a fraction of the time it takes them. then more lols at all the chumps queing up to pay ridiculous amounts of $$$ to park

I do now.

I just got my new ID card, 2014 ;)

BAM!

heh did they question you about it? i still need to get a new ID, may as well bung the graduation date back as far as i can

One thing that will extend your degree by 1 - 2 years is saying you are going to study 3 units instead of 4.

Other then that, get creative ;)
I always offer to get up whenever there's an elderly/pregnant/injured/disabled person on the bus. I don't think these people should have to ask
Woke up late again today. Feel neither energetic or enthusiastic this morning. Mood improved slightly by the afternoon. Got a bit of work done, though still feel unproductive.

Ran a new 8.4 k route home with my running partner, terrible lap time.

Mood: Dishearten