Topic: Shift-1, Australia's Got Talent GRAND FINALS - Tue 24th
Morax
EDIT: Grand Finals update in quote:
Hey everyone. Just a heads up, the grand finals of Australia's Got Talent will go to air this Tuesday the 24th June at 7:30pm on channel 7. My crew Shift-1 has made it into the finals (top 8 acts), and is up against some amazing talent! We therefore need votes this time more than ever for a chance at the win! So if you've enjoyed our act so far and would like to help us out, please send off a vote (or a few) for Shift-1 :D

Thanks for everyone's support this far!

Wooot!! Was going to just reply in the old thread but it's almost 10 pages old now so thought I'd start a new one :P

For anyone that's following, we got through to the top 8 on votes! Big big big thank you to everyone on qgl who voted for us! Finals will air on the 24th of June and 1st July (first week for the acts, second week for results), so now more than ever is when we'll need everybody's support!

Once again thanks guys!
What do you get if you win?
congrats dude
congrats eh, remember us when you win
we need money to host a lan ;(
you should use your time on national TV to draw attention to various international human rights issues

you should do a shout out to qgl in the finale :P
^ yeah do that!

Congrats!!
no, people will invade teh foroms.
You guys sure you can hold your own against a grandmother who plays the spoons?
Strik3r
always moist, always.. morax
What do you get if you win?

A dickload of business opportunities :> GL to ya guys..
What do you we get if you win?

Fixed.
Congrats on getting into the finals! Saw you at Coorparoo again the other day when you had the dance kids on Monday arvo, but I was in the middle of teaching so I had to run out
Oh will you just grow a pair and go up and say hello to him in person.

Wimp!

p.s. Good work Morax :)
lol Kat I would have gone up if I could have but I wasn't expecting him to be there, was only running in to get someting off my other teacher
SUS^^^^^^

Go Morax.
nice work dude!
Congrats dude! :)
finally, someone from qgl will amount to something!!!

i have dreamed of this day
Morax
I've edited the grand finals date and details in the first post for anybody who's interested :)
Sweet, I'll make sure I'm watching then. Goodluck for finals
In the mean time... Terry Crews lol

Congrats man - All the best for the finals!
well done Moraxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx.

Good luck! LOL and mention QGL on national TV, so trog can be rolling in his phat pile lewt from the intraweb traffic !
no, people will invade teh foroms.

I'm actually suprised QGL has lasted so long with such a low amount of new members joining.

I think I'm the only new member in what, the last 20 years?

Anyway, GJ morax keep up the good work!

Edit: 405 million friends on myspace. That's hardcore right there.

last edited by Phooks at 14:29:58 23/Jun/08
we dont take kindly to new types around here
I'm fairly new (4/5 months)

GL with the finals shift1 :>
OMFG, thats huge!

Well done guys. You can expect to be very busy as a result of this no matter what happens from here on in.
Did you ever make it to a qgl jake??
Yeah Tayf i made it to one.. i remember someone dropping their CRT while trying to bring it inside. Was also the same QGL you got the mic and humiliated old mate mastubator. And the first time the inferno tag was donned :>
he knows your first name, he must like you
hi dan
épic™
$250,000 if you win... nice! :)

if you can vote online, its game overrrrrrr.
Saw you guys at the Roma Street Parklands thingo a few weeks back.

Very good and the crowd loved it. Good luck.
hello davey (k)
any more youtube action? that pressentor had such any aussie accent "what is this pop and lock?"
haha i am ironman!

well done dude. you guys rocked.
Awesome as always, but for me there was a bit to many tune changes.
Not enough time on the one track to really bust out some long fluid moves/sets.
épic™
missed it, hookup some youtube love?
Just watched it and it was awesome. Good luck fellas!
If that guitarist is going to win 200 grand for playing classical gas I'm going to rage.

I can play that song, wheres my 200 grand? :(
f***in oath. Unless he played the tommy version?
Australia's got talent? Please - that was s***e.

Spoon Lady - f*** off
Smokin' Joe - Leave with spoon lady
Opera Bird - I didn't hear a thing she sang?
Little girl - Cute but hardly a finalist. I mean really.
Karate chop guys - Trying to turn kung-foo into dance? See spoon lady for directions
Jordain? - That guy can sing but was he actually playing anything on the guitar?
Shift 1 - Will be carrying phat bags of lewt. TV just doesn't do them them justice.
Homo guy - Actually quite good but loves it in teh ass.

Seriously though most of those acts (exect gay man, Jordain, smokin joe and Shift) were terrible. Well half of them.

Gay man, shift and Jordain will be top three. Shift for the win - not being biased but it was the most creative, entertaining and interesting act by far.

Morax - can you help a brother out with his car payments?

last edited by mission at 21:08:03 24/Jun/08
WINNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN

hunter sucks
So Shift-1 is going to fund the next QGL LAN? Good to hear.
Morax
thanks for the comments guys :D

If you missed it, footage is here:

And to vote, sms SHIFT to 199 7777 2 or call 1902 55 333 7

Thanks again to everyone!!! Time to go pack for Sydney in the morning :D
omfg morax is that a cs trophy at 0:31?
Morax
hahaha nitro yes it is, i have a cabinet full of them :P
I agree with the above, serious who gives a f*** about some young girl who can sing very averagely. Sure, good for her age, but she's still not very good and has a long way to go, why the hell do people vote for crap like that? "awww my gawwwwwd, eeets so cuuuuuute".

With the judges though, what a f***ing tool, "What a discovery you guys are", when the judges didn't put them through to the final on their own decision.

Well done boys.

I'd be curious to know how much the OCAU/QGL backing helped with the votes. Either way, it's time to rally the team.
I voted - first thing I've ever, ever voted for via SMS. I managed to overcome my fear of making them think I care about bad reality television shows just for you Morax.
I don't think I've ever voted for one of these things before Shift-1.

Good luck guys, win win win!
I get $10 included premium SMS each month in the plan I'm on, so you've got my 18 votes :P
sms SHIFT to 199 7777 2

I did this but got no reply or acknowledgement my vote went in.. is that normal?

gg shift-1
kos
That you guys managed to keep it fresh each round was the thing I was most impressed by, most of the acts on these types of shows fail miserably at that. Was all extremely entertaining though! Also the first time I've ever voted for something like this, good luck!!
I voted - first thing I've ever, ever voted for via SMS.

I always knew you were in the closet Trog ...
So, do you already know if you won? Or is it live tonight and you find out when we find out?
I'm not sure what I'm more impressed with - SHIFT-1 or the fact WoR won trophies?
'Everyone gets a trophy day'.
kos
So, do you already know if you won? Or is it live tonight and you find out when we find out?

Voting closes 27th, so I'd say no one will know until at least the 28th...
Oh, the winners are announced next week, I thought it was tonight.
The produces already know who wins.
who spammed all this over uq st lucia?
voted. Go win QGL some phat loot.

Edit:
Jourdain Here | Removed: Inappropriate

HAHAHAHAHAHA

last edited by FraktuRe at 19:48:49 25/Jun/08
Morax
Hey guys :) thanks for voting so far everyone!! I'm in a net cafe here in melbourne at the hotel and thought I'd jump on.. pretty crazy times here!! Also just a quick reminder that voting closes today (Friday) midday, so if anybody wants to get in any last minute votes, then please do!

I see Jourdain (or his management) have posted on here after they saw that I did, and want in on the action.. How sneaky!!!!
Why do you always post past midnight, morax?
Morax
I normally don't get home from training etc till really late. We (shift-1) just got back to the hotel now after a long day of rehearsals for grand finals filming tomorrow
who does your musak?
I voted dude, so good luck. I only watched you guys do your routine cuz after I saw that spoon lady I lost interest in the show.
woot for last minute votes!
Sitting here watching it now, so excited for you guys seeing as they've already knocked a few people out!
they're out! well done guys of shift 1.
Poogay
That's bulls*** you guys didn't win...

Australia's Got Sympathy?
Wtf. I can't believe they're not gonna win, only Smokin Joe and Jordain left. Jordain has no talent at all... he'd be okay for like pub karaoke or something, but that's as far as it goes. Smokin Joe's really good tho, so I definitely hope he's the winner out of the two of them.

Congrats to Shift 1 for getting as far as you did, thought you guys were awesome and really surprised that you didn't win.
Fantastic work on getting this far. The exposure alone is worth a s*** load.

Who won? A kid? Stupid kids!!!!!

Plus, best you didn't win, then I would be jealous and hate you for life :p
Hmm Jordain sang quite well tonight, he never sang well the other nights so I was really surprised he got this far
Bad luck dudes (I even missed your performance :() But there are better things than $250,000, right?

Nah you were robbed.
Morax
thanks guys, i actually did do a shout out to qgl but they didn't show it :( was after we walked off stage and the camera came up to us, ah well!

gotta say though, we are by no means cut at losing to joe, that kid is amazing! when all the acts were in the warmup room, he was jamming away on the guitar and i can honestly say i have never ever met anybody who can play the instrument like that. what you saw of him on tv is nothing compared to him live. definitely a deserved win by him!

once again thanks to everyone on here, good to know people on qgl are (sometimes) supportive and don't just pay people out 100% of the time hahahah
Did you score anything? Wheel of fortune board game? A momento from germani jewellery?

At least you can charge $100+/hr for dance lessons now.
Joe is an awesome guitarist but Shift-1 need to reclaim some cred and go smash Jourdain in the face.
You are being advertised on the radio :p Pressure bar or something at the Calamvale tomorrow night.
Really lame he won by ripping off Tommy Emmanuel compositions.

Very crap that they would let someone through on basically technical abilities, there's a truckload of guitarists in Australia like that.

Seriously :S

Plus he butchered the f*** out of Classical Gas.
"butchered the f***" ? ...

You obviously haven't seen me pick up a guitar ... I doubt I could have played that song in guitar hero on easy much less a real guitar
Morax
nah Joe deserved the win more than anyone imo.. he hung out with us at the hotel heaps during grand finals and he's an absolute champion and his guitar playing is off the hook. When you hear him jamming, and live, it's absolutely incredible. The guy's a genius!