Topic: Windows Vista Released...
For all of you who've been counting down the sleeps... (heh) Its finally out...

I'm sure most of you know about the differences... Something I did notice was that you get a 32bit and a 64bit dvd with each copy...

lol $751 au for vista ultimate. yah right m$.
From the way Rubba has been testing it out at home on his computer (to learnt eh ropes for work) it sounds like a bloated piece of s*** that makes things run like ass.
That seems like the general consensus.

Reason: Inappropriate
Click Here to See the Profile for Astroboy Edit This Post Click Here to send Astroboy an email Users HomePage Message User
Nailbomb
MSY are selling the OEM of Windows Vista Ultimate for about $250.
StopShootingMe
So they are, s***e...

Wonder how they can manage that?
step
Wonder how they can manage that?

By also asking for one of your kidneys!
From the way Rubba has been testing it out at home on his computer (to learnt eh ropes for work) it sounds like a bloated piece of s*** that makes things run like ass.

A few things...

1) Its not bloated, it seems nice and quick to me...
2) Doesn't make things run like ass...
3) No matter how much you bag it out now, you'll all be using it within a year (except for mac fags and linux lovers)

PS: Anyone seen the current Mac v PC ad that apple have been pimping?

The pc is getting surgery for the upgrade to vista... I ask... How do you upgrade a mac... It would seem to me that if Apple released a complete rewrite of MacOS, you'd probably not only need an upgrade... You'd probably need a whole new Mac.
Got one sitting here but I won't be installing it anytime soon.

Im sure WinXP runs quicker on your pc.

See answer to question 1.

3) No matter how much you bag it out now, you'll all be using it within a year (except for mac fags and linux lovers)

Like most microsoft operating systems, there is no benifit from being an early adopter. It is best to wait till they atleast bring out the first service pack to fix all the problems they need to fix.

last edited by ara at 10:57:32 30/Jan/07
I missed out on the first copy that was signed by Bill Gates. No point now!
I can't see any reason to run Vista. XP introduced some cool new features, a new code base thingie and other very important aspects but Vista just seems to be Aero, excessive use of resources (500Mb of RAM used just by loading Vista) and that annoying UAC (yes I know it can be turned off).

Guy at work has been testing it to see if it's worth upgrading our SOE but he still hasn't found a valid reason to shell out hundreds of thousands of gold coins yet.

Also, found these articles on why it's s***;

10 Reasons why not to get Vista:
http://apcmag.com/5049/10_reasons_not_to_get_vista

5 Reasons why Vista sucks:
http://www.intelliadmin.com/blog/2007/01/5-sins-of-vista.html
Bloody news.com.au has now been Vista themed, wtf.

Also, very little point of being an early adopter (as an end user). You can get Vista theme packs for XP, and there are very few applications that need Vista. Maybe towards the end of the year when there are some DirectX10 games out, things will be different.

Even then most of the DX10 games to be released this year are actually primarily DX9 with DX10 slapped on for extra eye-candy.
I will be waiting till I get a new PC and the gaming performance under vista increases, because so far the benchmarks for games running under vista aren't looking so hot.
StopShootingMe
parabol, Supreme Commander will support DX10, that's reason enough for me :)
parabol, Supreme Commander will support DX10,

Not out of the box, but weeks later .. but anyway.
bjp
Won't be installing it anywhere until at least SP1.
guys, can i upgrade my windows xp OEM to vista ultimate?
and if so, can i then replace my pc and install my upgrade version of vista ultimate on it?
couldnt be in a less of a hurry to install it
guys, can i upgrade my windows xp OEM to vista ultimate?
and if so, can i then replace my pc and install my upgrade version of vista ultimate on it?

Yes, you sould be able to upgrade XP OEM to Vista Ultimate. MS have done away with the old method of checking if you had a valid XP to upgrade by asking for a license key, now you must have the OS installed on the disk.
ccl
I'm going to keep running Linux while my free copy of Vista, downloaded from MSDNAA, sits in a drawer.

I see the acronym DRM occur far too much in articles talking about Vista.
think i'll be taking the majority nerd opinion on this one and step the f*** back

wait and see how things play out
DRM sux dog balls and needs to be discouraged as much as possible
tung
Token Black Man
ccl, through which organisation did you get vista via msdnaa? i checked the msdnaa site and i couldnt find any mention of vista there
ccl
Macquarie uni.

I am not able to download it yet until they reactivate my account when semester starts. I checked today and Vista Business addition is certainly listed though.
using it because my job requires me to.

it's another new Windows.

btw - I love how you can install the OS and use Ultimate for 30 days without so much as entering a cd key.

last edited by koopz at 15:15:12 30/Jan/07

tung i downloaded it from msdn at least a month ago.

there is a dvd iso that has all the various vista flavours in it and determines which to install via the key provided.

there is also a 5 cd iso version which does the same but asks for certain disks based on the key provided.
http://img442.imageshack.us/img442/6186/0537458500rl0.jpg
tung
Token Black Man
im with qut and i cant find it available yet :(

If you use a small partition for your windows boot drive, try doubling it. Under XP i would have a 20GB partition for XP + non-game program files.

I was advised to make my Vista one bigger, it's currently 23.1/50GB free.

The one thing i do know about it's run-like-arse-ness is it takes a very long time for any file/open|save dialogs to open in any applications and explorer takes ages to open too. I suspect this is because all my harddrives are full and it wants to do some fancy s***. I don't know why it is, but it is f***ing annoying. (note: mates don't have this problem, but they don't have all their drives full either).

Consider carefully why you are upgrading to vista. I installed vista over the xmas break, and the first two days were the worst of my recent-life. I regretted it so much. That was even with immediately disabling UAC.

I'm getting used to it now, but i've not seen any benefits over XP, except for maybe automagic driver updates, but i never let Windows Update automatically do anything before so that may just be a XP feature too.

Jesus christ, that looks f***ing terrible.
but guyz, how r u gonnaa run teh halo 2, it only compatibles on the new Windoze Vistar.!1!

I've enrolled in some IT units this Semester in the (unlikely) event that they put it up on MSDNAA, then I'll drop the subject before census date
simul
msdnaa for UQ has it available

but its vista business, which doesnt even come with solitaire!
I went out yesterday to buy the missus a new laptop...

when asking if the guy had any of them in stock with xp on he said, "No, but you'll be much better off waiting for windoze vista, your computer will be faster more secure and more reliable".

I rofled. but good for him being a mindless drone earning his pay and reciting microsoft's sales/marketing material word for word.

I CAN NOT STAND the user interface. I used that beta thing that MS released and although the OS ran fine and was stable & stuff the interface for it sucked major wangshaft. I tried to turn it off but the closest I came was getting rid of the web view in each folder which also gets rid of the folder tree. What the hell were they thinking there?
Linux is the Best<-- I am using it too.

I'd use linux if there were ports of every game for it. I cbf with wine and that other one I forget the name of.
ccl
What do you mean? Linux runs quake3 fine.
^ Not to mention Doom 3 (natively without Wine)

Also UT2004.

last edited by parabol at 21:16:29 30/Jan/07
we installed it here for testing. played around with it for 10mins and get bored. sure, media center is upgrade from mce2005 and included, and theres a couple of other features, but non esentail.

i know i will upgrade one day, but not for now.
damn it, soo soon, and i just got use to my documents being above my computer on my desktop.
The pc is getting surgery for the upgrade to vista... I ask... How do you upgrade a mac... It would seem to me that if Apple released a complete rewrite of MacOS, you'd probably not only need an upgrade... You'd probably need a whole new Mac.

Eh what? MacOS X was released in 2001, and was officially supported right back to the Powerbook G3 series, a laptop which debuted in 1998.
эδєє
You don't need to actually upgrade for Windows Vista. It runs fine on any decent computer. The only reason you might want to is if you need to run/develop Direct3D10 games.

And if you don't like having your video card running in 3D all the time, you can switch to Aero basic or whatever its called and it uses the exact same rendering engine as Windows XP (i.e. bitmaps and blitting and whatnot).

Oh and apparently that big chunk o' memory that windows uses is actually reserved for Windows until programs need it. Seems pointless but hey, MS does that.

The only few problems I've had with Vista are the lack of drivers for SB Live, and I need to upgrade to an Audigy 4 anyway coz mine's so old now and its causing problems. Maybe a few software bugs, but I havent noticed any.

Thats about the only thing wrong with Vista on my end.

Well Apple charge for MacOS updates. Does the video show the Mac shelling out heaps of money for minor updates?

Once XP gets too dated I'm just going to switch to Linux. Hell, if WoW supported Linux natively, I already would have.
If your that adament about switching to linux, you should check out ubuntu running with Cedega, from www.Transgaming.com

It is incredibly easy to setup and wow works just fine with it (because half of the developers play it).

I had a combo of Kubuntu and Cedega and yeah, simple to setup, worked great, ran fast. Personally these days I prefer windows so I dont have to f*** around but yeah.
boba
So many versions of Vista. I can't figure out which one to download purchase.

last edited by boba at 09:38:44 31/Jan/07
haha boba, you sure are a huge fag.
Lynx
and I need to upgrade to an Audigy 4

I saw this on Google news, you might want to read it 3D.
I admin Linux servers, I run Linux at home for MythTV, Network things (DHCP, NTP), MySQL and Apache -- but there's no f***ing way I'd use it as a games machine.

I tried Ubuntu + Cedega and it sucked balls. I play games when I come home from work after spending all day fixing problems.. I just want to clickity clak on an icon and to have my gaming fun instead of spending 5 minutes trying command line swithces to launch the game, then another 15 minutes on the intrawebs trying to find a solution to why the game doesn't run.

Linux needs native ports of games, none of this emulation business.

Jesus christ, that looks f***ing terrible.

Looks like that was just a one off for the launch of Vista, thank god!
I tried Ubuntu + Cedega and it sucked balls. I play games when I come home from work after spending all day fixing problems.. I just want to clickity clak on an icon and to have my gaming fun instead of spending 5 minutes trying command line swithces to launch the game, then another 15 minutes on the intrawebs trying to find a solution to why the game doesn't run.

Im guessing you used an original version, because it now has a full gui etc. You get home, load the program from a icon on your desktop, click the game you want to play and hit launch... its become incredibly user friendly.
эδєє
Damn, i thought coz there were only (beta) drivers for Audigy 4 and X-Fi that this wouldnt be the case. Fking MS. So now I have to shell out 500 dollars just to get sound.

Whats the deal with leaving previous sound cards out of these drivers/fixes????

EDIT *** I just checked the creative site and they've actually got beta drivers for Audigy 4.

last edited by эδєє at 12:42:11 31/Jan/07
Im guessing you used an original version, because it now has a full gui etc. You get home, load the program from a icon on your desktop, click the game you want to play and hit launch... its become incredibly user friendly.

Nah I used the version with the GUI interface, could never get it to run properly so I went back to my old friend, the CLI.

If I get sufficiently bored I may give it another go with the new Ubuntu or FC6 though. Biggest hurdle is my video card is ATI which has woeful Linux support.
dafugg
Yaaaay.

No MIDI support anymore as MS apparently removed their MIDI support software. No EAX support from creative or realtek.

Granted these are probably temporary problems for some people but without them I won't be touching vista.. oh that and I can buy a f***ing console and some games for the price of just the OS.
StopShootingMe
EAX will be supported, but only for X-Fi users. Live and Audigy guys are hosed...
who uses windows built in midi support anyway?
I also hate the UI

Anyone thought of the horror that's going to happen when you install games that force DirectX 9c to be installed once your running DX10? Cause if you cancel the DX9 install, games usually exit as well without completing installation.
эδєє
I also hate the UI

Anyone thought of the horror that's going to happen when you install games that force DirectX 9c to be installed once your running DX10? Cause if you cancel the DX9 install, games usually exit as well without completing installation.

You *can* change the UI back to a Aero Basic, which is the same as XP, though with a new theme. And you can go right back to Windows classic theme. The lesser VS's use the old WinXP 2D rendering method.

you can install DX9 on Vista. It just adds it to it. Unless I'm mistaken. Vista already has DirectX 9.0L apparently. Its sort of a vista update of dx9.

last edited by эδєє at 20:31:37 31/Jan/07
TufNuT
HERMITech if you a version of DX that is newer than the version of the cd when you click yes it just skips it. thats not a problem, but not having good sound in games is for me since i actually support the developers by paying for my games.
You don't need to actually upgrade for Windows Vista. It runs fine on any decent computer.

It ran quite well on my p3 866mhz computer with only 512Mb of ram. The UI was as slow as hell to do anything but that was because a)the video card was a ti4200, b)the computer is slow and c)the hard drive it was on is physically rooted and unable to hold data for extended periods of time. It ran quite well on my p4 which has 1gig of ram and a gayti x1300 video card in it, even ran cs well (maybe even a tad better than xp). Not that anyone probably cares but just mentioning vista did run ok on my crap pc, well the free beta version anyway.
if you a version of DX that is newer than the version of the cd when you click yes it just skips it.

Hrmm.. I wasn't sure if it did that or not.

I've got an X-Fi platinum an it reversed all my 7.1 speaker settings (front became rear, sides became front an rear became sides) though that is probably just creative an their pathetic response to Vista

And yeah, I know that you can slim down the UI to something that barely resembles "classic" look however as whoop noted earlier, it removes the folder view.

I still think that the UI reminds me of an onion
You gotta peel off layers of crap before you get to the bits your after an even then, it makes your eyes water
There's bits of an onion that are good? WTF
LoneWolf
No bloody GTXP drivers for it either! Looks like when the time comes for me to install it, I'll need a completely new PC ....
you needed a new pc years ago :P
if someone here buys Vista, then your a f***ing tool. wait till all games and software are optimised for it and DX10... like late this year perhaps sometime.
http://apcmag.com/5049/10_reasons_not_to_get_vista

http://www.intelliadmin.com/blog/2007/01/5-sins-of-vista.html
I still think that the UI reminds me of an onion
You gotta peel off layers of crap before you get to the bits your after an even then, it makes your eyes water

Cakes have layers...everybody loves cakes!
эδєє
Meh I'm into graphics and stuff so I like it.

Hooray for not paying a cent for it (got Business edition cd-key through MSDNAA).
Reason number 10 as to why you'll get Vista...

10. Face it, you have no choice
When Microsoft brings out a major renovation to Windows, you can choose to ignore it for a year or two, but then the device drivers start drying up for older versions of Windows, your friends start asking questions about their new PC that you can't answer, and even if you use Linux, you'll inevitably need familiarity with Microsoft's latest interoperability blockers. Face it: your arse belongs to Redmond.

link
Already been a nightmare. We arent upgrading at work, (not any time soon anyway) and we are already getting through the .docx files because our contacts arent saving their files as 2003 compatable, we are having to go back and forth with people whenever we receive attachments created in MS07. Damn them all to hell.
You know there is a patch for office 2003 to make it compatible with those files right?
Because MS f***ed something up with their DHCP client I've installed it on my laptop for testing. Final release seems a little better than the RC1 I trialled a while back but it still s***s me that it takes double the amount of clicks to get to something like network connections and so on.

PS: If anyone knows why static routes set via DHCP options does not get added to the route table on Vista, I'd be keen to get a PM.
boba
I had a nightmare with networking on rc1 and my router with dhcp settings. Couldn't get it f***ing fixed so went straight back to xp
You know there is a patch for office 2003 to make it compatible with those files right?

How do I convince the professors at uni, my boss at work (not to mention all the clients) to install this patch?
Put your sister on the table?
I don't have a sister nor a spare table.
Well if its you using Office 2007, then you should just save it as a 2003 document.

better yet, hack the gibson, drop a logic bomb through the trapdoor and forcefully install it.

How/where/what?

And why did my IT guy know nothing about it when I sent him a bitchy email about solving the problem for me this morning?
Because your IT guy

A) Doesnt like you
B) Isnt that good
C) Was eating bagels

http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/products/HA101686761033.aspx

http://users.bigpond.net.au/Skitza/pics/gibson.jpg
posting from vista ultimate e-penis edition!
now posting from vista safe mode cuz windows update f***ed my PC

seriously, things were working almost fine (wireless wasn't connecting) but now that i've applied the latest updates it doesn't boot :(

i feel so violated
lolz
TufNuT
now posting from vista safe mode cuz windows update f***ed my PC

seriously, things were working almost fine (wireless wasn't connecting) but now that i've applied the latest updates it doesn't boot :(

i feel so violated

ROFL!
Having a great run, installed pretty easily (Used my ipod to install raid drivers during installation! :D )

Found all my hardware, soundcard works fine, email works fine, xvid works fine, nero, AVG, FlashFXP, WoW:BC , and all my other apps run great. hdd to hdd transfer is heaps faster with the vista drivers than the xp ones from MS, games run fine, performance is great and overall I like the look and feel, there is a few neat little things that used to piss me off that have been fixed. So far im loving it.
VISTA, VISTA, VISTAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Don't worry, Ed's won't be able to post here anymore because Vista just crashed on him.
Pretty sure Eds doesnt have a ' in it. That and I dont own a want.

Seems to be working great. Surely you could spare one of your many machines to try it :P

Oh, have been using it for a whole heap of crap today and nothing has slowed down or crashed or misbehaved. Hopefully time doesnt prove me wrong.
my wireless sucks, ASUS P5AD2 on board wifi can go f*** itself
it gets stuck with with 'unidentified network' and google can't save me
even tried random drivers

its my opinion now that motherboard manufacturers don't give a s*** about their motherboards after a year or so - so my chances of VISTA drivers are next to zero

lucky the on board LAN works

i also disabled my dodgy SCSI card (its years old and been giving me probs with XP) i think this was what was giving me boot problems as i'm now back in stud mode

still no sound either, again stupid on board sound

i do like vista though, looks dreamy!
Pretty sure Eds doesnt have a ' in it. That and I dont own a want.

Seems to be working great. Surely you could spare one of your many machines to try it :P

Oh, have been using it for a whole heap of crap today and nothing has slowed down or crashed or misbehaved. Hopefully time doesnt prove me wrong.

Sorry about that Eds. In all honestly I have been thinking about trying it on one of my systems, but I still want to give it a couple of months first and let them iron any bugs out of it.
hdd to hdd transfer is heaps faster with the vista drivers than the xp ones from MS

that's what you get for using MS's drivers. I always install the manufacturers' drivers, or chipset makers' drivers if they're available whatever the OS.

its my opinion now that motherboard manufacturers don't give a s*** about their motherboards after a year or so - so my chances of VISTA drivers are next to zero

do you even bother looking for drivers or do you just cry when "install automatically" can't find them?
Skitza - nice pic. That made my Dad's day seeing that.

my wireless sucks, ASUS P5AD2 on board wifi can go f*** itself

huh? isn't that just a Marvel wireless? Marvel shelled out the bucks to MS to get WHQL for their onboard gear eh - I'd be surprised to hear their wireless didn't slip in as a cheapy at least as a MS update. I suppose the Marvel webby could provide some more info, but ya know there isn't a real lot of editing required to convert an XP .inf driver to a Vista_32 one mate.

Worth looking into eh :)

you know, it may not be a driver problem - since they worked fine on XP i could probably just wait and see if vista updates fix it

in fact, that's what i'll do

and for the record i did try other drivers, its a 88W8000G / 88W8310 chipset but all of the non - ASUS / Marvell drivers didn't initialise and those that did initialise didn't fix the problem

if i didn't have lan to fall back on, i probably would start hacking inf files:)

http://www.users.on.net/~calmoss/20070202.jpg
thrax
man no internet banking in north korea
http://www.nemius.com/vista_vol.jpg

A neat feature I just found in vista. You can control the audio PER application.

It rocks oh so hard being able to do this.
Thats pretty cool, especially as my tv tuner is stupid and uses the windows master volume to control its volume.
That is pretty neat, so if QGL is to loud you can turn it's volume down or mute it!

Oh where was that option a few years ago, when someone did a sneaky embedded soundlink to what eventually became the Jamster Crazy Frog?
Thinking about installing the business version haven't decided yet whether i will or not, might put it on my 2nd computer first and see if i like it. Is it better to do a fresh install or does the update option work just aswell?
My summary on Vista:

Installed Business on my laptop last week, few problems with games to start off with but installed the ATI drivers and it's off and running. Need to enable "smooth mouse" in WoW or else its jerky and laggy as s***. After fixing that, everything runs quicker, faster, better than XP.

On the desktop side of things, everything works and ties in extremely well. From adding albums to the media player, burning them to CD, video manager, etc. I then installed it on my work PC yesterday and everything seems to be going well your basic office applications.

My gripes are as follows;

1) Microsoft, why did you have to change the location to where everything is? It is not enjoyable having to find out how to add the telnet client as an application.

2) Microsoft, why did you disable the telnet client on the default install?

3) Microsoft, VLK2 sucks balls - please fix it.

4) Microsoft, DHCP client is still broken because it won't pickup my CSRs.

5) Microsoft, how f***ing hard is it to OS-wide network profiles. When I'm at work, use the proxy server. When I'm at home, use no proxy server.

That's it so far - a surprisingly good OS. The question though, is would I upgrade if I had to pay for it? No.
I am thinking about installing it, have had it sitting here for a week now. Just a quick question:
1) i am just going to upgrade from xp - vista (not a fresh install), has anyone had any major issues with this?
2) Is it possible to uninstall vista and go back to xp if i dont like vista?
It's probably just a superstition but I've always gone clean installs for all of the Windows releases.

And I don't think it's possible to uninstall.
If you use system restore, it may be possible, but I wouldn't be game to try.

Ghost your main OS drive and give it a try...you can just restore your XP image if it all goes to hell.
i woudlnt ever install windows over the top of an existing windows

thats just asking for trouble
i woudlnt ever install windows over the top of an existing windows

thats just asking for trouble

Actually, if I'm not mistaken, it's almost enforced that you have *something* installed on your system in order to perform a Vista upgrade..

(MS goofed actually - this mandatory requirement has made it possible for you to purchase the Retail Upgrade version and install it without needing any previous Windows OS)
Does the install not require you to have your raid controllers on a floppy drive yet?
You can now have them on a USB stick or CDROM!
step
You can now have them on a USB stick or CDROM!

What about on a separate partition or hdd?

last edited by step at 12:06:37 09/Feb/07
эδєє
Just a quick Q about SATA hdds. I've got a 200GB PATA hdd which has windows + software and all my files (in 3 partitions..). If I add a SATA hdd (whcih i was gonna put vista on + backup drive) to this how will it be associated with the PATA drive? Will it act as a slave drive or something? Havent used SATA yet and wanna make sure having the two different types doesn't stuff anything up.
^ It won't be a "slave". It will just be a SATA drive, which you can then set as your boot drive in your BIOS settings.

Think of what happens if you just keep adding USB memory sticks to your machine. More devices keep showing up, that's it.
эδєє
Posting from vista with 520 gb of HDD (320gb on SATA). woo.

I'm gonna sus Vista out (especially the license tranfering as I'll prolly uipgrade my comp down the track) before actually activating it.
i love vista, and i seriously don't want to go back. in fact, i've downloaded Virtual Server 2005 and created my VMs so i don't need to
but i do need to buy another 2gig of ram cuz they run slow as s***

thanks work MSDN subscription!

Does anyone know how to get treble and bass controls for an AC97 codec? My sound is all muffled coz i cant jack up the treble. I can't seem to find any option in the sound control panels.

EDIT *** fixed. the drivers that I had trouble with last time I put vista on seemed to work now. yay

last edited by 3dee at 21:03:10 09/Feb/07
I found some other interesting thing today, customer asked to have his HDD partitioned. I generally use partition magic to do that which did work, but I noticed in harddisk management in control panel there is the option "resize" on the right click menu which allows you to do just that resize the active partition.

Have not tried this yet, but its not a bad idea if it works correctly.
I gave that partitioning stuff a go. I could shrink a volume but it wouldn't let me add it to another volume.

Looks like extending/shrinking is a limited in functionality.