Topic: BDO = unpatriotic - aussie flag banned

f***en Ken West is a tool!

The Australian Flag is banned at the BDO and it's also part of the reason the BDO isn't on Australia day, he doesn't want the 'race riots' of Cronulla at his festival...

total wanker.

I am going to be wearing green and gold in protest!

http://news.ninemsn.com.au/article.aspx?id=82456
i think its a smart idea. He your wearing the flag you are just asking some leb to f*** with you. Its all fair if they are banning all flags, if not why not take a leb flag to protest?
don't know how many festivals you've been to, but from the ones I've been to, there ain't too many 'ethnics' so I don't see how its going to be some massive race riot...

/shakes head
I will wear a nazi flag to protest.
seriously take the leb flag and try and not get hassled by some dick with a southern cross tattoo. Alternatively, just forget about your allegiance to your home girt by sea for a day and go have a good time.
How can anybody who claims to be patriotic wear the flag and sweat all over it?
jet has a massive australian flag as part of their stage (JET is super imposed on it) and they kept mentioning they are an aussie rock band, are they going to be banned?
pretty sad state of affairs
They didnt ban the flag, it was only suggested that it be left at home. West has good reasons as to why he is encouraging people not to bring the flag. Don't get angry at West, get angry at the people who brandish the flag as part of a ritual to summon a fight.
That explains why I saw so many people with flags at yesterday's BDO; I thought they'd gotten the date for Australia Day confused or something.
stagrrr
lol at teh BDO Apologists and Appeasers
stagrrr
OMG's! without all the flags how am i supposed to tell who is white!?!? It just looks like one big happy family!#$@# damn you BDO!!!!
jet has a massive australian flag as part of their stage (JET is super imposed on it)

Yes but Jet sucks. Their set was very, very painful .. and I had to put up with it to get a good position for Muse/Tool.

Anyhow from past violent events in Sydney, my first reaction to seeing someone draped in an Australian flag is that they're marking their territory with hints of racism.

So if it's banned, that's fine with me.

On second thought nothing like that should be banned ... human rights, etc. Even bogans should have a right to wave a flag shouting unintelligible garbage while massively drunk. I'll just know to stay away from them.

last edited by parabol at 11:59:09 22/Jan/07
This country is called AUSTRALIA. If you come and live in AUSTRALIA then you agree to becomming an AUSTRALIAN. We have an AUSTRALIAN flag. If you are in OUR god damn country you play by OUR god damn rules. As I would if I were in YOUR country. Or else get the hell out. This is rediculous. I love feeling like a minority in my own birth country.
Well if you wanted to get argumentative you could say that you should shut the f*** up, because this is our country. Our country is one where there are different races, and sometimes they fight.
stagrrr
If I could find the photo of Billy Harball, Dimo, and r_mazing draped in Australian flags I could prove to you what racists they really are.
Big deal. They're being smart and minimising their liability. Is it really that big a deal that you're not allowed to wear a flag? I mean hell it doesn't even have armholes or a collar to pop or anything.
This country is called AUSTRALIA. If you come and live in AUSTRALIA then you agree to becomming an AUSTRALIAN. We have an AUSTRALIAN flag. If you are in OUR god damn country you play by OUR god damn rules. As I would if I were in YOUR country. Or else get the hell out. This is rediculous. I love feeling like a minority in my own birth country.

Maybe you should start a race riot in protest...

No, Ill leave that to the non-Australians who have a problem with our national flag.
Eat Lamb!

last edited by TicMan at 12:31:57 22/Jan/07
Eat Lamb!

Quite possibly best ad ever.
Big deal. They're being smart and minimising their liability.

In a stupid way that won't magically fix the problem. It's just a lame cheap method instead of them *gasp* having to spend more money on security etc.
No, Ill leave that to the non-Australians who have a problem with our national flag.

No, leave it to the ignorant racist aussie's mis-using the flag that created the precedent that gave the BDO organisers reason to consider the ban.
Morgan
I think Aussies should be able to wear an aussie flag. BDO should not be cancelled that is just silly. The government is just trying to intimidate BDO. If ethnic groups cant handle living in australia get the f*** out.

parabol: you stick it out till the end for tool? ;) 'twas a good fun pit. Minus life also had a pretty energetic pit for a small band.
In a stupid way that won't magically fix the problem. It's just a lame cheap method instead of them *gasp* having to spend more money on security etc.

Not necessarily. There are two potential problems I see:

1) Somebody taking offense to the flag ( percieving it as being worn by a racist aussie f***tard ) and creating a scene
2) A group of random drunken aussie retards wearing flags teaming up and creating a scene.

Not allowing a flag solves the first, and helps reduce the chances of the second.

Now, both of those are very unlikely to happen anyway, but I think it's fair for BDO to want to minimise the risks.
Is it really that big a deal that you're not allowed to wear a flag?
Yes
1) Somebody taking offense to the flag ( percieving it as being worn by a racist aussie f***tard ) and creating a scene
Anyone that takes offense to anyone wearing a flag is a complete and utter f***ing tool anyway and will no doubt find some other pretext to act like a wanker in public at the first possible opportunity. Trying to dumb down events because of f***heads like this is stupid.
2) A group of random drunken aussie retards wearing flags teaming up and creating a scene.
This is quite possible, though it's trival to police. That's what security is for, and that's why they have cops there. As soon as asshats like this start making trouble, they should just get evicted IMMEDIATELY from the venue. Zero tolerance for bulls*** is the only way to police events like this - they enforce it at most other big events.

The message is simple - if you don't want to get turfed and have your hundred-plus dollar investment in entertainment wasted, don't act like an anti-social reject moron.

PUT THEM ALL UP AGAINST THE WALL I SAY
the idea of not wanting flags at an event because it might offend people from another ethnic background is ridiculous. it's not dealing with the related problem, it's taking the soft-cock approach to trying to keep other ethnic-backgrounded people happy

so some random drunken aussie retards wear flags, team up and create a scene. big deal. if it's against the law, deal with it via the law. if not against the law yet is socially unhealthy, try to educate them. otherwise cop it sweet

catering to people who react to that with aggression and return racial hatred is stupid, it just justifies that entire behavioural pattern

my 2 cents
the idea of not wanting flags at an event because it might offend people from another ethnic background is ridiculous.

In the same way that people can't say Merry Christmas in case it offends non-christians and all that other politically correct bulls***.

As Chopper said - this country needs to harden the f*** up and stop being pussies. If I want to wear the flag to show support for my country then I will regardless of who has a problem with it because they would probably be the only one to have that problem.
Token Black Man
the key was that last year a bunch of people wearing australian flags would walk around demanding people pledge allegiance to the flag and if they didnt, they would bash them

this obviously is more of a problem at this time because of the last year of simmering issues and they want to make sure it doesnt become an issue

i dont support it but i see their position
Alternatively, just forget about your allegiance to your home girt by sea for a day and go have a good time.

qft
trog and Jim are correct. People who disagree are incorrect.

Wearing an Australian flag is not in itself a problem, much like draping yourself in the Aboriginal flag, or Lebanese or whatever else you identify yourself with. There is no inherent evil in being proud of your ancestry or nation. People who behave badly should be dealt with accordingly, for their behaviour, not what they wear.

If we start banning the Australian flag from public events because some people become tards over it, are we to also ban other outward expressions of culture or faith like other national flags, or even burkas and turbans? What about religious / political bumper stickers? Jewelry? Emo attire?

Of course not, because its a stupid f***ing idea.

Sucks to be patriotic.
I agree with hogfather
Alternatively, just forget about your allegiance to your home girt by sea for a day and go have a good time.
That would have happened almost BY DEFAULT if this idiot hadn't opened his big mouth and started spouting this bulls***. What did he expect was going to happen? Hint: if you tell people that are going to a big event with billions of other people NOT to do something, they'll probably do the exact opposite.
emo's should burn in a fire
Token Black Man
has anyone bothered to read my post? This was an issue that occured LAST YEAR and they want to prevent it THIS YEAR.

its not that suddenly they got all antsy about what could possibly happen and have jumped to this state, this was a decision made based on specific past events.
Jesus christ this country's govnment is so f***ing retarded.
has anyone bothered to read my post? This was an issue that occured LAST YEAR and they want to prevent it THIS YEAR.

its not that suddenly they got all antsy about what could possibly happen and have jumped to this state, this was a decision made based on specific past events.

But Tung, that doesn't support our argument, so we'll skip over it and keep the bandwagon rolling!

did you read my post?

your post isn't a reason to request that people don't bring our country's flag to the event.

your post is a reason to increase security to help prevent unsociable and violent behaviour, or to catch and hold accountable those who carry it out.
Couldn't be bother reading all this s*** you're going on about.

Does anyone remember the Cronulla race riots?

All they said was... They would prefer it if people didn't bring their flags as they don't want it to cause any tension.

THEY HAVE NOT BANNED AUSTRALIAN FLAGS, THEY ARE JUST TRYING TO STOP INNOCENT PEOPLE BEING HURT.

and God knows that if anyone did get hurt as a result of race rioting, they would get just as much bad publicity anyway, so they are better to get in trouble for trying to stop it, rather than for letting it happen.
so wait.. someone is wearing/waving the aussie flag.. and that gives someone else the right/cause to bash them?

umm am i missing something here?

The Australian flag was being used as gang colours. It was racism disguised as patriotism and I'm not going to tolerate it," Mr West said.

umm is this like when AUSTRALIANS go to war to fight for there country? you know.. the country we all live in and can be expected to die for?

such a trivial thing
umm is this like fighting in Iraq except you're not even fighting for your own country?

I dont have any other significantly valid points relative to the subject matter at this stage.
Leave your flags at home you bogans.

You're not patriotic, you're being bogans.

Go join the military and stop being tossers if you care so much.
your gay
Johnny doesnt like it. http://www.smh.com.au/news/national/bdo-flag-ban-stupid-says-pm/2007/01/22/1169330795860.html
the soldiers in iraq still have the Aussie flag on there arm... and they can still be killed wearing it...

they dont get a choice on who they are told to kill/defend they just wear the uniform and go where they are told...

as Australians we are sposed to UNITE under an Australian flag.. to disrespect it in any way is pretty f***ed up

sorry but my granddads fought for this country and i was brought up to be a patriot, banning the Aussie flag to cater to a minority of f***wits just doesnt wash with me
Token Black Man
superform, read my post.

people were wearing the australian flag, and deliberately going up to ethnic people and such demanding they pledge allegiance to the australian flag, and if they didnt, theyd get bashed.

Okay jim, i read your post :)
Organisers of the Sydney Big Day Out (BDO) have asked fans to leave Australian flags, and flag bandannas, at home because of fears some people could use them to incite ethnic violence.

why not ask fans not to incite ethnic violence instead?
yeah i'm not saying who the minority of f***wits are

i'm just saying banning the flag cause of f***wits is wrong
Token Black Man
hehe flag bandanas, trog cant wear his rainbow San francisco bandana to sydney!
Just ban the Australian flag from everywhere, that'll solve any race problems in Australia.
as Australians we are sposed to UNITE under an Australian flag.. to disrespect it in any way is pretty f***ed up

sorry but my granddads fought for this country and i was brought up to be a patriot, banning the Aussie flag to cater to a minority of f***wits just doesnt wash with me
You sound like one of the bogans.

I got no problem with the Australian flag... it's just I've never met one person carrying it around in public, that wasn't pissed and a total f***wit that tried to start s***.
Johnny will wear his wallabies tracksuit to the event on in protest.
so wait.. i'm a bogan because i'm a patriot?

or am i a bogan because i believe if there is anything we can unite under its our national flag?

I got no problem with the Australian flag... it's just I've never met one person carrying it around in public, that wasn't pissed and a total f***wit that tried to start s***.

maybe go to more Australia day parades or Anzac day services/parades

if theres someone being a f***wit and bashing ppl while holding the flag.. ban the idiot.. not the flag
No you are probably a bogan because you sound like a person, that would resort to violence if somebody "disrespected" the flag.

i dont get it... getting drunk & bashing minorities is the australian modus operandi. i doubt they actually 'need' a flag to start a biff. it's a bit like taking the union jack away from soccer hooligans... it's not gonna stop them wanting to have a biffo :D
chub you actually sound more like the type of person you are describing than superform does
Yeah right :S

I don't even know why I'm arguing, you guys are set in your ways.

Good riddance!
paint a flag on your patrol, jim

Did they ask you to pledge allegiance?
I'm all for banning the queen's australian flag after burning it in public... no i'm just kidding so settle down you f***ing violent bogans.

Seriously though if you look at this objectively then i can't helpt but think if West hadn't suggested leaving the flag at home in fear of inciting ethnic violence in the first place then it wouldn't have escalated to the point that it's at now. What he said will only cause more tension as well as cause more people to purposely bring in and wear the flag to stir s*** up. Soon enough you'll see other ethnicities bringing in their own flag as an expression of confrontation and rebelliousness, which will eventually end up with the banning of all flags all together.

Either way if you're gonna get bashed up because of your boganess/woganess then i humbly request you post the full set please.

last edited by Booyah at 15:59:27 22/Jan/07
what is the world coming to? you cannot carry around the national flag of the country you are living in? what a f***en sick retarded joke.
What about that old dude in the valley that walks around in his US flag boxer shorts and pink shirt muttering to himself?
the lead singer from butterfly effect was waving the aussie flag
I agree with CHUB's stereotype and I also agree with the flag not being the problem at the BDO but rather the retards going for the purpose of causing trouble. the end
i think it would be more offensive to be wearing anything from tshirthell than to be wearing the Australian flag, but honestly who even gives a s*** what people wear these days.
Seriously, how many of you were going to take an australian flag to Big Day Out? I don't see the relevence, it's a musical event, you go there and listen to bands, where does patriotism fit into that? I can understand wearing a tshirt with a flag or something on it, but taking a flag, huh? why ?

The people co-ordinating the event owe it to themselves, their insurer, and their attendee's to ensure the event is fun and safe. This might mean doing something against popular opinion.

Is not being allowed to take an Australian flag going to negatively affect your BDO experience ( other than getting all antzy about the rule itself )? I doubt it. Would racially incited violence affect your BDO experience? Hell yeah it would. So the lesser of two evils is to ban the Australian flag. Sure it's excessive and 'unaustralian', but if it helps the event run smoothly then GREAT!

gawd didn't expect this thread to explode :)

anywho, I bought some new green and gold bordies today to wear, just to jam it up their arses! and the best part was it was a 50% off sale, so bought 2 other pairs and 3 new t-shirts, love it!
Seriously, how many of you were going to take an australian flag to Big Day Out? I don't see the relevence, it's a musical event, you go there and listen to bands, where does patriotism fit into that? I can understand wearing a tshirt with a flag or something on it, but taking a flag, huh? why ?
Well that's part of the point - if they idiotically hadn't made this non-issue into an issue, it never would have even CROSSED ANYONES MIND to bring a flag.
The people co-ordinating the event owe it to themselves, their insurer, and their attendee's to ensure the event is fun and safe. This might mean doing something against popular opinion.
I wholeheartedly approve of safe public events, but if you can't bring a flag (any flag) to any popular event and be safe, then we have reaaaaal problems.
We're not talking about 'any' event, we're talking about the sydney BDO which has history of flag waving hooligans bashing people.
I think you will also find that their action is a breach of the Anti-Discrimination Act 1991 on the ground of treating someone different due to political belief or activity. There is an equivalent act both in NSW and federally.

I hope someone sues the nervous nellies to show them how uncool being PC is.
We're not talking about 'any' event, we're talking about the sydney BDO which has history of flag waving hooligans bashing people.
I don't know but it seems that guys carrying a flag would be easy to spot in a crowd for you know...police and security type people if they wanted to look for them.
don't ban the flag, ban bogans
I can't believe that I agree with something John Howard has said...

Heard him on the radio clearly stating that the ;and upon which the BDO is held is government land and that the government CAN and should step up an prevent the ban from being placed

last edited by HERMITech at 18:01:32 22/Jan/07
ccl
These current statements from Ken West, together with the interview on JJJ's Hack (about the tickets), lead me to believe he is a fairly short sighted person. I'm sure he means well, but he needs to think things through properly before opening his mouth.

last edited by ccl at 18:00:52 22/Jan/07
dRanged
Well, if there were a riot, it would be much tricker for anyone to sue BDO for negligence now. :)

I think they are quite practically covering all the options considering their history ie that chick not drinking enough water.

Also prudent considering the biffo at the Open the other day
People are idiots.
A) There's no need to display such fierce national pride at the BDO and make people pledge allegiance to the flag there.
B) Making such a big issue out of this now and 'handling' it in this manner blows it out of all proportion and gives bogans that fall under point A a rallying call.
Zaphod
Well that's part of the point - if they idiotically hadn't made this non-issue into an issue, it never would have even CROSSED ANYONES MIND to bring a flag.

Rubbish.

Your point is taken though - it'll probably provoke more flag-waving in Sydney on Thursday...
It's just a flag for f***s sake, if people want to be racist and bash eachother they'll do it whether they're brandishing a flag or not.
http://www.bigdayout.com/news/pressreleases.php

should read this ;)
don't ban the flag, ban bogans

If they banned bogans, in Australia, they wouldn't make a profit.

Maybe you missed the part where people bought them last year and bashed c***s?

I think banning the flag is gay. They should just ban clothing that uses the Australian flag as it's colour scheme. Wearing your flag isn't patriotic, it's soiling it.

Besides, making bogan gangs flutter little postcard sized flags screaming "pledge allegiance to the flag bitch!" would just look funny.
BDO - We dont have such a big problem with roving gangs anymore.
Mr Vaughan said the best way to ensure no conflict was caused by the flag was to issue one to every BDO fan.

i concur
Yeah that'll ensure no conflict, it isn't like idiots from the other side would then go ahead and disrespect the flag that was just politely forced upon them.... oh wait....
Maybe you missed the part where people bought them last year and bashed c***s?
Random f***heads that want to bash people will find any pretext they want, whether it be lack of flag, skin colour, hair colour, wearing the wrong band t-shirt, blah, blah. Picking random things to ask people not to do just draws more attention to it.

Also, how hard can it be to find random f***heads roving around in groups covered in Australian flags beating people up?!
what about bandana bashing?
Also, how hard can it be to find random f***heads roving around in groups covered in Australian flags beating people up?!

f***ing skips all look the same to me
Nah not all look like kangaroos, some more like koalas.
well I bought some $2.99 aussie flag thongs to wear at the BDO, f*** them!

The problem is just before they start beating people up. You get some young, dumb, full of their boyfriends cum bogan wankers threatening people and telling them to pledge allegiance to the flag or they’ll bash you, adding rent a cops to the situation is only an escalation.

The question is, how do you insure that you can remove violent arseclowns without making it worse? Obviously, banning the flag is a dumb decision; if only because it will now encourage bogans to purchase some sort of Australian flag and be a douche nozzle with it. Hell, it’s likely to invoke minority groups purchasing their national flags and encourage douche baggery by them.
I'm sure you'll be doing australia proud.

:/

mmmmm heardy thong spoot pictures.
wow some serious bogan envy in this thread
Jim is a bogan.
if i had an aussie flag right now you'd all be bashed.
Go back to collingwood mate.

Corrupt
Whats so patriotic about carrying a flag, I tell you, absolutely nothing. God damn denseheads.
first tit haters now flag haters. has this country gone mad?!
I say we need more infi haters.
lol hating is unaustralian mate
lol i am unaustralian dickwort.
haha well as u might have all seen the flag ban backfired.. and ppl went out and bought flags especially for the event

quote of the day

"Because I love my country and I don't want the day to be confused with it being about bogans wearing shirts," one concert-goer said.

god bless em
I find this whole arguement self defeating.

Why do you want to carry a flag ?
.. Because I am patriotic

But then the government has a guideline on flag usage.
http://www.itsanhonour.gov.au/symbols/flag.cfm
And lots of other guides around that paraphrase it
eg.
http://www.australianflag.org.au/protocol.php

And strangely none of them mention running around drunk wearing it as a cape....

So atleast when asked "Why do you want to carry a flag ?"
Answer honestly...
Which maybe ... I plan of getting s*** faced and harrassing people.
or ... because I am cool and all the cool kids are doing it

But don't pretend its because your patriotic.
muse sucks
Zaphod
And strangely none of them mention running around drunk wearing it as a cape....

Well said, Obes.

Indeed, the 2nd link states that the flag must not be "subjected to indignity or displayed in a position inferior to any other flag or ensign" - that would cover wearing it as a cape.
batman wears a cape though?
Paveway's mum always tells me to put on a cape before i fly fist first into her.

http://play.siteframe.org/files/524/96/superman-0500000n.jpg