Topic: Melbourne Cup!
So whats the g o

whos got the hot tips! and what are you doing for the day!?!

me personally will be going for a champagne breakfast at eagle farm and then into the races suited up :)
Don't we need to wait for the horses to be announced before we comment on hot tips?
A_W
Hey Kat, go to melbourne and get some tips off Bart Cummings for us.

last edited by A_W at 17:07:31 27/Oct/05
My dad has gone down for the week. I will make sure I get tips from him. He always backs the winner
My plan is: Knock off work early, because I can.
A_W

That's the spirit exemplar.
Public holiday for a f***ing horse race. Woot woot. WTG Melbourne.

sigh.
Don't we need to wait for the horses to be announced before we comment on hot tips?

Nominations for the cup came out months ago, I know because I've had to listen to my father talking about his cup selections since then, going on about what has a chance and all the races leading up to the cup that you can use as indicators to determine how well the horses are going, etc, etc, etc.

Generally I just nod and smile and say "yeah" at the right times and everythings good. In the end the cup is a crap race to bet on, theres too many good horses in it, anything could really happen.
makybe diva to win 3 in a row
my hot tip is some short people will whip some horses to within an inch of their lives

im hoping the horses fight back, coz short people are easy to beat in fights
i'll be at work making sure our systems dont crash so you f***ers can all place your bets.

last edited by d[o_0]b at 17:44:28 29/Oct/05
Im working in bottle shop drive thru :-(. hooray for me.

I will expect many boozed pricks to come through buying s*** about 4-6pm.
what time is it on
I have put in a $1 sweep and a $2 sweep at work.

Not sure if I will go to the TAB and put on a bet at this stage...
woah hey big spender

i think ill be putting 50 on the nose of distinction
If I had $50 spare it wouldn't go on a horse race
does posting about being poor and sacrificing your life for your children make you feel like a better person?

WHAT TIME IS THE RACE ON MOFOS
3:10(DST) as far as I am aware... unless they have changed it. You can always look on www.melbournecup.com.au
with this being qgl and 99% of the posters queensland and us both living in brisbane why would you post the time in DST?
On I am sorry, is it to hard for you to work out?
Just read on news.com.au, that apprently a secret punter had just put down $1million bux0r on the Diva to win. Man.. imagine if makybe diva'd won on Tuesday.
^^ and the guy who put roughly $7000 of his own money on a Swans-Tigers premiership at about 500-1?

last edited by fade at 11:22:15 31/Oct/05
MD won't be going for qany more than 3/2:1 so the return won't be THAT much.

If you can afford to lose 1mil, then winning 1mil wouldn't be much of a happy feeling downstairs
just put 50 on the makybe-vinnie-eye popper trifecta
MD won't be going for qany more than 3/2:1 so the return won't be THAT much.

If you can afford to lose 1mil, then winning 1mil wouldn't be much of a happy feeling downstairs
fixed odds were 4-1 only yesterday. If you bet on fixed odds with the TAB doesn't matter of the price shortens when all the mug punters jump on board close the race.
SKIRTLOL
my fixed odds on md were 4.25/1 yesterday
im going for Lieka LPG Falcon

http://www.brisbaneontheweb.com/images/jpg/taxi.jpg

last edited by Mr Hardware at 15:02:01 31/Oct/05
my thread > that other thread

annyyyway i must be hitting the sack soon to save myself for tomorrow :)
its gunna be a biiiiig one champagne breakfast starts at 8 (atleast its at the races)

50 on distinction
bobbly_bob
SO anyone know of somewhere that will be streaming the video feed?

will they be allowed to?

no tv here at work and we have our own sweep going on
Worst case listen to it on the radio, its actually pretty exciting listening to the call.
bzpro

What time does it start up here?? is it 2pm??

Red room for the win
eyepooper ftw
zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
what time does the race start anyway?
What time is the race?
SKIRTLOL
2pm bris
Yeah, i thought it was something close to that.

thanks mate
SKIRTLOL
that's weird
a compliment from you? watch out everyone!!!11 :)

horseracing for the lose
I got Xcellent and Strassbourg

Sif you'd bet against Makybe Diva. Three cups in a row! Thats the only reason I'm watching it.
DIVA WINS!!!!!
SKIRTLOL
damn that was gay... those other horses werent even known
at least i won on diva :)
seriously what an elite fkn horse...
At least I picked up on Xcellent for 3rd, shame Eye Popper missed out to complete mm quinella and make me a happy man. Still, who wouldn't have a smile on their face, even if you lost, after that effort from the Diva.
YOU LITTLE RIPPER~!!
Go office sweep!
Steele
Can anyone find the full results?

Or know who came last for our office sweep?

Sif you'd bet against Makybe Diva. Three cups in a row! Thats the only reason I'm watching it.

It was a sweep, I didn't get to choose.

yay for third place
SKIRTLOL
MAKYBE Diva
On A Jeune
Xcellent
Steele
Last place?
SKIRTLOL
ive tried many a times to find online results of races with fail
im not trying again :)
i can tell u the major sites, tab isa cpl more don't have them :(
darius
this is s*** :/ if i went with my gut feeling i would have won 400ish bucks but ive got to settle with $13 :(
Maykybe Diva = Equine Ownage
A_W
lol, that sucks Darius. You know what to trust next time. :)
I won the wooden spoon at work hehe I picked Mr. Celebrity :) Got myself $6 woohoo
fade: the guy who picked the Swans / Tigers both winning the premierships spent $631.00
I just wont 600 =)

but then i realised afterwards im not allowed to gamble so i threw it in the bin =(
darius
just looked my ticket after gettting some sleep after the races and for some reason i bet on eye popper twice as first and a place and also a place and a first for diva o_O
haha wasn't mr celebrity leaading for a bit?
tip: diva for the win...oh tooo late...
put $500 for the win with bosses bookie which paid at $4.60
SO $2300 .... BOOOOYAH!!!!!!!111
Steele
A lady at work here won the trifector.

$243,000...