Grimy
so i been changing the lights at my house and up until now its been easy, the red for positive, the black for negative/neutral and the green/gold one for earth. 3 from 3 so far, but the 2nd last one has different colours. it has a green/gold (earth again ofcourse), but a blue and brown instead of red /black. I know the blue and brown are an industry standard like red/black but just not sure which is which.
Any help much appreciated as im wirint this post in the dark Thanks |
| #0 06:30pm 17/09/05 |
Hey doing your own wiring sounds illegal.
| #1 06:33pm 17/09/05 |
idonwananame
i think blue is live (positive)
| #2 06:36pm 17/09/05 |
Xy
It's only illegal if you burn to death in the horrible pain and the scorching and the gleivan!
| #3 06:36pm 17/09/05 |
Grimy
baaa humbug, u shouldnt speed, should smoke within 6m of a building, shouldnt tail gate, shouldnt park within 30m of a corner, shouldnt do illegal u turns.
shouldnt do alot of things, but wadda ya do. Any helpers please. |
| #4 06:37pm 17/09/05 |
idonwananame
opps sorry blue = black , brown = red
| #5 06:39pm 17/09/05 |
^ i'd take this well thought out advice!Q
| #6 06:42pm 17/09/05 |
idonwananame
aussie standard red= live black= neutral green = earth
international brown = live blue = neutral green/gold = earth |
| #7 06:43pm 17/09/05 |
Sancho
no you stooge blue and brown indicate that it is a flexible cable multi strands used mainly for extension cords etc but you were correct that blue = neutral and brown = active
light fittings that have blue and brown are usually into 413 plug bases in the roof |
| #8 06:49pm 17/09/05 |
shouldnt do alot of things, but wadda ya do.Umm, not do them? Especially if they put your life, or more importantly the lives of others like most of the things you mentioned, at risk? |
| #9 07:12pm 17/09/05 |
He knows he shouldn't do them, but he's going to do them anyways.
Not much else you can do. |
| #10 07:15pm 17/09/05 |
Grimy
thanks for the help people, installed the last two, tested fine.
| #11 07:19pm 17/09/05 |
SD Gundam
It doens't really matter which wires are active and neutral the bulbs will work anyway.
| #12 09:03pm 17/09/05 |
illegal wiring = fire = cremation
not a good equation, cob |
| #13 09:33pm 17/09/05 |
o he needs a piece of paper to wire light fittings? sif
| #14 02:15pm 18/09/05 |
caffeinebear
funny, I always thought black was the earth :/
| #15 02:28pm 18/09/05 |
if you cant spell electricity, i wouldnt be f***ing with it
| #16 02:46pm 18/09/05 |
Brown = active
Blue = Neutral hope you get booted you f***en dumb c*** |
| #17 02:55pm 18/09/05 |
Old AC Australian standard :
Active = Red Neutral = Black Earth = Green Current AC Australian standard : Flex cable: Active = Brown Neutral = Blue Earth = Green/Yellow Building wiring: Active = Red Neutral = Black Earth = Green/Yellow caffienebear : black is earth/ground/negative in DC cct wiring. red is usually positive. |
| #18 03:04pm 18/09/05 |
idonwananame
cmon its pretty dam simple to wire up some lights. turn of mains power connect the right wires. its not that bad to do
| #19 03:31pm 18/09/05 |
Heh Grimy playing with electricity, that ended well the last time.
http://www.longstoryshortpier.com/support/grimes.gif |
| #20 04:42pm 18/09/05 |
PHWOA wasnt the characters name Frank Grimes ?
| #21 05:51pm 18/09/05 |
his (unwanted) nickname was grimey
| #22 06:57pm 18/09/05 |
Grimy
wow, amazing i must say. Amazing that a simple f***n question gets the responce of such wankers as most of you. Unfortuntaely the people who actually help are tainted by the rest of u tossers.
| #23 07:00pm 18/09/05 |
I jerked off to this thread, does that make me a wanker?
| #24 07:00pm 18/09/05 |
caffeinebear
cct wiring sorry? :/ |
| #25 07:01pm 18/09/05 |
Hi claire
| #26 07:02pm 18/09/05 |
caffeinebear
Hi Andrew :)
| #27 07:14pm 18/09/05 |
WhiteWolf
wow, amazing i must say. Amazing that a simple f***n question gets the responce of such wankers as most of you. Unfortuntaely the people who actually help are tainted by the rest of u tossers. 1. hope you own the place 2. hope you don't like insurence 3. hope your never planning on selling. if soemone dies because of fire and the fault is found to be wireing (doesn't even have to be your fault) your liable. its a really f***ing stupid idea. but because you don't really care, that makes you an arsehole. and arsehole is alot worse than wanker. |
| #28 08:53pm 18/09/05 |
electricity is one of the few things you should take seriously... its like loaded guns ... they kill
| #29 09:07pm 18/09/05 |
A_W
illegal wiring = fire = cremation That was true & amusing. Good one Slaps_forehead. And Obes post above mine is also correct. Good advice. |
| #30 09:21pm 18/09/05 |
Denominator
email me and I will come round and fix it for a carton. The problem is if you do your own wiring you could make it all work and it may still be wrong. you could kill someone in years to come. if you wire it incorectly you can stuff the polarity up. The switch will still work but when you break a s***ty bulb when you trying to unscrew it and electrcute your wifey or child. that would be a shoking event so i suggest you buy a carton and give it to the closest sparky that lives near you. My work is electricity not typing or spelling.
if you not going to get someone else to do it blue = black |
| #31 09:38pm 18/09/05 |
There fixed. |
| #32 12:28am 19/09/05 |
icewyrm
Sounds like hes got it fixed, anyway. Enough with the doomsaying, how about some electrocution stories?
| #33 10:00am 19/09/05 |
Denominator
how bout that dude I think it was at wynnum servo station that tryed to break in. He was disabling the security system and electrocuted himself and died, four days later someone went to invistgate a bad "smell". what a shocking event.
| #34 10:07am 19/09/05 |
caffeinebear
caffienebear : black is earth/ground/negative in DC cct wiring. red is usually positiveDemon, what is cct?? :/ |
| #35 01:11pm 19/09/05 |
circuit :D
It's the DC (direct current) vs AC (alternating current) that is the important bit as far as wire colours go. |
| #36 01:15pm 19/09/05 |
Unfortuntaely the people who actually help are tainted by the rest of u tossers.Maybe the people that actually helped you are trying to get you killed |
| #37 01:19pm 19/09/05 |
hUON
Hope y'all know what you are doing and stuff, cos sometimes with lights the brown and the blue can both be active, and there is no real way to tell until you gets the fitting off.
| #38 01:54pm 19/09/05 |
WhiteWolf
cos sometimes with lights the brown and the blue can both be active, and there is no real way to tell until you gets the fitting off.... er, what? its called standards, and chances are that you wouldn't be able to tell once you get the fittings off. thats the beaut thing about ac, it works in reverse too :P |
| #39 02:46pm 19/09/05 |
Go easy on the man, the only thing separating him from the sparky is a piece of paper and a coin slot.
| #40 03:26pm 19/09/05 |
WhiteWolf
Go easy on the man, the only thing separating him from the sparky is a piece of paper and a coin slot.and a basic understanding of electricity. |
| #41 03:49pm 19/09/05 |
| #41 |