Topic: War of the Worlds
just got back from seeing this. was an awsome movie. i was on the edge of my seat throughout most of the movie. only thing i dont like is the ending, it kinda sucked. who else has seen it?

9/10 from me
Deathwalker
did you see an advanced screening? I thought it didn't come out till this friday.
i thought all movies came out on thursdays, either way it was obviously an advanced screening.

i cant wait to see this movie

tom cruise

so dreamy
Came out today actually, there was a midnight screening last night (tuesday night)

haven't seen it yet though
i thought it came out last thursday :S
its came out today
thrax
The Aliens died from the natural virus and bacteria?
yer pretty much
I plan not to watch it now.
dude its based off a book that was written in like the late 1800's. cause the aliens are gonna die in some stupid way.
The martians die from the common cold...
http://dem0n.qgl.org/images/temp/humanfilth.png
Your spoilers are burning my eyes AHHHHHH
http://www.fourmilab.ch/etexts/www/warworlds/warw.html

H.G.Wells 1898

You heathens should read more clasics...
Sif read the book.

That's why i watch the moive.
Movies are rarely any where as detailed as the books from which they are loosly based, movies are only a condensed brief telling of the book, and with todays over bloated special effects budgets the storylines are becoming thinner and thinner...
Sover
hah i remeber the first 2 movies. Do the aliens Hover or have 3 huge legs?
3 legs
Sover
Good stuff they kept it to the oringal text. I have at home the old vynil record for the first movie.
Original http://imdb.com/title/tt0046534/ 1954 and the only movie made.

Jeff Waynes War of the Worlds concept album 1978.

There is also another War of the Worlds movie also coming out this year http://www.war-ofthe-worlds.co.uk/filmandtv.htm

last edited by GumbyNoTalent at 15:52:31 29/Jun/05

last edited by GumbyNoTalent at 15:53:41 29/Jun/05
thanks for the spoilers you f***ing wanker moron f***stains
Sover
The first movie was an old black and white one that was silent and had commentary. The second one was in color and the aliens were floating. The thrid is out now and is a remake of te first by my guess. and the old record was the first on vynil with some music.
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0920229/

As you can see IMDB only Credits the 1953 version as the only movie version till Speilbergs.
that's weird... i remember the colour movie sover is talking about... with flying aliens & the heat ray! & the aliens were spindly with a 3 part tri-colur eye. but yeh.. no sign of it on imdb :/

imo ur the moron for looking in a thread thats about a movie u have not seen.
1953 is the colour one, I've seen that one, but the earlier B+W one I havn't and would be very interested in knowing about it as I'm a big H.G.Wells fan.
im not going to see it just to teach tom a lesson in marketing
bung
f***** spoiler noob dicks OMG PUT A SPOILER WARNING I FREAKING HATE YOU BITCHES OMFGGGGGG!!!!!!
i cant believe some of you didnt know how this finished anyway!?

do you live under rocks? or in caves? (suhaib/marthaplarker)
cs_master
you guys aren't thinking of the tripods are you?
wasnt the 1953 one shot in B&W and colour?
How could anybody not know the ending of War of the Worlds?
never heard of it before
Does the new one end the same as the original movie? Dunno if I'll bother wasting money on it at the movies.
never seen the original so no idea
In this new version Tom Cruise's character appears on TV to tell of his love for his girlfriend of 6 weeks.

The aliens leave in disgust.
bung
omg they obviously stole the ending from oprah
I remeber many yrs ago seeing on rage a B+W video clip with the Tripods etc which I think was supposed to accompany the Jeff Wayne Double Album of War of the Worlds.

Maybe thats the 'movie' or in this case 'short film' that you guys are thinking of.

P.S To you plebs who are complaining about the 'spoilers' ffs d0h!
for gods sakes noobs

if u havent listened to the moody blues war of the worlds soundtrack
go get it now

1978: Jeff Wayne releases his musical version of the H.G. Wells' story, with Richard Burton as the journalist/narrator. Burton is great on this, and the music is pretty good, too. This story harks back to the original, which allows for some confusion to those who's only experience with the story is the Mercury Theater version. It's now available on Compact Disc from Columbia. Featured artists include Justin Hayward from The Moody Blues, and David Essex who played Jesus Christ in the original Godspell.

last edited by Spook at 22:13:12 29/Jun/05
Lynx
I saw the colour, 1953 movie and listened to the book on CD. The latest incarnation follows the story quite closely, even with the modern theme.

Yer, the ending sucked, my friends all agreed but it was written in about 1890 so what could you expect. It was a very vivid and imaginative story for its day.
Some may know that when the book was first read over the radio as a play, many people believed it and thought earth was being invaded.

I would like to see the original movie
lol the ending is just like the movie signs. the aliens end up dying for some stupid reason and everyone complains about it.
NaK0r
good movie imo, altho woulda been kooler with more alien ass-kicking :( (oh and why was tom cruise always the only one to survive the aliens beams -_-)

edit - oh, and dakota fanning (that her name?) is a freakish actor, but boy did her and the son piss me off at times

last edited by NaK0r at 23:18:17 29/Jun/05
Yer, the ending sucked, my friends all agreed but it was written in about 1890 so what could you expect. It was a very vivid and imaginative story for its day.

I think it has more to do with the way audiances don't want to think in movies than the printing of the story.

Some may know that when the book was first read over the radio as a play, many people believed it and thought earth was being invaded.

They didn't just read the book out mate, they made a radio play based on the book. The radio play started off with a brief intro and a warning saying it was a radio play and then just jumped into immersion and built up a story.

I have heard the radio plays, and if you imagine coming from a hard days work turning on the radio (as opposed to reading a book or talking to your wife/kids) and hearing it, you can start to understand why it was so effective.
ood movie imo, altho woulda been kooler with more alien ass-kicking :(

Re: my point on "not wanting to think" in movies.

Not that this is directed as an insult, I find that I can suffer from wanting action-endings myself
thrax
omg they obviously stole the ending from oprah
No he stole it from independence day!
Orson Wells did the radio play that caused all the hysteria, 1938 and the yanks where already nervous about the Japanese Pacific expansion which had been going since the early 30's so a radio play about invasion of America had them convinced, after all the papers would have been all about preparing for war.

http://www.transparencynow.com/welles.htm
oh and why was tom cruise always the only one to survive the aliens beams

guess he was just lucky. what i dont understand was why did the aliens use those beams and turn ppl to dust when they first appeared instead of capturing them and draining their blood for the plant they were growing in the later half of the film.
SD Gundam
guess he was just lucky. what i dont understand was why did the aliens use those beams and turn ppl to dust when they first appeared instead of capturing them and draining their blood for the plant they were growing in the later half of the film.
Read the book it explains all.

last edited by SD Gundam at 12:19:09 30/Jun/05
I cbf reading the book. What's the go with the plant?
i think its used to turn the world into an environment like the aliens live in on their homeworld.
I didn't really enjoy the film as far as good films go, but for an entertaining couple of hours it was pretty cool. Awesome directing and great SFX.

SPOILER (ps you guys are bastards for not putting in warnings in this thread)

I really liked Tom Cruise's flawed character - Spielberg loves the flawed hero. By halfway through the movie, the only thing I was looking forward to was Tom telling the mother that the son had died.... AND THEN -GAYBAR- HE SOMEHOW SURVIVED THOSE MASSIVE FLAMES THAT KILLED AN ENTIRE ARMY AND MADE IT ALL THE WAY HOME. That was so annoying.

last edited by Hardball, Billy at 17:50:20 30/Jun/05
The whole point of the story is to challenge man's self assuming dominance over the universe. The story was designed to make us question our dominance, and to take another look at how poorly we treat other species on the planet. If the aliens were overthrown by the efforts of men, the whole point would be lost.
Lynx

“Spoilers(but a little late ay)”

I think it has more to do with the way audiances don't want to think in movies than the printing of the story.

I guess I should have explained myself a little more clearly, rather than scrawl out an opinion.
What I mean was for a big blockbuster movie that it is, the ending where they catch a cold and die seems a little lacklustre compared to say Independence Day.
It’s a great ending for a book, but not a Hollywood movie. Best leave the bacteria ending to the other “War of the Worlds” movie release later this year.
And I did say it was a play, just not clearly. My Bad

i think its used to turn the world into an environment like the aliens live in on their homeworld

Reminds me of Robotech.
everyone knows war of the world as it was told on radio back in england years ago and all these people committed sucide as they thought it was real!!!
Just went and saw it then. Apart from the c***s talking behind us, it was a pretty cool movie but not something I could sit thru again. Although it twas a million times better than Revenge of the Sith anyway.

In my opinion, it needed way more carnage happening. There weren't that many shots of the aliens hammering cities or towns which was pretty slack and it also needed more info on the aliens using the humans for food or whatever they were doing.

Overall, the effects were great but I was fairly disappointed with the overall story. I might have enjoyed it a bit more, but once again there are selfish f***s that like to chat while other people pay adult prices to see a movie. This is another reason why I only go to the movies once in a blue moon and why piracy is so rampant.

WooT!!
Also one more thing. How on earth could those massive alien ships be buried under the ground without anyone knowing???? Like hello??? Out of all the cities around the world, not one city council has dug down deep enough to find some weird-ass alien spaceship thingy?

That is all.

^^ they were buried REALLY deep... like deeper than subways and stuff?

Also, if people are talking around me in movies I cannot enjoy the film no matter what it is, and I'd rather walk out and get a refund that try.
the ending where they catch a cold and die seems a little lacklustre compared to say Independence Day.

The beauty of War of the Worlds is that the Mighty Empires of earth fail to win.
C0deBasher

Lets see.. novel-1898, radio play-1938, movie-1853, double album-1978.

** sigh** Too much Big Bore 5, not enough basic education.

everyone knows war of the world as it was told on radio back in england years ago and all these people committed sucide as they thought it was real!!!

That never happened... but whatever...

I believe you're thinking of the radio play done in the United States.
Lynx
Go to the movies in Bulimba, Oxford st.
$6 Adult
I thought it was an excellent movie. Great action, great story, great acting. I lol'd at Morgan Freeman's part in the movie. Also, the chick character and her daughter that Tom Cruise meets at the ferry is completely pointless, I have no idea why it was left in. I too think it could have had a bit more explaination about why they're drinking blood and everything, the purpose of the plant etc, but I guess it would have been pretty hard to do it without another Morgan Freeman explaination, which wouldn't have really made sense. I guess the point was that man knew nothing about it so no explaination could really be made.
9/10
I would have liked it if Morgan Freeman actually walked out on screen holding a mic and telling us about the aliens at the beginning and end.

EDIT: Or even better, maybe he could have done it Rocky Horror style and been sitting in his office with one of those pointy stick thingys and pulling down charts and stuff and pointing to relevant info. All done while he smokes his pipe.

last edited by Reverend Evil at 12:32:15 01/Jul/05
Then break into a leather suit and sing a song?
He had the chance when Tom started singing to his daughter.
Ditch
Cock Gobbler
It scared the s*** outta me when Tom started singing, probably could have gone without that :P

I think the ending would have been a lot better if the alien at the end had slid out of his little tube and said "I'll get you next time!".....much better than a "grr".
Or the alien could have said, "And we would've won if it wasn't for those meddling germs" while shaking its fist.
Tom(Jesus was an Alien)Cruise is just scary period!

If you need more convincing download the interview he did with Matt Lauer on the American Today show. Available on most P2P.

We need to save Katie from this psycho freak!

Reminds me of Robotech.

While I like robotech, it would probably be closer if you said that some story elements in Robotech is based off of War of the Worlds. I mean Robotech <30 years old vs War of the Wards < 120 years old.
Tom(Jesus was an Alien)Cruise

ROFL

Just saw the movie this afternoon. Gotta say, freakin' awesome. A brilliant modernisation of a classic piece of literature. I thought the combination of the Curate and the Artilleryman characters worked pretty well. The aliense disappointed me though, they were major Independance Day clones. They should have looked more like the ones in the book... the grotesqueness would have added to the horror factor.

Overall, 9.5/10
they were major Independance Day clones

Actually, they reminded me of that alien in Farscape that controls the ship. They weren't very terrifying at all, hell, in that bit where they were in the cellar they even managed to look cute.

All round though, I enjoyed the movie, it was pretty good, I'd give it maybe an 8 out of 10 (cos Batman still owned it). I agree with stick though, the son surviving was f***ing gay. The ending was way too happy and neat, asif the son would have survived that carnage. And then his ex-wife and her entire extended family survived too, still all safe in their fancy clothes in their undamaged home in their untouched street. How fortunate! If aliens ever invade, I'm going to Boston.
f***ing brilliant movie imo. Although I could see a lot of things coming. No I havn't seen the original and never knew the story but I could tell the ending would turn out something like it did.
Eclipsor
Did anyone else think it was a bit strange that people were taking pictures and videos of the alien ship coming out of the ground after the EMP....
The same thing with the car Tom stole. Just because the mechanic replaced one part doesn't mean the whole car is gonna work again, but it magically did. I'm still wondering how huge-ass alien ships can be so easily concealed under major cities without anyone knowing, and if they were put there 1000's of years ago, it was pretty lucky of them to choose those spots not knowing a city would be built there.

if the tripods were put there 13853897 years ago why did they only pop out jsut then? i mean couldn't they have taken over the earth from cavemen? wouldve been alot easier :/ maybe they did it cause they need blood to fertalise s*** or something? but if they have this uber technology asif they couldn't find a way around that. none of it made much sense to me but aliens kickin ass was pretty cool.
I dont get why they would bury war machines under the earth, millions of years ago, and then wait until the earth has been overpopulated and messed up by humans before coming up and digging their machines out of the ground to wipe everyone out and take over the world. Wouldn't it have just been easier to take it over millions of years ago when they were there in the first place?

Thats was the dumbest change they made to the original story imo, I can't see any reason why the aliens needed to be already on earth and buried under the ground.
to my understanding the aliens needed human blood to grow that weed. so the aliens waited until there was billions of ppl occupy earth. book probably explains it better than the movie.

last edited by ravn0s at 00:34:43 03/Jul/05
Ok, so why bury their s*** under the ground for millions of years? Why not just invade like they do in the original story?
This movie on the other hand was pretty cool.
Christian Bale > Tom Cruise
Ok, so why bury their s*** under the ground for millions of years? Why not just invade like they do in the original story?

so that a whole mass of ppl will congregate around the impact zone of the capsules for easy killing. anyone u guys are thinking about s*** too much. just enjoy the movie for what it is, instead of questioning it.
WhiteWolf
Did anyone else think it was a bit strange that people were taking pictures and videos of the alien ship coming out of the ground after the EMP

because an emp temporarily desotrys electronic equitment, restarting the device would fix it.. it also leaves a resonant magnetic field in motor solinoides(sp?) which means that the magnetic field produced by the motor is disturbed, also a fluctuating magnetic field produces heat, which in turn, fried the motor solinoieds, thats why there was a permanant effect, but its borked because the solinoides in the shop would be just as borked. unless the macanic winds his own motors, which is doubtful because he is an auto macanic?

thats also somthing i didn't like, why not just invade when there would be no resistance. or very little resistance?

I think they wanted to keep to the essence of the book true. Strange s*** happens, everybody comes and has a look, martians burninate people.

If they followed the book strictly Humans would have seen green flashes coming from mars and then a few days later strange green meteroites landed on earth and then they burninated people. I'd assume that humans would have pointed heaps of stuff towards Mars when the green flashes started to have a look and thus ruin the suprise of burnination.

so that a whole mass of ppl will congregate around the impact zone of the capsules for easy killing

In the people of earth think it is a meteroite and go have a look. Only to discover that it is in fact an angry alien with an energy weapon.

kaplow!
Thats bulls***.

I hated the movie.

No cars would run because of the emp, yet some random is standing right next to tripod filming with his handicam.

So no permanent damage to electrical equipment, yet no car would run.

The movie was gay.
No cars would run because of the emp, yet some random is standing right next to tripod filming with his handicam

i noticed that too... but i just ignored it... =)
I noticed it too ... and mentioned it soon as we got outside the cinema ...

Sure sci fi is meant to be a suspension of disbelief... but jeez
he also walked 5 minutes to the center of town, (say 1KM at most) distance from his house, then comes back to see his kids and they have no idea whats going on.

the monsters would be visible from 10KM+ for sure

Christian Bale > Tom Cruise

surely thats a given

pretty much anything > tom cruise
due to his not being able to not turn off "acting"

Maybe it was to show how calculating, patient and powerful the aliens where in the timeframe of the movie. The aliens plant the war machines on a planets they think will be of interest. When one of these planets becomes harvestable they just send a small fleet over and let the war machines pop up out the ground and kill everything by surprise, harvest the planet to nothing and leave. I wonder how long their life spans are?
I havnt seen the movie, by the sounds of it I dont want to :/
Nah, its still a good movie despite a few flaws and oddities, still worth seeing imo.

so that a whole mass of ppl will congregate around the impact zone of the capsules for easy killing. anyone u guys are thinking about s*** too much. just enjoy the movie for what it is, instead of questioning it.

I'm not thinking about it too much, I'm just wondering why they changed it. People would have still gathered for easy burnination if the aliens crashed down in bigass capsules.

A cool reference that was pointed out to me though that I didn't at first pickup on, was when the alien fighting machine is coming out of the ground, the ground is slowly "unscrewing", reminiscent of the scene in the original story where the lid of the capsule is slowly unscrewing. That was a nice touch I thought.

last edited by Khel at 13:05:15 03/Jul/05
WhiteWolf
No cars would run because of the emp, yet some random is standing right next to tripod filming with his handicam
... nice work, there is a reason.. you just fail to understand it. re-read my explination.
Sorry, I tuned out when you started talking about the bible.

So like 6 months ago.

Anyway, your theory is dumb. Cars don't need starter motors to run. Therefore cars should have been running if some random had a working handicam. It wasn't explained, everyone noticed it. The movie was average at best, and had tom cruise in it. Which instantly negates about 3 stars. Not even ninjas and samurais could save this movie.
bull s*** the movie was average.

it was easily one of the best movies i have seen in a long time.

if you didnt like it you suck the big one.

I dunno. I rekon if you have ninjas, samurais, a dragon and a set of boobies (even if they were Katie Holmes) it would have been awesome
It was good, but it wasn't a classic. I enjoyed seeing it, but its not the sort of movie I'll be rushing out to buy on DVD so I can watch it again and again.
WhiteWolf
Therefore cars should have been running
cause cars don't need spark plugs to go... i was saying why cars wouldn't start again.
also, with regard to the emp... the mechanic dude said that the starter motor in the car was fried. that means the emp was of sufficient magnitude to fuse the copper windings. at that force no electronic device caught in the field would work until all fused circuits were replaced. anything with a pcb would be f***ed... for good, including cameras.

i didn't like this movie... couldn't relate to any of the characters, excessive use of child screaming to induce the feeling of panic, far far too many implausable saves... i spose thats hollywood tho. i was sorta warming to it when the stupid teenager for totally inexplicable reasons, ran off over the hill with the army & was blown to smithereenies. but no, he was just blown all the way to boston without a scratch... sigh. the premise was unchanged from the original, which even in 1954 must have been considered so stupid!@! aliens, capable of space flight, wanting to eradicate a species yet unable to do some basic biology & create a vaccine for the flu??!?! THAT IS DUMB! dumb back then... 100000X dumber now that we know that mars isn't red coz of the weed! :P even DUMBER now that they changed the story so that the aliens had visited ages befor to put their tripods on earth... why the f*** didn't they notice the GERRRRMZ! back then ?
spoilers!
still... it had it's moments... the sound in the movie was fukn awesome! the barge tipping over as the tripod came up from below was also cool.

last edited by demon at 14:03:44 03/Jul/05
Yeah, it did have some pretty cool scenes and some cool imagery. The bit where all the survivors are waiting at the crossing and the burning train goes past was rad, I really liked that bit. Also, Tim Robbins played a pretty cool role.
ahh yeh that burning train was awesome, made me laugh :) especially the way everyone just stared at it as it went by leaving a little cloud of sparks... rather than running as far away as possible ;p
WhiteWolf
the mechanic dude said that the starter motor in the car was fried. that means the emp was of sufficient magnitude to fuse the copper windings. at that force no electronic device caught in the field would work until all fused circuits were replaced. anything with a pcb would be f***ed... for good, including cameras.
also, remember that a very strong electronic e.m.f would have been created due to the windings on the motor.. that would be more than likley why it fried
nG! an 'electronic emf'!? nice tautology :P anyways i'm not gonna bother to argue such an obvious point (well to people with a decent grasp of electromagnetic field theory) when it is in a sci-fi movie. i highly doubt that they had a technical adviser on hand for it... they just wanted thier dumb story to gel.
WhiteWolf
do you even know what an emf is? it stands for "electro-motive-force" don't act like im a dumb arse just because you don't understand.

e.m.f is very similar to "voltage".. there is a diffrence. but i won't go into that.

the emp (electro magnetic pulse) creates a strong magnitic pulse wich creates a voltage in any conductor, wich ofcourse mess with logic controlers in electronic devices. because the pulse would have been concentrated in the solenoides from the iron.. and because there was a coil of wire around the solenoides, the voltage induced would have also increased.

electromagnetic field.. isn't that like a force field thingy? but i guess because its a more common use for "emf" it is the correct and only term for it?
cs_master
you get dumber with every post

humanity is doomed
dude. you're 17 right? i'm 40 & have worked in the electronics industry for over 20 years. right now i am a designer for emf (electro magnetic field) resistant power supplies for power stations... what were your qualifications again!? oh yeh, you believe in the imaginary.
the emp (electro magnetic pulse) creates a strong magnitic pulse wich creates a voltage in any conductor

so... this emp creates a voltage in any conductor eh? so how does this prevent a device like a starter motor from working? surely any induced voltage would dissipate to earth pretty much instantly.
electromagnetic field.. isn't that like a force field thingy?

no. it's not a force field, captain picard. it is an energy field created by any magnet/electro-magnet.
hahah
golden

please respond now whitewolf
electromagnowned by demon

last edited by scooby at 16:21:36 03/Jul/05
who said an emp stopped the cars from going? maybe it was some magical fairy dust.
WhiteWolf
deamon, i hope your pulling my leg right, or do you really lack some basic electrical knolage?
so... this emp creates a voltage in any conductor eh? so how does this prevent a device like a starter motor from working? surely any induced voltage would dissipate to earth pretty much instantly.
er yeah, but it would also burn out the f***ing motor windings because of high voltage wouldn't it?

surely any induced voltage would dissipate to earth pretty much instantly
which is why the camera works

it is an energy field created by any magnet/electro-magnet
explain. in detail, if you can.

you're 17 right
18, just compleated 6 months of electrical prac and theroy. THIS IS BASIC ELECTRICAL KNOLAGE, AND ITS STILL f***ING COVERING THIS.
OMG demon got trolled by the religous nutbag.

See what happens when you forsake tran demon? You stop to chat to the lunatics on the grass instead of cleaving them with your machette.
SD Gundam
e.m.f is very similar to "voltage".. there is a diffrence. but i won't go into that.
Awww... Come on I wanna know.
haha Obes. you are right. but my own trolling makes the stupid child come up with even greater stupidity... for the amusement of all! i mean, look!, he now thinks that a induced voltage capable of burning out the windings of a starter motor wouldn't hurt a digital camera... & yet, doesn't even know what a electromagnetic field is or even how to spell common english words! it's hilarious! :D
still... his 6month course on, errmm, electrical proc n theroy, what ever that may be, sure beats my 20years of industry experience & the fact that there are over 300000 energy meters in use, around the world, that i designed.
tran's teaching hold true, of course, but there is an insufficency of useable neurl material for consumption on this f***ed up unit. ;D
haha this thread got awesome
JohnnyD
what is this "knolage" people are speaking of?
Elecromagnetic fields are not force fields you stupid f***
do you even know what an emf is? it stands for "electro-motive-force" don't act like im a dumb arse just because you don't understand.

Do you know what a tautology is?
Xyzzy
aliens, capable of space flight, wanting to eradicate a species yet unable to do some basic biology & create a vaccine for the flu

My understanding of the original storyline was that the martians were such an ancient race that they'd eradicated disease on their own world millenia ago. Hence it would be understandable if the science of pathology was something left in a computer archive back on mars. Also i don't think they brought a lab with them so whipping up a vaccine for whatever plague these grubby humans have got in the time they were on earth isn't that plausible either. The only question that really leaves is why didn't they make one before invading... they were watching us for thousands of years surely they would have figured out that we're a pretty infested species(comparatively).

In the end i believe the storyline answer is that they assumed they would be immune cos they're this uber species of gods. But they weren't and so they had to suffer the humans going "OMG LOLZ.. YOU GUYS SUCK!!".

last edited by Xyzzy at 18:52:24 03/Jul/05
I’m just glad we didn’t have someone fly an alien fighter craft into the mother ship and infect it with a computer virus, because that would have been stupid.
Xyzzy
I’m just glad we didn’t have someone fly an alien fighter craft into the mother ship and infect it with a computer virus, because that would have been stupid.

At least they used a mac... back then the only thing it was reasonable to expect a mac to connect to was Aliens.
God let Tom Cruise's car work because it had a jesus fish on the back window ok
At least they used a mac... back then the only thing it was reasonable to expect a mac to connect to was Aliens.

That was the one of the only parts of Indepence Day that made sense!

Reason: Inappropriate
Click Here to See the Profile for Reverend Evil Edit This Post Click Here to send Reverend Evil an email Users HomePage Message User
Xyzzy

Click Here to See the Profile for Xyzzy Edit This Post Click Here to send Xyzzy an email Users HomePage Message User

Click Here to See the Profile for typo Edit This Post Click Here to send typo an email Users HomePage Message User

Click Here to See the Profile for Reverend Evil Edit This Post Click Here to send Reverend Evil an email Users HomePage Message User

Click Here to See the Profile for reload! Edit This Post Click Here to send reload! an email Users HomePage Message User

Click Here to See the Profile for typo Edit This Post Click Here to send typo an email Users HomePage Message User

Click Here to See the Profile for Astroboy Edit This Post Click Here to send Astroboy an email Users HomePage Message User
So anyway, I just saw this and thought it was 'A' grade boring bullplop. BULLPLOP! All the scenes just felt dragged out and painful.

I have two vivid memories from the original movie - the first was that scene where they were in the house and the creepy head-on-a-tentacle came in through the window. I remember that scene scaring the s*** out of me. I don't know if it was just because it was done 10,000x better than it was in the new movie, or if it was just that I was a kid when I saw the original movie.

The second thing was the ending - I remember what happened, but I don't remember how I felt about it. After I tried (and failed) to read the book last year (I gave up, it was just too ye-olde-school and boring), I remembered the ending and decided that it was totally lame. Fortunately I was completely prepared for it to happen again, although with slightly better effects in this one.

I don't know WHAT they were thinking with the "buried machines and teleported aliens by lightning" BULLs*** that they hacked in to the story. Sheesh. In the book the aliens arrive in these massive cylinder things that crash down in the country side.

I think the core thing for me is that I just think the story of the War of the Worlds is sort of boring, simply because its crippled by the ending. This super huge intelligent alien race that we're totally unable to defeat - but fortunately just as we're about to all DIE they cark it from bacteria. Snore.

Also, I was PISSED that the writers didn't have the STONES to even kill off the son. His character seemed just shoved into the plot - hey, lets take a teen-angst son who hates his dad, give him some vaguely heroic characteristics, then write him off and pretend his dead, only to re-introduce him cheesily at the end. COOL!

I'm sick of walking out of movies saying "well, at least the special effects were good". I'd rather see a movie shot in black and white with a couple of guys behind a counter with a good story (AGAIN) than watch another over-hyped piece of trash with a $200m special effects budget.

It was great how Cruise's character, after seeing first hand how stupid, crazy, and scared people were and how it made everyone panic then went off and ran into the basement of some dude that he saw waving a shotgun around. That was a good idea. Who would have thought it might end in tragedy! Not me, except for the fact that I've seen movies before.

Save your $8.50-$15 and don't see this piece of lard. I can't believe someone found a way to make an aliens-invade movie boring in this day and age, but somehow they managed it (though as I said, I don't feel they had a lot to work with from the beginning). Go and see Batman again or something, or at least wait until the UK version of the film (also due this year) comes out - maybe they'll find a way to turn it into something that sucks less.

Edit: I didn't hate it just because of Tom Cruise's childishly embarrasing performance on Oprah, either. His disturbing lovesick behaviour and his weird religion aside, I think he's a pretty rad actor (hell, he was in Top Gun!) and he and Speilberg made Minority Report, one of my all time favourite movies.

last edited by trog at 20:50:46 03/Jul/05
trog ur a spasmo. it was a rad movie, i give your post *1/2 out of *****, unlike war of the worlds, which i give ****1/2 out of *****.

next week i'll review someone elses post.
You are about the only person who has liked it that much domino.
i liked it too

LIKING THINGS ISNT COOL ANY MORE!
I think the movie would have been a helluva lot more enjoyable if you actually saw the army trying to take down the machines. Would it have hurt Spielberg to have added at least 10 minutes of this in it? I mean, would it?????
Thats not his style. His movies are usually deeper then an action fest, nothing wrong with action movies I quite liek the them.

This was some sort of weird hero movie. They paid lots of money and got a super star actor and he won the day.

There wasn't any deep meaningful searches for anything. There wasn't any social commentary. This wasn't even a real action fest. There wasn't much of a story. There was no character development.

It was Ok. Its not like Alexander where I felt cheated out of my time and money but would you buy the DVD for $30 ? I doubt it.
Yeah it sucked that u didnt get to see the armies get owned.

Also, the basement scene went WAY too long. Fuk i was deadset falling asleep it just went on and on and on.

The only thing that made it worthwhile was tim robbin's lines about the peach schnapps. that was funny
WhiteWolf
demon, tell me, do you know how a transistor works? or how even a f***ing motor works? tell me, do you even have any idea what the diffrence between electron flow, and conventional flow? i doubt you can, all your going to say is "haha, such a newb here.. look everyone his spelling suxorLOLz.. i am a winer because of my years of experiance jacking off to internet porn pretending to have half a clue" well. you don't really know what your talking about.. all your doing is saying "i know more because i built this and thousands of people have them... fear me." GIVE ME A f***IGN EXPLINATION AGAINST WHAT I ACTUALY SAID YOU f***ING NEWB!
lol at link to other movie. its recieved an awsome score of 2.8. trog sounds like ur really hard to please.
Man, even I have no idea how stuff works and I think it's bulls***.

lol whose to say it even was an emp. could have been something the aliens developed that we have no idea about.
do you even have any idea what the diffrence between electron flow, and conventional flow?

I'm not too sure but I'll give it a go.

Basically, an electron flow flows like an electron and a conventional flow will flow very conventionally. Both being different and the same only different.
zulu
lol, demon layin it down propah \m/ haha

ohhhh mr whitewolf ...youuuuu dun noe

last edited by zulu at 22:19:15 03/Jul/05

i know more because i built this and thousands of people have them... fear me

Actually he said hundreds of thousands, that aside. The device was also designed using this knowledge that you are saying he is incorrect with?
Also an electromagnetic field is closly linked to electric currents. Working with large power sources (which can make very large magnetic fields, which can in turn make very large currents) one would think you would have to know lots about how magnetic fields affect your power source and other equipment in order to do any designs for them.

If you want to learn about it, get a year 11 or higher physics textbook and it will be in that somewhere.
WhiteWolf
no rev. nice try, but your wrong
Thats not his style. His movies are usually deeper then an action fest, nothing wrong with action movies I quite liek the them.

This was some sort of weird hero movie. They paid lots of money and got a super star actor and he won the day.

There wasn't any deep meaningful searches for anything. There wasn't any social commentary. This wasn't even a real action fest. There wasn't much of a story. There was no character development.

Obes, I disagree with every sentence.

Or were you being sarcastic?

last edited by Hardball, Billy at 22:30:48 03/Jul/05
that tentacle thing was dumb. sif it wouldnt have had thermal capabilities, ammonia sensors and all other human detecting s***. not just a f***ing flashlight and a fondness for checking itself out in the mirror.
Heh, tentacles, eh? Don't let the Japanese near it...
that tentacle thing was dumb. sif it wouldnt have had thermal capabilities, ammonia sensors and all other human detecting s***. not just a f***ing flashlight and a fondness for checking itself out in the mirror.

The story was written 120 years ago, you have to give it some credit for how well it has stood the test of time.
Jum
wasn't that bad, but ended crap

SUDDENLY THE ALIENS DIED THE END BYE
think the core thing for me is that I just think the story of the War of the Worlds is sort of boring, simply because its crippled by the ending. This super huge intelligent alien race that we're totally unable to defeat - but fortunately just as we're about to all DIE they cark it from bacteria. Snore.

I think one of the major problems people had with WotW is that they went in thinking it was going to be an action movie, when in turn it is actually a drama. To me that explains the cries of "snore" at the ending, because they were expecting an action packed adventure.

That is why we don't see the US army fighting the aliens, we don't have a zany scientist with a one in a billion chance of saving the earth, we don't have an action hero who does the impossible and somehow survives the insane explosion and why we don't have the average american caught in position of saving the world at the sacrifice of his own life to Aerosmith singing a ballad.

Also, I was PISSED that the writers didn't have the STONES to even kill off the son. His character seemed just shoved into the plot - hey, lets take a teen-angst son who hates his dad, give him some vaguely heroic characteristics, then write him off and pretend his dead, only to re-introduce him cheesily at the end. COOL!

I wouldn't be totally surprised if there is a directors cut where he actually died. It felt like a concession to retarded viewers who wanted a happy ending, who didn't that the fact that humans survived (for the time being) is the happy ending.

-=-

last edited by typo at 23:15:43 03/Jul/05
SD Gundam
do you even have any idea what the diffrence between electron flow, and conventional flow?
I'd say it's about as significant as the difference between emf and voltage.
i thought the movie was pretty good, would be a really trippy to movie u.t.i :P

best part of the movie was at the end where the birds where flying around the machine, and my friend goes "Wtf man, i dont get it, the machines are breaking cause of the bird s***?" was f***ing hilarious.
To summarise, Trog wanted bruce willis as the hero.
Stick .. honestly .. couldn't care less what you thought.

Sure some of his s*** is "Pure Action" ... but even then its trying to tell a story and usually has some morale behind it eg. Private Ryan ... "War is futile", Jurasic Park (only number 1) .. "Don't f*** with genetics"

His early famous stuff used to be good stories where you felt something for the characters (some were sci-fi based eg.ET, Close Encounters some weren't eg. Indiana Jones). And some of them were big on action, but you still knew little trivial s*** about the characters (ie. character development) the snakes in the temple scene was better becuase earlier (in a previous movie from memory) they had set the premise up that Indy hated snakes.

I don't think anyone knew anything about the characters, or felt anything for them in war of the worlds. Personally I was hoping the son died, and an alien would rip out the little girls voice box. And the only morale I can think of for the movie is if there is a big f*** off storm and 3 legged aliens spawn out of the ground, then bend over and kiss ya ass good bye.

And when I say the movies he makes I mean the ones where he was Director, not Executive Producer (ie. the money).

At anyrate it was ok, each to there own. If you loved it cool! I mean some people are bound to like a movie no matter how s*** it is. Look at Matrix 3 and giri.
and an alien would rip out the little girls voice box

YES! i would have kicked booted her in the head at the begining of the movie, she was really annoying

last edited by sc00bs at 00:10:56 04/Jul/05
And the only morale I can think of for the movie is if there is a big f*** off storm and 3 legged aliens spawn out of the ground, then bend over and kiss ya ass good bye.

Nah, just go to Boston.
cs_master
get your ass to boston
I actually didn't mind it too much, and I thought the ending sucked dick, but after more thought it wasn't too bad
^^ see, give it thought lads, and yee to will see the movie was rad.

*hi5's boba*
demon, tell me, do you know how a transistor works?

not all transistors work the same way... but yes, i know how they work.
or how even a f***ing motor works?

electric motor? internal combustion motor? there are a lot of different types of motors & yes, i know how they all work.
the rest of your trolling is weak & pathetic, not worth a response even if it might draw even greater foolishness out of you. even someone of your obviously limited intelligence must realise you are just making a fool of yourself.
GIVE ME A f***IGN EXPLINATION AGAINST WHAT I ACTUALY SAID YOU f***ING NEWB!

no. do your own homework, little boy.

Got 9th grade education? Yeah, that's like junior science stuff right there. I'm a linguist and I know the difference. TROLL HARDER!
Dont worry Whitewolf you could always change your handle like Jerry did in an effort to be hated and ridiculed less.

We wood proberly spot tha typos tho dood
WhiteWolf
demon, if you do, then why can't you understand that a concentrated magnetic flux through a coil is going to make a much stronger emf capable of overstressing the wires than just going through a normal strand of wire?

everyone else that are trying to troll me : er, get over it. i KNOW im right about this, i have a f***ing text book about this, i KNOW im right, but if you feel like getting on the "whitewolfs stupid" bandwagon, then go ahead.
SD Gundam
demon, if you do, then why can't you understand that a concentrated magnetic flux through a coil is going to make a much stronger emf capable of overstressing the wires than just going through a normal strand of wire?
I'm sure deomon understands hows these things work. I'm also sure he objects to being told how it works by some one who only half knows.

Oh and we need some Maxwell's equations STAT!

everyone else that are trying to troll me : er, get over it. i KNOW im right about this, i have a f***ing text book about this, i KNOW im right, but if you feel like getting on the "whitewolfs stupid" bandwagon, then go ahead.
What? So you have a text book on how the martians use emp to disable electronics, neat!

last edited by SD Gundam at 11:56:33 04/Jul/05
whitewolf and obes is stupids lol
Hashy
What? So you have a text book on how the martians use emp fields to disable electronics, neat!

http://www.cornerstone.co.uk/Images/bibles/kj_holy_bible_large.jpg
Trog, here are some user reviews of the UK version (that you linked to)

Not only is this a SHOCKING mockery of the original, it's so bad in every single respect that it made me have fond memories of "Jesus Christ - Vampire Hunter". Which was actually a better movie when compared to this.

Oh my god, do yourself a favour: If you have any choice in the matter, do NOT waste your time watching this. There are so many flaws in the effects, the plot, the acting that you can't even TRY to pretend you're not watching an utter disaster on screen. It really is shocking that a movie can be made in this day and age that sucks this much. There is no room left for your imagination to do anything with what they provide. An amazing acomplishment. indeed.

Now I want to see 'Jesus Christ - Vampire Hunter', sounds quality.

The subtitle to this movie should be "H.G. Wells War of the Worlds - A Complete Waste of Time"

Brief and to the point.

Jake Busey is the worst actor ever!
If you don't agree, then you can't have watched this film...

(Jake Busey plays one of the characters)

The acting is quite good, especially from C. Thomas Howell (George Herbert). However, the effects and Martians/Fighting Machines are rather unbelievable, having a rather 80's feel to them. The melting of the priest by the martian's acidic "spit" is particularly stupid.

Awesome!
Xyzzy
least wait until the UK version of the film (also due this year) comes out

I'll probably watch it just to see if the reviewer was on drugs, however the statement
the tripod fighting machines are replaced with six legged bulbous monsters (not metallic), THERE IS NO HEAT RAY.

doesn't exactly fill me with hope. If you're going to call something "H.G. Well's War of the Worlds" then at least include the sacred cows from his book. Of course the fact that they've deep sixed one of the biggest sacred cows may mean the ending is appropriately americanised to appease a lot of people and not the thought provoking "they died not because we rock but because they were egotistical" ending that the book had.

- The kid being alive after the hill spontaneously combusted was dumb.
- The electronics argument that's thrilling Demon and Whitewolf as we speak is gay but then i don't recall a movie that had modern hi-tech gear that didn't f*** it royally(i think the best one i ever saw was on cable and it had people searching a database over a COM port or something.. it was kinda funny and dumb at the same time. It had a model helicopter with machine guns tho).
- Aliens being killed by bacteria is a plot thing, might have been better dealt with but in and of itself was the point(iirc the original has the main character deciding to surrender to the aliens cos he's lost everything and comming across a field of sick and dying aliens). Honestly... unless this became a terrorist training movie it was never going to be about humanity destroying them.
hahaha this thread had suddently become interesting to read.
Xyzzy
lol at link to other movie. its recieved an awsome score of 2.8. trog sounds like ur really hard to please.

2.8 out of 10 i might add. Real quality. Of course i don't trust at least half of what i read on the internet, particularly reviews.

Out of interest if you change the 2.8/10 to be out of 5 it scored less than trogs post according to Domino. Most useless factoid ever!

last edited by Xyzzy at 14:42:23 04/Jul/05
I didn't even know that movie was out, but I saw some of the reviews and have, as most others it seems, lost a lot of interest in that other version.

Again for me I think its more that I don't like the overall plot so I wouldn't have enjoyed it anyway. I'll just go back to waiting for Bay/Bruckheimer/Cameron to team up with Willis/Schwarzenegger/Stallone to make a movie worth watching. Also it should have some hot girls in it.
i think the best one i ever saw was on cable and it had people searching a database over a COM port or something..
Why? If they used a COMMS as in communications port to communicate with another computer! Serial Comms my young padawan is still used today.
I am going to go see this tonight.
Now I'm no electronics expert but surely if a emf field was strong enough to fuse the coil in a starter motor, it would most definately be strong enough to totally f*** your neural network thus rendering you to nothing more than a limp of meat lying on the ground.
WhiteWolf
i find it strange that people here are giving it such a bad review, i thoughly enjoyed it. tom cruse did well in his part. although it fails as an action flick, much like gothica failed as a comedy. its not really what it was about, it was the first time i ever heard anything about the movie though, so everything was a supprise and i wasn't expecting or going in with preconcived notions (which, imo ruined the harry potter movies for me. although i still enjoyed them).

i give it an 8 out of 10. although no one cares.
demon should lower his troll force field and use the tractor beam to reel 'em in.
Nah stick ... There is a reason no one gets your music ... Thats becuase you don't play at special schools and asylums.

I was a teenage hand model
my tamagotchi tastes like chicken
Xyzzy

Why? If they used a COMMS as in communications port to communicate with another computer! Serial Comms my young padawan is still used today.

Yes but it was at like the slowest port speed known to mankind for some l33t CIA database. Actually to be honest i was just happy there was enough actuals in the eye-glaze dump to pick out that they were on a particular com port(it didn't display COM1 tho for the life of me i can't remember what it was).
WhiteWolf
gumby, this is my point. the reason why the coil was so f***ed was because its in a f***ing coil. a magnetic field is 1000x stronger effect on a coil then on just a line of wire, which is why it burnes out a motor and doesn't do any real dammage to a pcb
Yes but it was at like the slowest port speed known to mankind for some l33t CIA database. Actually to be honest i was just happy there was enough actuals in the eye-glaze dump to pick out that they were on a particular com port(it didn't display COM1 tho for the life of me i can't remember what it was).
Well now we enter the realm of old sckool centeralised processing, if the search was being run on the mainframe then the only data being transfered is the characters to be displayed on the screen and maybe some cursor controls. :)

They used to be called dumb terminals, not because they had little processing power, but because of the human interface between the chair and the keyboard... :)
I reckon if Mandy Moore played Toms part the movie would have been a million times better.
then it would have been a movie about her falling in love with one of the aliens.
SD Gundam
This Ownz http://www.darkhorse.com/zones/wotw/wotw_popup.php?p=
WhiteWolf reads up to get some technical knowledge in an attempt to sound less retarded, and is still wrong!
you're going to hell fpot
WhiteWolf
fpot. prove me wrong then?
my text book isn't about "martians use emp to disable electronics", it does cover magnetic induction though. wich is what i have been talking about
demon saying you are wrong is proof enough for me.

You see that's the problem with being a religious fool spouting s*** everywhere. No-one will ever take you seriously. And that's the way it should be.
my text book isn't about "martians use emp to disable electronics", it does cover magnetic induction though. wich is what i have been talking about

I am surprised it doesn't talk about electromagnetic fields.
WhiteWolf
im arguing this point
at that force no electronic device caught in the field would work until all fused circuits were replaced. anything with a pcb would be f***ed... for good, including cameras.

basicaly demon, if you can prove me wrong with MATH, then you win.

im not sure if my math is accurate, but i came up with this

"iv" = N(("iv2"A/lv)/(d/v))

where
"iv" = the emf of the solenoid(coil) terminals
N = Number of turns in the solenoid
"iv2" = The "safe" voltage that wouldn't damage electrical pcb's, which is about 5v in this case
A = area.. not sure how this exactly applies to emp's
l = length of conductor, im working with 5 cm because its about the longest conductor in a cameras pcb before some sort of load
v = velocity of emp wave.. not sure how fast the effects of emp travels. but im assuming it would be close to the speed of light?
d = distance in metres, this is specificaly to do with the "Thickness" of the solenoid.

ill make acouple of assumptions,
1 the emp looked like it came from the lightning. which looked to be about 10cm in diamiter
2 the thickness of the solenoid, about 3 cm sounds about right,
3 the amount of turns in the solenoid, probably around 100

so "iv" = 100*((5*(10*pi)/0.05*299 792 458)/(0.03/299 792 458))
so the voltage would be 941174222298455948625686.16078063hrm, although that doesn't seem right :/

perhaps reduce the speed of the emp to something like Mach 1,
100*((5*(10*pi)/0.05*1000)/(0.03/1000)) = 10471975511965.977461542144610932 that seems slightly more resonable.

anyway, my point is, there can still be a safe voltage in a pcb, yet still a strong enough voltage in a solenoid to compleatly f*** it over.

im waiting for you to prove me wrong demon.

i came to that formular using :

induced voltage in a solenoid iV=N*(ΔФ/Δt)
induced voltage in a length of wire iV=BLV
flux density B=Ф/A
velocity v=d/t

i think thats about it.

still sure about yourself fpot?

now that i think about it, isn't an electromagnetic field just the magnetic field produced by a current?

last edited by WhiteWolf at 01:09:05 05/Jul/05
WhiteWolf
HAHAHAHAH, fpot, your sentence is almost hypocritical

"i belive it if someone said its true" as apposed to

"i belive it if a book said its true"...

last edited by WhiteWolf at 01:17:15 05/Jul/05
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v104/zeezee/post-6-1118067777.jpg
palekid
After millions of years underground watching us couldnt they realise that the cold could be a problem for them? and with there technology they should have undoubtably realised it was a problem and wouldve made a cure or something.

They didn't spend millions of years underground watching us. They spent millions of years on Mars watching us, and planted fighting machines on earth at some point in our past.

They had abolished all dirty things like germs on their planet millions of years ago. IIRC they had every confidence in the technology that had kept them safe on Mars for billions of years would also work on earth.

palekid
i see now.

but still
i see now.

but still

I think it is more plausable than most action movies give us.
No way!# Aliens who only come to Earth in the hot season to hunt men for sports is waaaaaaaaaaay better.
SD Gundam

"iv" = N(("iv2"A/lv)/(d/v))

where
"iv" = the emf of the solenoid(coil) terminals
N = Number of turns in the solenoid
"iv2" = The "safe" voltage that wouldn't damage electrical pcb's, which is about 5v in this case
A = area.. not sure how this exactly applies to emp's
l = length of conductor, im working with 5 cm because its about the longest conductor in a cameras pcb before some sort of load
v = velocity of emp wave.. not sure how fast the effects of emp travels. but im assuming it would be close to the speed of light?
d = distance in metres, this is specificaly to do with the "Thickness" of the solenoid.
Jesus f*** Christ if you are going to make s*** up at least use the right notation. v is for emf's, c for speed of light. None of this iv s*** did you even read your book? i is for current so iv would be voltage x current = power.

last edited by SD Gundam at 02:42:22 05/Jul/05
I reckon if Mandy Moore played Toms part the movie would have been a million times better.

How many multi-million dollar block busters has she (and her nose) been in?
still sure about yourself fpot?
I am 100% confident that your post and everything you will ever say or do in the future will be wrong, so yes.

HAHAHAHAH, fpot, your sentence is almost hypocritical

"i belive it if someone said its true" as apposed to

"i belive it if a book said its true"...
Is that some sort of lame attempt to 'catch me out' because of all the times I said you masturbated over the bible in sunday school? If so, you are even more retarded.

last edited by fpot at 04:23:20 05/Jul/05

Jesus f*** Christ if you are going to make s*** up at least use the right notation. v is for emf's, c for speed of light. None of this iv s*** did you even read your book? i is for current so iv would be voltage x current = power.
BAHAHA SD Gundam thats one of the funnies smack downs I've read on this forum, to the point and cutting, with just a dash of sarcasm.
WhiteWolf

speed of light is assumed, its still using a velocity, iv is for induced voltage. its actualy suppose to be something like Vi (i should be half size), Vr1 would be used to describe a voltage drop across resistor 1, so Vi would be used to describe the induced voltage across a solenoid? but it doesn't really matter does it? all you said was "your an idiot because you didn't use the right notation", and some dick even thought that somehow it proved me wrong. im still waiting.

last edited by WhiteWolf at 11:33:03 05/Jul/05
thrax

this thread rocks teh sockz0rs
SD Gundam
iv is for induced voltage. its actualy suppose to be something like Vi (i should be half size), Vr1 would be used to describe a voltage drop across resistor 1, so Vi would be used to describe the induced voltage across a solenoid?
Then why didn't you use Vi it would make more sense.

but it doesn't really matter does it?
Yes it matter if you are going to spout formulas the should be readable and stick to notation convetions.

im still waiting.
Well you haven't taken into account the distance from the source of emp's. Fields weaken as they spread out over more space. It's an inverse square law thing, but it's important and you don't have it there. You haven't taken into account the fact that a solinoid is a coil of wire and thus induced voltages in the coil will oppose each other so the net volatge induced will be the the sum of the induced voltages in the coil. and where did you get iv2, I don't see how a safe voltage for a PCB come into working out the voltage generated by an emp.

Another problem is you are using electrostatics to solve an electrodynamics problem. emp is just a dynamic electromagnetic field.

Oh and no one will bother deriving a propper formula because it would take hours and who want's to waste several hours to win an argument on a gaming forum when they already know they are right.
your 'math' is inapplicable. for any mathmatic formula to be applicable to a physics situation it must have some set, known values. you can't just plug a heap of guessed variables into a formula & then try & say it proves something. your assumptions are riddled with errors & believe it or not i really could not be f***ed correcting you every time you come up with more bulls***.
i know pcbs would be f***ed if an emp was of sufficent force to fuse starter motor windings... but i know it's almost totally pointless to argue about it unless there is a specific test case... not a friggn sci-fi movie. what is a coil?... a heap of conducters wrapped around each other with an isolating material between them? what is a pcb?... a heap of conductors warapped around each other with an isolating material between them?
last time i rewound a starter motor the breakdown voltage for the insulation was around 1kV... on a pcb, especially a camera pcb the traces will be very close, at least 8mil(0.2032mm), with standard solder resist mask that puts the breakdown voltage between the conductors at about 100V.
even if you want to ignore these facts... all digital cameras have power supplies, all regulating power supplies have inductors. inductors are coils of wire. these tiny coils would burn out way before the tough coils of a car starter motor would.

the chances of whitewolf realising his errors are a million to one...they said. oooohhh aaahhh.
WhiteWolf
Well you haven't taken into account the distance from the source of emp's. Fields weaken as they spread out over more space. It's an inverse square law thing, but it's important and you don't have it there.
its regardless when the 2 devices are at the same location
You haven't taken into account the fact that a solinoid is a coil of wire and thus induced voltages in the coil will oppose each other so the net volatge induced will be the the sum of the induced voltages in the coil.
for the sake of simplicity, i also left out that the solinoid would have an iron core. and i didn't worry about back emf either.
and where did you get iv2, I don't see how a safe voltage for a PCB come into working out the voltage generated by an emp.
its basicaly "a magnetic field that produces 5 volts in a 5cm peice of wire, it would produce x amount of volts in a coil with 100 odd turns."

Oh and no one will bother deriving a propper formula because it would take hours and who want's to waste several hours to win an argument on a gaming forum when they already know they are right.
tell me how / why they are right then? im not asking for a huge formular, just a simple explination will do.. im not going to accept "because it sounds right in my head" because thats bull s***.
Let it go Whitewolf, seriously, you're like the guy in a pub fight who just doesn't know when to stay down after hes been hit.

If you think you know more after a 6 month tafe course than people who've been working in the field for 20 years, then your arrogance truly knows no bounds.

tell me how / why they are right then? im not asking for a huge formular, just a simple explination will do.. im not going to accept "because it sounds right in my head" because thats bull s***.

Just accept it as gosple truth. Have some faith man.
WhiteWolf
you all come in with assumptions that im stupid. which is why its easier for you to accept demon to be right.

i have come up with math formula and explination after explination.

all digital cameras have power supplies, all regulating power supplies have inductors.
not always.

what is a pcb?... a heap of conductors warapped around each other with an isolating material between them
that however is an oversimplification. PCB's have loads between the conductors. compaired to the loads in an inductor which are almost negitable
I think this argument is great in this thread, cause of the analogy it draws of the film itself: Whitewolf is like the humans' futile attempt to destroy the machines, while demon's slap is the martians superior technology wasting the f*** out of everything he says.
Tael
its regardless when the 2 devices are at the same location
Didn't you claim that it would not only f*** the car's solenoid, but also f*** every solenoid in the mechanic's garage too? So how is distance from the source irrelevant?

Also, Vi would be V<sub>i</sub>.
WhiteWolf
thanks tael. its abit late though. whats the effect of the solenoids in the garage got to do with the distence? the distance would be what.. like 10 metres pretty much making almost zero diffrence?
IT'S A f***ING MOVIE GET OVER IT GRONKS.
for the love of Christ before you post could you open up a .doc and just type your post into it and spellcheck it first?

and like.... put a f***en link to dictionary.com in your favourites or something.

seriously its painful

also

could you just shut the f*** up and take your smack medicine?
Tael
whats the effect of the solenoids in the garage got to do with the distence? the distance would be what.. like 10 metres pretty much making almost zero diffrence?
Actually, it can make a hell of a difference as it's an inverse square effect. If the distance from the source to the solenoid is twice the distance from the source to the camera then the intensity at the solenoid would be 1/4 of the intensity at the camera. This is because the area affected is 4 times larger.

last edited by Tael at 07:51:05 06/Jul/05
Someone change WhiteWolf's sig to 'laughably pathetic' please.
WhiteWolf
Actually, it can make a hell of a difference as it's an inverse square effect. If the distance from the source to the solenoid is twice the distance from the source to the camera then the intensity at the solenoid would be 1/4 of the intensity at the camera. This is because the area affected is 4 times larger.
its really beside the point, im using a perfect example to prove that its possible, both devices would be right next to each other.
War of the Nerds!
MY FREAKIN EARRRRRRRRSSSSSSSSS

Well I hope you have room for my fist, because I am going to ram it into your stomach!
Saw it last night, and one word sums up my feelings on this movie -

Disappointed

This doesn't live up to the hype by a long shot, I found it rather boring most of the time, some nice concepts and effects here and there, but I just felt like none of it lived up to it's potential. And the whole baskets of people of the back of the tripods just seemed cheesy and b-grade to me. It was mildly entertaining, but I'd only give it 3 stars out of 5, and I won't be in any hurry to rush out and see it again, or even hire it on DVD.

Tom Cruise can't play anyone but himself, and he's done so many movies now that his appeal worn off. Much they way pacino and de niro are (though I'm not comparing them to cruise) they were brilliant in thier day, but they tend to play variations of themselves and don't really bring much new to the roles, and after 20+ movies of this, it gets a bit old.

I didn't connect with any of the characters, the girl was annoying and wouldn't shut up, the boy was a little more interesting, and it would have been a bit more interesting if they let him join the army convoy, and follow is path through to the end, rather than hiding in a basement. Signs did the whole hiding in a basement with aliens coming a million times better than this. I wished tim robbins character would have shot an alien, or cut that eye thing, just so something interesting would happen.

Plot holes galore filled the movie, apart from the EMP and how the f*** did they all manage to survive when everyone else dies factors, there was no logic to most of it, why did the aliens vapourise everyone in the beginning? and then start harvesting? if they were so invunerable, they could have just harvested everyone from the start?

Anyway I could go on forever with this crap, so I'll stop now.

Wasabi
I prefer Madagascar over War of the worlds to be honest!
and how the f*** did they all manage to survive when everyone else dies factors,

Luck happens even in war.

why did the aliens vapourise everyone in the beginning? and then start harvesting? if they were so invunerable, they could have just harvested everyone from the start?

In short, they do it to break the human spirit and any organised resitance.
why? none of the weapons used against them worked, so any resistance is useless anyway
ummmm...tom cruise managed to kill one.
so if they would have picked him up at the start and put him in that cage, he'd still be able to blow one up?
no but im sure someone else would
The plot holes in this movie were big enough for the Tripods to fall into.

I expect more professionalism from Spielberg.

I'd recommend this film to ppl as long as they go along just for the eye-candy and check their brains in at the door.
Steele
Not everything has to be explained- it adds to the mystery.

Who knows why they started blasting people at the start? More importantly who cares? The humans in the movie didn't know so why should it be explained to the viewer?

Ps. Hot movie
I saw this movie today and since this is on the first page still I'm replying. I thought the movie was very dramatic (read scary) but it ended abruptly without much explanation. Explanation would've made it a lot better!

Most people have already said everything negative about it but here are my specific problems.

It would've been a lot better though if people weren't using electronic devices after those the emp's were suppose to have nocked everything out. For instance, without knowing much about electronics etc I find it hard to believe that a handy cam works and a watch doesn't. Don't directors know that the bigger something is the harder it is suppose to fail or in this case not work?!?!?!

Also the Foley people needed to use something a lot less obvious for sound effects. Fireworks???? That was just stupid and so obvious, I couldn't think of any explosions that would sound like fireworks except real fireworks and I sure didn't see any of them going off though I suppose it ties in nicely with the Forth of July reference when the lighting is going on. I'm surprised nobody mentioned this in this thread because I wasn't the only one in the cinema to mention that there were firework sound effects - the people next to me did.

The basement scene was too drawn out and really an axe to dismantle it? Surely alien technology would be strong enough to turn away an axe swung by a human.

Whoever said that the movie had so many flaws in it that a tripod thing could’ve fallen in it was so true. They say they don’t have shields and everything just falls apart which would’ve made sense because some human weapons would have electronics in it to destroy it but to say they had no visible shields was just ludicrous when later in the movie we saw shields appear when a weapon was thrown at them.

I'm motivated to read the book to know the original script and to know the truth/reasoning behind it all. I suppose that is really what they want us to do, go out and buy the book. If I could get it from a library I think I would but no doubt they are all out of copies for ages.

The son should’ve died….or at least done something heroic before he reappeared at the vicariously persevered Boston street and house. I think a producer or Spielberg may come from there so naturally he couldn’t destroy it. Or may that is where Jesus descended….?

Also WhiteWolf made this thread a good LONG read so don't begrudge him overly.