Topic: Top paying jobs?
anyone know of a work place with about 800+ after tax. YOur worplace or a mates work place? or a friend of a friend you hears rolling in the dosh. This has to be without having to go to uni first and no more than 2weeks worth of study ie. if you need to do a small 1 week course to get a licence to do that particular work...
masta_blasta
Exotic Dancing.

Reason: Inappropriate
Click Here to See the Profile for Kat Edit This Post Click Here to send Kat an email Users HomePage Message User
i dont think you can be a lawyer without going to uni!!
Goody
Kat doesn't read more than the first line of any post Zylox....duh.

try any construction trade.
concreting.

my dads middle ranged labourers (like 30yr old men) are on 1500 a week.

last edited by existence` at 08:56:23 25/Jun/05
12-14 hour nights 7 nights a week as a cabbie

easy!
my dads middle ranged labourers (like 30yr old men) are on 1500 a week.
Yeah and they'll be f***ed when they're 40... Labouring pays well because 1) nobody wants to do it and 2) you will f*** your body right up.
not necessarily look at the guys from office space.

Drug Dealer or Day trader
yeah, I'd agree with a construction trade.

I'm a fair bit over $800/wk after tax (IT), and my dad (carpenter/tiler) and my brother in law (plumber) would both be earning more than me.

plus they don't have thousands in hecs to repay, though I think I'm finally all done now - w00t!
Are we talking $800 a wk or $800K a year?
Gross or net?

Clarification please

$800 a week is only around $41k a year and easy as to get without edumication

last edited by Kat at 09:59:35 25/Jun/05
eu4ia
Ignore the money. Do what you're interested in. Right now there's a massive shortage of trades people - but that will change in a few years because right now a heap of people are entering the industry. The same happened with IT back in '97.

I can't underscore enough - if you enjoy what you do, you'll be successful. If you choose a path purely for the money and end up hating the work, you'll suck at it and will find you won't get the salary increases that your peers get because of the poor appraisals you'll be given. I've seen so many people in IT that shouldn't have become programmers. They did because they heard there was a lot of money in it (at the time), but they just don't think logically (a vital part of programming) and thus their quality of work is shocking and they hate work.
get a truck license and start doing deliveries, the drivers at my work make a fair bit i think

stay relatively local if you arent a fan of amphetamines
Y'know, when i came to these forums i knew only a handful of people. I didn't know why everyone bags kat. NOW I DO.

USE YOUR COMMON SENSE
about 800+ after tax.

sounds like 800/week take home(net) if you ask me.

not 800k a year take home. Thats like 1.6Mil.

I'm sorry, but i don't know any jobs you can get 1.6Mil without a long list of qualifications.

800/week take home is about ~70 or 80k. Thats doable. Not 1.6Mil.

last edited by Mr Hardware at 10:03:27 25/Jun/05
USE YOUR COMMON SENSE

I would, but remember this is QGL you get some pretty f***ed up questions.

bah, I give up /exit thread

last edited by Kat at 10:01:11 25/Jun/05
eu4ia
I would, but remember this is QGL you get some pretty f***ed up questions.
And here's another one:
Are we talking $800 a wk or $800K a year?

last edited by eu4ia at 10:03:43 25/Jun/05
haha at lawyer response and requiring clarification as to whether he meant 800 a week or 800k a year

haha at claiming labouring f***s your body up, check out the bitter hunter. how can those neanderthals possibly be worth more money than someone of his enormous intellectual capacity*&^@%#$ haha the indignation!
Any manual labour will catch up with you in the long run.
blahnana
A "close friend" told me that he earns wads giving handjobs in the local mens toilets.
Why would I be bitter at people who labour? There is no f***ing way I'd do labouring because I've seen what it does to people... prior to getting his two degrees (math+phys) my old man worked for the railways as a shunter (that's before QR started running trains with dead weight, ie empty cars). Various parts of his body ended up screwed from strenuous physical work and needed physio.

I stick to what I am good at, and labouring is not what I am good at. Its retarded that they make more money than most white collar workers but hey they're in demand and doing what nobody else would want to.

last edited by Hunter at 10:20:47 25/Jun/05
blahnana
I'm not bitter about "x"? It's retarded.
Various parts of his body ended up screwed from strenuous physical work and needed physio.
Workers comp, workplace health and saftey and unionism has pretty much made that a non-issue nowadays
so what do u do for a biscuit Hunter?

Also do scumbag lawyers really make $105k a yr? I know some of the big c***s and partners would. But your local 'ambulance chaser' surely couldnt be making that much.

I was considering going into Real Estate but after having dealt with these fleas I realized that the working in RE turns normal ppl into lying dishonest pricks.
eu4ia
working in RE turns normal ppl into lying dishonest pricks
Good call.

last edited by eu4ia at 10:32:52 25/Jun/05
Its retarded that they make more money than most white collar workers

haha, why?

Cos labourers get up earlier and put in more physical effort into a day than most of us would in a week? Oh wait, I guess it dosnt take any brains to follow a meticulously engineered building plan so you can build a skyscraper?

Go work a building site for a week then tell me they dont earn their paycheque.

Reason: Inappropriate
Click Here to See the Profile for Stez Edit This Post Click Here to send Stez an email Users HomePage Message User
I was a teenage hand model
The NBA seem to pay well
And "executive directors" ??? There's no such f***ing position in firms u nit.

Sounds impressive though.
http://www.thefreedictionary.com/executive%20director

executive director - a person responsible for the administration of a business

I swear i learnt about executive and non-executive directors in a Business Law subject.

I dont know about law firms but...

Edit: From said notes in business law subject:

Set out below is a list of the most common types of directors:

ƒr Managing directors
The replaceable rules allow the directors to appoint a managing director: s201J. A managing director may exercise any of the powers of the board ¡V s198C.

ƒr Governing directors
It is unusual for a company to have a governing director. Governing directors may be found in some proprietary companies, and such office must be created by the company¡¦s constitution.

ƒr Executive directors
The main role of executive directors is to carry out the day to day management of the company and effectively they constitute the senior management of the company.

ƒr Non-executive directors
Arguably the main role of non-executive directors is to bring an independent view into the company¡¦s boardroom. Corporate governance best practice, in terms of control and accountability, arguably involves a board whose majority consists of non-executive directors.

last edited by Fireblood at 10:43:30 25/Jun/05
I'll become a junior vice president...
Why would I be bitter at people who labour? There is no f***ing way I'd do labouring because I've seen what it does to people... prior to getting his two degrees (math+phys) my old man worked for the railways as a shunter (that's before QR started running trains with dead weight, ie empty cars). Various parts of his body ended up screwed from strenuous physical work and needed physio.

I stick to what I am good at, and labouring is not what I am good at. Its retarded that they make more money than most white collar workers but hey they're in demand and doing what nobody else would want to.

Maybe your dad was a stickman and didnt have the body for it?
I know a bloke who was a bricky for 45 years, he is around 70 years old now and in great shape, plays golf twice a week and is fine, My parents friend is 56, he does construction of some sort, he is also in great shape, his body is fine. 47 year old air conditioner installer, still manages to go out and get s***face and play golf and footy with us.....so your point is s***.

and the fact anyone in their right mind pays you at all is retarted.
Eu4ia, not all trades are getting more aprentices, and once you figure in 4yrs+ a few more for post trade exp it's gonna be a while before we get any decent tradies out of it. I'm in the 3rd year of my aprenticeship as a fitter and turner and there isn't that many people doing it, and I think it's the fact that we are constantly doing maths, younger people are gonna just go labour as brickies or whatever and get paid just as much without needing to do any of that.

Unless aprentices start getting more money or better conditions then it's just not gonna happen.
Now onto top paying jobs, sub-contracters (fitter&turners) were on $56/hr at visy.
executive director is essentially my position. it means you make all day to day running decisions but are still answerable to non-exeutive directors who form the board. it's just a title though. the conmpany has to be making money to pay the $$.

compared to tradesman. they just go to whoever pays the best price... and with workplace health and safety rules i don't get the comments re not lasting long in physical trades.

in the last construction i did there were trades over 50 yo there. get a clue.

last edited by infi at 11:04:40 25/Jun/05
Any manual labour will catch up with you in the long run.
nah, it won't.

Why would I be bitter at people who labour?
because as evidenced by most posts you make, you consider yourself to have somehow broken the mould when it comes to intellect. the idea that the very people you clearly consider yourself to be above could make more money than yourself, coupled with the type of personality you cultivate results in you expressing bitterness toward this reality despite your best efforts to convince the people who read your posts, otherwise.

my old man worked for the railways as a shunter
he also seeded you - and despite some of your traits being environmentally influenced they're heavily rooted in the genetic code you inherite from him - nuff said. it takes a certain level of self-discipline and intelligence to engage in regular physical labour in a manner that ensures the ongoing health of your body. your dad sucked at it
eu4ia
At the end of it all though Spoon, you'll have more knowledge and will go further. Going for the quick cash is a mistake when a career spans 40 years. If you say not many people are going through now, then I guess the opportunity's still there for people to start studying. It won't last though - these things always go in cycles.
I think your personality would suit prostitution. Probably gay prostitution.

It's not a free ride knobhead. First thing on your shopping list should be a 'clue'.
Theres heaps of opportunity for people coming out of school and grab one, either way it means more money for me if they stay away. Old mate at work use to be with a labourhire company getting him jobs (hes a fitter&turner) and they rang him and said if they can even give names of people who might be interested he'd get a carton of whatever alcohol he likes, they're getting desperate :D
dafugg

let me get this straight. you think, unlike other people, that you should be able to earn almost twice the average australian wage (currently 32k i think?) without any training.

because you're special, not like everyone else.

f*** off wanker
let me get this straight. you think, unlike other people, that you should be able to earn almost twice the average australian wage (currently 32k i think?) without any training.

because you're special, not like everyone else.

f*** off wanker

Hey don't be so harsh. He said he wants to study for, what was it.... two weeks? Yes that's it. Any person should be earning phat loot for that commitment.

Strewth.

last edited by mission at 11:45:48 25/Jun/05
Yeah you hear about some people doing well in certain areas without doing a great deal of study but they are people with vision and dreams and natural ability.

Sounds to me like you have none of these. So.. Off to University you go with all the other sheep.

p.s. - I hope you end up in jail.
getting another rise out of hunter is one thing, but some of you guys are just plain mean
How dare he undermine every hard working Australian out there with a bulls*** post like this? I think I was being nice actually. Someone needs to educate the misguided youth. His parents obviously didn't. Or he didn't listen to them.

Either way, my posts were completely justified.
QUICK WAY TO MAKE LOTS OF MONEY WITH VERY LITTLE TRAINING:

Small business owner selling 'new fad' stuff like mobile phone junk, small electronics, super coffee cups, all the s*** people think they need.
Gol
I doubt thats possible Zylox, but labouring and other trades are in demand.
D>S = ^P lol.
do scumbag lawyers really make $105k a yr? I know some of the big c***s and partners would.

Big c***s and partners would be earning an assload more than $105K a year. Partners would be like $400K++++ in a decent firm
Make a ring tone of a frog going "DAAAAAA DING DING DING DING DING" and then sell it and/or turn it into a song.

You'll make money, but everyone will hate you for it.
2) you will f*** your body right up.

I think you mean funk your body right up. You'll be cut, and have a good tan.

"Look at that slab, i laid that, marvel at it."

PRO--GEM
Hmmm night jobs in factory packing boxes and crap i have amate that earns 38 dollars an hour doing that, a mate i know also works with caltex he was getting 2600 a week noobs
your mates bulls***ted you and you believed them noob
My dad does some seismic work, mainly drilling holes in the ground for water, core samples or explosives for seismic tests. He never made it past primary school and earnt over 50k last year. It sucks tho cause he works huge stretches at a time then is only home for short periods.
anyone know of a work place with about 800+ after tax. YOur worplace or a mates work place? or a friend of a friend you hears rolling in the dosh. This has to be without having to go to uni first and no more than 2weeks worth of study ie. if you need to do a small 1 week course to get a licence to do that particular work...

$800 a week (after tax) equates to around $28.50 an hour, or 55,900+ a year (not including leave loading and other benefits).

When hiring people you never want to pay too much. If you can get one of two people, with the exact same skills, motivation and talent but one is cheaper than the other, you will probably emply the cheaper one.

So, you have to look at why they want to pay you $28.50 an hour.

a) Have you been trained in something that not a lot of people know how to do?
b) Have you extensive experience in something that gives you insite into the way this job works that most people wouldn't have?

If you can't match up to either of those things you need to look at things that are just hard work, or disgusting work. Even then, without some sort of qualification or skill you are going to be hard pressed making really good money. I mean if it was easy, why is the average wage 32k a year (instead of your desired 56k).

I know a lot of people are suggesting labouring, but be warned. With the current influx of apprentices, a lot of trade assistants have problems getting work. When they do find something they are often below the apprentices ... so they end up doing the really, really s*** work (i.e. the stuff that even apprentices don't want to do, like cracking concrete for 8 hours a day).

Doing a week of night shifts just about anywhere makes some ok money. I'd suggest that you troll though job adds looking for positions that require graveyard shifts and no formal skills. It will be as boring as s***, but the money is ok.

---

Also do scumbag lawyers really make $105k a yr? I know some of the big c***s and partners would. But your local 'ambulance chaser' surely couldnt be making that much.

I have a friend who just started working as an actual lawyer in a Melbourne firm and he gets paid 82k a year. His experiances as a Lawyer before starting work was pretty minimal (other the normal progression just out of uni). He spent most of the last 5 years playing county cricket in England and then holidaying around the world.

The so called ?big c***s? can get paid upwards of thousands of dollars a day.
Being a Lawyer imo would be a pain in the ass job, I'd never do it although I like to argue with s***c***s over things to prove them wrong. But f*** that so who cares how much they make... Plus their daily lieCount would be too big for me to handle :D
$800 a week (after tax) equates to around $28.50 an hour, or 55,900+ a year (not including leave loading and other benefits).

Just to put it in perspective:

Teachers' Award - State (Classroom Teachers)
Classification Level/Pay Point/Salary: $ p.f./ Salary: $ p.a.

Band 1
Step 1 1422.30 37107
Step 2 1462.70 38161
Step 3 1511.80 39442
Step 4 1563.90 40801

Band 2
Step 1 1607.50 41939
Step 2 1696.70 44266
Step 3 1785.50 46582
Step 4 1874.60 48907
Step 5 1964.00 51239

Band 3
Step 1 2038.40 53180
Step 2 2113.20 55132
Step 3 2187.50 57070
Step 4 2266.40 59129

Senior Teacher (4yr trained)
2360.80 61592

So, a teacher after 4 years of University training starts at 37k a year, and if they have been teaching for a f***load of years they can earn 61k a year.

Now, why do you think you should earn around the same amount of money as a teacher who has been working/studying for longer than a decade?

last edited by typo at 14:56:01 25/Jun/05
Maybe because teachers, like nurses, are paid s***.
yeah, my parents are both on the highest band, but still, its s*** after 30 years of teaching :/
I can give you a job starting monday, night shift factory work, $23 an hour, possible overtime .. you may push $800 if you bust your guts with it.
rogue_squirrel
you might pull 700 a week after tax as a security guard, but that would being doing some nights and so on.

currently labouring and pretty much hate it.

so would an apprenticeship be a good thing to get into at the moment??. i really have no idea what im going to do with my life
slap69
anyone know of a work place with about 800+ after tax.

My highest paying job was doing coded exotic metal flux-cored xrayed welding for a new BHP oil-refinery on the Western Shelf for a construction company.
IT was night shift 11 hour shifts x 6 days, standard time was $38 an hour, time and a half for 3 hours a day and saturday was double time. I ended up with something like $2500 after tax a week ( i think? acc), and they payed for my a/c hotel accom, 3 meals at the restaraunt a day, and a new budget bus with a free fuel card and mobile phone. The tax was a killer though, and the pace of work was f***ed.

I was seeing a dancer/stripper who owned a pad in a highrise in town, and was clearing $3k a week every week.

last edited by slap69 at 15:15:24 25/Jun/05
cs_master
so teachers get 10 weeks of holidays a year, can earn up to 60k, and still complain about pay?
he also seeded you - and despite some of your traits being environmentally influenced they're heavily rooted in the genetic code you inherite from him - nuff said. it takes a certain level of self-discipline and intelligence to engage in regular physical labour in a manner that ensures the ongoing health of your body. your dad sucked at it

STFU FAG!! BASHED IN TEH CARPARK!
theres a lot of work outside of the hours at school. marking, reports, curriculum structures, etc.

i just find it a bit meh that these people who are there to educate those that will end up being the lawyers, doctors and engineers, get paid not much at all.

theres no room to progress, you hit a limit and thats it. in most other professions theres always somewhere to move up. my parents arent complaining, they love what they do, but still, i think its a bit unfair, and thus leads to the teacher shortage, and then teachers that just arent qualified, being brought in to work.
Dopefish
I can give you a job starting monday, night shift factory work, $23 an hour, possible overtime .. you may push $800 if you bust your guts with it.

what do people have to do exactly?
Bj
Cos labourers get up earlier and put in more physical effort into a day than most of us would in a week? Oh wait, I guess it dosnt take any brains to follow a meticulously engineered building plan so you can build a skyscraper?

<3 u maxe. im amazed someone out there understands, im even more amazed that person is you :P

First few years I worked I was on a very low wage, around $12 an hour, working 5 times as hard for less money as some of my friends bragging about earning $20+ /hour. First 2 years of work I basically worked my ass off and had very little to show for it, only just these last 2 years im finally starting to reap from the hard work with buyin a nice house among other things.

Point being too many people these days focus on trying to get jobs that pay the most, rather then thinking about their work ethic. People want as as much $ as they can for as little work. Forget the money and focus on working hard, and being sensible with your money.

Its all about whether you want to spend it all now and struggle in the future, or struggle a bit more now and have it easier down the track.
Corrupt
No I disagree BJ.

Work smart
Work for your future ( so don't guzzle what you earn. )
Be frugal ( Why waste money on s*** you don't need? )
Maybe because teachers, like nurses, are paid s***.

That was actually my point. Why should someone, who can't be f***ed learning or doing anything to advance themselves expect to get paid even as much as the lowest paying professionals?

so teachers get 10 weeks of holidays a year, can earn up to 60k, and still complain about pay?

It can take a long time to get there, but yes they can. As has been mentioned both teachers and nursing get paid squat compared to every other professional. Some talented graduates can get starting packages that compete with that. Not to mention that many other professions can get a lot more after the same length of time (excluding freaks, just in general).

Often when people see teachers complaining about pay disputes, they don't really undestand why. Practically every year teachers have to fight tooth and nail to get indexed pay increases (i.e. inflation effects on wages). In fact, for a long time teaching is one of the few professions (if not industries) where people got paid less each year than the one before (because of not getting inflation rises).

Education is probably one of the most important industrys for Australia to get right. Smart nations (in general) are richer nations. Yet, in Australia we have a tendency to not only f*** education in the ass, but leave a dirty sanches.
big ups to typo.

why are so many teachers heading over to the UK and other countries to teach - they are actually given a reasonable pay for the job they do. this leaves us in the lurch, and is going to be a cycle of eternal downward spiralling into a funnel of circlness
WhiteWolf
you guys complain about tax increases, praise your chosen diety when there is a tax cut, but bitch when there isn't enough money forwarded to things that are important!

i disagreed with johnnies tax cuts for this reason : "if you have the money, use it on something that will benifit australia as a whole, not just increase your popularity" if people can live on what they had, sure, a bit of extra dosh would be nice, but so would having better hospitals/education system/trade infistructure, THIS IS WHY DEMOCRICY DOESN'T WORK!

but i guess, just like every other government system, it only works perfectly in ideal situations.
demoacracy works fine. e.g. i wanted the tax cut. :p
A pretty amazing industry, which is essentially laboring, is working on product tankers. (ie. big f***ing petrol or chemical tankers)

Good mate is currently completing his cadetship (obviously there is a lot of training involved here) with very little time off so that he gets to first mate as fast as possible. As soon as he reaches first mate, he will be earning a touch over 100K a year (for an australian shipping company, you can earn more overseas) before tax and there are many ways to get around tax if you are being paid internationally. So for around 2 years training odd hell be earning 100K and thats just out of the cadetship. Oh and the best thing about that, you only work 6months of the year to earn that. The rest you are on holidays :P It can only go up from there too.

Not mentally taxing work from what im told, s***loads of bogans so many of you will probably fit in.
Jim, you're amazingly ingorant... he was with QR for 18 years... You know what does suck? You at trolling.
qmass get me some info please, im going to do that
so he sucked for 18 years - what's your point?

and here you are replying again. not being trolled of course - it's just replying to let everyone know you're not being trolled
so what do u do for a biscuit Hunter?
Sadly, IT. I am an administrator, with about 100 or so small business networks and a few larger ones under my control. Don't really like it much but hey its a job and it makes me money. On the other hand I don't think I'm paid enough for the level of responsibility and accountability I have or the amount of money I enable people to make. Most of the clients of my work go bats*** and their companies more or less grind to a halt without computers. Most of the problems are self-inflicted but hey you can only educate them so much.

haha, why?

So what they get up early, a lot of people have to just get to work on time. Labouring and building are different things. Labouring involves menial work that anyone in good physical shape could do. You need minimal qualifications (apart from safety regs and other associated tidbits) and are more less somebody's arms and legs. Their level of responsibility probably doesn't involved hundreds of thousands of dollars if not millions of dollars worth of accounting data or maintaining networks of computers which enable businesses to make the money that they do. I'm not saying they shouldn't be compensated for their efforts, what I am saying is that the amount of money they're paid these days is ridiculous and completely undermines everything we're told (ie go to school get an education then get a good job and secure your future).

they just go to whoever pays the best price... and with workplace health and safety rules i don't get the comments re not lasting long in physical trades.
Yes that's because things have probably changed since dad worked for QR. He worked for them from 1975 till 1993 when he was given redundancy after QR changed its policies regarding the carriage of dead weight.

And lastly, I find it a little offensive (and I aim this criticism towards EMPLOYERS, not employees) that a guy with virtually no education except for a forklift ticket can earn $25-30 an hour in a warehouse...

last edited by Hunter at 18:43:10 25/Jun/05
You start at the australian maratime college or some s*** in Tasmania. You apply through QTAC. Cadetships are then awarded on how well you perform during work experiance and at college.

Thats all I know. Cant ask my mate because hes off getting raped by pirates somewhere between japan and australia :P
I'm not saying they shouldn't be compensated for their efforts, what I am saying is that the amount of money they're paid these days is ridiculous and completely undermines everything we're told (ie go to school get an education then get a good job and secure your future).
you think it's ridiculous because you're clinging to some crazy old mentality that was created by people who like to think they're better than other people because they feel they've been educated. you should examine why it is you think that someone who goes to university should have the right to be paid more than someone who's been working in the meantime - you seem to think that education equates to the right to more money. however, the ability to get more money is up to the individual regardless of their education or background, generally speaking. it has almost nothing to do with employers either - employers pay what they feel they can get away with, in most cases.
the pay equals the demand
Education(extra schooling) is for people who want to get good pay doing something other than labour.
Labour is for those quite happy to work hard and earn a good days pay(while being educated on the job).

edit:thx Qmass

also I couldnt've said it better myself Jim

last edited by Fuknukle at 18:58:20 25/Jun/05
fuknukle I just shot you an email on address from your agn profile, lemme know if it's no longer valid
It isn't solely to do with education, Jim... in my previous post I clearly imply that a persons level of responsibility and accountability should be a determining factor, as should the level of education. Irrespective of all this, employers _should_ ensure all employees are paid enough money to enable them to live a life free of fear and uncertainty.

Anyway this is silly, I'm more of a socialist than you, I find it odd that you're painting me as some kind of old-world capitalist bastard...
you think it's ridiculous because you're clinging to some crazy old mentality that was created by people who like to think they're better than other people because they feel they've been educated. you should examine why it is you think that someone who goes to university should have the right to be paid more than someone who's been working in the meantime - you seem to think that education equates to the right to more money.

Actually, hunter doesn't believe that university graduates deserve more money.
Jim hotmail thinks your spam
replyed with a yes

last edited by Fuknukle at 19:33:47 25/Jun/05
I don't think you're a capitalist - what does capitalism have to do with education, or job responsibility? I don't even care what your political preference is, it doesn't have anything to do with this. Trying to stick someone into a type of political or social preference is completely pointless other than to be able to label someone.

Why _should_ employers ensure all employees are paid enough money to enable them to live a life free of fear and uncertainty? That's an impossible task - it's largely up to the individual whether or not they live a life free of fear and uncertainty. What you probably don't realise is that it doesn't matter how much money people are paid, they will usually live at or beyond the limit of their means anyway.
Actually, hunter doesn't believe that university graduates deserve more money.
maybe not explicitly, but this comment of his implies something at least very close to that:
And lastly, I find it a little offensive (and I aim this criticism towards EMPLOYERS, not employees) that a guy with virtually no education except for a forklift ticket can earn $25-30 an hour in a warehouse...

When I learn what someone receives in a certain job and I"m suprised, I try to work out why it is that they're paid that rate - there's usually a totally logical reason for it because after all it's dollars, and paying them to employees. who is going to do it without good reason, generally speaking? as opposed to trying to nurse my ego with the thinking that 'wtf do they deserve that, my job is worth heaps more and I should be paid for it'.

get over yourself and work out how to go make more money. doing anything else is telling your employer that it's ok to keep paying you what you're being paid, for what you do.
I want a job working as a state forest dude. I can check all those dirty 4wders have the correct permits... food, board some pocket money and a 4wd and its a deal!
maybe not explicitly, but this comment of his implies something at least very close to that:

It isn't because he has an education that he thinks he should get money. You said it best with "the idea that the very people you clearly consider yourself to be above could make more money than yourself". The only exception is that Hunter thinks he is greater than everybody.
I don't agree simply having a degree should net anyone more money.

if 2 people are doing the same job and one gets paid 2 grand more a year cos they have done a masters ... sorry but thats bulls*** (yet standard behavior).

yeah sure obes whatever you reckon obes
no, whatever you think jim.
no u r
sif
WhiteWolf
So what they get up early, a lot of people have to just get to work on time. Labouring and building are different things. Labouring involves menial work that anyone in good physical shape could do. You need minimal qualifications (apart from safety regs and other associated tidbits) and are more less somebody's arms and legs. Their level of responsibility probably doesn't involved hundreds of thousands of dollars if not millions of dollars worth of accounting data or maintaining networks of computers which enable businesses to make the money that they do. I'm not saying they shouldn't be compensated for their efforts, what I am saying is that the amount of money they're paid these days is ridiculous and completely undermines everything we're told (ie go to school get an education then get a good job and secure your future).

so your saying its how much your worth to the company?

ok, so if a laybourer quit, how much money do you reckon the company would lose? probably not much because they would be replaced. but thats same for your examples.

get this thought out of your head that you're more special than others because you're smarter, you're just as expendable as anyone else, unless ofcourse if you aren't expendable really, then you would be getting paid s*** loads and you wouldn't give a crap.
ding, you just lvl'ed
Yet, what of tran?

Strik3r
hunter is gay.

i win the thread.
This thread has motivated me to get a real job. Well it's motivated me to think about getting a real job, at least.
hunter is gay.

i win the thread.

That's the pot calling the kettle faget if I've ever seen it.
Crunch
If you want to earn decent money get into the mining industry over here in WA. It's seriously boom time at the present moment. For example, truck drivers earning $75k 2 weeks on 1 week off no experience necessary.
That's the pot calling the kettle faget if I've ever seen it.

haha good call.
http://members.optushome.com.au/~adamcarter1/thread-die.png

last edited by typo at 11:01:04 26/Jun/05
hopefully my money as a chef will be half decent when i get out of my apprenticeship
^^ Cook for me bitch!
Bj
hopefully my money as a chef will be half decent when i get out of my apprenticeship

lol.. dont hold your breath. hope you dont mind s***ty hours either