got bean
Free downloadable songs from this band http://www.anonmsyellow.com/
Ain't too bad either :)
DigitaL
Not bad. Didn't like some songs though.
good aussie hiphop = Lyrical Commission, Hilltop Hoods, Bias B, Lazy Gray, Brothers Stoney

last edited by Viper119 at 12:14:28 16/Feb/05
GaZ_^^^
I dont actaully mind that Muff and Plutonic song that they were playing to death on the J's not too long ago.. havnt heard too much of there other work tho.
jesu
I dont actaully mind that Muff and Plutonic song that they were playing to death on the J's not too long ago.. havnt heard too much of there other work tho.

Go buy their album or if you wanna see them live, go to the St Lucia uni gig on the 25th and see them.

Very good to see them live and are very talented, I can't wait!

last edited by jesu at 13:31:45 16/Feb/05
jesu
I'm currently listening to these guys now and I'm pretty impressed.

Their beats, flow, and ryhmes are pretty good. They don't all really sound real Aussie though.. a bit too much _AzN!!2@@! pride [I dunno if they play this out too much or it's just them] to be true aussie. Other than that I do like them.

Props!
better aussie hip hop = bliss & eso, downsyde
jesu
Best brissie hip hop artist: The Master

Bliss n Eso get too american with their music now, best song they ever did was Lyrical Wilderness

last edited by jesu at 15:17:20 16/Feb/05
Theres no such thing as good hip hop.
That's cause it's all Super good.
I used to hate aussie hip-hop with a passion, f***ing love it now tho. Just had to get over the accent barrier of what Im used to.
my collection rox!

1200 Techniques-Consistency Theory
1200 Techniques-Choose_One
1200 Techniques-Infinite_Styles
2 Dogs-D And K Sessions <-kick ass
Bias B-In Bed With Bias <-kick ass
BradStrut-TheAuthenticLP
Brothers Stoney-Stonebroke <-kick ass
Butterfingers-Everytime
Butterfingers-I Love Work
Culture of Kings 1-VA
Culture of Kings 2-VA
Culture Of Kings 3-VA <-kick ass
Downsyde-Land Of The Giants
Funkoars-Whos Your Step Daddy
Hilltop Hoods-Back Once Again
Hilltop Hoods-Matter Of Time
Hilltop_Hoods-The Calling
Koolism-Part One <-kick ass
Lazy Grey-On or off tap <-best one !
Matty B-The Courageous LP
Resin Dogs-From the Volcanic Lab
Resin Dogs-Grand Theft Audio
Resin Dogs-Grinnin' (We got wot u need)
Resin Dogs-Hifidelity_Dirt
Resin Dogs-Live_Like_Dogs <-they do rock live too!!
Shin Ki Row-Shin Ki Row
Straight To The Art-VA <- kick ass
The Herd-An Elefant Never Forgets
The Nodfather-VA
Two Up-Tastes Like Chicken
TZU-TZU
I can't believe how good aussie hiphop is. I only got interested in it after hearing Hilltop Hoods Nose Bleed Section on last year's hottest 100, with that clip of nose bleed section live confirming for me how awesome they are, then seeing them myself with Koolism was very OMG!!-ish.

Living in Canberra, get to see Koolism quite a bit.. That lead guy is so down to earth, really seems happy to just be doing his thing.

Two up has a new album, Player's Club. If you pick it up from JBHiFi then you get a bonus instrumental disk. Its got potential, but i can't get past Muph & Plutonic at the moment, their album Hunger Pains is rock solid!
this is just my opinion but Aussie Hip-Hop = Torture
Opinion noted, and ignored :)

last edited by mission at 21:32:29 16/Feb/05
Dopefish
some of these songs suck ass. Some of them are damn good.

Wigga wigga wanksta
[Q]
One of the best things about aussie hip-hop is that it is hardly about gangs or any pretentious bulls***. (its just down to earth bulls***) They dont take themselves super serious like americans either - which is another great thing.

Not to mention that aussie hip-hop is just better than american the attitudes aside.

edit: To clarify, of course not all american hip-hop is like that, a great example is ugly duckling. (check it out)

last edited by [Q] at 21:47:00 16/Feb/05
i find it amusing over time how the perceptions of it have changed. i first got hooked listening to 'resin dogs - from the volkanic lab' in an after much drinking and a few cones sort of induced state, and it has stuck with me every since.
and did i cop s*** for listening to it or what. it wouldve been 95% against back then (2000 or so), now it has come full swing.
and i could almost read one of my mates' mind when i put on *that* hilltop hoods cd even before nosebleed section made them famous enough to be played on b105(u know youve made it when youre on b105) or at the cricket, i could see him turning full swing from 100% opposed to 100% for. and from then on it was on at his house all the time for the next 6 months.

for various reasons i didn't get to see the resin dogs until last year when i was still living in sydney, when they played with the herd, and after seeing them live, it justified my reasons for loving them so much from that first time i heard them.
CeMaX
Bias B - Machete <-- Mark Chopper Read Raps ! Brilliant
Hip hop is hip hop...nationality doesn't make it good or bad. I am glad people have started to recognise that Aussie stuff is worth listening to though, as I think a lot of people have that "tall poppy" syndrome combined with the good ol' Aussie cultural cringe ie. if it's Australian it mustn't be as good as (insert country here).
I have to say Aussie stuff is great. It is different from American in that it tends to be less egocentric, and less about culturally specific identification and ideologies. You have to remember that US range of influences and sensibilities are a lot broader, and there are many different forms of this music, from Dr Dre to Latyrx to Jazzy Jeff and the list goes on. All forms of hip hop are valid as long as they contain the essentials: phat beats and dope ryhmes.
skz
downsyde are fairly tight same with hoods etc.. i havent really explored aussie hiphop that much although i know all the names... but yeah on the note of ppl hating america attitude and IncrEdible_vEgetable has it spot on.. as long as its dope beats and phat rhymes doesnt matter how says it or what they say really..

for me i generally classify hiphop (this mainly is with reguards to american) into 2 catigories, the more spiritual greats wich have both the dope beats and the meaningfull rhymes (krsone, dilated peoples, last emperor etc) and then u got the mad beat that u wanna getup to (dre, alchemist, green lantern etc)

anyways thats my 2 cents on hiphop
I'm heading down to Chingy concert end of this month....

It's gonna be HUUUUGE night... Can't Wait.

With Ja Rule, Chingy, Fabolous, 112 and Mario Winans!!

http://www.musichead.com.au/site/tours.asp?actID=142234&tourID=174

jesu
With Ja Rule, Chingy, Fabolous, 112 and Mario Winans!!

What the f*** are these names doing in an OZ hiphop thread?

That s*** makes me feel like crying because it's so gangstar, i just can't relate i guess.
if you like hip hip then you'll like this.

I don't care about who they are as a person, I just like their music...

For example, Usher is the biggest bling bling, love himself showoff fuc#$wit in the music industry, however his singing talent is leet and some of his songs are alright.
Steele
I reckon that one of the major factors in the recent popularity of Aussie hip hop is that it has improved dramatically in the last 5 years. That old stuff was bloody terrible.

I like the fact that much of the Aussie stuff have real instruments behind it and they use more of a traditional song structure(like butterfingers or resin dogs), like a normal rock band, unlike much of the US stuff, mostly sampled.
Steele
Marty- if you like their music, listen to their CD, if you like their music and them, go see them live.

BTW the music and those people suck the big one
MFDOOM
H2P DTS RFW ACR AKM THC BWP DS PMC BRA ADW DK ZEA DFA MTV DFV TRP DIE MDA
750 REBELZ and the coalition!

last edited by MFDOOM at 12:36:47 17/Feb/05
skz
rock the block isint hiphop

its rap.. theres a difference... alot of people dont understand this
whats hip hop then??? I thought chingy/ja rule was hip hop?
Chingy and Ja Rule ain't hip hop, it's hip pop.
Get with the realness, fool.
Just cos someone "raps" in their music doesn't mean it's hip hop. A lot of singers/performers etc have cottoned on to the fact that hip hop is big business these days and so want to cash in. Not saying that all musicians who use rapping techniques in their vocals are sellouts, but it sure as hell ain't hip hop. I think these perfomers you mentioned would be classed as hip hop by their publicists and maybe they do have that tag. But they aren't true to the heart of the music.
Go and buy a KRS-ONE or Lyrics Born album and you'll hear the difference.

last edited by IncrEdible_vEgetable at 14:40:12 17/Feb/05
eminem is rap... ja rule is hip hop
Cam
sorry, but that thing you posted is awful
I wouldn't call it aussie hip-hop. theyseem to think they're more AAAYY ZEEEEEE EEENNNNNNNNN than Australian

i used to listen to a lot more than i do now. prowla, bias b, lyrical commission, lazy grey. resin dogs are still quality. will always remember the trem and biasb on the pbs tapes my mate would bring up from victoria. hilltop have gotten a lot of exposure and good on them - they've been writing good songs for years and years. Suffa also produces most of the tracks. older hilltop stuf check out 'Common Streets' and '1979'.
It's not that I don't like it anymore, it's moreso my friends and i aren't for the current scene. And now you notice that a lot of those people on the pbs tapes we used to listen to still haven't grown up, whereas you have.
there are some very good viciously underground acts around brisbane. LeftOne, Robby B, Yuinhuzami, Dragonfly, Killajules etc.
and some more stoner-oriented stuff like The Serenity.
As far as gigs go the Babble-on guys are legends, their gigs are the best in Brisbane, but these days it's suffering from an invasion of tards from places like the mercury, and vip. probably cos it's held at the vip. There have been a couple of awesome gigs at The Rev lately.

also note that Koolism won 'Best Urban Release' at last years ARIAs. Now that put a smile on my face.
was such an irony that Koolism, famously loyal to hip-hop and having done the hard yards consistently producing music that they want to produce, were presented their award by the Black Eyed Pees, whom more recently we can't say the same for.
HH - The Certificate, ftw
Cam
marty you've got it so painfully wrong. first you're asking us what hiphop is, now you're telling us ja rule is hip-hop?
keep educating IncrEdible_vEgetable, Lyrics Born is fresh, some people here might have caught him at Good Vibrations without knowing it

i was going to say, as far as US hip-hop is concerned i still listen to a couple of things. mostly Blackalicious. beastie boys are popular once more, common, Xecutioners, gangstarr, jurassic 5. been playing some older de la soul too.

edit: mfdoom. this is a videogame forum. you are intensely stupid. half of those don't even belong together

last edited by Cam at 21:52:01 17/Feb/05
MF Doom, Madlib, Blackalicious, De La, Handsome Boy Modelling, Jay Z, Fabolous(that breathe track can rock me all day), Kid Koala, Leftfield, NAS, P Money(and anything he produces, Scribe, Mareko, Savage, anything NZ, etc), Peanut Butter Wolf, Quasimoto, RJD2, Sage Francis, Saian Supa Crew(french lyrics but nice beats)

^^ This is my current ipod rotation, no aus hiphop but some funky phat beats.