character
Just a reminder that all learners driving a car, truck, bus, or motorcycle are required to display L plates as of monday (31/01/05) or a fine of $120 for both the teacher and learner will be incurred. Find the full information here
| #0 10:40pm 29/01/05 |
Dopefish
| #1 10:45pm 29/01/05 |
I got that letter a while ago, first thing I did with it was use it to test my new paper shredder
edit: just wondering, how are they going to figure out whether the driver of a car or bike is a learner? last edited by whoop at 22:52:11 29/Jan/05 |
| #2 10:52pm 29/01/05 |
procs
w3rd.
| #3 10:50pm 29/01/05 |
Matt
edit: just wondering, how are they going to figure out whether the driver of a car or bike is a learner? The same logic could be applied - why not drive by yourself with your L's? Because looking young they'll pull you over. If you look young and are driving around with your mum, more than likely you're a learner driver :p |
| #4 10:58pm 29/01/05 |
sheep_pimp
My sister got this letter but im pretty sure she hasnt bought the plates.
| #5 11:00pm 29/01/05 |
Ecstasy
WTF It's NOT ILLEGAL to NOT display your L's at the moment in queensland?!
| #6 11:06pm 29/01/05 |
character
yeah no L-plates required previous to this change.
| #7 11:13pm 29/01/05 |
SD Gundam
Where can you get L-plates?
| #8 11:31pm 29/01/05 |
Protius-X
Shops maybe?
| #9 11:39pm 29/01/05 |
Jum
Where can you get L-plates? supercheap auto has sets of magnetic ones for $3-4 |
| #10 11:48pm 29/01/05 |
Grosby
Is it still OK to drive without P-Plates?
| #11 11:54pm 29/01/05 |
character
yeah to the best of my knowledge P-plates aren't required.
| #12 11:59pm 29/01/05 |
Grosby
cool, I'm on my opens now, but I was wondering if the p-plate rule was the same.
What gets me is that previous to the new law being put in, it was illegal to display your Ls if you weren't an L, however legal to not display them if you were. :P |
| #13 12:02am 30/01/05 |
if you're on your opens you're not on P's then are you. You're either on L's P's or opens
| #14 12:05am 30/01/05 |
Grosby
*blink*
that was more confusing than my post |
| #15 12:15am 30/01/05 |
hehe unlucky
| #16 12:22am 30/01/05 |
Nice pic dopefish
Ice-Cube is looking particularly nasty. last edited by mission at 00:40:57 30/Jan/05 |
| #17 12:40am 30/01/05 |
Up until this Monday how did you know if someone was a learner driver and that you had to be particularly careful of their driving and actions since they didn't have to display an L plate?
Whoop, when they pull you over to do a breathtest, for speeding, or wondering why you are driving like a f***stick they'll ask you for your license. If you don't have your Ls displayed they'll add the $120 on top of the you-are-a-f***stick fine. |
| #18 01:53am 30/01/05 |
NWA is da illest
| #19 02:08am 30/01/05 |
Up until this Monday how did you know if someone was a learner driver and that you had to be particularly careful of their driving and actions since they didn't have to display an L plate? You didnt. I had plates a majority of the time when I was learning to drive, but that's because I was in a driving school car. Allthough there was a couple of times I went with my parents and had no plates, but I was pretty experienced by that point and just needed practice time. I always thought it was a bit silly that I didnt need them from day 1 though. You still dont need to display P plates in qld, and the only real restriction of Ps is that you must have a 0% BAC to drive, rather than the 0.05 for opens. Other than that, you can go just as fast on highways and look like every other motorist. |
| #20 02:54am 30/01/05 |
step
I love the newcomers to the road, especially the ones that are too scared to go past 2nd gear.
| #21 02:56am 30/01/05 |
fubar
yeah and it is also a fine for a non learner to be driving with the learner sticker on. just to let all you know so you don't get a fine
| #22 06:57am 30/01/05 |
atleast we don't have power restrictions on cars for P platers :o
| #23 07:58am 30/01/05 |
As long as they dont make us use P-Plates...
f*** they're gay |
| #24 08:16am 30/01/05 |
Goody
it's just teh beginning :(
curfews are on the way ! |
| #25 08:31am 30/01/05 |
I love the newcomers to the road, especially the ones that are too scared to go past 2nd gear.and merging in traffic |
| #26 09:52am 30/01/05 |
Dopefish
when i had my lesson i was driving slowly but changing gears was not so hard. But this one time(at band camp) i was driving down a road and reved up quite alot to put it into fourth and accidently put it into second. The people behind me must have s*** themselves and i can tell you it wasnt pleasent for me or the engine :) |
| #27 10:04am 30/01/05 |
luckily the people behind you had left sufficient distance
| #28 10:20am 30/01/05 |
I can't beleive you guys dont need to use L or P plates!
Especially for L platers, lets face it learner drivers are s*** - they are a traffic hazzard, other drivers needs to know who are the learner drivers.... Don't really have much opinion on P platers not needing to show their P's but learners need to, this is a step in the right direction from the beatie government! |
| #29 11:39am 30/01/05 |
now all we need is daylight savings so we can watch live sport.
| #30 11:53am 30/01/05 |
smashingpumpkin
mate apparently P plates will be compulsory in about two years if i remember right......so all your learners hurry up and get your P now so as to minimise tiem looking like a knob with your red p plate in the future!
| #31 12:34pm 30/01/05 |
character
Where did you hear that about the P plates? I heard that certain groups were pushing to have them introduced (what's new there) but no official action had been planned to introduce them.
| #32 12:49pm 30/01/05 |
3x0dus
I think u will find that a very very low percentage of all accidents are caused or involve a driver on there Learners, however that is increased greatly by drivers on there Provisionals. Im still on my L's and irl i think the plates are just gay, its not gonna help anything, but further to A> demoralise and or cause more nervousness for those with L plates. B> Further to sterotype Learners as being bad drives. At least without plates its an open field and everyone has a 'fair go' so to speak, most peopl's reaction to a driving school/L plate on a vehicle is always going to be negative be it avoiding them, overtaking them for no reason whatso ever. Everyone was a learner at some stage and i doubt u would have taken kindly to being treated in such a manor. Learners already have to be supervised by someone of adult age and on there open/p's(1year?), which i think is enough, perhaps further enforcing that to someone over the age of 21/25 and or p's for min 2 years, and i believe it would also be better to increase the age for Learners to 18. ATM i drive about 130km's a day, 5 days a week, often drive 500km+ trips on weekends, and have been doing so for the last 7 months, and in that time ive noticed alot more older drivers performing dangerous/illegal acts and or not following comon road rules then anything else. Mainly Roundabouts (they just dont seem to understand how to f***ing indicate on and off were applicable) And giving way, be it onto main roads or onto round abouts(especialy 2lane+ ones seems to completly f***ing blow there minds). I'd dare say that by the end of this trial accidents involving learner drivers will be increased, not by the fault of the Learner but by the egotistic O/P's who believe they have more/better driving knowledge/experience. < / rant > |
| #33 01:24pm 30/01/05 |
fubar
i don't think it will result in more accidents involving l's. because if you see a car with a L sticker on it you give them some more room and if they f*** something up people are less likely to go and abuse them because they understand that they were once like that to.
| #34 01:56pm 30/01/05 |
defi
3x0dus i agree with you. sure i do see young people speeding, but the amount of older 30+ people i see not using indicators, not giving way correctly, hesitating because they dont no the rules properly is ridiculous. Even driving with my own parents, i always give them s*** about there indicators etc. When im driving with mates or personally driving i admit that i do speed, but i always use my indicators and give way correctly. How often do u see accidents in a straight line, barely ever compared to at an intersection or round about. give the younger ppl a break
| #35 01:59pm 30/01/05 |
Goody
i agree as well.
personally i think all ppls above 45 should have to resit their driving exam and driving test every 5-10 years when they renew their licence. it will increase driving educator job #'s as well as keeping the streets safer. a drivers license should not be a right that ppls can keep renewing as long as they can read an eye chart and don't get caught driving like s***. |
| #36 02:17pm 30/01/05 |
3x0dus
indeed it absoluetly piss's me off to no end the lack of indication in these cases. you/we as drivers rely on other drivers on the road to give us notifiaction/indication of what they are doing on the road, roundabouts up here get cloged and accidents happen all the time cuz some idiot wont signal his intentions, be it simply indicating that you are exiting the round about, this single action alone can help give any cars wishing to enter the round about notice of your intentions and allow them to safely entering confident in that you are exiting, if you dont indicate well that person has to sit there and wait longer becuase he dosnt know what you are doing. QLD Transport in the last 4 years have been pretty heavily trying to increase NEW driver awareness to the correct procedures of signaling and giving way this is easly seen by the learners test itself its almost 75% about signalling and when to giveway. im not saying all Learners are good compotent drivers there are always a few that may be to young or old and imature to be resposible for something that can be potentialy deadly to not only yourself and passangers but pedestrians and other motorists. when my grandfather went for his license they asked him one question...... Can you drive. A. Yes i drove here. *handed* license and its probably the same/similar for alot of other older drivers. |
| #37 02:38pm 30/01/05 |
3x0dus
oh and while on the subject does anyone else think the waiting time for an actual Provisional Test is redicoulous i mean u goto book it and in some cases its more then 1-2months time. Same can be said for Learning schools u gotta book 2 weeks in advance around here, just not possible with work n stuff sigh owell.
oh and im hardly a young learner either^_^, 22 this year, but since i was previously living in brisbane i never went for my learners becuase the public transport system catered to my travel requirments satisfactoraly, now being in regional area time to get the finger out and get this thing =] |
| #38 02:42pm 30/01/05 |
There are definately loads of s***kunts out there on the roads ranging from young to old. I fully support the mandatory L plates, yes I know you all dislike advertising that you are a nube, I was once there and know how it felt.
Now that I'm on my O's upon coming across a learner I stay the f*** away, esepecially now that I ride a motorcycle, headchecks are often forgotten and thats all it'd take and I'd be down. Sure I curse to myself cause they are going 10 k's under the limit but I don't hurl abuse at them nor fly past and cut them off, all that will do is scare the s*** out of them and increase the possibility of them stacking it. I just pass them at the nearest legal opportunity and be on my way. The level of roadsense and awareness really is appalling in Australia. I do beleive it is way to easy to get a license and it should be harder and I also reckon you should have to rack up a certain amount of learner hours before being elligible to take the P's test much like how it works with a pilot license. I also agree with the statements about older drivers, some of them have no f***ing clue at all... there definately needs to be a test every few years to make sure they are competant. Bottom line which a lot of nubes fail to even consider is that a vehicle is NOT a toy, its a weapon and everytime you are driving/riding it you are playing with other peoples lives. If you want to be a hoon take it to the track/drags/skidpan, or at the very least the industrial areas away from public roads for f***s sake. last edited by rubba-chikin at 15:00:30 30/Jan/05 |
| #39 03:00pm 30/01/05 |
I wouldn't listen to defi, he has lost his license, after what all of 5mins in his car....
and I can see your point 3x0dus, but it would be safer for people to be able to identify L players, what about highway driving - are L platers speed limited (they are in NSW) so you would cause more accidents/drama's on highways by simply obeying your restrictions (80 km/h) without others actually knowing you are a Learner |
| #40 03:19pm 30/01/05 |
No, L and P platers are not speed or any other operational restriction. The only difference is the allowed blood alcohol content of zero, where opens can be 0.05.
In fact, I think the P restriction in the southern states is retarded and detrimental. |
| #41 03:25pm 30/01/05 |
- NaK0r -
not sure if its been said (theres a lot of writing and stuff there >.<), but also remember that if parents or siblings are driving the car your learning in they have to take the L-Plates off cause they can get fined for driving with it on the car when they arent learners
personally i think thats even gayer than having to have L-plates in the first place, but meh, cant really argue i guess |
| #42 03:29pm 30/01/05 |
Despite what I said earlier about the L's I don't agree with the P plates, from what I've heard about them (seeing I'm a QLDer) they cause more problems than they solve with police tending to hassle the P platers a lot more than Open drivers etc.
| #43 03:34pm 30/01/05 |
character
rubba the P is for Police. It acts solely to identify people that cops can hassle to pass the time and book for the slightest thing to do some revenue raising.
| #44 04:05pm 30/01/05 |
lol sounds about right
| #45 04:19pm 30/01/05 |
defi
I wouldn't listen to defi, he has lost his license, after what all of 5mins in his car dude u dont no how/why where i lost my license and it has nothing to do with this. i didnt say that L plates are a bad idea i just said its ridiculous the amount of older more experianced drivers u see doing things that cause accidents. did u even read my post. im basically saying it should be harder to keep ur license and should be tested more often and that open drivers have to many points compared to p's. And no im not saying raise the amount of points p's have but lower the amount of points opens have. ohh and heardy i had my license for a year b4 i lost it. and lost it for something an open driver could do 3 times before they lost theres last edited by defi at 20:56:27 30/Jan/05 |
| #46 08:56pm 30/01/05 |
bet I could lose it in one go on opens.
| #47 09:15pm 30/01/05 |