Grosby
http://www.worldsgreatestshave.com.au/
We made a deal last year, my best friend and I, and we have kept to that deal. This year we will be shaving our hair off, shiny-bald stylez, to aide Luekaemia Research. Part of my personal motivation is from my life, in year 6 my best friend, Jaquie, passed away from Luekaemia, in 2003 a valued and active parent of my school was diagnosed with one of the worst forms of Luekaemia and just last year one of my dear students, only 6.5 years old, was taken from the world due to Luekaemia. So for Jaquie, Rick and Hannah... and thousands of others, we're taking off 1 metre of hair! Why am I posting all this s*** here? Mainly to appeal to your heart-strings and your wallets :P I want you, all of you, to sponsor us, even if it's just $1! (hell, that's about $5k from here alone ;)) Make me look like a fool! A Female Fat Folicly-challenged Fool! And for my friend to be a Skinny Skinhead Senorita. So click here for our webpage (10min bang up job) including photos of our locks, and click here to sponsor us. (our number is 74404, Name is Nikki Mensforth) It's 44 days until we 'go the chop' so I may just have to bump this every few days, admins permitting. ALSO FEEL FREE TO PHOTOCHOP US :P |
| #0 11:25pm 25/01/05 |
Grunt
i want to see front pics of your friend pls, full set
god the full shave is extreme as, but good luck to you |
| #1 11:09pm 25/01/05 |
Grosby
hehe we were talking about this the other day :P I told you I had backed out :D
We're so going shiny bald :P We rock! |
| #2 11:10pm 25/01/05 |
Grunt
can you just like shave your nuts or something because mine need a trim and my hair on my head is precious and not thinning from when i used to be on chemo..lol
| #3 11:14pm 25/01/05 |
Grosby
I personally don't have nuts to shave :P
I say colour your hair fire engine red :D and shave yoru nuts. and post. :P~~~ |
| #4 11:16pm 25/01/05 |
Grunt
http://www.lesliebeck.com/recipeImages/peanuts.JPG
here's my nuts, unshaved |
| #5 11:19pm 25/01/05 |
we had one of our senior executives do this last year (head of tax)
raised over $50K (25k from our office and it was matched dollar for dollar by PwC) He is a f***en mad bastard too, we've been out drinking till 5am (for those that were in irc and can remember, this was the spew in my suit in foyer of work, have cops come episode :P) |
| #6 11:20pm 25/01/05 |
I shaved my head about 4 years ago with two other guys at work. Wont be doing it again though because I look like ass without hair.
8-) Also, that webpage looks like ass too! Terrible background to it. |
| #7 12:04am 26/01/05 |
Grosby
find me a nicer blue background then :P
As said, we did it in an excited rush! |
| #8 12:09am 26/01/05 |
Just use the same colour QGL uses. The text stands out nicely and doesn't blind your eyes.
8-)~~ |
| #9 12:12am 26/01/05 |
Grosby
Betterer?
| #10 12:26am 26/01/05 |
self gratification isn't limited to the tsunami appeal.
| #11 12:30am 26/01/05 |
s*** yeah, that is way better
the other one killed my eyes |
| #12 12:31am 26/01/05 |
Epidemik did this last year at our school.
| #13 12:34am 26/01/05 |
Grosby
Spidz, constructive please. I'm not 'self gratifying' (sp) or anything.
I'm helping out the kiddlies.. indeed I'm not paying much myself (fwiw I am donating what I can) but rather giving others avenues, along with making a dick of myself! Please don't derail, this isn't the thread for it. |
| #14 12:35am 26/01/05 |
fair enough - I just don't understand why people feel the need to list all the people they know who have died of cancer when shave for a cure comes around.
it's like some kind of morose competition, much like the tsunami appeal. |
| #15 12:46am 26/01/05 |
Grosby
It's just a 'memoir' I suppose of why I'm doing it.
Not something i really celebrate.. but I'd like to do what I can to step towards a future for kids not having to live like little Hannah did :( |
| #16 12:51am 26/01/05 |
Melissa
Reason: Inappropriate |
#17 12:54pm 26/01/05
=-Firefrog-=
posting drunk on teh intraweb LOLOLOLOLS
| #18 03:32am 26/01/05 |
Grosby
Shiny Bald! :D And dead serious! :) How about you sponsor us because even you can see how crazy this is! |
| #19 08:34am 26/01/05 |
Grosby, you can only go shiny bald if you are blad, otherwise you will have regrowth and a white scalp. I was thinking of doing it, but I have cut my hair short before and it doesn't suit me |
| #20 09:47am 26/01/05 |
Grosby
Who cares if it suits you or not! It's for charity!
| #21 09:52am 26/01/05 |
astrid
It's not about how you are going to look it's about the cause, fome somepeople vanity just doesn't come into it .
| #22 09:53am 26/01/05 |
hey grosby, how does moo feel about this? It'll be like dating a butch lesbian after your done i reckon :P (no offence, and good on you for doing this :D!)
| #23 09:54am 26/01/05 |
Grosby
He's not tooooo pleased but he's not stopping me either (and if he tried he knows I wouldn't stand for that) ;)
I have a friend who said "I would but my husband won't let me" pfft Let her? Who's life is it?! Bec and I are thinking of hitting the bars afterwards and holding hands to see how many free drinks we score for being lesbians :D |
| #24 10:01am 26/01/05 |
Is this the one where you can either shave or colour your hair? I wanna colour it for a cause.
| #25 10:02am 26/01/05 |
Grosby
Yup, go to http://www.worldsgreatestshave.com.au and register to colour your hair :D
| #26 10:12am 26/01/05 |
Who cares if it suits you or not! It's for charity! My post was to point out the 'shiny baldness' you are aiming for, the comment at the end wasn't for debate |
| #27 10:20am 26/01/05 |
Grosby
K, then hop out of my thread if you have nothing constructive to say, unless you're going to sponsor us. :)
| #28 10:22am 26/01/05 |
Bec and I are thinking of hitting the bars afterwards and holding hands to see how many free drinks we score for being lesbians :Dzero. |
| #29 11:08am 26/01/05 |
Grosby
hehe.
I went out with another friend once, we held hands and acted close etc, had this one sucker following us around to different bars buying us drinks. Not once did we say were were lesbians but he thought he was in! :P He was a touch pissed off when we got into the car when our partners and said to him "What?... no.. no no we're not lesbians.. where did you get that idea?" |
| #30 11:47am 26/01/05 |
#31 12:55pm 26/01/05
Grosby
Superform. Please don't in my thread. kthx.
| #32 11:53am 26/01/05 |
Jum
#33 12:55pm 26/01/05
Grosby
Jum, out of my thread. Make your own. Don't derail mine.
| #34 12:02pm 26/01/05 |
Mel is colouring her hair, so I'm spons0rig her :D
| #35 12:08pm 26/01/05 |
Thanks for the useful and informative post melissa.
You are a braver person than I shaving all that hair. You could probably sell all your hair to some creepy dude on ebay and make a fortune. Sponsored! (I would probably just spend the money on beer anyway). |
| #36 12:25pm 26/01/05 |
Grosby
Thank you Thundercracker!!
We're thinking of donating our hair to wig makers for cancer victims or sell it to a doll maker and then donate the money! |
| #37 12:46pm 26/01/05 |
lesbians generally need to be attractive to be appealing.
| #38 07:58pm 26/01/05 |
Grosby
it's all in teh sex ;D
| #39 08:01pm 26/01/05 |
Go for it grosby, good for you for helping out. :).
P.S Einstien f*** off and die. |
| #40 09:09pm 26/01/05 |
I'm sorry Grosby, but the mental image I got of you having shaved your head is :
http://tim.rawle.org/simpsons/quiz/images/quiz4pics/q11.gif Leon Kompowsky |
| #41 10:20pm 26/01/05 |
Grosby
Probably :D
But, for the 63rd time, this is NOT about image! |
| #42 11:25pm 26/01/05 |
Melissa
you're seriously defacing yourself for what? trying to fix a natural course in evolution?
i really don't agree with girls shaving their heads for a "charity" and i suspect your hubby is a bit more protestant than he lets on |
| #43 01:09am 27/01/05 |
i really don't agree with girls shaving their heads for a "charity" and i suspect your hubby is a bit more protestant than he lets onnope, apparently he's catholic. |
| #44 01:15am 27/01/05 |
Grosby
No.. I may have to do that whole
*ring ring* "Hello" "Hey... is that the Kettle?" "Nah.. I'll just get him... -HEY KETTLE! IT'S FOR YOU! I THINK IT'S POT-" "Hello, Kettle here" "HEY KETTLE YOU'RE BLACK!" :P Why shouldn't I shave my hair? It's a burden, I constantly have to wash it, it gets in my mouth when I'm eating and have my hair out, it gets in the way of kisses when I'm on top, it's frizzy and dry in the winter and oily as s*** in the summer. Not only that but I am 'defacing' myself in order to help people live a healthy and happy life. Regardless of if it's the course of nature, do you know what people go through when undergoing chemo and other cancer treatments? Do you know how horrible it feels? Have you given a thought to what their families have to go through?? The truth is, regardless of if a person will live or die, regardless if it's evolution weeding them out and regardless of their fate. It's so f***ing painful for all involved and I'd like to help ease their suffering. And if this is a step towards it, then it's a step I'm taking. And the husband doesn't like the idea. He's not entirely happy that I'm doing it and wished I wasn't, however it's not his life, it's not his head and I'm not ruled by him. He also understands that it is important to ME! last edited by Grosby at 01:20:32 27/Jan/05 |
| #45 01:20am 27/01/05 |
Why shouldn't I shave my hair? It's a burden, I constantly have to wash it, it gets in my mouth when I'm eating and have my hair out, it gets in the way of kisses when I'm on top, it's frizzy and dry in the winter and oily as s*** in the summer.oh god no. |
| #46 01:21am 27/01/05 |
Grosby
Spidz, if you really have nothing constructive to say can you please vacate this thread. You're not helping, you're just making snide comments to boost your E-go. So can you pretty please just butt out and stop attempting to derail.
| #47 01:23am 27/01/05 |
i know more people that have died of cancer than you.
| #48 01:26am 27/01/05 |
Melissa
Spidz =) Grosby, don't take it personally, i'm simply voicing my opinion this time you attention whoring cow And your attempt at trying to say i'm defacing myself is laughable (i'm sure many people will agree i can't get worse, heehee) People already go to great lengths for the sake of charity... human "kindness" starts getting a little obsessive compulsive when you start doing stuff like this Aren't you a PRIMARY teacher aide? have you considered the impact you're going to have on more sheltered kids by turning up one day completely bald? maybe even just a bandanna? You're going to seriously warp their f***ing perceptions of the world with one explanation or the next. Girls just do not shave their heads for "s***s and giggles" or "a good cause" This is all opinion, take it on board if you want, but do not get uppity at me, you'll know a flame/troll when it includes purposely inflammatory content (edit: furthermore and at the risk of flames from people who have no clue what i'm talking about.... you should be setting a generic example as a role model for these kids, not trying to mould them to your hippy ideals, thanks) last edited by Melissa at 01:49:44 27/Jan/05 |
| #49 01:49am 27/01/05 |
ItsMe
Good on you Grosby. We are trying to raise $3000, and if we do, my brother will shave his head and get rid of his 7 year old hair which is down to his lower back.
we've got about $1000 at the moment, so he is so screwed. |
| #50 02:02am 27/01/05 |
You truly are f***ing clueless Einstein.
| #51 02:06am 27/01/05 |
Melissa
i think we established a few threads ago you had no idea rolo, now as grosby would say "get out of her thread and stop derailing it" form useful feedback or get the f*** out.
thanks sincerely |
| #52 02:08am 27/01/05 |
I wasn't aware Grosby was after your feedback dickless tracy
try shrinking your own head |
| #53 02:11am 27/01/05 |
CSIRAC
you're seriously defacing yourself for what? trying to fix a natural course in evolution? did anyone else find this really f***ing ironic? |
| #54 02:30am 27/01/05 |
Melissa
did anyone else find this really f***ing ironic? did anyone else read the rest of this thread? LOL yeah you can nuke this post along with the rest of the peasants trog, a blunt object over the head seems to be the only way to get the point across to people these days |
| #55 02:32am 27/01/05 |
jesus christ Einstein, she posted this thread so people would donate money. Feel free to do so.
But im guessing 5 bux an hour at Laser Skirmish wouldn't cover it right? The peasants finger points at you. That is all. |
| #56 02:38am 27/01/05 |
Melissa
quadruple that figure and you'd be close
and i'd pay her not to shave her head, she's being silly |
| #57 02:52am 27/01/05 |
MUSE
lol your going to hell.
where they will make you do masculine activities and have sex with women untill you go insane. |
| #58 03:36am 27/01/05 |
Grosby
Aren't you a PRIMARY teacher aide? have you considered the impact you're going to have on more sheltered kids by turning up one day completely bald? :P I'm doing it WITH the school :) We're having the "Wacky Hair Day" with options of Colouring hair or shaving it. :) My school is also a very open and.. while we call it 'alternate' we secretly mean 'hippy'. :D In fact, I'm asking le Boss today (who as yet doesn't know of my hair-brained scheme.. geddit.. hair-brained ..) to put it in the newsletter for the next 6 weeks and I'll have a poster up at my desk and I'll be asking parents to donate. |
| #59 07:23am 27/01/05 |
LoneWolf
Nice work Grosby. I did the whole shave my head bald thing about 4 years ago. I managed to raise $950 by shaving off this : http://www.lonewolfshouseofsin.homestead.com/files/Pony.jpg
It was worth it as it's only hair and it will grow back. I will donate some moulah for you on Friday. |
| #60 08:34am 27/01/05 |
Morax
and i'd pay her not to shave her head, she's being sillyI find this funny coming from you Einstein. I would have thought you'd be the first to appreciate something like what Grosby's doing.. And she's doing it for the good of others! Good on ya Grosby, hope you can raise the money :) last edited by Morax at 08:55:06 27/Jan/05 |
| #61 08:55am 27/01/05 |
Grosby
Thanks to all who are supporting us :D
We're raising more already than we thought (we aim low) ;) That's heaps of hair to chop LoneWolf! Good on ya!! I'm hoping to raise more funds through my work and through letterbox drops :P (the page says don't doorknock.. it doesn't say anything about letterbox dropping) Thanks in advance for Friday! |
| #62 08:59am 27/01/05 |
Johnny Deformed
you're seriously defacing yourself for what?to help others maybe, not to help herself, like you. Aren't you a PRIMARY teacher aide? have you considered the impact you're going to have on more sheltered kids by turning up one day completely bald?s***, heaven forbid the precious children be tought anything about the outside world or doing something just to help somebody other than themselves out. I personally think this type of example is better than a "generic example" as a role model. This "generic example" is exactly what? kids not taught anything about ideals and only to succeed so we get a generation of accountants or CEOs? I assume you for one would not be comparable to this particular example. This is taken to the extreme but ffs why are you exploding at someone doing something for charity? stfu already you attention whoring cow (please don't take offence) oh and nice effort btw Grosby :) last edited by Johnny Deformed at 14:59:10 27/Jan/05 |
| #63 02:59pm 27/01/05 |
Yeah it might even warped their mind enough to do something like change thier gender and stuff. |
| #64 03:05pm 27/01/05 |
| #65 04:14pm 27/01/05 |
Skyhawk
nice derailment here |
| #66 04:15pm 27/01/05 |
Grosby
*pushes thread back on track*
Wow.. So we've got a fair bit in this short time, we're coming up to 48 hours and we've gone over the $200 mark and I haven't even hit up co-workers or the parents of the school. my boss at the school is fine with the idea, the teacher of the class I aide is going bald too and we're holding a "Wacky Hair Day" on the day before my shave to raise money. We'll be dying and shaving that day. I've leaked it to a few parents, the ones I told were excited and receptive and it will be in the Newsletter on Tuesday :D I also have a poster to put at my desk when it's out with a donation box :D My other boss at Harveys thinks it's a fantastic idea and is backing me 100% :D I'll see him tomorrow and try to get some money out him :D He got $20 out of me for his Luek bike ride :D |
| #67 05:39pm 27/01/05 |
epi.
Epidemik did this last year at our school. I'm the man. i'd happily go a chop for leukemia... in all seriousness though, goodluck last edited by epi. at 17:50:26 27/Jan/05 |
| #68 05:50pm 27/01/05 |
FlyingLlama
I think this is a fun thing you are doing for a good cause and hope you make lots of money!
| #69 06:05pm 27/01/05 |
Grosby
Yay! :D
We've been contacted (well, I contacted them, then they contacted me back) by Westside news to do a photo and a story in their community focus section! :D |
| #70 06:34pm 27/01/05 |
theres that self gtatification thing again.
| #71 07:50pm 27/01/05 |
Grosby
I don't see what you have against chairties spidz.
Again, out of the thread, you're not being helpful. |
| #72 07:57pm 27/01/05 |
i have nothing against charities, they are an everyday part of my life.
what i don't like is people who make a competition out of charities and go on about their donations to make themsleves feel better and make it as public as possible. While its excellent to donate to a charity i don't like the self gratification aspect of it, in that people to do it out of competitiveness or making themselves feel better rather than a genuine desire to help. contacting the local rag to seek publicity just screams 'look at me everyone, i help people with cancer'. Why not regularly write to said rag and get them to do a story on a particular cancer sufferer? and get the disease itself and the issue in the spotlight rather than yourself and your 'selfless' actions. the very fact that you're shaving bald and shiny probably won't attract more money as sponsorship, but will certainly give you weeks of 'my hair is only like this because i shaved it for cancer, aren't i wonderful? all rants aside. good luck with it, I hope you raise plenty for the cause as it's a very worthy one, and also get that extra status boost your looking for. Just don't lose site of the big picture. |
| #73 08:12pm 27/01/05 |
i seriously dont think shes doing it for self grat eh spidz
i seriously also didnt read your 600 page novel you posted there, so if you didnt actually mean that, then, die can i donate money thru netbanking? one of my long time mates dads been thru chemo, and, its just plain f***ed. |
| #74 09:03pm 27/01/05 |
Grosby
We're letting people know, and putting it in the local rag to get as many donations as possible for the cause!
We're not doing it to go "LOOK AT ME" In fact, I asked the local rag if they were running a story to let them know that it was coming around again, not to say "HEY DOODS TKAE A FOTO OF ME PLEEZ! LOOK AT ME I AMS TEH GRATEST!" So, making a competition out of it you say, and with competition comes people wanting to beat and better the other which brings MORE MONEY FOR THE ORGANISATION!!! What don't you understand about that. None of it at all is saying "LOOKIT ME! If you don't want to participate the "competition" spidz then don't, and f*** off out of my thread! And Exsistence, sorry that your friend has to go through all that, and sorry you do too. Email me - @gmail.com (think about what comes first) :P and I'll shoot you an email with details back! :) last edited by Grosby at 21:41:22 27/Jan/05 |
| #75 09:41pm 27/01/05 |
Grosby
We're all a bit excited, we're having an interview on Tuesday and will be having pics taken when we get our WGS stuff from the website's store :) Our collection has remained steady for the the last couple of days, but once as we get our kit and start hitting up family and work mates we'll be kicking up again :D Boy is now quit a bit receptive of the shave :) He's actually telling people about it :D And my mother-in-law who I thought would be the toughest cookie is really getting behind it :) She's quite proud of me :) Only 42 days left! I can't wait to feel fuzzy :P Edit: I am teh atch-tee-em-ell noob last edited by Grosby at 23:43:06 29/Jan/05 |
| #76 11:43pm 29/01/05 |
Melissa
attention whore in forums, attention whore in life |
| #77 12:13am 30/01/05 |
Grosby
Bah. I'm trying to raise as much money as possible!
Attention Whore or no, I'm doing this selflessy without that motive. |
| #78 12:14am 30/01/05 |
if donations were 100% anonymous charities would almost cease to exist.
| #79 12:57am 30/01/05 |
Grosby
The Creddy Card donations are 100% anonymous Spidz, so if you want to donate no one will know that you have a heart :)
(and yes, I am well aware that you help out a whole lot of other charities and I am thankful for that :) |
| #80 09:01am 30/01/05 |
Gregory.Cx
hush melissa ur a ugly chick with a lil penis. u have no say in life die in a hole
| #81 01:18pm 30/01/05 |
Grosby
*bumps*
I'm a bit frustrated. I still haven't received the receipt books and what-not so I can't start collecting cash donations and we're $8 from halfway *nudges the number* I found out my boss from Harveys is leaving on March 1st, so I have to clear it with the new boss BUT it IS my second job, so if he doesn't like it, don't fear I WILL DO IT ANYWAY!!! pfft, who cares if he fires me, my other job gave me a payrise today. Speaking of work, a workmate is having a bit of a hard time with my getting rid of my "beautiful hair". She doesn't have to brush it every morning, does she :/ |
| #82 08:52am 02/02/05 |
einy, please stop posting now, before we think even less of you
| #83 09:01am 02/02/05 |
real relevant info there, I was doubting what i said earlier until this *bump*
| #84 07:38pm 02/02/05 |
Grosby
Hooray! Over the halfway mark!
We've been offered a spot at Bunnings to shave our heads on the 12th... I'm half considering doing it as it'd get lots and lots of donations.. but I'm also not a good public person :I |
| #85 12:04am 03/02/05 |
| #85 |