Topic: Hl2 elation short lived
Fizzer
Well my gf bought me hl2 the other day as an early x-mas pressie. I was gonna get it over steam but can't really give someone a file for xmas :P, not to mention as i stated in the other thread a lot of the excitement of buying a game for me is getting the shiney box and the manual. Yeah well firstly i wouldn't call a box and 5 cd's in nothing less than paper sleaves anything to write home about.

But thats not all.. finally got around to installing it - started to get all excited as i got to cd 4 and sure enough i got..

"error 1305 reading from file counter-strike source"

I thought ohh goody well thats handy - so i cancelled retried - same error..

A quick google search reveals that i'm not alone and this is actually happening to a few ppl..

So no hl2 for me tonight and i have to try and make my way to eb sometime tomorrow during work - not f***en happy jan!
SD Gundam
Edit: whoa magic appering text! Needs Dragons!

last edited by SD Gundam at 23:14:57 28/Nov/04
infiNex
w
T
F
Well Done Everybody
I'm struggling to finish it. I'm in the city, it's darker than Doom 3 and it's pissing me off.
your gf isn't called fifi is she?
Fizzer
Yeah sorry about that i hit enter i think or something as i was creating the thread :P

Ohh and by cd's i meant dragons...
Make sure you install CS or it won't install the game.
this just in, i have an 11inch penis

EDIT: i see the first post now has content..wah oh
Thats a total bummer dude, hope you get it fixed soon. NFSU2 is keeping me pretty occupied atm however i just managed to delete my 2 cars and have no money, so i had to restart the career... doh!

last edited by reload! at 23:19:54 28/Nov/04
doober
Ravenholm is pretty freaky. It was kinda good (except for one bit where i got stuck but that was my fault for being a dumbass) but rather out of place i thought. Radiators make good zombie squishers in a pinch too, especially in the bits where they respawn.
Fizzer
Ohh s*** i just realised :P I mentioned the infamous g/f in the thread :P Well i meant flaming ninja :P

The sucky thing is that she i mean erm ... is a bit of a gamer herself and bought the game so she could see - well i got mine on thurs but hadn't been home to play it so it was just sitting there - went out today and she gave into temptation and bought it herself - i sat there today and watched her install it and play without a hitch which did nothing else but to make me keen to play it even more!

And yeah but mines f***ed - i got mine from eb she got hers from kmart! ^_o
applor
did you select to install CS:S? apparantly if you don't it causes such troubles.
What applor said :)
SD Gundam
I remember when games came with manuals that had cool s*** in them, like stories.
or flip book style animations of max jumping into sams mouth and sam spitting out max
Hashy
or flip book style animations of max jumping into sams mouth and sam spitting out max
Ah, the oldskool lucasarts memories
my copy worked just fine. k-mart copies ftw.

these days it's like publishers punish people who actually do buy games by making them use the cd all the time, even when it's auth'd over the internet, and bad batches of cd's. (only need the cd for retail versions obviously).
Odie
lots of hl2 threads around here.

anyway. i finished of a review of it. if anyone cares to read it you can get to it HERE or linked though my sig.

its pretty long.
it's darker than Doom 3 and it's pissing me off.

Mate , something must be wrong with your settings/monitor maybe because it isn't anywhwere near as dark ar D3? I'd say Ravensholme was probably the darkest place, but not so much as to piss me off.

p.s. Good review Odie.

last edited by Psycho! at 02:07:26 29/Nov/04
ok my review of hl2,

omg the start is awesome, the interaction chit chat and also the quards with the deus ex stun thingies omg so good, then u get back into your old suit and the game goes down hill, seriosuly hl2 is an absolute piece of s***, i cant believe i wasted my time playing this game, i would have been better off playing the original hl which i am about to do right now!
infiNex
i sorta lost interest in the single player straight away and am just playing cs.

i will get around to the single player eventually.

I'm playing through it again using only the ÜberGravgun. Pegging s*** all over the place.

One of these things would be handy for Clean-Up Australia Day.
omg scooby came round yesterday and told me to turn contrast right up and brightness down(had them both 50/100)

fukin hell it looks soooo fukin awesum now, what a huge difference, i cant believe all these years ive been missing out on so much :|
Irhabi
as some people have said you have to install CS:S otherwise it just wont install...its stupid really..

last edited by Irhabi at 13:52:28 29/Nov/04
Fizzer
as some people have said you have to install CS:S otherwise it just wont install...its stupid really..

Yeah well i did have the option to install cs checked but that was the problem - it was trying to get the gcf file or whatever from cd 4 :S.

Basically theres a problem with some of the cd 4's that are being sent out being rooted - went back to eb and got another cd 4 and just finished installing it now.
threE deE
i never had any option i dont think just where to install steam.