Topic: Nth Qld Vs Sydney City
defi
The cowboys are taken on the minor premiers on nine right now. there's already been a biff instigated by brad fittler, with ricketson throwing in a few cheapies. gunna be a good game, go watch
closethedoor
f***ing awesome game so far, its had a biff and lots of a attacking - good game ++
roosters ahead, off to get pissed at a mates house and watch :)) Then to the RE.
defi
even now, matt sing rocks my box
Grunt
it's like city vs country heh.. c`arn the cowboys!!!!!!!
got bean
Pro left hook 2 mins into the game :D
GO COWBOIS
ph34r that pass from hannay :D

Now he tries to convert to go to 16:16
defi
best pass ever
f***, they lost.

also, rofl at the "f*** OFF" by the cowboys dude :D
Gol
Cowboys should've gotten that last scrum.
/angered
Grunt
we got ripped off.. minnichello lost the ball forward and a roosters player in an offside position(being in front of him) got it.. should of been a penalty with 4 seconds to go.. not a f***ing scrum.. ref = fired
also f*** the roosters
im sick of them
go the bulldogs for the final
minnichello took out a cowboy player at the kickoff, then on the last bomb rooster were getting in the way of the cowboy players, and cowboys had the forwards together ready for the scrum therefore time must stop

that was the worst end, what a load of s***
SuSPEcT
Not happy, cowboyts should have got a penalty just before full time when minichello knocked on and his team mate was offside in front of him, woulda gave them one more shot at scoring
SuSPEcT
ah just saw that was already mentioned. I thought the cowboys went for the field goal to early it was only the third tackle i think and almost 10 minutes to go :(
sheep_pimp
Crocker copped it so it wasnt all bad.
Grunt
yeah.. that penalty to.. i mean the ref is only human he can't see everything.. but in my opinion that was so f***in blatent.. surely the touch judge would of seen it.. and i honestly think that if the ref had of seen it and blown the whistle straight away and given the spot.. that the cowboys would've dashed over.. but then it probably would've been deemed controversial and he definatly wouldn't of got the GF game..
defi
yer dissapointing
astrid
That's why they have touch judges and a video ref to catch what they ref misses surely they can't have all missed it.

Was pretty obvious to the other 30,000 pairs of eyes watching the game
good season, however Rauhihi lived up to his "big dumb kiwi prop" nametag in the last 10minutes. two stupid errors... forced a pass and obviously stripped the ball in front of the ref to give the game to the roosters.
Antisane
Argh! After the last kickoff that match was ruined by dirty roosters play and very poor refereeing. The only positive thing was seeing Crocker get his s*** f***ed up on multiple occasions.

With the momentum behind the cowboys I hope Simpkins gets roasted. Now its Roosters vs Bulldogs? Who the hell wants to watch that? Can't think of two teams I hate more.
Not happy, cowboyts should have got a penalty just before full time when minichello knocked on and his team mate was offside in front of him, woulda gave them one more shot at scoring

I loved the very loud and clear "f***" said by the cowboys player with 10 seconds to go.
tominator
Unfortunate end for the Cowboys, they really could've won that.
s*** happens I guess, look foward to see if they can do the same next season.
Boffiend
Just another prime example of the corruption in the ranks of the NRL which encourages refs to bend the rules to ensure that non-sydney teams are kept as far away form teh grand final as possible.
Pretty sure its not a penatly in that situation (in the last 10 seconds) as it wasn't a kick or anything just a knock on, by that theory if you knock on jumping for the kick you're entire team is offside, which would mean if the full back knocked on the only person who could pick it up would be the person who knocked it on (in the pretty standard sitatuation that only the full back is back far enough to field a kick moving forward.

However the game was pretty poorly reffed through out, both teams got rorted a bit though, wasn't exactly one sided at all.

A couple of times cowboys dropped it getting up to play the ball and roosters were penalised for stripping when it was simply a drop.

Also don't think Wing knocked on from the play ball in the opposition 30.
Grunt
im missing footy already.... just thinking about all the s*** cricket i have to put up with now till next year :'(
bloody NRL players are soft.. sifnt play in summer :P
Grunt
err fade2black what the f*** are you smoking.. regardless of where the players are.. if one player is in front of the other player(chris walker) when the other player knocks it on(minnichello) and he touches the football.. it is offside.. unless he was behind him before then.. which he wasn't as he was infront contesting the football..
Just another prime example of the corruption in the ranks of the NRL which encourages refs to bend the rules to ensure that non-sydney teams are kept as far away form teh grand final as possible.

that is so retarded.
SuSPEcT
Fade2Black - That is the rule, if anyones in front of them they cant touch the ball u see people just stand there awnd watch the ball cause they know if they pick it up its offside. So yer, only the person who knocks it on or someone who comes from behind them can touch the ball.

There was another incident in the first half i think wehere Hodges threw the ball infield as he was going out and it was ruled out by the cowboys even though he didnt play at the ball.
Grunt I'm pretty sure that's not the case, otherwise its the most blatantly one sided rule in the game favouring the attacking team.

I'm pretty sure its only off a kick that a penatly is given, otherwise its just a scrum feed.
SuSpect, and what about when Morley made a tackle as the player passed it, it hit Morleys hand as he came in to grab the player and the ref called played at and gave 6 more to the cowboys?
sikgem
Exactly.

that is so retarded.
You're kidding yourself if you don't think the NRL is more parochial than an American on the 4th of July... they'll try their best to ensure Sydney teams get in... just like AFL tries to ensure their GF has at least one Victorian, if not two, teams playing. When it doesn't go their way they have a big f***ing sook.
remind which two SYDNEY teams played in the final two years ago?
or the finals that have been won by Brisbane, Canberra and Melbourne in the last 15 years?

Awe hell, even Penrith isn't really a Sydney team and they won last year.
sheep_pimp
http://www.nrl.com/about/rules.cfm?page=12

Theres the offside rule. It should have been a penalty.
Manshoon
Exactly.

that is so retarded.

You're kidding yourself if you don't think the NRL is more parochial than an American on the 4th of July... they'll try their best to ensure Sydney teams get in... just like AFL tries to ensure their GF has at least one Victorian, if not two, teams playing. When it doesn't go their way they have a big f***ing sook.

Typical stupid Queenslander reaction. Grow a brain. The NRL/ARL/News Limited ISNT AGAINST YOU YOU f***TARD.

Best game of football Ive watched this weekend. Roosters were just the better team on the day.....woulda been nice to see the Cowboys win but thats how the game goes.
That's why they have touch judges and a video ref to catch what they ref misses surely they can't have all missed it.
Why don't the ONLY have video refs these days, I say! Or at the very least, a video ref that can overrule the ref on the fields decision.
Trog: I agree with that, I think a number of the things in the game deserved to go to a video ref but they didn't.

SECTION 14
OFF SIDE
When off side 1. A player is off side except when he is in his own ingoal
if the ball touches, is touched, held or kicked, by
one of his own team behind him.
Out of Play 2. An off side player shall not take any part in the game
or attempt in any way to influence the course of the
game. He shall not encroach within ten metres of an
opponent who is waiting for the ball and shall
Retire ten metres immediately retire ten metres from any opponent
who first secures possession of the ball.
Placed onside 3. An off side player is placed onside if:
(a) an opponent moves ten metres or more with the
ball.
(b) an opponent touches the ball without retaining it.
(c) one of his own team in possession of the ball
runs in front of him.
(d) one of his own team kicks or knocks the ball
forward and takes up a position in front of him in
the field of play.
(e) he retires behind the point where the ball was last
touched by one of his own team.
NOTES
Catcher claiming 1. A player who catches the ball near an off side opponent must
off side not go out of his way to make interference in play by the
offside player unavoidable. He should proceed with normal
play and rely on the Referee to penalise the off side player if
the latter interferes with play. If the catcher deliberately and
unnecessarily runs into the off side player then play should
proceed.
Accidental off side Where the Referee is satisfied that interference with play by
an off side player is accidental he should order a scrum.
Interfering with 2. Any off side player who remains within ten metres of an
Catcher opponent who is set to catch a kick up field by an opposing
player shall be deemed to be interfering with or attempting to
interfere with the catcher and shall be penalised unless the
non-offending team gains an immediate advantage.
“Out of Play” as 3. Players who are out of play at a play-the-ball (Section 11), a
opposed to “off side” scrum (Section 12), a kick off or drop-out (Section 8) a
penalty kick (Section 13) or a free kick (Section 13) are not
put “on side” in the manner described in para 3 above. (See
appropriate Sections).
“Down town” Any player who is in front of the kicker in general play is not
permitted to advance beyond the point of the previous playthe-
ball until the ball has gone past the off side players. This
rule delays the movement of the off side players downfield in
an attempt to encircle the ball receiver as he collects the ball.
ARL Rules book 2004 19/2/04 5:32 PM Page 36

from the offical rules - http://files.arlfoundation.com/laws/internationallaws.pdf

there is even a visual example for you noobs who do not understand the language.
Sheep_Pimp: Ok should have been a penatly, however that is really a stupid rule, it means that if they kick deep enough and fast enough that they can come through chasing and only the opposition fullback is in position to play at the ball, then its heavily biast towards the attacking team.
fade2black: please quit before you dig yourself a deeper hole. read the rules.. especially the part concerning the 10 metres. if you do not understand the rules then i'd recommened you dont post regarding the rules of NRL

btw: im doing a referee's course atm thro the QRL... would highly recommened, is heaps of fun. good addition to my soccer referee qualification
SuSPEcT
It's not biased the person has to catch the ball if they drop the ball the defending team can grab it and its play on. The attacking team cant come from whereever and grab the ball once its knocked on, there would be scrums more often then. You see people watch the ball on the ground all the time because they know they are offside.
Grunt
hahaah f*** your a dumb c*** f2b
bung
The video ref will be able to call penalties next season.
1. Freddy and Ricketson should have got 10mins for smacking Bowen (can't remember who wxactly cause I've had a few). Maybe Freddy's was only a penalty but Ricketsons was close to a gone for the whole game shot.

2. N'Qld player should have also gotten 10 for smacking that dude with his elbow.

The ref made a few mistakes but I really hate how they pussy foot around cheap shots in the finals series. If my dazed memory serves me correct didn't the Panthers have a sin bin last night? Now Freddy is on report, seems nex week is his last game ever they will do nothing, how unconsistent wuill that be!

Apart from that I think the ref's did a reasonable job.
SuSPEcT
If Ricketson doesnt miss the final because of suspension then theres something wrong. He also put another high shot on that was only penalised yet the referee put a shot by hodges on report just before that, which was soft in comparison.
fade I think you're confused.

if the attacking team kicks it, any defender can play the ball no matter where they are, they just canm'ty play it after a teammate has played it if they are in fron of said teammate. Its a pretty f***ing simple rule, and is common to both forms of Rugby.

that said, cowboys should never have gone for the fieldgoal, they had played attacking rugby all day and were right on top of the roosters until that field goal attempt. I reckon they would have gone over for a try and it would have been game over. However, they should have at least paid the penalty or even the scrum at the end, but it was a clear penalty and the rules state you can't finish a game on a penalty.

Best part was the ref saying to Norton 'get out of my face or you're gone' and Nortons reply "Gone from what you f***ing idiot, you just blew time"
someone needs to knock crag fitzgibbon out, when he pins people on the ground, he puts his forarm over their throat

minichello needs to stop taking people out of play without the ball
SuSPEcT
I agree with the not going for the field goal when they did. The roosters got the ball 20M out and took it down the other end . Even if they didnt score they coulda tried to get a drop out or gone for the field goal on the last, that really pissed me off.
Grunt I acknowledged being wrong about the rule you moron, same to you "fade" but I figure u were already posting when I posted it...

but actually think it through spidz/grunt, in the situation where a full back knocks it on from an opposition bomb, in such a situation as that, its either opposition gets the ball or a penatly. Sure the fullback *should* have caught it but its unlike pretty much any other knock on situation in league and is pretty rough on the defending team.

Gumby: The player Freddy pushed in the face was as a reaction to that player pushing freddy in the face, it was shown clear as day in the replay, freddy had no part in the tackle at that point so the defending player shouldn't have done anything in the first place, IMO both of them did something extremely similar as such both should be on report or neither, ricketson certainly deserves to be, so does the bloke that owned Crocker.

I'll cop the abuse from you guys though, most of you are just cut at the cowboys losing, however I think its sad that you're cheapening how far they got to by saying s*** like referring bias, cost them the game etc, if that was the case how come they smacked the doggies down 2 weeks ago?
Grunt
someone needs to knock crag fitzgibbon out, when he pins people on the ground, he puts his forarm over their throat

minichello needs to stop taking people out of play without the ball

also.. something you forgot.. unrelated to todays game.. but harmicheal kunt needs to get a bigger f***ing jersey.. he's showing his midrift and putting kelly off

Grunt
i knwo what your saying about it being a bit rough on the defending team, but it's just basic onside/offside rules.. especially when they're on there own line it's not hard for the defending team to go back and touch the line or even just stand behind the guy whos attacking it.. otherwise waiting for the attacker on the other side to grab it and then tackling him would also suffice, considering it being the last..
SuSPEcT
I dont think u understand this knock on thing, from a normal kick, in most cases if the fullback knocks on hell just pick it up and it will be a scrum beacuse the defence wont be right on him. Sure if its a bomb then if he drops it the other team will in a lot of cases get it, if not its also a scrum thats about all that happens in those situations no big deal?

And that thing with Fittler wow he didnt even get hit in the face it was just a touch and he was winging to the ref what about the punch or whatever when he was barely touched. Plus that sorta s*** happens all the time the dummy half pushing defenders off sometimes they do get penalised though
otherwise waiting for the attacker on the other side to grab it and then tackling him would also suffice, considering it being the last..

don't make me call you a moron now ;p but think about what you just said "its the last" we're talking about an opposition knock on here buddy... 6 again's the call.
read my post again S L O W L Y suspect.....

most cases fullback only one back far enough to get the bomb, in the case we're all talking about its from about the 35~40m mark(especially if its on the 4th) hence only one back far enough is the fullback, he knocks it on, either opposition gets it or its a penalty, not saying the ruling was wrong (after sheep corrected me with the ruling) just saying that its a highly advantageous rule to the attacking team, possibly reconsider the rule but put in a requirement that it must be kicked from outside the 40 or something (like a 40-20 ruling).
Oh and to anyone who's posted so far FOR SHAME, the only truely positive thing I've seen from anyone is 'fades'

good season

Cowboys have come from no where to get this far, good on them and I hope they go one step further and make it to the final next season.

Anyways Freddy to not get suspended and get his fairy tale fair well next week (assuming roosters can match the doggies forwards next week which is questionable and the roosters drop heggarty who spends more time crabbing than anything else. Well atleast leave him off till the 2nd half when he might do something useful outta dummy half).

AvengeR
actually i don't think freddy really did much so he'll be safe, ricketson connected with his arm rather than fist, i'm sure he'll get off on some 'good record, not enough points' crap like finch did.

bloody good game, i hope cowboys follow through with another good season.
but actually think it through spidz/grunt, in the situation where a full back knocks it on from an opposition bomb, in such a situation as that, its either opposition gets the ball or a penatly.
or the guy who knocked on just dives on it, which happens a majority of the time.

The rule is fine, just don't drop the ball. doesn't matter if its a kick or a knock on in general play, or not even a knock on but a kick - If you were in front of the last player on your team to touch the ball when he touched it and you touch it next, you're offside.

generally bad refereeing doesn't decide a game, but such a bad call with 5 seconds to go on the clock with the game in the balance means we will never know. They may not have crashed over if the penalty was awarded, or at the very least they packed the scrum, but they should have been afforded the opportunity.
funky
spidz it wasn't norton that swore at him, norton was off the field at the end ...watching injured from the dressing room...i believe it was Myles....good call however
Gumby: The player Freddy pushed in the face was as a reaction to that player pushing freddy in the face, it was shown clear as day in the replay, freddy had no part in the tackle at that point so the defending player shouldn't have done anything in the first place, IMO both of them did something extremely similar as such both should be on report or neither, ricketson certainly deserves to be, so does the bloke that owned Crocker.
Dude Ricketson's hit was cheap and if it was during the season he would have been gone, foe 10 if not the game, end of story. Freddy punches someone in the face for giving them a shove, just goes to show what a f***en tool he was and will always be, the sooner he leaves he game the better it will be without him.

I'm just a crying Cowboy fan, true, but thr Rooters have always been a dirty team, after all they are coached by one the games most notoriously dirty players.

Read my post, I said the N'Qld guy should have also gotten 10, its not one sided its just a plain simple fact that the tactics used by the Rooster, and especially their captain should have been more servere, but its Freddy's swan song and you can't have that.

Moan and complain all you want, someone should have gone for 10 minutes.
how can you say the guy that nailed crocker should have got 10?

we didn't even see what happened, and there was no vision of it. The only thing you could see was crocker's legs turn towards him and then out of shot.

I'm guessing crccker gave him some lip and a shove and o'donnel owned him with a short right, but we didn't see it so we can't really say he should have got 10.
by the way. penatly or not he blew it before fulltime and orderd a scrum. Technically they should have the scrum even if it is past the 80 minutes. so yea thats wat they were blowing up about if u any of u didnt relise to stupid bastards :P
f*** the roosters!

I want N QLD to win :/

was a good game, good to see crocker get smashed!
I'm guessing crccker gave him some lip and a shove and o'donnel owned him with a short right, but we didn't see it so we can't really say he should have got 10.
The touch judge report was he smacked him with his elbow and took him out of the play. An elbow to the head? Come on, see you after 10, wspecially since the ball was 20m away.
Dude Ricketson's hit was cheap and if it was during the season he would have been gone, foe 10 if not the game, end of story. Freddy punches someone in the face for giving them a shove, just goes to show what a f***en tool he was and will always be,

first of all why are you arguing to me about Ricketson? I agree'd hell you quoted me saying he deserves to go to the judiciary. But I don't think we watched the same game, Fittler wasn't involved in the play and got an open hand to the face from an opposition player, then that player copped one back from Fittler.

I dunno where you get off calling Fittler a dirty player though, I don't think he is a dirtly player or every was really.
closethedoor
Also even if it wasnt a penalty in the last few seconds, I swear the cowboys had there scrum set and ready to go, which in the rules its states that the ref has to blow time off if the attacking team is set ... which he didnt - gg.
Very exciting game, sad ending./
The Cows only had 5 in the scrum, the 6th arrived too late.
first of all why are you arguing to me about Ricketson? I agree'd hell you quoted me saying he deserves to go to the judiciary. But I don't think we watched the same game, Fittler wasn't involved in the play and got an open hand to the face from an opposition player, then that player copped one back from Fittler.
The point is Ricketson should have been sent from the field, but Stewart would have told his guys to intimidate (smack em up a bit) in the first 10 to unsettle em as that was one of his tactics.

Freddy the whinger all ways claims he's the one hard done buy, but its usually him instigating the incident. And the slap in the face look more like a push/palm off as he was trying to get up and play the ball, 90% of the player do it. Like I said in my original post, I think a penalty for Freddies indescreation was called for, Ricketson should have got 10.
thanks for repeating what i just said closethedoor
Gumby the guy that slapped fittler in the face was the dummy half not the guy getting up to play the ball, secondly fittler wasn't involved in the tackle at the time.
he didnt slap him he just pushed him, besides fitler is just a f***ing drama queen...
Hey I was pretty close to running on a full tank of bourbon at the time, my comprehension skills where some what blurred. But like I stated all along the Ricketson cheap shot is the one that pissed me off, Freddy just pisses me off.

Don't care anymore, N'Qld lost, Rooters played well, I just hate how the rules become more lax during finals, whats the point.
i reckon. put it this way... even in under 18's at the moment ricketson would be sent, O'Donnel would most likely be sent, fitler would definetly have got 10 minutes for his involement in the melee.
on that note gumby/fade, did Lynch or Brown or ANYONE get reported for the AFL grand final? Pretty sure there was plenty in that that could have been report worthy.
Considering it was the NRL that made all the fuss and headlines about cracking down on "the biff" and how refs where instructed to enforce the letter of the law in those situation, I don't see how that comparison is valid.
funky
they won't bother with lynch fade, he just retired....brown however will most likely be missing the start of next season....again.
brown and lynch were both reported.

lynch will get a big fine, thats usually what happens to retiring players.
oh ok spidz, just didn't hear them saying anything on the telecast, was it at half time? people I was watching with and I all bailed for some half time KFC.....
nah, video evidence.

only reports actually during the game were a few wrestling charges and Simon Black for striking.
funky
just a question, how can they force lynch to pay the fine? seeing as he isn't a part of an afl team anymore? will they ban him from future coaching jobs or something?
Manshoon
Just cos he isnt playing for the Lions doesnt mean he wont play AFL anymore.

Hell when players RETIRE from Cricket they still play in local comps....the AFL can invoke bans on that.
funky
i highly doubt he will though, his body is pretty much f***ed
Manshoon
Yeah but club footy isnt as hardcore as the top level. Anything is possible.
the tribunal is arecognised court of law - he HAS to pay the fine.

and I guarantee he won't go playing some mickey mouse comp now he has retired.

good article in the paper yesterday about the lions by mike colman. at least he has BOTH eyes open ;)
ricketson better get at least a week for striking, otherwise it's bulls***.
good article in the paper yesterday about the lions by mike colman.
You and your 'the paper'.
Mike Colman writes for the local rag - The Courier-Mail.

closethedoor
Luke Ricketson is out for 3 matches - no grand final for him. He didnt get the charge downgraded.
Suck it! (Go the dogs).
Good, glad to see they aren't biased f***s...

If Flannery is out, and Price plays...it'd be hard to go past the bulldogs to win
I'm a roosters/panthers supporter, have been since the panthers were the chocolate soldiers in the brown and white strips and the days of Geyer, Cartwright, the Alexanders, carter, fittler and simmons. Followed the roosters since Fittler made the switch.

However even I can't see the roosters matching it against the Doggies unless Morley and Fitzgibbom absolutely fire and Fittler/Cross/Finch/Wing wreak some serious havoc around the rucks....

The doggies forwards are just to big and to good at getting to the advantage line, and damn if Mason's play the ball aint fast.