Topic: Would you ever run an adult website?
Yeh ... I'm bored again.

Well would you?

I think I'd be tempted for the bling$. I'd justify it but saying to myself ... I dont make the images/vids I'm only hosting them.

this is getting Kat like

and yes, if it was legal (ie hosted in the netherlands or something).
^ Jesus I'm turning into Kat!

Arrrrrrghghhg gaaawd noooooooooooooo!
yes
lots of people got loaded from it (that dude with the big house at kangaroo pt)

even lower level peeps can make cash monies

some dudes at wifeys work run a site, and its not big or anything, but they make decent cash from it (by stealing media from elsewhere)
i'd do it...
benneth
the question is not: would I, but rather can I.
Lusty
Can you make good money off just pics, or does everyone just want moofies these days?

I have a f***load of both, and I could probably upload it to some offshore server in dominica and charge f***ers to access it. I got some good s***! :D

Pics without watermarks would be easy to do. But trying to hock off bangbus or other well known brand movies would be asking for trouble :P
The real money has gone from adult sites .. you've missed the bandwagon.

Don't get me wrong, there's still money to be made, just not the fortunes that once were ... Even the big dudes are making lots less money and have scaled down operations.

Spam is no longer a reliable source of visitors ( and can very quickly get you shut off ) so most traffic you have to pay for (generally on a per-hit basis, not a per-signup).

Search Engine traffic is hard to get (unless you cater to a VERY niche market that you can get good unique keywords out of) but even then it can take months to get listed on google etc.

Users average around 2.5 months membership on a pornsite, so you have to be constantly getting new members (some ezine style sites have much better retention) to make up for the ones leaving.

Most credit-card processing facilities either charge you a s***load per transaction or make you put up a large bond against charge-backs etc as soon as you mention the word adult ( even dating sites ).

If you do make money from adult sites, use that money immediately to invest in *other* areas and then use the money generated from that for spending. Don't piss it up against a wall.

There's plenty more I could say here, but that's the basics as I see them ....

I'll finish it off by saying ... If you want to break into the industry now ... you better have a damn good idea, a damn good site, and it has to be completely different from every other site on the 'net. find a Niche and exploit it.

Oh, and don't f*** any porn guys over ... coz they'll f*** you back 100x worse.
Jerry
is khel porn unique?
I wish I had the knowledge to make porn sites about 7 years ago. Would be f***ing loaded now.
Top Dog
I would do it in sweden or wherever, all my gear is copyrighted for sure.
Rev is correct .... late 90's is where it was at!

but chances are you would have pissed it all up against a wall and now be struggling to maintain your extravagant lifestyle like the rest of them.
Cisco17
Here is one of the guys that made a s*** load -

http://www.lukeford.com/stars/male/dean_shannon.htm

Topic: Would you ever run an adult website?
My brother runs a number of porn sites and does a lot of work for other porn webmasters. He's forkinging in 3 times what I make a week. Most of his work is in the US though so it means staying up all night and sleeping all day :]
Ecstasy
AFAIK it's illegal to host any sort of adult, (Read: Sexual content) on a server in Australia.

I'm not saying this is true. It might be, but I've only heard that from someone who has their own web hosting business and CBF looking for evidence.

It's the Internet. Host it where ever the hell you feel like :]
epi.
If there was money to be made I would.
I believe Dean is now predominately doing non-adult stuff via DarkBlueSea.

here's some good reading on aussie porn guys:

google://"australian porn mafia"
sikgem
I don't think it is illegal to host porn in Australia and I think the laws only apply to hardcore porn.

Pornography has a *lot* of parallels with drug dealing... think about it guys - you're making money from porn addicts and people with deviant tendencies... While its not without problems, porn which involves mature, consenting adults is much better than the "barely legal" stuff - it is sad as it really screws those poor girls over for life. How would YOU like to take 4 cocks up your arse at the same time after being tricked into doing it? Didn't think so.

last edited by sikgem at 17:48:55 29/Jul/04
Nope, you're wrong hunter.

Webcontent hosted in australia needs to be consistant with the Ratings given to Film&Television.

Of course it takes a complaint followed by an investigation for the offending content to be asked to be removed.

I believe even anything rated @ R 18+ cannot be hosted in Australia, because children read the internet too!
sikgem
Whatever the case may be, porn still exploits all involved - those who "do" porn and the suckers who become addicted to it. I mean, a woman who stars in porn will do all sorts of wierd things and at the end of it, her undercarriage will vaguely resemble an elephants arse. How do you think that'll look at say age 80??
http://www.wedge.net/photo/Chicago/23-consipracy.jpg

last edited by jmr at 18:34:34 29/Jul/04
http://heardy.com/new/foil_hat.jpg

last edited by jmr at 18:35:45 29/Jul/04
How do you think that'll look at say age 80??

I'm gonna go out on a limb here but the people who *do porn* generally don't look see themselves growing to the age of 80. An besides that, who cares what an 80 year olds genitalia looks like cause I don't wanna see it.
sikgem
The point I'm making is that the women involved in porn, if they don't cark it from a drug OD and actually live past 40 will be permanently scarred and suffer all sorts of negative health effects - all so some guy could have a wank over some porn she made years earlier. Does that not seem a bit trivial and sad to you?
möoby
Pornography has a *lot* of parallels with drug dealing... think about it guys - you're making money from porn addicts and people with deviant tendencies... While its not without problems, porn which involves mature, consenting adults is much better than the "barely legal" stuff - it is sad as it really screws those poor girls over for life. How would YOU like to take 4 cocks up your arse at the same time after being tricked into doing it? Didn't think so.

What? Paralles with drug dealing? What does profiting of fliming people having sex have anything to do with selling dangerous chemicals?

I dont know anyone whos died, or even come close to dieing from having a pull while watching a dvd. Pretty safe fun if you ask me.
The point I'm making is that the women involved in porn, if they don't cark it from a drug OD and actually live past 40 will be permanently scarred and suffer all sorts of negative health effects - all so some guy could have a wank over some porn she made years earlier. Does that not seem a bit trivial and sad to you?

not if i get to see them naked
sikgem
m00by, its the whole sleazy, seedy smutty surrounds of porn. The fact is that you are exploiting men and women, who usually have a desperate need for cash (drug addicts, etc) just so somebody can get their rocks off. What it comes down to is somebody is willing to sacrifice their own body and dignity to produce a product which is then sold to other people who have problems with pornography addiction and bizarre fanatasies - just so these people can wank off to it.

You may say "oh but its their decision", which it is but taking advantage of that is morally wrong. Probably on the same level as taking advantage of a drunk horny chick. Yeah she may *want* a root but you should not take advantage of her in that state. In other words, just because an opportunity presents itself, doesn't mean you necessarily should take it.

But hey if you want to go ahead and profit from the misfortunes and despair of others, go right ahead, you'll eventually have to answer your conscience.

last edited by sikgem at 23:12:41 29/Jul/04
möoby
my conscience is clear. like you said, its their choice.

what you are saying is hearsay. maybe some do it for the money? maybe some like it?

making a porno is an expression of freedom of speach. who are you to judge the ethics of it?

ban porn then whats next? clevage? people need to be more accountable for their own actions.
sikgem
Hearsay? I don't think so. There's more than enough documentaries around on the topic with horror stories of 18 and 19 year old girls (I call them girls because really thats what they still are at that age) turning up for what they thought would be a simple man-f***s-woman porno shoot only to find out that the shoot actually involves 5 or 6 men and unprepared anal sex. Yeah loads of fun that'd be, you know having every orifice on your body being violated by men you only met 5 minutes ago.

I'm not saying ban porn, there's a place for the minority of porn producers who create porn without exploiting people, but pornography as it exists now can get real nasty all for the sake of a cheap VHS or DVD sex romp which probably sells for as little as $20.
adult sites.... boobs hey....
Irhabi
in answer to the topic question...yes, yes i would if the money was there
möoby
... and ive seen docos on porn stars who love it. as ive said before, to each their own.
Crudler
best gif evar
oh there's more... and better... but nipples. :/
Top Dog
was thingy on 60minutes a few months ago.
Yeah I saw that 60 minutes thing with that bella donna girl. Was pretty awful.

I still hit up kazaa immediately after the story had finished though.
So what was the horrific thing in the 60 minutes story?
not all porn is like that Hunter.

A lot of girls do the amateur stuff (mostly posed photos, sometimes more than one girl, but usually no penetration beyond toys) as a way to get by, or to earn some quick money to pay for uni etc etc.

Some porn (maybe even the majority) is exploitive ... but certainly not all of it.
^^ the bella donna story was disturbing for 2 reasons.

1. This chick copped it hard. Full on gangbangs. She also described what she had to go thru physically to do an anal scene. (pretty degrading and disgusting). * not nice at tea time *

2. The fact that she was actually a bit slow/retarded... well I reckon she was anyway. Porno directors took full advantage of her lack of intelligence and used her like a piece of meat.

last edited by sLaps_Forehead at 15:16:13 30/Jul/04
Fizzer
Yes i would and as a matter of fact i do. I recently started working for a company that creates quite a few websites and yes some of them happen to be of the adult variety.

And as to the previous posts regarding hosting in australia issues - it is true australian legislation prohibits the hosting of i think its X-rated content. But as someone else said its the internet - you can always find a country that does.

All hosting is in america - but the US is also cracking down on adult sites and are proposing an ammendment to the privacy act. If this happens it will make life a hell of a lot harder for the webmasters of adult sites.

To that effect we have pretty much stopped all development of these sites to concentrate our efforts on our more "legit" projects because as someone said before - there really isn't that much money in it, well they're making it a lot harder to make money from it anyways.

And porn doesn't equal degrading women. It is possible to run these sites without turning your content providers (read porn stars) into worthless beings. Most of the stuff that is hosted are provided by freelance photographers etc of paid models and the like that have realised that they can make quite a bit of money for getting their kit off.

On the other side you have the amatuer stuff where ppl pay for membership and can upload pictures/photos of themselves/girlfriends and view other members postings. Yes ppl actually pay for this cause surprisingly enough there a lot of ppl get a kick out of being "famous" and the fact that them and their partner are on the net.

Ne ways me 2 cents worth.
Oh, if they tell you that performing in gay porn is a foothold into the mainstream porn industry, they're really just using you.

That's one I had to learn the hard way!

How would YOU like to take 4 cocks up your arse at the same time after being tricked into doing it? Didn't think so.
I wouldn't want 4 cocks up my arse so I wouldn't do it. They're not being raped, they're being paid to do it and do it of their own free will. How do you trick someone into taking 4 cocks up their arse? Tell them they will be a movie star in a few years if they do or they will end up rich? In the end it is all consenting adults involved in the material and any decisions they make, detrimental or beneficial, is up to them.

But you are right, pornography exists to feed the demand and in my opinion just like the media exists to feed the demand of perverts who can't stay out of someone elses lives. Some people blame the paparatizi for Princes Diane's death, I blame the readers. The media wouldn't be there in the first place if people didn't give a s*** and weren't willing to pay for it, and the same goes for pornography.
The dude at Kangaroo Pt doesn't own the sites, from memory he made all his money setting up a service so the girls n guys could run their own websites and he got a cut of the action for providing all the infrastructure. Of cousre they had to front up with some cash and pay him monthly hosting charges before they even got started, bit like a photograher charging for a folio when hes gunna make you the next big super model.

Then he branched out into syndicating content, again people would pay for the whole package hosting and content.

But yeah he made an insane amount of money.
(that dude with the big house at kangaroo pt)

he also has a phat block of land next to the Kangaroo Pt Cliffs...
they guy on kangaroo point is the razorfish guy yeah?
I think you Guys are talking about Greg Lazarado who I believe sold that block of land at kanga point well over a year ago.

I saw his black diablo "INSANE" around the corner from work the other day *drools*
sikgem
Twisted, the point is not that they weren't initially forced to do anything - what I am saying is some of them turn up thinking they'll just lie on the bed, open their legs and have ordinary garden variety sex. Then out come 6 or 7 guys with jars of vaseline and sex toys... you get the picture. The other thing is that people of that age, while legally adults, are often still immature and incapable of making the sorts of decisions they'll regret later on.

For example, in the US, the legal drinking age in many places (if not all, I think) is 21... yet they can go and perform sex acts in front of a camera when they're 18.
Twisted, the point is not that they weren't initially forced to do anything - what I am saying is some of them turn up thinking they'll just lie on the bed, open their legs and have ordinary garden variety sex. Then out come 6 or 7 guys with jars of vaseline and sex toys... you get the picture.
Yay, we know this may happen. The point he is making and you won't get is that they can walk out at anytime, so in the end, no matter what happens, it's their decision so who gives a f***?
sikgem
Walk out? Ok fpot, presuming for a moment your male organs no longer existed and you were a slightly built girl of 18 years... in a room full of 6 ft tall, muscular, tattoo covered sweaty male porno actors... and there's a fat sweaty pig of a director with greasy hair swearing at you to get on with it... you're going to leave now? Suuuure. And the batmobile is real too.
Then it would be rape, and the police would arrest them for it.

Or are the cops in on it too?
sikgem
It wouldn't technically be rape because the woman still "agreed" to do it - she would have felt that if she left now they would be quite pissed off and aggressive. So in order to avoid further confrontation she consents to the act of sex. As lame as that sounds, I think it probably wouldn't be considered rape...

Besides, what do you think is going to happen if she rocks up to the cop shop to report it? What about in court? What do you think the defense will make of it? They'll probably say she regretted doing it and is simply making the accusation out of spite... you gotta think ahead.
It wouldn't technically be rape because the woman still "agreed" to do it - she would have felt that if she left now they would be quite pissed off and aggressive. So in order to avoid further confrontation she consents to the act of sex. As lame as that sounds, I think it probably wouldn't be considered rape...

Besides, what do you think is going to happen if she rocks up to the cop shop to report it? What about in court? What do you think the defense will make of it? They'll probably say she regretted doing it and is simply making the accusation out of spite... you gotta think ahead.
You seem to have a completely different view to how this would pan out to me.

1. chick shows up thinking it is just a normal 1 on 1 type deal.
2. suddenly out of the shadows approach 5 tattoed men, all brandishing 12" hard cocks ready to f*** her up for life.

at this point she has a choice. She can either.

a) f*** them willingly
b) f*** them willingly but reluctantly
c) refuse to have sex with them

If she picks a or b, then she has made the decision to f*** them, and that is the end of the story. If she chooses c and walks out, she may be ridiculed, she may never have a chance to be in a porn flick again, but she keeps her innocence or whatever. If they still f*** her, it's rape and there will be video evidence and everything for the courts to view.

So, what it boils down to, is she makes the decision to have sex with them, or she doesn't.

last edited by fpot at 21:32:10 30/Jul/04
sikgem
Regardless of what it is or what is isn't, a girl of that age would no doubt have no idea what they're really doing. People need protecting from themselves sometimes...
I was 18/19 not that long ago, and I know I would never be stupid enough to get myself in a position that compromising. The people who need 'protecting from themselves' at an age where most people know how to stay out of real trouble are commonly regarded as idiots, and idiots deserve whatever it is coming from them, be it death, or 5 african cocks.

last edited by fpot at 22:09:15 30/Jul/04

hunter back to his old ways
dRanged
hell yeah
Hashy
You guys must watch some pretty f***ed up porn.
Deadly-Fly
Asif you'd watch porn you dirty monkeys.

s*** that took me ages to write with only one hand :P
Lusty
Porn doesnt Pay for Brisbane mogul

He must have had a good life for a few years there. Now its ATO payback time.
horror stories of 18 and 19 year old girls (I call them girls because really thats what they still are at that age) turning up for what they thought would be a simple man-f***s-woman porno shoot only to find out that the shoot actually involves 5 or 6 men and unprepared anal sex.

I found that fairly hilarious.
If i had the brains for it then i would, old school mate has made quite a few $$$ from porn site. He is 21/22 and has a nice GTO.