shrapse
Come play some. I'm in Unranked Game --> Drift --> Australia
Oh btw, EA doesn't have a CD key validation anymore, so if you've 'lost' your cdkey, don't worry! |
| #0 06:46pm 25/06/04 |
They never did.
| #1 06:50pm 25/06/04 |
shrapse
My bad, come and play ineffable.
| #2 06:54pm 25/06/04 |
i did but no one was there
| #3 07:01pm 25/06/04 |
shrapse
we were probably playing, i'm back in Unranked Game --> Drift --> Australia
| #4 07:03pm 25/06/04 |
boXa
can anybody please help me get the files i need to play this online?
| #5 07:15pm 25/06/04 |
shrapse
Anthony, I mean boXa, you don't really need anything extra, just make sure you're running version 1.4.
| #6 07:26pm 25/06/04 |
Gavmo
Gotta get a computer with windows :(
| #7 07:46pm 25/06/04 |
you borked the qgl forums
| #8 07:49pm 25/06/04 |
| #9 07:50pm 25/06/04 |
Doing australia proud.
| #10 07:51pm 25/06/04 |
Eye
Im waitin!
| #11 07:53pm 25/06/04 |
shrapse
That's clearly a differnet font shad :p
| #12 08:03pm 25/06/04 |
boXa
thanks shrapse, howcome u called me anthony. anyways how do i know which version i am running
| #13 08:34pm 25/06/04 |
Eye
I'm guessing Anthony Mundene? boxa being what he wears from memory.
| #14 08:36pm 25/06/04 |
boXa
haha yeah
| #15 08:37pm 25/06/04 |
shrapse
It tells you what version you're running at one of the first loading screens. I think. :>
| #16 08:39pm 25/06/04 |
sikgem
NFSU is incredibly s***. The soundtrack alone invokes feeling of intense rage. f***ing ricers.
| #17 08:40pm 25/06/04 |
Dude, everything makes you rage.
| #18 08:46pm 25/06/04 |
sikgem
Well, come on, you can hit walls at 200+ km/h in that game, bounce off and keep playing... I'm all for fun gaming but jesus there's a limit and when it passes that limit into complete and utter stupidity, then that's where the line is drawn...
Oh yeah and the AI is cheaty. Like Mario Kart AI. last edited by sikgem at 20:51:28 25/Jun/04 |
| #19 08:51pm 25/06/04 |
shrapse
hunters too slow for fast paced games.
last edited by shrapse at 20:59:42 25/Jun/04 last edited by shrapse at 21:00:14 25/Jun/04 |
| #20 09:00pm 25/06/04 |
sikgem
Uh no... I played that game and found it incredibly easy/lame. The AI was still dodgy too.
Don't want to toot my own horn but I can assure you I could most easily outdrive a lot of you on a track, excluding those who race as a hobby, that would be a challenge ;). |
| #21 09:01pm 25/06/04 |
boXa
sikgem u really suck balls dont you, i could whoop ur ass in any type of driving. name a place to race and im there
| #22 09:03pm 25/06/04 |
sikgem
When my car is on the road again, sure thing buddy, prepare to lose.
| #23 09:05pm 25/06/04 |
Dude you may as well just change your name back to Hunter now with posts like that under your belt.
| #24 09:07pm 25/06/04 |
sikgem
I think its still banned. *shrug* No point really, what's in a name anyway?
| #25 09:08pm 25/06/04 |
Insolence
Don't want to toot my own horn but I can assure you I could most easily outdrive a lot of you on a track, excluding those who race as a hobby, that would be a challenge ;). Don't want to toot your own horn, but you will anyway? I'm sure your clapped out 'sick gem' and massive amounts of driving experience (18 months or so isn't it? and yes i know you've drive a lot of kms in that time, but its still a very short period) would outdrive us all on the track. Most people have an overestimated idea of their driving ability but have you ever actually put it to the test on the track? I like to think im a decent driver but ive only recently started driving a relatively fast car and have only been out to the track once, hence wouldnt want to go making outlandish claims. |
| #26 09:44pm 25/06/04 |
sikgem
I am more than willing to put my money where my mouth is dude... I drive hundreds and hundreds of k's a week for my job in all sorts of conditions as well as recreational driving...
| #27 09:49pm 25/06/04 |
The Skyline would win.
| #28 09:58pm 25/06/04 |
I am more than willing to put my money where my mouth is dude... I drive hundreds and hundreds of k's a week for my job in all sorts of conditions as well as recreational driving...You're on hunter.. Torana vs. Gemini. Make it more interesting, I'll even race you at the track for a wager. last edited by Loki at 22:23:54 25/Jun/04 |
| #29 10:23pm 25/06/04 |
sikgem
Haha torana... jesus talk about unfair man :). You've got twice the cylinders I have first off. Gimme a chance to get the supercharger in first :).
EDIT: And yes, I can/do. Not that I do such things on public roads ;). last edited by sikgem at 22:05:47 25/Jun/04 |
| #30 10:05pm 25/06/04 |
Why can't you do it on public roads? Nothing stopping you.
I get the feeling you dont really understand the point of heel-toeing [| declutching] on a downshift... I spose you think you should declutch up gears? :) |
| #31 10:08pm 25/06/04 |
Compression lockups.
| #32 10:10pm 25/06/04 |
sikgem
You can get all the feelings you want, doesn't mean anything... when I say "I don't do such things on public roads", the ;) should tell you something ;).
If I had a digital video camera I'd stick it to my dash and take it for a run around some of the places I go driving. Mmmmm corners... |
| #33 10:11pm 25/06/04 |
The point is to avoid lockups if that's what you mean, rev match the fly to the drive wheels so the brakes are doing the work (i.e. more control over the braking and smoother) rather than the engine retarding your speed..
Last thing you want is braking hard/downshifting for the power-out and locking the rears up. last edited by Loki at 22:29:22 25/Jun/04 |
| #34 10:29pm 25/06/04 |
Driving a lot doesnt give you racing experience. I drive 80km a day but driving in a mostly straight line at well within the limits of the car doesnt count for much.
| #35 10:15pm 25/06/04 |
sikgem
I don't go to industrial areas... cops hang around those :). I prefer rural areas, which for me isn't far from my house. Nice quiet rural roads, nobody around, nobody to care except me with the windows down and the engine revving to redline in each gear. Got 2 new sets of burnout tyres the other day ;).
Shad, it doesn't, no, because racing is a different thing. I drive ~32 km each way to and from work, then I drive a couple hundred each day for work (going to various sites etc). A lot of the driving I do is in mild to heavy traffic with some highway driving thrown in. Although a fair bit of that is done in s***ty automatic company cars. After work is a different matter. On the way home I usually take the 'scenic route, give my car a bit of stick and have some fun to unwind. last edited by sikgem at 22:17:41 25/Jun/04 last edited by sikgem at 22:18:28 25/Jun/04 |
| #36 10:18pm 25/06/04 |
Doing burnouts and tearing it up in a straight line doesn't mean anything, I could teach a monkey to do that.
| #37 10:19pm 25/06/04 |
sikgem
WTF does that have anything to do with mate? Yes, I have tyres which on occasion I like to destroy but otherwise its all corners. My car doesn't have the balls to compete on straights, corners are where it excels...
| #38 10:25pm 25/06/04 |
Ques the "my epenis is bigger than yours" pic.
| #39 10:26pm 25/06/04 |
He's right driving lots makes you a really good driver, just look at all the taxi and bus drivers.
| #40 10:32pm 25/06/04 |
sikgem
Actually some of them are better drivers than you or I will ever be... but some develop very bad habits too...
| #41 10:34pm 25/06/04 |
riot'us
This thread is the gayest thing I've ever seen, and I've been to mardi-gras.
| #42 11:14pm 25/06/04 |
shrapse
Well it was supposed to be about a game. You know, being a gaming forum and all..
| #43 12:04am 26/06/04 |
riot'us
Yeah i know, i just mean how it ended up.
| #44 12:17am 26/06/04 |
Gregory
doesn't have the balls to compete on straights, corners are where it excels... dude its a f***in gemini. they handle lke s*** ok s*** suspension s*** brakes s*** steering |
| #45 12:27am 26/06/04 |
Geminis aren't the best handling cars ever, but theres certainly a lot worse. For an early 80s car they aren't too bad. The problem is that 80% of them have had the springs chopped, which throws out the entire back end unless its been modified as well. Stock they probably compare pretty well with the Dattos and probably dominate the Hondas of the time.
| #46 09:54am 26/06/04 |
f***ing morons .. don't race on public roads
| #47 10:00am 26/06/04 |
I only do burnouts on Obes front lawn.
| #48 10:03am 26/06/04 |
nF, thats cool. Its not a public road.
| #49 10:08am 26/06/04 |
I do burnouts in obes parking space then leave my car there so he has to walk for ages to find another spot.
| #50 11:04am 26/06/04 |
Ditch
i wish i was 80GUN like u cool guys
| #51 11:42am 26/06/04 |
f***ing morons .. don't race on public roads Make it more interesting, I'll even race you at the track for a wager.Though i'm uncertain where you could do this, I wouldn't do it on a public road, I've wanted to go hit the track for awhile so *shrugs*... Read, Comprehend, Post... |
| #52 04:39pm 26/06/04 |
sikgem
Gregory, obviously you've only ever driven older ones not fitted with RTS and run factory shocks with poor quality tyres???
An RTS fitted Gemini in good condition with the correct shocks and good tyres fitted will outhandle most road going cars. If you don't believe this then I'm willing to prove this someplace. nf, Actually, they're one of the better handling cars around, particularly given the age of RTS equipped Geminis. Geminis only came with RTS after about 1979. |
| #53 10:39pm 26/06/04 |
Loki .. read hunters posts carefully you skidmark on society before acusing me of not comprehending what he is saying.
| #54 10:55pm 26/06/04 |
AvengeR
Ques the "my epenis is bigger than yours" pic. http://homepage.powerup.com.au/~arrows28/e-penis_small.jpeg |
| #55 11:22pm 26/06/04 |
The only real difference with the >1979 geminis are the rear sway bars.
| #56 11:24pm 26/06/04 |
Loki .. read hunters posts carefully you skidmark on society before acusing me of not comprehending what he is saying.Trollin trollin trolling... You've along way to go young grasshopper. Thou hasn't learned much. |
| #57 11:40pm 26/06/04 |
haha loki ... you know you're wrong and then think its you trolling me ...
And you think you are a master of trolling. Even if you were, I wouldn't be your student, hell hunter and kat troll better then you and they aren't even trying most of the time. You're either pathetic or arogant, not sure which ? |
| #58 12:13am 27/06/04 |
DigitaL
An RTS fitted Gemini in good condition with the correct shocks and good tyres fitted will outhandle most road going cars. If you don't believe this then I'm willing to prove this someplace. This is one of the funniest things ive ever read on the internet. Firstly by "out-handle most cars" what excatly do you mean? Seeing as most road going cars are post VS Holdens or post EL Falcons I really doubt a gemini could really outhandle them. Unless of course you are stupid and spend $4000+ on a good suspension setup for a gemini. |
| #59 12:15am 27/06/04 |
Gregory
An RTS fitted Gemini in good condition with the correct shocks and good tyres fitted will outhandle most road going cars. If you don't believe this then I'm willing to prove this someplace ahaha i love comin home from work to a good laugh. I know my car will out handle ur car. and mine is nothing special. Vs Commodore 17's with 235's IRs suspension Abs Brakes and new suspension. But i dont race on public roads like u fully sick gemini drivers. Wanker |
| #60 01:18am 27/06/04 |
haha loki ... you know you're wrong and then think its you trolling me ...Read...Comprehend...Post. I was saying you were trolling me *rolleyes*. Also I wasn't wrong, no mention was made of racing on public roads, but at the track. Carry on, keep trolling. |
| #61 01:35am 27/06/04 |
To quote hunter
but I can assure you I could most easily outdrive a lot of you on a track, To Quote myself Make it more interesting, I'll even race you at the track for a wager. Better luck next year Obes. If I was losing I wouldn't be resorting to insults like yourself. last edited by Loki at 01:38:31 27/Jun/04 |
| #62 01:38am 27/06/04 |
Loki go read all of hunters posts. He says in more then one place he does very high speed on public roads. Keep an eye out for his winking smilies.
Or just the the straight I go speed in the country and rural areas. |
| #63 10:06am 27/06/04 |
And no s*** you were calling me a troll. Dude it is you with the comprehension problem not me.
You've along way to go young grasshopper. Thou hasn't learned much. ie. Kung Fu (with David Carradine) his Master used to call him young grasshopper. Thats where it comes from. That suggests to things. 1 you are a troll, and 2 you are a master at it (my master actually). Seriously go accuse some kindy kids of not being able to comprhend. They are about your weight division. |
| #64 10:14am 27/06/04 |
haha sikgem for the lose
| #65 10:44am 27/06/04 |
Deadly-Fly
I live my life a quarter mile at a time.
Then I have to get out and push :( |
| #66 11:09am 27/06/04 |
He says in more then one place he does very high speed on public roads.It's a Gemini, redline through every gear and he'll just be cracking 100kph =) |
| #67 12:12pm 27/06/04 |
| #68 12:33pm 27/06/04 |
haha 'I drive to work everyday so I am Michael Schumacher'.
Man, that's classic. |
| #69 04:07pm 27/06/04 |
hunter dosnt follow the speedlimit, its designed for loser who cant handle going over 60
| #70 04:19pm 27/06/04 |
rofl at this thread
| #71 04:25pm 27/06/04 |
bulls***, gemini's handle nicely. I've gone at speeds high enough to get at least 1 wheel off the ground and one more about to leave the road without the car even wanting to start to slide. They may not handle as well as a japanese sports car or a v8 super car, but they handle f***ing well.
dude its a f***in gemini. they handle lke s*** ok s*** suspension s*** brakes s*** steering I'll take you for a ride in mine. The brakes are FAR from s***, it goes 100 - stopped in a matter of metres (without hitting a pole) you guys who dunno s*** and don't own a gemini STFU. If you have owned one and it was s*** then it must just have been yours because mine is almost stock and it only just gets left behind by a VR commodore of my friend's. It corners way faster and sharper, and brakes faster than my own commodore. f***ing newbs edit: I fail quoting 101 last edited by WhoopAss at 19:58:26 28/Jun/04 |
| #72 07:58pm 28/06/04 |
sikgem
I follow the speed limit 90% of the time as I need my license for my job. No license = no job. No job = no money. Simple really. I have no problem with going out to some isolated area where nobody lives and rarely anyone drives and doing a safe speed. But hey if I f*** up and crash, that's my fault, not yours. You're not in the car, you're not even near it, you're not going to be affected by it, nobody else will be really affected by it, so why do you care?
"This is one of the funniest things ive ever read on the internet. Firstly by "out-handle most cars" what excatly do you mean? Seeing as most road going cars are post VS Holdens or post EL Falcons I really doubt a gemini could really outhandle them. Unless of course you are stupid and spend $4000+ on a good suspension setup for a gemini." You ever driven one? And again, not something with clapped out suspension! Factory shocks do not last anywhere near 20+ years, more so if the car has been driven even slightly. When I removed the factory shocks from my car a while ago they were well and truly screwed - so much so you could compress it and it would just stay compressed. Definately not what a shock is designed to do and would severely impact on handling. You only need to spend about 600 to beef the steering and suspension up even more than it already is. I find it difficult to believe you think a vehicle like a later model commo or falcon with about 500-600 more kilos of weight and much longer wheelbase would handle better than a ~900 odd kg Gemini with a relatively short wheel base... last edited by sikgem at 20:02:09 28/Jun/04 |
| #73 08:02pm 28/06/04 |
Gemini brakes are not good. You're smoking crack.
| #74 08:21pm 28/06/04 |
dimo
| #75 08:24pm 28/06/04 |
Gemini brakes are not good. You're smoking crack. well mine must be non standard brakes then because they outperform the brakes on my commodore. |
| #76 08:33pm 28/06/04 |
dimo
well mine must be non standard brakes then because they outperform the brakes on my commodore WOOOOW.... a gemini brakes better then sothing that is 3 times its weight. UNPOSSIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!11 |
| #77 08:37pm 28/06/04 |
Well it turns out this bulls*** argument proves sikgem's point after all; NFSU is far from reality.
Reaslism minus minus. |
| #78 08:39pm 28/06/04 |
there is no spoon!
| #79 08:45pm 28/06/04 |
sikgem
Dimo, nice way to demonstrate your ignorance on all fronts.
1) Commodores aren't "3 times" the weight of Geminis. 2) Virtually all commodores made in the past 15 years have had disc brakes all round. Geminis have front discs, rear drums, mostly because their weight bias is more to the front than the rear(can't recall the exact weight bias ratios). 3) Later model commodores have ABS and other options as standard... last edited by sikgem at 20:54:34 28/Jun/04 |
| #80 08:54pm 28/06/04 |
cycosis
you fags would have reel skellz if yuo played mario kart dd!@#
| #81 08:58pm 28/06/04 |
1) Commodores aren't "3 times" the weight of Geminis. So what you're saying is, commodores handle better than a gemini. |
| #82 09:03pm 28/06/04 |
Ditch
yes thats wat hes saying, so lets WRAP IT UP GENTLEMEN!!!
btw. mario kart pwns ;) |
| #83 09:11pm 28/06/04 |
Coochie
I just find this funny cause Gemini's are like the cliche crap car. Not that my car's 'fully sicker' or anything, I just haven't ever met anybody who respected Gemini's.
will outhandle most road going carsmaybe it will outhandle Commodores and Excels but 'most' road going cars implies that it is one of the better handling cars on the road....which it simply is not. You do realise that when you drive around in your hotted up gemini with the stereo turned up, 90% of the population laugh at you, and the other 10% get pissed off because they know their taxes pay your doll cheque? Don't get me wrong, a well modified gemini may go alright on a race track, but they just have a terribly poor image. |
| #84 09:27pm 28/06/04 |
AvengeR
Geminwhy
| #85 09:30pm 28/06/04 |
sikgem
doll cheque? Is this some sorta thing you get from sex shops??? I have a job and pay for everything I do, unlike certain ricers who get mumsy and dadsy to pay for their latest cessna tail plane/spoiler.
"maybe it will outhandle Commodores and Excels but 'most' road going cars implies that it is one of the better handling cars on the road....which it simply is not. " Driven one?? When I say "most" roadgoing cars I am referring to unmodified stock standard cars you buy off the floor. There are sports cars which have been DESIGNED to handle well and other cars that have been modified to handle well. I am not comparing them because that is patently stupid. "So what you're saying is, commodores handle better than a gemini." No, what I was saying is that a Commodore with all of those advantages, still handles a bit worse than an old Gemini. Without paying a metric assload, you still have fundamental physics to contend with... its pretty obvious a Gemini is a much smaller and lighter vehicle compared to some big arse family sedan or wagon. last edited by sikgem at 22:06:57 28/Jun/04 |
| #86 10:06pm 28/06/04 |
So you are comparing geminis to cars that aren't designed to handle well at all, or cars that go for ride over performance? Like say limo? I know its tradition for you to back down and all, but you can't go around qualifying something you say 2 pages after you've said it. If "most" road going cars excludes any car where the manufacturers have thrown in stiffer shocks and a tougher chassis, or say low profile alloys, in an age where performance is expected in almost any type of car, then thats not most.
| #87 10:12pm 28/06/04 |
my god you're an arrogant f***
| #88 10:13pm 28/06/04 |
Coochie
ok I will accept that a modified Gemini may outhandle many unmodified cars. But that isn't really anything to be too proud of.
My point is that they have such a crap reputation. It is like the poor mans version of a hotted up Excel. Am I the only person who see's people in spruced up geminis and laughs...thinking what a f***ing low breed? |
| #89 10:13pm 28/06/04 |
Step off maxe.
| #90 10:14pm 28/06/04 |
My TF rocked......
back in 94-95. GO THE MONZA RED |
| #91 10:39pm 28/06/04 |
funky
you would of course know that it handles better than most road going cars, because a driver of your standard has driven most road going cars ..........
| #92 10:43pm 28/06/04 |
Hunter you do realise you hold the exact model attitude as the 'xxxx' amount of young cocky drivers that die every year, right?
| #93 10:43pm 28/06/04 |
other cars that have been modified to handle well. I am not comparing them because that is patently stupid. Havn't you modified your car to handle well? |
| #94 11:33pm 28/06/04 |
This is the same hunter that said he'd beat anyone up cause he thought about fighting a lot.
| #95 06:16am 29/06/04 |
Comparing modified cars against completely stock factory ones is retarded.
I can throw enough money at a common housebrick and make it outperform and outhandle as well as any sports-car. There is no point to what you're saying hunter. |
| #96 06:45am 29/06/04 |
heh, this is the funniest thread evar
first of all, dont ever bag mario karts as its king (even with sus ai, not that i get beaten by the computer anyway, asif u would) and of course if makes perfect sense that a s***box made 30 years ago would out handle cars made in the last 10 years suspension technology has been travelling backwards and cars are getting progressive worse in handling stakes id bet the house that my old mirage (decimates car now) would handle a dream (king springs, lowered, the mirages handle pretty good already, if it had sway bars, this thing would be glued to the road) id like to play nfsu i liked it high speed felt like high speed and drifting was kewl fun x 10 |
| #97 08:54am 29/06/04 |
first of all, dont ever bag mario karts as its king (even with sus ai, not that i get beaten by the computer anyway, asif u would) tesitfy. Fear my spot-on accurate koopa drift technique... |
| #98 10:26am 29/06/04 |
peach > koopa
| #99 10:33am 29/06/04 |
You skirt. You even drive womens cars in video games...
Donkey Kong for time trials, Koopa for championship. |
| #100 10:34am 29/06/04 |
lmnt
i vote hunter for coolest guy for the year, oh wait that would clash with his fag of the month award wouldnt it?
| #101 10:38am 29/06/04 |
my peach would poop on donkey kong in time trials
ive got mario kart 64 on my n64 emulater and still play it today on xbox/pc |
| #102 10:42am 29/06/04 |
Ditch
ha u boners, bowser wins all. owned every single time trial in the game. bring it
| #103 10:44am 29/06/04 |
still got the game ladies?
ill go set some times and post em |
| #104 10:48am 29/06/04 |
ive got mario kart 64 on my n64 emulater and still play it today on xbox/pc AAAAAAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHA mariokart64 is gay. Like, liberacè gay. No sequel has ever equalled what it was on the SNES, and thats all Ill ever play. Because I'm an elitist a******. |
| #105 10:52am 29/06/04 |
yar, i loved it on the snes
it just doesnt emulate as well as the n64 version |
| #106 11:05am 29/06/04 |
it just doesnt emulate as well as the n64 versionI have it emulated perfectly on my xbox. |
| #107 11:53am 29/06/04 |
sikgem
First off, the suspension in my vehicle is not modifed in any way. The only things I've done have put slightly wider rubber on the standard steel rims and new shocks. Beyond that it still has factory springs, factory swaybars and factory panhard rod. The caster, camber and toe are all as they should be for a standard Gemini.
Secondly, this is not a case of anyone suggesting technology going backwards, what is being suggested is that cars are becoming heavier, and as you increase weight, handling slowly goes out the door. My car has f*** all in the way of options, it didn't even come with a tacho or a left side mirror. Add electric mirrors, there is a few kgs, throw in electric windows, few more kgs for the electric winding mechanism and electronics. Hmm add airbags, there's some more weight and indeed a lot of cost. Include body sound deadening, 50+ extra kgs (it is rather weighty stuff). Then add in air conditioning, decent stereo (not the AM one speaker s*** thing that came std in my car) and you're already starting to add a bit of weight to the car. See my point? "because a driver of your standard has driven most road going cars .........." As fpot seemingly does not know, I drive a lot FOR work, not just to and from work. I clock up thousands of k's a week and drive whatever car is available in the company motor pool. Usually FWD shopping trolleys. |
| #108 06:08pm 29/06/04 |
But yet you still only have 18 months of driving experience. You'll find the best drivers have done something stupid pushed their car beyonds its limits and have taken themselves down a notch or two. Over-confidence is the single biggest cause of accidents.
"Yeah, i've only had 10 beers i can drive." "I've only had 2 hours sleep, but nah she'll be right its only 20 minutes up the road." "90degree corner, nah this sikgemini can take it at 70km/h cause its the best car ever." ^ every one of those will result in the asshat driving and probably some other unlucky soul getting f***ed over. You take a driver whos spun a car in the wet or done a real dangerous overtake and gotten pretty shaken up over it will be a far safer driver than someone who hasn't irrelevant of skills. Thinking yourself infallable means you are clearly not considering hazards, or giving yourself any buffer. You'll probably change your tune in 6 months when you writeoff your gemini doing something stupid, and take the exact opposite tone to what you are now. Either that or you'll die. |
| #109 06:41pm 29/06/04 |
pics or lying hunter
| #110 06:45pm 29/06/04 |
sikgem
nF, I've had the obligatory close shave before, in the wet and I've got an even healthier respect for the road in those sorts of conditions. In fact I hate driving at night because of the d******* pedestrians who feel its their god given right to run out blindly across roads without thinking. I also hate driving in the rain as the dynamics of the road change dramatically when you introduce a form of lubricant to its surface...
For the record it involved hitting oil whilst travelling at relatively low speed around a sharp bend... I used my skill to recover from the loss of traction and continue driving without incident. A lot of people would have stepped on the gas and attempted to power out of the slide with the wheel turned full lock the other way... bad idea. last edited by sikgem at 19:23:54 29/Jun/04 |
| #111 07:23pm 29/06/04 |
"because a driver of your standard has driven most road going cars .........." As fpot seemingly does not know, I drive a lot FOR work, not just to and from work. I clock up thousands of k's a week and drive whatever car is available in the company motor pool. Usually FWD shopping trolleys.Well, no I didn't say what you quoted, and I don't care about what you just said. You're just another statistic waiting to happen, and I know you are prone to talking yourself up. Remember that time (this is a long time ago) when you claimed you could come to QGL and beat the top CS clan at the time, and you were going to arrive to QGL with all your mates in suits or something? Guess what, you never even came to a QGL, and you were a f***ing uncoordinated s***kunt at CS and every other game I ever watched you play. So what's changed now? You're still full of f***ing s***. Wake up to yourself. |
| #112 07:24pm 29/06/04 |
Oh, and to further illustrate how gay you are, you are talking yourself up as a leet c*** driver in a Need for Speed: Underground thread. That's like someone talking themselves up as a special forces operative in a Counter-Strike thread.
| #113 07:28pm 29/06/04 |
^^^ HAHAHA
*holds a poster saying "i want to bare your children f***pot"* and also I used my skill to recover from the loss of traction and continue driving without incident made me larf |
| #114 07:31pm 29/06/04 |
Gregory
For the record it involved hitting oil whilst travelling at relatively low speed around a sharp bend... I used my skill to recover from the loss of traction and continue driving without incident. A lot of people would have stepped on the gas and attempted to power out of the slide with the wheel turned full lock the other way... bad idea. so what ur saying is ur awareness skills are low cause u didnt see the oil on road so ur s*** to start off and becuase u thought u where the only one who would think to slow down to gain traction. wow ur my imspiration can u teach me to drive with all ur skills |
| #115 07:32pm 29/06/04 |
linkin
get cut greg get cut
| #116 07:37pm 29/06/04 |
shrapse
Sooooooooooooooooooooo, anyone for some nfsu?
| #117 07:38pm 29/06/04 |
pfft make your own thread sharpse =)
| #118 07:49pm 29/06/04 |
For the record it involved hitting oil whilst travelling at relatively low speed around a sharp bend... I used my skill to recover from the loss of traction and continue driving without incident. A lot of people would have stepped on the gas and attempted to power out of the slide with the wheel turned full lock the other way... bad idea. So you understeered going around a corner? I'd question what you were attempting to do in order to get the car to do that. Sounds like you entered the corner before you had started braking, then noticing you had too much speed you hit the picks. Sif blame oil for being a spaz. Anyway my point remains, you're still an asshat on the road clearly as you seek blame in everything but your own driving when something goes wrong. If you are driving through the valley or something on a friday/saturday night and are surprised to see someone set out in front of your car then thats clearly indicative of a lack of experience in driving in those conditions. |
| #119 07:50pm 29/06/04 |
dimo
| #120 07:53pm 29/06/04 |
DigitaL
haha i love this! THIS is what qgl is about
BRING ON TEH HUNTER ABUSE |
| #121 08:09pm 29/06/04 |
yeh, just waiting for his half arsed wannabe intellectual reply.
| #122 08:11pm 29/06/04 |
He is checking his thesaurus.
| #123 08:24pm 29/06/04 |
Geminis have front discs, rear drums, mostly because their weight bias is more to the front than the rear(can't recall the exact weight bias ratios).omg.. the reason they dont have diskbrakes on the rear is simple. drums are CHEAPER. also the f/r ratio for holdens is 70/30 as oppossed to most normal family cars such as toyotas which in most cases is 60/40. their is no point to this thread. except its fukin funny. which is a great point.. :) also nfsu FREE with 2 pizzas pickup from pizzahut!!!!!!!! finally im getting myself a copy :D last edited by Fuknukle at 21:06:47 29/Jun/04 |
| #124 09:06pm 29/06/04 |
sikgem
It was pissing down rain at the time and as you are aware, rain brings turns previously dry and caked oil into liquid... now in pissing down rain its difficult enough to see in front of you let alone see virtually invisible patches of oil. Entry speed into the turn was around 10 km/h as I had turned into a T-intersection...
Oh and by the way, I was actually outside up to my arms in grease finishing off the new (temporary) engine I put in on the weekend. fuknukle, yes, they might be cheaper to implement and yes they still design cars with rear drums but the reason is that the front brakes are more than capable of absorbing most of the energy during braking. Besides, drums are still effective systems of braking, they're just more prone to fading than discs. last edited by sikgem at 21:34:03 29/Jun/04 |
| #125 09:34pm 29/06/04 |
There is no way you'd lose control of a car at 10km/h because of a patch of oil.
Unless you are a spaz. Though how a patch of oil caused you to spaz out is beyond me. |
| #126 10:17pm 29/06/04 |
Gregory
ah so ur gemin lost control at 10 k an hour wow handles so so so well dick wish i could race a car that could take corners so quick
| #127 11:05pm 29/06/04 |
sikgem
Ever heard of throttle control? I said ENTRY SPEED, that does not mean EXIT or TRAVEL SPEED. I increased throttle to continue moving and since its RWD, the rear end decided to turn into a sled.
Almost any non-traction control RWD vehicle will do this if there is a distinct lack of traction and even a little throttle. Wet, oily water combined with RWD car and acceleration is guaranteed to result in issues no matter what vehicle you drive. The difference is whether or not control is completely lost by the driver... |
| #128 11:14pm 29/06/04 |
^ haha, hunter got owned
| #129 11:15pm 29/06/04 |
sikgem
Why, because I stated that the car lost it because there was a bit too much throttle to deal with SFA traction as a result of oily water on a 90 degree turn? Yeah, whatever... Do you have any idea how slippery an oily road is?
| #130 11:20pm 29/06/04 |
DigitaL
Almost any non-traction control RWD vehicle will do this if there is a distinct lack of traction and even a little throttle. Wet, oily water combined with RWD car and acceleration is guaranteed to result in issues no matter what vehicle you drive. The difference is whether or not control is completely lost by the driver... um no it wont unless you really give it some. you fuken n00b do a saftey driving course. |
| #131 11:22pm 29/06/04 |
Crudler
"Wet, oily water"
isn't all water wet? |
| #132 11:23pm 29/06/04 |
He needed another adjective in there to make his argument seem worthwhile.
Didn't work. |
| #133 11:25pm 29/06/04 |
the reason is that the front brakes are more than capable of absorbing most of the energy during braking.well DUR, they have to be. how much friction is availible on the rears while travling forward?... if disks and drums cost the same you'd deffinatly see disks everywhere. while they are indeed adaqute for the rears sif they compare. so you had enough skill to control a car going 10km/h a man of lesser skill might have gotten out and walked beside the car pushing it back on the road as it fishtailed wildly on the footpath.. |
| #134 11:28pm 29/06/04 |
Gregory
Hunter your speaking so much s*** i can catch it . admit ur car sucks and u suck at teling stories try and atleast think one about that aint full of flaws before u come and rant and rave dick chops
| #135 11:32pm 29/06/04 |
whats going on in this thread guys?
| #136 11:35pm 29/06/04 |
From an almost standing start the car loses control. Its evidence that you drive your car beyond its limits, and that you have no appreciation of the potential hazards that might be there. Hence you are overconfident and under-experienced. If this spot was half has hazardous as you make it out to be then there'd be 10 cars sitting on the side of the road there.
If you expect to be able to take a 90 degree corner at the limit in conditions like wet weather than you'll end up in tears. You can claim that the oil wasn't visible all you want, but the fact is it shouldn't have to be, if you were as experienced as you claim you'd have an appreciation that roads are very inconsistant in the wet, and you'd factor that in when you choose your speed going around such a corner. |
| #137 11:35pm 29/06/04 |
sikgem
fuknukle, it wasn't at 10 km/h when it began to slide... I'll reiterate for those of you with comprehension problems: entry speed was 10 km/h. I vaguely recall the speed being around 40 km/h when oil was struck (just after exiting the turn). This argument is becoming quite pointless. No matter what I say or do, you clowns will find some other bulls*** to come up with. So, tell me, how many of you actually have licenses and cars? And no I don't mean driving your mum's camry out of the driveway either.
If there's a problem with my driving then why have I never been involved in an accident (I've been driving for 6 years now, license for 2)??? Why have I not lost my license for speeding or dangerous driving when I only have 4 points?? If, as you say I am "such a s*** driver maens!@$#" then perhaps I'd be a) dead, b) in jail or c) walking. |
| #138 11:35pm 29/06/04 |
Gregory
at 10 km/h when it began to slide... I'll reiterate for those of you with comprehension problems: entry speed was 10 km/h. I vaguely recall the speed being around 40 km/h when oil was struck (just after exiting the turn So u said the conditions where so s***. but u still accelerated 30 km//h to 40 from 10 around a corner where u said conditions where s*** and u could not see. so really what ur saying is u f***ed up cause u cant judge corners and conditions . ahhhh i see |
| #139 11:38pm 29/06/04 |
This argument is becoming quite pointless. No matter what I say or do, you clowns will find some other bulls*** to come up with.Hey, I think that's the definition of a flawed argument. So, tell me, how many of you actually have licenses and cars?I do... Why have I not lost my license for speeding or dangerous driving when I only have 4 points??Same reason I haven't. I haven't been caught yet. If, as you say I am "such a s*** driver maens!@$#" then perhaps I'd be a) dead, b) in jail or c) walking.Just wait a bit longer, I am hoping for option a). |
| #140 11:38pm 29/06/04 |
d) lucky
| #141 11:40pm 29/06/04 |
sikgem
fpot, may I suggest you get your end away? It may help relieve the pressure in your colon, which is more than likely caused by the pole lodged in it.
| #142 11:40pm 29/06/04 |
i'll pay that call |
| #143 11:42pm 29/06/04 |
yeh, lolz.
| #144 11:42pm 29/06/04 |
Crudler
e) gay
| #145 11:42pm 29/06/04 |
So you're exit speed from a 90 degree corner with an entry speed of 10km/h, in the wet, was 40km/h. And you were surprised the car lost control?
Anyone else spot the problem there. |
| #146 11:42pm 29/06/04 |
fpot, may I suggest you get your end away? It may help relieve the pressure in your colon, which is more than likely caused by the pole lodged in it. f) ironic |
| #147 11:44pm 29/06/04 |
sikgem
nF, as I said, ordinarily it would have held in wet conditions but oil is a lubricant, and lubricate it does! For further information on lubrication, you may want to consult fpot, as he appears to be our resident expert.
| #148 11:46pm 29/06/04 |
Gregory
yeah cause water does not make the road slippery either does it hunter. ur a tool ok people correcting there f***ups does not make them a good driver not f***in up in first place makes u a good driver. sk
| #149 11:47pm 29/06/04 |
Hunter, this would all be very amusing and witty if it wasn't the same lame rebuttul I have been hearing from you for years.
| #150 11:48pm 29/06/04 |
DigitaL
car: no sold it
Licence: no (lost it for 6 months) been driving for 3 years. So what you saying is that you entered the 90 DEGREE corner at 10km/h. Then you exited the corner at 40 IN THE WET OILY water. (Even tho you said you could hardly see because of the rain so I fail to understand how you couldve possibly seen the oil on the road in the first place) Result: you spun out and shat yourself. You then say that Gemini's are awesome handling cars, and your a good driver because you drive 1000's of k's a week. Without a doubt my old car (VT series 1 with mags and no other suspension work) could handle a 90 degree turn in the same manner as you drove you car around it without spinning out or even loosing traction. you know why? because its heavier IT HANDLES BETTER in most situations like that. Just because a car is lighter dosent mean it handles better, it handles differently. |
| #151 11:57pm 29/06/04 |
hunter is obviously a sex god !
| #152 11:59pm 29/06/04 |
hey at least the spot lights off kat for a while =)
| #153 12:38am 30/06/04 |
Eye
Hehehe, I missed seeing Hunter 'debates'. Thanks guys :D
| #154 12:51am 30/06/04 |
Duk
I man not know much about actual driving (traffic, track and stuff). Im 16 and just got learners. But I know that Gemini's are the BIGGEST PIECES OF s*** EVER. There is seriously no doubt about it dude. Oh and about that wet corner thing that just adds to the complete s***ness of gemini's. Man name the spot ill race you and eventhough i may not be Mark Skaife or Michael Schumacher, i know that if im driving a quality car such as dads A4 S Line, I will own you anyday of the week.
| #155 01:15am 30/06/04 |
DigitaL
hahah funniest post eva
| #156 01:25am 30/06/04 |
its unaustralian to knock a gemini. |
| #157 01:31am 30/06/04 |
no its not
| #158 08:53am 30/06/04 |
Fik
My mate had a fully sik gemini that we drove around in a paddock. Was a piece of s***. Your's deserves to be in a paddock too.
| #159 12:26pm 30/06/04 |
And since when is correcting oversteer a sign of Incredible Driving Skillz Maens1?!
My mum can correct oversteer ffs. If you had any skill at all there would be no oversteer in the first place. Surely after all those year(s) of driving your incredible gemini youd know how much force the tyres could handle under any circumstances? |
| #160 01:13pm 30/06/04 |
Fik
On another note, how do you do really long drifts??
The maximum point I can get is about 35,000 and that's in the Miata. That's with that traction setting off |
| #161 03:52pm 30/06/04 |
Get a DC2 and use the handbrake
In true american fashion, that works the best |
| #162 04:04pm 30/06/04 |
This one time down the coast, I overtook a brand new Porsche 911 Turbo. Therefore:
a) I'm a much better driver than whoever was in that Porsche, and b) My car can easily outhandle that Porsche. |
| #163 04:48pm 30/06/04 |
This one time down the coast ok for starters thats a lie because i say so I overtook a brand new Porsche 911 Turbo. im just showing you i know how to quote a) I'm a much better driver than whoever was in that Porsche, and maens you should meet him on the track for a real race and maybe a wager to omgrofl! b) My car can easily outhandle that Porsche. haha your argument is so f***ing flawed roflmaololbrbman!!1 =D hi orbs |
| #164 05:21pm 30/06/04 |
shrapse
On another note, how do you do really long drifts?? skill :D |
| #165 05:42pm 30/06/04 |
If Gemini's are so leet, how come more people don't have them? I don't understand how driving lots for work makes you a good driver at high speed corners. WOWOW! YOU DRIVE THOUSANDS OF Ks PER WEEK FOR WORK!!! Unless you are a race driver I don't see how driving around in traffic makes you such a good driver. What do you do for work?
| #166 06:27pm 30/06/04 |
nF, as I said, ordinarily it would have held in wet conditions but oil is a lubricant, and lubricate it does! For further information on lubrication, you may want to consult fpot, as he appears to be our resident expert. The fact of the matter is you have no idea if there was oil on the road and more than likely there wasn't. You're just claiming there was because you can't accept that you f***ed up. Did you get out of the car and look at the road? A top driver would have noticed that there was oil on the road from the steering feedback well before the rear wheels hit it. Clearly you aren't, there wasn't any "oil" - you weren't driving sensibly - and clearly you're a cockwallet. |
| #167 12:30am 01/07/04 |
What's a cockwallet ? Some sort of gronk ?
| #168 02:39am 01/07/04 |
shrapse
Don't want to toot my own horn but I can assure you I could most easily outdrive a lot of you on a track, excluding those who race as a hobby, that would be a challenge ;). Lest we forget. |
| #169 02:40am 01/07/04 |
^ Unless of course the track includes one of those nasty 90 degree turns. Whoopsy.
| #170 06:13am 01/07/04 |
Gemini's do pretty well on the motorkhana's and rally tracks.
It's not because they are some amazing vehicle with incredible handling, though with some modification they can handle quite decently. It's cause they're bloody cheap to buy, build, modify, and trash. |
| #171 08:09am 01/07/04 |
DigitaL
well i just found this video of a gemini that i took about 2 months ago!
im a html noob so i dont know how to make the link any smaller 2.45mb http://members.optushome.com.au/j.neilson/cool%20gemini.wmv |
| #172 04:44pm 01/07/04 |
deathman27
im a html noob so i dont know how to make the link any smaller
hahah thats funny |
| #173 04:53pm 01/07/04 |
DigitaL
wheres the funny?
| #174 05:13pm 01/07/04 |
hahaha that car is SICK!
| #175 05:50pm 01/07/04 |
Go the TG.
| #176 06:11pm 01/07/04 |
SD Gundam
that's probably hunter's gemini
| #177 06:26pm 01/07/04 |
sikgem
That's an RB Gemini you ignorant arseclowns. I own a TF... apart from the fact that its a completely different car and uses totally different drivetrain (FWD s***boxes).
Who the f*** would rice an RB, and more importantly WHY? No serious Gemini enthusiast takes the RB seriously, they are the black sheep. Look too much like Corollas of that era. By the way orbitor, I doubt you've ever driven one, in fact I doubt any of you have apart from nF (who owned one) and whoopass who owns a TF. And the clown comparing a new A4 to a gemini - you're a dick mate, its your DADS CAR. What's yours? air car?? P.S. the guy doing voiceovers sounds like he should be on queer eye with his "omygods". |
| #178 06:37pm 01/07/04 |
lmnt
it wasn't at 10 km/h when it began to slide... I'll reiterate for those of you with comprehension problems: entry speed was 10 km/h. turn). you said the entry speed 10km/h, at a 90 degree turn, you usually dont speed up, no one has comprehension problems. I vaguely recall the speed being around 40 km/h when oil was struck (just after exiting the turn). "i Vaguely recall" ohhhh so now your trying to make it sound like you were going faster, and your way cool driving abilities couldnt handle the extreme speed of 40km/h. oh, i get it, it all makes sense now.... oh. and please dont phrases like "comprehension problem" the irony of it is just too much to bare |
| #179 06:49pm 01/07/04 |
lmnt
That's an RB Gemini you ignorant arseclowns. I own a TF why the goddamn, motherfricken, mustardcutting, f*****y hell would anyone know or give a flying, stinking, assf***ing s*** what kind of car you drive |
| #180 06:51pm 01/07/04 |
On another note, how do you do really long drifts?? I assume we're talking nfsu? I just use my RX7, or if we're talking granturismo only car I seem to be able to do long drifts in is (amazingly) the trueno sprinter heh. If we're talking real life, never tried, probably never will because I know I'll hit a pole, if I ever get off my ass and hire the skid pan up the road I'll have some fun then though. |
| #181 06:52pm 01/07/04 |
By the way orbitor, I doubt you've ever driven one, in fact I doubt any of you have apart from nF (who owned one) and whoopass who owns a TF. And the clown comparing a new A4 to a gemini - you're a dick mate, its your DADS CAR. What's yours? air car?? Orb drove my car. It should be noted that he had no trouble with 90 degree corners also. |
| #182 06:55pm 01/07/04 |
I just watched that video and all I can say is: call QUANTAS, I think someone has stolen one of their planes AHAHAHAH
what a s***box, I doubt it'd even get enough speed up to make use of that spoiler, his friend probably had a skyline and let the gemini owner drive it, drift it and smash it, only thing left was the spoler :D seriously, RB gemini's give the RB letter combination a bad name (don't know what I'm talking about? too bad). Front wheel drive hunk of s*** gemini. Someone sell me their torana, and a V8 edit: oh and digital, I wouldn't be calling his exhaust gay or bagging him out man, you drive a commodore with neons underneath it (or used to?) so man, you are up there near the top of the "gay" list. last edited by WhoopAss at 19:09:11 01/Jul/04 |
| #183 07:09pm 01/07/04 |
Insolence
And the clown comparing a new A4 to a gemini - you're a dick kind of like that clown who was comparing geminis to the majority of other cars on the road? |
| #184 07:11pm 01/07/04 |
DigitaL
yer i used to...
*hangs head in shame* |
| #185 07:50pm 01/07/04 |
Orb drove my car. It should be noted that he had no trouble with 90 degree corners also f***ing hell dude.... you are on fire game set match...nF =D |
| #186 11:10pm 01/07/04 |
Orb drove my car. It should be noted that he had no trouble with 90 degree corners also. Yeah but there was no butter on the bend! |
| #187 09:56am 02/07/04 |
By the way orbitor, I doubt you've ever driven one, in fact I doubt any of you have apart from nF The thing about gemmis is they feel OMG s***-fast when you're doing speeds that would be plain sailing in my Silvia :) |
| #188 09:59am 02/07/04 |
thats coz ur just too cool orb
hunter f*** off and die and sniff some coke(que maxes fotoshawp) |
| #189 10:04am 02/07/04 |
| #190 10:22am 02/07/04 |
hahah, nice photoshop matt.
| #191 11:10am 02/07/04 |
Someone sell me their torana, and a V8You want a Torry now eh Whoop? Best off putting a VN/VP EFI V8 in it than one of the old red motors if you go for it :) |
| #192 08:58pm 02/07/04 |
how many of you actually have licenses and cars?well i have 3 cars and 2 motobikes, moto license and car license.. does that make me worthy to partake in this conversation? been driving(leagaly) since i was 15(new zealand) bikes and cars off road since i was under ten. and rallying since i was 14 in those 5 leagal years ive had '1 come together'(my fault, wasnt watching) with no damage to the other car. you simply cannot suggest your going to beat other ppl when you've never been on a race track, or done rallying or done 200km/h, or for that matter even know your opponent. if you are proud of yourself for your display of 'coolness' and 'ajustment' of the wheel at 40km/h i have doubts as to your selfappointed 'skill' full stop fact of the matter is its much easier to control a 'sub 50km/h' slide in the wet... tho i will admit most of the experiance ive had on a tar race track is bucket racing if anyone knows what that is. last edited by Fuknukle at 21:58:44 02/Jul/04 |
| #193 09:58pm 02/07/04 |
| #193 |