2-14 Lighthorse is having an open day(arvo) Its on at 4.00pm today!!! (saturday 11th) There is a Free Bar-B-Q, look through the APC's, play with a 50cal and 30cal M.G.s.. and get a drive(ride) in an APC... It is at enoggera barracks and the unit is located at the back of the barracks in chauvel drive... Just go to the front gate, tell the guard that you are going to a 2-14 recruiting drive and get signed in... That easy... Yes it is a recruiting drive for army reserves, but if you don't want to join and just have a look, thats O.K.... :) I will see you there... My rank and name is Trooper Sprenger... I am currently working on the APC's getting them ready for an Ex... Phone 3332 7786 and ask for Trooper Pascoe or Lt Landis if you have any questions.. |
| #0 11:21am 11/08/01 |
Koopz
oh man - I would love to see that... giveus some more notice next time eh? |
| #1 12:02pm 11/08/01 |
StopShootingMe
Phhh. Sif cavalry. :) |
| #2 12:16pm 11/08/01 |
StopShootingMe
Just out of curiosity Primal, is there any prospects of the Leopards being replaced in the near future??? Im thinking you would have heard anything if anyone has... |
| #3 12:17pm 11/08/01 |
Cyber§pear
The lighthorse dont deal with leapods, they only intrested in gettin the troops to the battle and bugging out, not hanging around for a fight. The 2/14 have still got apc's from veitnam.. lol primal.. ever heared of 12RCU ???? |
| #4 05:09pm 11/08/01 |
BOB the Fruit
I went :) I'm joining up at the end of the year. |
| #5 05:38pm 11/08/01 |
Full-time or Part-time? |
| #6 06:37pm 11/08/01 |
StopShootingMe
Cyber, i believe the USA and us both still use the M113 APC, (not sure about model number) coz it still gets the job done... ? |
| #7 07:02pm 11/08/01 |
BOB the Fruit
Strex: Reserves I asked you about the Reserves online a little while ago during a game of DOD. Nick "Sugoi??". Yeah, I had a good look at the M113's this afternoon. Big heavy monsters, but they look like they could take a bit of punishment :) |
| #8 08:01pm 11/08/01 |
StopShootingMe
yah, at my school open day there was a "tug of war" with an M113... i use inverted commas coz if it was actually a competition, the APC would have dragged the lot of the bludgers (ie 1st 8 and 1st fifteen jocks) down the street at 80 km/h :) ... |
| #9 08:28pm 11/08/01 |
BOB the Fruit
They are pretty cramped inside though :) |
| #10 08:41pm 11/08/01 |
Leopards, no, only 1st armored has leopards and they are based at the N.T. We will be getting the ASLAV25 phase3 in 2 years... The only troops we carry now are recon scouts... We changed from APC to RECON about 4 years ago... So we don't bug out... 12RCU, a cadet unit... is it still based at camphill state high school?? I was in that unit from 1986(yr10) till 1988(yr12)... Yes they(the m113a1) are old but they are good... I am trying to get an APC down to a QGL... Mybe for the finals... I have to make sure the QGL admin guys wont mind... Next open day i will give you guys more notice... :) |
| #11 08:57pm 11/08/01 |
Primal can you check your icq please dude? I did leave you a message.... |
| #12 09:00pm 11/08/01 |
Primal, are you a driver or a gunner? If you are a driver, i have to kill you :) M113 drivers seem to have no comprehension that us little recon scouts in the back are actually human. |
| #13 09:04pm 11/08/01 |
E z e k i e l
can anyon e go to the QGL finasl, or do u have to be in a clan competing in a final?? |
| #14 09:07pm 11/08/01 |
Phoenix
I was at the st lucia uni today and I saw a whole lot of troops and a band on parade. What was that all abot? |
| #15 09:11pm 11/08/01 |
I am a driver for the m113a1 and a gunner for the aslav25... That will be changing soon... i am getting trained as a crew commander at this moment in time and starting subject 1 for corp. in december... Some drivers do knock peaple around in the back, but sometimes we can't help it... The recon scouts like me as a driver though, because i look after them and i make nice jaffels... :) |
| #16 09:15pm 11/08/01 |
StopShootingMe
primal, i meant the australian army as a whole, not just your regiment... could the army be replacing the Leopards? or is there no real need to? |
| #17 09:22pm 11/08/01 |
Not at this moment in time... I haven't heard anything through the grapevine, but when i do i will tell you... Leopards are tuff and they do upgrade the bits on them now and then... |
| #18 09:40pm 11/08/01 |
bear
hey primal I spent 7 yrs in uk army engineers would they allow me to join the reserves as im 37 now or would i be too old.bear |
| #19 09:40pm 11/08/01 |
35 is the joining cut off age... Since you have army skills they might take you... Ring up army recruiting and ask... :) |
| #20 09:48pm 11/08/01 |
E z e k i e l
isnt it cool being the onlt person online, u can spam to your hearts content |
| #21 10:15pm 11/08/01 |
BOB the Fruit
Strex, are you general infantry or recon? |
| #22 10:44pm 11/08/01 |
sMaRt
infantry me thinks |
| #23 11:42pm 11/08/01 |
Koopz
where was the Lighthorse page again? |
| #24 11:03am 31/08/01 |
korbs
Primal: i work with a guy who's in the lighthorse (Dave Mcdougall) and he's been telling me all about it. The bastard didn't tell me about this open-day though,which sucks, becasue i would be hella-keen to come. I've heard about what you guys get up to and it sounds so cool. I've wanted to join the army for ages, but haven't been fit enough. I've been going to the gym for about a year now and now i reckon i could easily make it in. If i joined, i'd like to join the lighthorse, since i've met a few ppl from it and they all seem like good blokes. Is there another one of these things coming up, becasue i really want to come and check out my *hopefully* future regiment. |
| #25 04:00pm 31/08/01 |
BOB the Fruit
Well korbs, I consider myself to be an unfit bastard, and I did a bit of a trial fitness run the other day to see if I could make the minimum requirements. I got the 7.5 Shuttle Run done, the 15 pushups done, but I only got 29 on the sittups :) Korbs, you wanna do APC driving shiznitz? |
| #26 04:12pm 31/08/01 |
korbs
I'm not really sure dude... My corolla driving skills are 1337, but i don't know how i'd go in an APC ;) I'd like recon more i think, becasue you still get to hoon around in the APC, but you get to do more physical stuff aswell. I have one sorta problem (well, i'm not sure if it will be) i'm a bit short sighted. I wear glasses in lectures and am suposed to wear them while driving (although i usually forget to put them on). Will this be a problem ?? Do you have to take an eye test or anything like that ? can i wear glasses/contacts in the field ? |
| #27 04:21pm 31/08/01 |
BOB the Fruit
I'm not quite sure, but we are both in the same boat :) I'm also short sighted, and I don't know what the deal is on that. I'm going into Recon too, mianly cause it's a little different. I'm gonna give the 2/14 Recruiting Officer a call pretty soon, to find out what needs to be done to get my application in(I have filled out my application and medical forms). |
| #28 04:28pm 31/08/01 |
| #28 |