VelvetCouch
Wondering who people have met that are so called "well knowns"
Met Chino from the deftones and had a bit of a chat. And spent a night with Joey from Insane clown pussy when they were here on tour earlier this year. ( not spent a night like that, but we hung out, had a few drinks and talked) He wants to wrestle kangaroo's - dumb americans. The highlight of my life was spending a lot of time with Cheryl kernos daughter Sian when i was growiong up. All i really remember is that she had panys at her parties. Spose that dpesn't make up for a crap life though. And i see Gordan Tallis up at blockbuster a few times now. And various other footy players come into the paddo from time to time but i don't know who the hell they are... the guys get all gossipy when they go ppast though. meh. Nothing to interesting there! |
| #0 11:47am 30/10/03 |
VelvetCouch
ow and who coyuld forget ranger stacy and frank warrick that came to visit ua at primary school! heh.
| #1 11:47am 30/10/03 |
... famous people are just people
Its only worth talking about em if you score with em! |
| #2 11:52am 30/10/03 |
stick
I'm mates with Cliff Besley (Totally Wild, face of BMW Germany, male model). We went to school together.
I like the fact that I'm mates with him cause I can tell people he is also one of the smartest fellas I know, and isn't all looks. Good luck to him (we only see him a few times a year cause he's so busy). |
| #3 12:01pm 30/10/03 |
I meet all of U2 in 1984 at Festival Hall in the green room.
| #4 12:03pm 30/10/03 |
VelvetCouch
famous people are just people meh... it's just something people can identify with. I met a whole heap of hot chicks the other day just doesn't have the same ring to it. People these days are only ever important if you hook up with em - it the way things are. |
| #5 12:07pm 30/10/03 |
me and woman used to see various broncos coming out of city rowers when we worked down stairs at the chicken shack
ill never forget the nite that "criminal" (tony caroll) who i consider to be one of the ugliest men in league, came staggering out of CR with a couple of hot bitches on his arms; just goes to show, u can be ugly as phuck, but still score if you are famous other famous run ins; i once saw (didnt meet, im not into hassleing people just coz they are famous) arnie and jim belushi at LAX when we flying home years ago they were filming red heat; acutally, it wasnt even arnie, it was one of his stand ins; |
| #6 01:05pm 30/10/03 |
sharkuul
i met, shook hands with and spoke to newman off of seinfeld in planet hollywood in beverly hills. shook john eels, dan herbert, tim horan, wally lewis, alan langer's hands.
apart from that nothing else. |
| #7 01:09pm 30/10/03 |
NEWMAN!!!!
how awesome! john eales is on the board of our company (him and the old director are best mates) he used to be in all the time until he moved to sydney; i dont consider him overly famous; i skipped out on his motivational talk he was giving us; i was having a lie down at the time ;) |
| #8 01:12pm 30/10/03 |
Sports Personalities I've meet/got autograph photo stuff from
Kevin McGee Kevin Swantz Randy Mamola Wayne Gradner Barry Sheen Daryl Beattie Mick Doohan And s***loads more bike riders Various autographs and photos with union greats from 1980-date highlights The entire 1992 7's squad that went to Hong Kong The Queensland Reds Jersey signed by the 2000,2001,2002 and 2003 teams 1 for each year, I get one every year. Jona Lomu signed my Australian Jersey in 2000 at a pub in Aukland after the game, seems we where the only Green and Gold (2 of us) in a sea of black. |
| #9 01:30pm 30/10/03 |
I met Terry Pratchett and he was damn funny.
My great grandfather was prime minister for two weeks (Mr. Ford). |
| #10 01:41pm 30/10/03 |
Maxi Jazz autographed my shoes.
And my friends neighbours uncle is the Bronocs coach, whatever his name is. I probably know a few more, but they dont come to me atm. |
| #11 01:47pm 30/10/03 |
Hmmm well I've met a lot of famous people, I don't even know where to begin. Had broncos players living near me, I was involved in training with a lot of olympians and olympic coaches in another sport. Had autographs and s*** from lots of musicians and celebrities.
| #12 01:56pm 30/10/03 |
im tung, so i dont really feel special meeting anyone famous :p
but apart from that, i met sum 41, my favourite band, well kinda just said hi and had a quick chat after their concert last feb, was cool because dave gave me his pick right at the end of the set anyway. um, apart from that, just random people ive had drinks with, the broncos, the brissy lions (one dude lived accross the st from me for a while) and the cricketers that used to coach me, matty hayden, kasper, etc. i dunno, for me i would only be bowled over by famous people i respect for their work, through art, society, or whatever, like meeting paul davies (not many people would know of him, hes one of the worlds leading astrophysicists) was a huge event for me, i kept in correspondence with him for well over 2 years just being a groupie :p sum 41 is the only real group of people that havent done that much that i was bowled over, and thats because they are cool and wear 3/4 pants. also, paddo's 3.95 roast lunch rocks, specially after a hard wednesday and sunday nights of drinking. |
| #13 02:05pm 30/10/03 |
funky
when did hayden and kasper coach you?
| #14 02:17pm 30/10/03 |
year 8 coaching camp :)
that and when i was playing at centenary they came as guest coaches for a special thingymajig, and we played 6 a side games. |
| #15 02:24pm 30/10/03 |
john eales is on the board of our company (him and the old director are best mates) Spook, do you work for QM? |
| #16 02:33pm 30/10/03 |
yes warren, i do :)
| #17 03:18pm 30/10/03 |
met peter brock down at indy on the weekend and got his autograph woo
and i have a pic to prove it http://www.mongie.com/gallery//displayimage.php?pos=-31 |
| #18 03:29pm 30/10/03 |
oh and i saw kaspa at the shops the other day (i was way taller than him)
was sad to hear he has broken down with a buttocks strain (sn***** sn*****) |
| #19 03:32pm 30/10/03 |
Seccombe (qld bulls wikki) is a champ.. he worked for my father for a couuple of years
apart from getting given the BB hm's mobile numbers and having a chat on there MMM LEAHH MMMMMM |
| #20 03:35pm 30/10/03 |
Damn, I hate it when people know who I am, but I dont know who they are. Thats the sort of freaky s*** that keeps me awake at nights.
That, and monkeys acting like people. Whats up with that? Its not funny, its wrong! |
| #21 03:36pm 30/10/03 |
stackhat
Spook, do you work for QM? hahha busted spook |
| #22 03:36pm 30/10/03 |
im a noob and know no-one famous.
my mates uncle is tom carrol, thats pretty f***in cool :D he gets all this quiksilver gear then just palms it off to me, and i got a personally signed huge uber a1 or a2 poster which is now framed :D |
| #23 03:37pm 30/10/03 |
yar, i noticed you were a permanent fixture on qgl while u were here khel; (worked out who you were after you left, through various pix posted about)
i was a bit norty and mischeivious back in those days, so i posted this! http://qgl.ausforums.com/?agn=thread&id=72614 crikey, all the way back in 2001! |
| #24 03:42pm 30/10/03 |
Heh, I was wondering who that was :)
| #25 03:42pm 30/10/03 |
stackhat
and you look at you now spook......
| #26 03:43pm 30/10/03 |
lets not ay?
| #27 03:44pm 30/10/03 |
Deadly-Fly
I saw the midget from the Groove Terminator video (he is also in the Fat Pizza movie) at the music shop in Queen St mall.
I didn't talk to him though cos midgets kinda freak me out |
| #28 03:56pm 30/10/03 |
sheep_pimp
I made cappuchinos for AB a couple of weeks ago.
| #29 03:58pm 30/10/03 |
I was served by Elvis at Hungry Jacks in the mall once. I also saw him in a KFC down the coast once.
| #30 04:05pm 30/10/03 |
Dogmatix Man
I met Terry Pratchett and he was damn funny. Too true. He's a great bloke, from what I could tell from the conversation that I had with him. |
| #31 04:12pm 30/10/03 |
neimad
I went to Marist Ashgrove so I'd see people that went on to be famous - like the aforementioned Matt Hayden, John Eales. Did athletics with Dan Herbert who was a year ahead of me but was the same age.
Was on the student newspaper at uni and interviewed HG Nelson for the 1992 Festival of the Boot. Terrible interview because I'd ask a question and he'd go on and make me laugh for the next half hour. Joined the ALP back then too which means you meet just about every politician around. A highlight was meeting Paul Keating when he was PM, met Kim Beazley, Simon Crean, Neville Wran, Barry Jones, Martin Ferguson plus others. One of my friends is now the President of the NSW Council for Civil Liberties, Cameron Murphy - he's on TV all the time for a comment about invasion of privacy or human rights issues. |
| #32 04:30pm 30/10/03 |
Cliff Besley. fukn over achiever :) (not serious btw.)
On the dominos ad now too i see. |
| #33 04:31pm 30/10/03 |
I've had the odd brief run-in with celebs in the past - mum and I had a good chat with Michael Hancock one day a few years back when he was "signing autographs" at the car yard near our house... I put that in quotes because it seemed like we were the only people who'd gone there to see him all day! :) (not saying anything against Mick, he seemed like a good enough guy, but I'd say no-one knew he was going to be there.)
I'm the kind of person that if I see a celeb in their day-to-day life I'll think to myself "wow look - it's {insert celeb's name here}" and just get on with my life and leave them in peace. (off the sporting field/music stage/movie set/etc they're still just regular people - I got a slight death stare from Tony Carrol when I spotted him at Toombul a few years back... it was like he wanted to say "Yeah, so you've recognised me - f*** off and let me finish my shopping") But as for famous relatives... my dad was one of the top Australian archers for a few years when I was a kid... he beat the Australian team at the SGIO Games in '81 (warm up for the '82 Commonwealth Games) Oh, and there's also my second cousin, who writes Swamp :P |
| #34 10:58pm 30/10/03 |
ladidgee
Im mates with scott-e and trent from one dollar short
| #35 11:01pm 30/10/03 |
Grosby
We nearly ran over Tallis the other night :D and he looked at me :P
I used ot be a Taxiride Groupie, they knew me quite well and once asked me if I had any pot. :P other than that, no 'accidental' meetings or anything. Although I have met a few famous peoples. |
| #36 11:09pm 30/10/03 |
Grosby
OOOOOOOOOOOH and I had to call up a certain sportsman because he'd forgotton to pick his son up from school.
Not saying who or where or when or how. :P |
| #37 11:12pm 30/10/03 |
ladidgee
OOOOOOOOOOOH and I had to call up a certain sportsman because he'd forgotton to pick his son up from school. Good story, could have used a vampire |
| #38 11:14pm 30/10/03 |
Grosby
hah
I can get fired by even hinting who or where. But it was quite funny, I had his name on the page in front of me and when I called him I'm like "Hi Mr _____.. blah blah" and then hung up and went "Oh he's got the same name... omg omg omg omg omg" bwahaha :P also vampires. and dongs. |
| #39 11:17pm 30/10/03 |
I had a few drinks with taxi ride in ayres rock. ( jas also wanted to smoke weed in his hotel room) iv also met Billy idol Chod Kroger Goo Goo dolls Jimeon John mayor jamie dunn vin deasil thats about it I think. |
| #40 11:25pm 30/10/03 |
Grosby
Eds - Yup it was Jase who asked if I had teh pot :P
| #41 11:28pm 30/10/03 |
hehehe, grosby, that does not surprise me. He is a awesome bloke to drink with :P
Grosby, have you ever met cam? there lighting guy? iv never seen anyone get drunk so fast :P |
| #42 11:30pm 30/10/03 |
Grosby
Nah, i was only 17 at the time so not allowed to drink with 'em :/
As said, I was a little groupie :) they loved me tho' :D |
| #43 11:36pm 30/10/03 |
Grunt
my sisters brothers aunties mothers great grandfathers next door neighbours brothers cats donkey knows the pope
| #44 11:59pm 30/10/03 |
nf
A mate of mine is the nephew of Rolf Harris.
And, i met Hemerage at a ball once. |
| #45 12:03am 31/10/03 |
aer
did he try and hug you
| #46 12:05am 31/10/03 |
we met some news guy when he came to my primary school years ago, I think it was frank warrick (sp?).
ineffable is the MAN, check out him hangin with his mates. http://www4.tpg.com.au/neff/me_and_the_lads-fixed.jpg |
| #47 12:08am 31/10/03 |
aer
hi whoop
| #48 12:10am 31/10/03 |
nf
I also worked past Tony Johnston (the weather guy on channel 7) at the Lord Mayor's Christmas Carols last year.
| #49 12:14am 31/10/03 |
Grosby
Phwoar.. Neff, can you hook me up with some of your makes :D that one of the right is a hottie :D
| #50 12:16am 31/10/03 |
nf
I would, but I haven't spoken to him in a while. Been real busy with something or other.
| #51 12:20am 31/10/03 |
Grosby
aah..
well, does he have any sons ;) |
| #52 12:21am 31/10/03 |
Grunt
i've met a guy with a spoot addiction
a guy with an eyebrow ring and deflated lung a guy with a hat and a torana and evis |
| #53 12:27am 31/10/03 |
taxiride |
| #54 08:30am 31/10/03 |
You can all come visit me anytime :P
| #55 09:43am 31/10/03 |
smoked bongs with frenzal rhomb and strung out, as I helped set up the gig.
Michael Winslow(guy from police acdemy and space balls sound effect guy) Sat in the Bronos Corprate box with bruno alfie and some other guys, dad used to play with them so he got seats for my 21st :) also had drinks and dinner at the club afterwards. my cousins was a mate of dougie the druggo boy, i mean pizza boy(he users like a hand full of gel for his hair) it heaps when you dad knows almost everyone, he cant walk down a street without not knowing somoene, its strange. |
| #56 10:54am 31/10/03 |
Brain
Latest meet was Chris Taylor from CNNN. Good bloke that one. Rode the escalator at Central with Wendal Sailor. Scared he'd squish me. @:-D Met all but Jason of Frenzal Rhomb. Lindsay's such a ladies maen. Come to think of it, I met Phil from Grinspoon at that same Frenzal gig.
| #57 03:50pm 31/10/03 |
one of the frenzal rhomb dude's mum kissed me on da cheek.
and i see Tony Johnson all the time he lives up the road. |
| #58 09:16am 01/11/03 |
FuKNuKle
a night with john bowe and brad jones in a harvey norman corprate box(not pictured) im the guy with the fro :D
free food and booze all night, we spent the night in the closed box behind us, i ended up telling bowe all about my gearbox trouble i was having at the time, with my holden commodore VH. lol awesum night. http://www.users.bigpond.net.au/fuknukle/pics/stuff/Waitangidayguests.JPG bowe on the left obveously, the blond chick is Yvette(ozemail rep) she lives in my apartment building, fella beside me is tim, hes a full ledgend, the chick im looking at is a proprietor for harvey norman in NZ/also my auntie. other fellas not in photo |
| #59 12:23pm 01/11/03 |
| #59 |