Grunt
[whinge]
My birthdays for the last three years have been nothing but.. gay.. depressing.. i get lots of stuff of my old man.. almost never anything off my mum... maybe a phone call from my aunty and nanna.. and that's about it.. but i bet you're saying .. it's not about the presents.. and you're right.. it's not.. but no one really seems to give a f*** anymore.. is it because i'm getting older?.. hopefully this year will be better because my old man is coming up from NSW.. but i can't imagine it will be because he's bringing his girlfriend.. and the last 2 to 3 years has just become about the presents for me.. and.. it doesn't make me happy.. [/whinge] SO how do you celebrate your birthday.. and what presents have you gotten over the past year or so.. |
| #0 10:10pm 29/07/03 |
Sancho
i got a punch or a kick from all my cousins and brothers.....now thats love
| #1 10:10pm 29/07/03 |
Gregory
get a birthday cake usually nice cold rock one.. get to pick a dinner for me night. get some pressies family comes over have a few rums. play some darts and what not bit of a yahm. yeah mine are pritty sweet
| #2 10:12pm 29/07/03 |
Grunt
my family are farely spread out.... we all used to be together.. my immediate-ISH.. family.. my aunty,uncle there three kids.. my nan pop.. me and dad.. twas good then.. now my aunty's gone to mackay and my dad's in nsw.. :|
| #3 10:15pm 29/07/03 |
Birthday dinner; Mum, Dad, Grandma and Siblings.
Presents from relies stoped at 18 (21st is an exception) and the ones from the fam are usually what I tell them I want :) Then I get drunk with friends. Mine are usually pretty good. :) |
| #4 10:16pm 29/07/03 |
Gavmo
I try and avoid letting people know my birthday, most of the time it passes by without any trouble. Parents both get me stuff, even when I say I dont want anything. I live with my dad so normally its nothing big here.
I dont like people giving me stuff for my birthday/christmas, but the following conversation happens too much. person: So what do you want for your birthday? me: nothing, I want absolutely nothing person: so what do you really want? me: NOTHING! person: haha, Ill get you something. me: f***in..... |
| #5 10:20pm 29/07/03 |
Grunt
this'll make me sound like a sissy boy.. but i actually just want to see my dad and even better my whole family i said before for my birthday.. but with my dad's g/f i can't spend anytime with just me and him :(
| #6 10:21pm 29/07/03 |
It was my birthday on saturday (18 go me w00t)
Same kinda deal as Gavmo, tell people I want nothing, dont' want to do anything they STILL try to make a big deal about it. ended up sitting here. this chair is sweet. |
| #7 10:22pm 29/07/03 |
tox
is it leather?
| #8 10:25pm 29/07/03 |
Excruci@ting
but i bet you're saying .. it's not about the presents.. and you're right.. it's not Bulls***! Give me presents and money! Usually I just get a couple of mates over, maybe go out for dinner or something. Thats about it |
| #9 10:28pm 29/07/03 |
my 18th is in about two weeks, I got a vacation to here for a week..
| #10 10:28pm 29/07/03 |
that place didn't say where you were going?
i'm looking at going to holiday in a while, i'll find my "where should i go on holiday" thread http://qgl.ausforums.com/index.php/439207?agn=thread&id=1764649 (feel free to bump with quality info ^_^) |
| #11 10:30pm 29/07/03 |
Sancho
sif youd get leather.........pleather all the way
he he he |
| #12 10:32pm 29/07/03 |
"Great Keppel Island"
| #13 10:37pm 29/07/03 |
cakes and pies
music and dance |
| #14 10:41pm 29/07/03 |
Large fires, small babies, 2 strokes & rotaries
| #15 10:44pm 29/07/03 |
Grunt, tell your old man to f*** off with the presents and spend some quality time with you, without his GF. Say it in a nicer way of course :D
OR, tell him to bring on the presents, dump the gf at a venue of her choice for the day, then spend some quality time with you. The main thing is, just tell him you would rather quality 1 on 1 time then a few pressies and a happy b'day. EDIT: or yer forgot the question: My father and mother ring me and my 2 sisters usually do. I dont mind if they dont because I WILL forget when they have theirs (every year I'm told, every year I forget), but I always call up once I've been reminded that they have a birthday. Sometimes I'm alerted that the normal day is in fact my birthday by my oldies ringing up (happend twice in my life so far). I was speaking to my mother a few months back .. 'Hi mum' 'hi' 'blah, blah' 'blah, blah' 'Bye mum' 'Did you forget something?' ... ... 'o s***, happy birthday!' They are used to it. |
| #16 10:54pm 29/07/03 |
b00n
presents, money, go up to pub and get a meal and then play the pokies with parents money
| #17 10:54pm 29/07/03 |
CSIRAC
whatever i get during the year is considered my Bday pressie :/ some years its good some years its, meh. id un really mind, cant ask for too much from parents. :)
| #18 11:28pm 29/07/03 |
Personally I find it a blessing when relatives don't call!
Don't get me wrong, I get along with my relatives etc. when visiting. But I HATE... absolutely HATE 'birthday' phone-calls. |
| #19 11:32pm 29/07/03 |
Splat
do they sing happy birthday?
i had to sit there and listen.. bastads |
| #20 11:35pm 29/07/03 |
i dont talk to my family much, they live about 700 kms west
i live pretty much on my own, so a birthday means maybe 50 bucks in my account from the parents, i use some of that to buy a sixpack and sit in front of the computer the end =P |
| #21 11:40pm 29/07/03 |
I don't celebrate my b/day at all anymore. I get maybe a card or two from friends/family.
| #22 01:35am 30/07/03 |
sphox
I reallly havent done anything for last few either
Typically go out to tea with family though Dont ask for any presents Hate the phone calls .. so awkward :) I didnt get to go out for my 18th either, sux, had a tiny lil surgery (2cm cut :D) on my face, sux. what did i just say.... :/ |
| #23 12:33pm 30/07/03 |
clips
we get pizza and a carton of beer/bourbon and drink
| #24 12:36pm 30/07/03 |
Kathleen
For my 15th birthday I got a glass pasta jar. Oh yes, I can feel the love.
I try to stay away from family, but they seem to want all the dinners and songs for their benifit and don't seem to care what I want |
| #25 12:38pm 30/07/03 |
C0deBasher
My wife organises some family "do" with the in-laws of which I'm forced to attend.
Oh! and she then lets me buy something :D In 2002 it was a GF TI-4400... woohoo |
| #26 12:41pm 30/07/03 |
tn~
my family don't really care that much abotu b'days
| #27 01:00pm 30/07/03 |
neither does mine;
i fricken hate wasting money buying presents for people; im quite happy not to receive as well; we dont do xmas either; |
| #28 01:13pm 30/07/03 |
PurpleEva
One particularly memorable brithday, for all the wrong reasons was my 15th, when the parents decided it would be a great idea to blindfold me, chuck me into the car, drive me to the cinema taking a really roundabout route to try and get me lost (I managed to keep up about 3/4 of the way) and then declare that we were going to watch 10 Things I Hate About You.
I suggest you don't do the above for your birthday. Seriously :) |
| #29 01:14pm 30/07/03 |
after 21 Birthdays mean squat :)
| #30 01:17pm 30/07/03 |
sphox
Except that your getting OLD!
| #31 01:18pm 30/07/03 |
I don't really celebrate my birthday at all. I haven't really had any desire to celebrate my birthday since I was like 10 or something. A few phone calls, some socks a jumper here or there and maybe a few $$$'s thrown at me and that's it. |
| #32 03:16pm 30/07/03 |
Pluck Me Dead
I stopped celebrating having offical birthdays when i was around 14 or somethin and so did the rest of the family. These days I see it as getting some extra cash on that day from my mum and thats it. Once your past 18 birthdays are just not the same anymore. For me it never was and never will be.
Why would you wanna celebrate drifting away from your years of shamless irresponsibility, over-confidence and arrogance to reliability, consistency and humblness ? It really just doesnt make sense... |
| #33 03:21pm 30/07/03 |
Parag0n
My Birthdays are caining at the moment :p
Usually its Invite around 6~ or so mates from school, go do something, last time we went to skirmish, it was pretty fun, gave us a fair few bruises/welts as well :p Then they go home, after that have dinner where i want, then Rellies come over, usually the Grandparents :) Thats about it. Last Birthday i got my LCD :] |
| #34 03:32pm 30/07/03 |
17th bday went to the motocross with some buds, heaps of fun!
18th, went out to dinner to a restaurant with family and friends and had a piss up afterwards. 19th, BBQ and beer on my back deck with a bunch of friends. |
| #35 03:42pm 30/07/03 |
Pluck Me Dead
where did you go skirmishing paragon ? if you went to the one at the gold coast then you got ripped just like we did :P
| #36 04:11pm 30/07/03 |
Mum and dad bought me a stone bros racing t shirt and a Russell ingal t shirt ( the end ) birthdays suck the more u have the worse they get
| #37 04:15pm 30/07/03 |
Grunt
yeah sucks that i don't like birthdays..
and toll man.. i don't see my dad much at all and we're like best mates.. so when i see him i ask if we can do something just me and him and he gives me the whole.. i've looked after you for 16 years why can't you be happy for me.. and i am happy for him..but she gets to see him all day everyday.. and i never get to see him.. f***off g/f please.. kthanks :P my plan was to go sit in the park where my ex and i used to go all the time by myself with a discman and catch some sun.. but now i'm thinking having some of my closer mates over like parg0n said.. bout 6 people.. get absoulute paralysed.. and drown my sorrows.. |
| #38 06:33pm 30/07/03 |
sphox
get absoulute paralysed.. and drown my sorrows..Retarded idea You havent got it that bad ya pussy |
| #39 06:34pm 30/07/03 |
Grunt
dude you wouldn't know.. completely different subject from my dad.. my ex.. who i was with for 8months has the same birthday as me.. and we've planned to have a joint party all year.. and she broke up with me recently..and on top of that she's treated me like absoulute f***ing s***.. so need to get over it :)
| #40 06:37pm 30/07/03 |
sphox
Yes, and drinking will help that ... d*******
| #41 06:39pm 30/07/03 |
Grunt
nar it won't help it... but spending time with my mates and having a good time will take my mind off it.. d*******
| #42 06:46pm 30/07/03 |
Gavmo
sphox: Drinking doesnt help, everyone knows that. But its a great distraction
| #43 07:01pm 30/07/03 |
Grunt
thankyou.. it is indeed..
| #44 07:12pm 30/07/03 |
alcohol is a depressant. thats probably why it doesnt help.
| #45 07:16pm 30/07/03 |
Sancho
Chug Chug Chug Chug Chug Chug |
| #46 07:21pm 30/07/03 |