I just heard it fully for the first time just then,christ I thought ours was bad.Theirs sounded like twinkle twinkle little star. :) |
| #0 08:36pm 13/07/01 |
PeaceKeeper
im watching the english patient. |
| #1 08:43pm 13/07/01 |
power
6-0 aussie aussie aussie! |
| #2 08:49pm 13/07/01 |
WWFMike
Yeah that wasnt their traditional style.. believe me it is bloody good when its done the proper way.. The traditional way is Maori first then the english, a big band supporting with a male opera type singer. Not saying that the females cant sing it, they do a great job aswell. |
| #3 09:16pm 13/07/01 |
power
16-0 |
| #4 09:20pm 13/07/01 |
StopShootingMe
Sif Stott-Destoyer doent suck some ass. (Ps id appreciate it if someone would tell me how the name is actually spelt) :) |
| #5 09:27pm 13/07/01 |
fork^
hey power put <HR> before your type some s*** here and it wont look like part of your post :D |
| #6 09:33pm 13/07/01 |
power
ta |
| #7 09:39pm 13/07/01 |
power
oooh |
| #8 09:39pm 13/07/01 |
3z
| #9 09:49pm 13/07/01 |
power
'oh say can you see dah dah dah dah dah dah, what so proudly dah dah ergh...' Krusty the Clown |
| #10 09:53pm 13/07/01 |
They've got the badass Haka thing, which is caw |
| #11 09:55pm 13/07/01 |
StopShootingMe
Yah, Haka isnt too shabby... Not meaning to demean the Aborigines, but the Maories really did do better technologically than them... Have any of you ever been to the New Zealand national Museum??? The whole thing is pretty much on the Maories, and it has this display of a fort built by them during the battles with the british... Rather impressive, log pallisades, trenchwork watchtowers, most impressive given they must've worked it up pretty near on the spot... Also i heard this thing once about a battle between brits and maories where the maories were winning coz the briots were outta ammo for thier muskets or whatever, so the Maories came over under truce, GAVE the brit soldiers some ammo(the Maories use to steal guns off the brits), ran back to thier trenches and continued the fight!! NUTTY STUFF!!!! Oh yeah, the Aborigines made this thing like a peice of wood on a rope that makes this cool sound when you spin it round above your head... |
| #12 10:06pm 13/07/01 |
Phoenix
Are you talking about the one in wellington? cos thats realy good |
| #13 10:10pm 13/07/01 |
power
and rock paintings |
| #14 10:12pm 13/07/01 |
StopShootingMe
Yah in Wellington man. Im as inclined to burn the Kiwis-at-the-drop-of-a-hat as the next person, but thats really not too bad a museum.... |
| #15 10:15pm 13/07/01 |
Phoenix
Yes a very good museum I enjoy giving the kiwis heaps of s***. Mainly because half my family come from that hole. |
| #16 10:22pm 13/07/01 |
StopShootingMe
Yah. Any s*** we give the New Zealanders is only half hearted, i give the same to ppl from the NT and Tasmania... |
| #17 10:24pm 13/07/01 |
Phoenix
Lay off the NT people or at least the people from Alice springs! i.e. ME! |
| #18 10:26pm 13/07/01 |
all anthems am ghey :P |
| #19 10:50pm 13/07/01 |
StopShootingMe
Why does everyone have 'Brisbane, QLD' in thier profiles if thier not?? :) |
| #20 10:55pm 13/07/01 |
power
all over 28-10 Australia OWNZ NZ...hehe |
| #21 10:55pm 13/07/01 |
power
i'm from brisbane qld, which brisbane are you from? |
| #22 10:56pm 13/07/01 |
well i live on a farm that has 1460 acres.... |
| #23 10:59pm 13/07/01 |
To honest i like the NZ haka it realy drums up the nationalist in every KIWI which I think is great. The Yank anthem is another good one it realy says something about the pride they have in themselv'es which I'm sure we all know about. Our national anthem I feel should be a cross between "And the band played waltzing Matilda" and that other one"We are one" I think thats what it's called. The one we have now I feel says sweet f*** all about us as a people,nothing about our proud past nothing about our native people and nothing about our multi cultural status today. I doubt that any of you have missed the Brits and there sing alongs at the footy and i gotta say that no matter the tune you know they are proud,thats what we need.Something that gets us on our feet with our hands on our hearts and I'm sorry but Advace Australia Fair just doesn't do it for me. |
| #24 03:18am 14/07/01 |
they should just do that haka for their anthem that would own |
| #25 09:32am 14/07/01 |
Phoenix
I live here bu im from NT |
| #26 09:41am 14/07/01 |
StopShootingMe
Lets just steal the haka already. Footy match. we do the haka, they look on stupefied and go like, NZ- "Oi! Yiz c*** do thut, mite!!!!?" AUS- "Why not!?" (pretending to be genuinely puzzled) NZ- "Coz its ours!" AUS- "No its not." NZ- "Yes it uz!!!!" AUS- "Riiiiggghhhhtttt...." :) Theyll get use to it, and the world'll believe us over NZ anyday... |
| #27 09:43am 14/07/01 |
Phoenix
rofl |
| #28 09:44am 14/07/01 |
XeK
gg australia, must say you guys out played us, congratulations. next qgl i do haka for every1 :P |
| #29 03:41pm 14/07/01 |
power
lol@SSM!!! |
| #30 04:07pm 14/07/01 |
XeK you might scare away all the kiddies mate. :) |
| #31 06:16pm 14/07/01 |
Phoenix
I want to go to QGL now just to see some idiot doing the haka :P But other LANs seem to come up on the same weekend as QGL |
| #32 06:59pm 14/07/01 |
which brisbane are you from? theres a brisbane in california :) |
| #33 07:08pm 14/07/01 |
Phoenix
* N U K E D * By Phoenix |
| #34 07:12pm 14/07/01 |
power
| #35 08:20pm 14/07/01 |
StopShootingMe
OK, checked the site- they copied off us, were older hence they suck. |
| #36 08:23pm 14/07/01 |
power
still creepy though |
| #37 08:29pm 14/07/01 |
Outklast
After tonights Lions game, a large group of the boys and I had a few beers at the Gove SLSA. Many/most of these boys are Welsh, Irish, Poms and Kiwis. Anyways after a few beers and the rugby heads stirred these old bastards went around the room and each person sparked up their countrys rugby song. The Welsh - Bread of Heaven, Irish - Call of Ireland, Poms - Swing Low Sweet Chariot, Aussies - Waltzing Matilda and Advance Aust., Kiwis - Haka and God defend NZ and we decided to sing Flower of Scotland coz the bastards played. By far the best was Bread of Heaven, Flower of Scotland and the two kiwi tunes, A large group of ppl singing God defend NZ is actually quite good, Australia has nothing. We can learn a lot from the Brits in this department. All said and done - We won a great match in the greatest code of football. |
| #38 02:56am 15/07/01 |
Yeah I have to agree the poms,scots,welsh and irish realy get into it we could take leaf out of there book. But Aussie rules is the best code of footy even though I like Union. |
| #39 11:24am 15/07/01 |
my old school (st peters lutheran college) uses the Haka as one of its warcries :) we have a strong relation with PNG, so we have heaps of students from there come to the school. Its amazing hearing 50 big PNG guys doing the haka to a bunch of marist girls :) Although a couple of New Guinean songs would be good (i was born there and lived ther for a while) they have some things that could really rile a crowd up Tung |
| #40 04:38pm 15/07/01 |
| #40 |