Topic: what car should i buy?
DigitaL
i just got my licence and now im on the market for a car! but i dont know which one. so heres the deal:

no 4cyc cars
no hatchbacks
no fords
no holdens
no V8s
no older than 1994
and has to be under $15,000

wat shold i get?
supreme
import a ricey car from japan ude easly be able to get a sweet ride for 15k
Grosby
I hear that pluck me dead has one on the market..
sheep_pimp
perhaps a rotary?
Buy whatever car you want, not what someone else likes. Just keep in mind all the insurance costs of a nice car, especially for a new driver.
Well your obviously looking at a 6cyc Jap car judging by your list.

Magna or Camry or if your after something a little more sporty maybe MX-6.

You've basically ruled out 90% of vehicles in your list.
phat_splif
where did u get $15,000 rowan??

u betta not ave stole it !!or ill hit u!ya poof

DigitaL
who r u
get a kia sportage..
they rule.
exoiieee
Get a ((((((((((((((((((((((((suprazzzz))))))))))))))))))))))))))
haha good call
Edit: sorry didn't see the no fords, maybe you should just say no cars. you're pretty limited there.
sLinKy
You could almost buy a new Daihatsu Sirion 3-cyl for that price :P
get a bike. the license takes 2 days and $380 and you walk away witha license(if you can ride)

they smaller and easy to store, and also quick. dont get a trail bike, just get a road bike. like a r6 yamaha :D

or for $15,000 you could get a new toyota camry or maybe even a lancer :/ just wait till after july to get a car, because they will drop all the prices for old stock clearnaces, and you will get a better deal. plus more cars will come out by then, like the new astra turbo.
no 4cyc cars
no hatchbacks
no fords
no holdens
no V8s
no older than 1994

so you want a recent japanese or european 6 cyl?

get a phat camry
theres nothing phat about a camry
funky
the new astra turbo is out and its like 38k , bit outta his price range
and it's a 4cyclinder.

I have a V6 Camry. I give them the thumbs up.
fat
new astra is s*** - anything astra, vectra or anything like that is pretty crappy - you could spent that 30 000 or so better elsewhere.

seriously if youve got like 15 000 to spend you could go a car like maxe's phwoar what a mean machine ive seen it on the northside haha.

but if its only a first car you can get heaps of things - but also by saying no holdens no fords your cutting your options down by like half.

but also it depends on if you want to work up a project car or something like that - you could build up a vh sle commodore easily - not hard...

just depends what your into - youll be disappointed with a camry or something i reckon.
Slabz
turbo r33 skyline?

have a looksee @ http://www.carpoint.com.au

CodeBasher
no 4cyc cars
no hatchbacks
no fords
no holdens
no V8s
no older than 1994

Geez, whats left?

Oh I get it. you be wanting a SEDGWAY!
defiieee
rx7 series 4 with series 5 lights etc.. mmmmmmm
DeFCoN
well what type of car you lookin at buying, economic, sports, utility?

- if its your first car, i'd stick with economic
fat
economic smechonomic.... asif it matters - as long as its not gutless - i reckon there is nothign worse than seeing a guy who is driving an excel, charade, sirion etc!!
You dont leave much choice. So you want a 6cyl, turbo? NA? You just got your license by the sounds of it your not going to have it very long :P I'll suggest a v6 Magna, or a jap import, for 15 grand you can get an auto skyline. Or a 300zx which is a v6, TT or NA.
R32 skyline turbo (or non, what ever)

inline 6 cylinder 2.0l

5/6 speed manual and 3/4 speed auto
easily find one for $15k~
economic smechonomic.... asif it matters - as long as its not gutless - i reckon there is nothign worse than seeing a guy who is driving an excel, charade, sirion etc!!

Hey! I drive a Swift (the Camry is our other car) 1l 3cyc of pure grunt :P

It was given to us so I'm not complaining.
DeFCoN
i drive a charade D:

*runs off in tears*

but hey, $20 worth of fuel will get me going 2 weeks depending on how im driving :)
I drive a 2.0l turbo starion (4 cylinder) and I get 600k's to a tank, 500 if I boost everywhere
If it's your first car get something cheap to run and reliable.

Cars cost alot of money to keep on the road especially if your not used to having that expense. The last thing you want is high running and insurance costs.
nissan maxima or a skyline.

you're limiting your options pretty hardcore though.

4cyl cars arent all bad...just got me a bmw 318i :D
get a foolysick.xxx crx bro!

or a sprinter!
why not 4 cyl ? you could get a f***ing awesome 180sx for 15 000 grand

i would get an r32 gts-t 2.5l turbo

an r33 is possible for 15 000 grand, but they are all usually aroun 16 000 or 17 000

if you can find a nice r33 go for it though
phat_splif
test

come again?
=\
maybe you should stick to posting pics of GTR's and saying how they are the best cars ect ect........
Plecostomus
i would buy a mitsubishi FTO personnally. These cars are the best combination of performance, handling, size, efficiency and looks. 6 cyl NA. They usually cost $15-20k tho.

Thats gonna be my next car! :D
wanna buy a pink one?

/me looks over shoulder.
exoiieee
15 000 grand

15,000,000? That's a lot of cash!

umm they are 2.0L :)
Gregory
man for yah first car u wont something that u can insure in ur name. cheap on petto and low running costs. new 4 cyclinders go well not like the old ones. wait till u are older to buy a r33 or something.
Gregory

umm they are 2.0L :)

nah sorry buddy pritty sure they didnt put 2lt in the skylines only in the 180 and silvia.
EvisceratoR
obviously u are a no-nothing tard then gregory
hehe all the cluey people come to this board :D

Gregory.. do some reasearch dude ;)
Pluck Me Dead
I hear that pluck me dead has one on the market

Grosby lemme alone =(

Edit: By the way get a Honda Prulude or however its spelt.

Seeeek Myght Seeeeeek... SUBWOOOOOFFAA

So in essence you're looking for your second car... I'd suggest a toyota carolla, cause god knows once you write off your skyline, you won't want to drive anything that exxie again...
Dopefis
http://ist-socrates.berkeley.edu/~groch/Images/Cars/IH.Metro.s_small.jpg
tox
daihtsu 2L
in about 10 hours im picking up an 87 soarer turbo.

its in awesome condition, 6 cyl 3l turbo, with exhaust, intercooler and more, paying just under 7.5k and it drives so nicely.

people saying they want cars newer than 94 really restrict buying decent cars, because some of the older ones are extremely hardy and judging by your limitations you wont find anything better than a magna or a camry for that price range sorry.

mmmmmm.
I give tung 2 weeks before he crashes it.

^_^
Swiss_Cheeseman
wow really it has an exhaust?

^ me
thanks for clearing that up
mmmmmm.
I give tung 2 hours before he picks m e upf ror sechs.
Jigster/Jester
http://www.auto.vl.ru/gtclub/pictures/wallpapers/lancer.jpg
yummy!! i'd give it a dolla fiddy!
Bargain Child
Bedford Van.
shrapse
that car is a plastic model
no 4cyc cars
no hatchbacks
no fords
no holdens
no V8s
no older than 1994
no plastic models
nah sorry buddy pritty sure they didnt put 2lt in the skylines only in the 180 and silvia.

teheee

car noobs r funnay
kekeke my mums is a v4 roffle
Gregory
teheee

car noobs r funnay

hmm i wonder what gave it away seems they have an Rb25det in them
So you're saying the R32 has a RB25DET standard?

this also goes for HR30 and 31.
Gregory
So you're saying the R32 has a RB25DET standard

I am saying that yes they have rb2g engines in them some arnt DET some DE cause they aint turbo. i know skylines dont have 2lt engines in them stock

that's not what u said there =\
Gregory
nah sorry buddy pritty sure they didnt put 2lt in the skylines only in the 180 and silvia

sorry dude missed that what i ment was r 32 = rb25 de/det
180sx = sr20 de/det
r32 = rb20

mate has a r32 with A RB26...

can't get better than that..

it's a gts-4, it's basicially a gtr now.

ahh haaa.....

so now R32's have RB25DE/T ? (gts, gts-t)

o_O
get a motorbike.

why pay 15k for a first car? You know ur gonna total it by racing it if it's stylie and 6 cylinders with some grunt. Pay $200 get an old peice of s*** and thrash the f*** out of it. THat's what I did. First car was a gemini and I hammerd that f***er into the ground, cracked the head on it, just slapped a new one on more oil & water and it was right to drive again. It took a hell of a beating. I know I wouldn't be wanting to crack the head on a 15k car.

seriously, wtf could you buy for $15k with 6 cyl, eur/jap? heh, you didn't say no 2 cylinder cars, get a niki rofl.
Cailean
Get a little two fiddy cock rocket.
yer, im a big believer that your first car should be s***
(dont matter so much then if u prang it)

my first car was a 79 honda civic, me and the missus bought for $2200
everything on it broke down (and i mean EVERYTHING) and the doors used to fly open going around corners (door locks were busted)
but i loved it as much as i love my skyline now (at the time, obviously the skyline beats it at everything)

if u go buy a real flash first car it hurts all the more when u prang it (and yor more likely to prang it if u get something that goes)

/* looks at redhat with his slightly bent 180
samwise123
get a nice old val or some thin bout 7000 for a good one looks nice pulls chicks and for that price have a bitta grunt good for a first car, my friend has got a nice val for sale 4 800 even that would be sweet but 15 000 could get you a very nice old car.... :)
swat0r
You should get a charade like deffy and I. They're only 3 cylinder and you didn't say no to that:)

Then you can save your $ til you turn 25 and get a nice sportscar when insurance doesn't cost a fortune.