Whoo hoo...just been offered a spot on the beta testing program.
sweeet. any other testers here? |
| #0 10:38am 26/03/03 |
[Q]
Bastard. I wish...
| #1 11:14am 26/03/03 |
Signed up my NDA...downloading it now.
shwiiing! :) [Q] go to their home page and sign up, I reckon they might need Aussie testers for their servers. They have a dedicated mirror for the files so it looks like they are allocating a few spots to down under. |
| #2 11:18am 26/03/03 |
This is going to be fun....if you don't hear from me for a while its because I'm lost in space!
:) |
| #3 03:48pm 26/03/03 |
I signed up ages ago and still haven't been accepted =\
| #4 03:49pm 26/03/03 |
How bigs the download?
Be a tad hefty id think I never got into Wc3 Frozen Throne beta :( |
| #5 03:49pm 26/03/03 |
I never got into Wc3 Frozen Throne beta :(HAHA me and my bro did :P |
| #6 04:26pm 26/03/03 |
legitimately
| #7 04:28pm 26/03/03 |
Current build is over 400 meg.
Khel, I was surprised I got such a quick reply I only signed up like last weeek. I dunno if it helped but having been on the Croteam Internal test list for Serious Sam might have helped. I dunno why the offered me a spot but I'm happy they did. |
| #8 04:41pm 26/03/03 |
I might sign up again in case my app got lost in some dark cyber-limbo.
| #9 08:38pm 26/03/03 |
swat0r
GODDAMIT f*** YOU!
I signed up like a year ago and still not accepeted and now you just trot in a week ago and they let you in ARGH!!!!!!!!!!!!! |
| #10 08:56pm 26/03/03 |
I've been playing in the universe for a few hours already..
just to rub it in... :) |
| #11 08:58pm 26/03/03 |
[Q]
Ive signed up as well. Bastard again :( (I didnt get accepted yet)
| #12 09:13pm 26/03/03 |
Morax
Bah, my flatmate just got an email saying he was invited into beta too.. I want one :(
| #13 10:01am 01/04/03 |
[Q]
yep. Same here jsut got one then. And the funny thing is, its with a new beta sign up I did. My old one was from a year'ish ago. New one this week and bang. ah well, least I am in.
Morax, have you heard of any trouble activating account with your friend? I am having trouble with server, maybe alot of accepts today and load on their server is high? |
| #14 10:51am 01/04/03 |
Morax
Not sure Q, he's at work atm.. I'm trying to sign up with a new account now :P
| #15 11:02am 01/04/03 |
[Q] I have been on most of the morning and it was fine till about an hour ago...then it started to get very laggy. No one on there can do any market trading at the mo due to the lag...I was way way WAY out in some remote area and it took me a s***load of jumps to get back into space with a decent security rating. I am licking my wounds at the moment as I was set upon by some bloody pirates when I was mining...the pricks.
As for logging on, never had a problem yet...but the lag today might be making it hard for some. R u playing under the name Q? let me know and I'll search for you when Im on again..I used my original tag but the server seemed to rename me to 'Psycho2'...Im in the Saisio sytem at the moment in a station training up a skill. sleeping kinda... |
| #16 12:16pm 01/04/03 |
[Q]
I cant even finish the acceptance psycho...
What happens is, I got the e-mail. I went to my profile and a light was on next to the invited to beta link. I clicked the link and it goes to a page with the agreements etc that I needed to accept. Accepted all those then clicked the next button. It starts going through a sort activation and it says its contacting their game database or some such s***. Then it errors out and says cannot reach etc etc Account Activation So here I am trying to get past the activation phase. Im gonna try doing it from somewhere that isnt behind a firewall just in case. Well see how that goes :P |
| #17 02:31pm 01/04/03 |
[Q]
I e-mailed EVE support and they have said that their server for it is down or some such. They reckon it will be fixed soon...
| #18 04:56pm 01/04/03 |
cool...polish up that mining laser...you're going to use it a LOT.
:) It will be interesting to hear your thoughts... |
| #19 05:00pm 01/04/03 |
[Q]
yeah, ive been watching a mate play for a couple days now... ;) Ive seen the mining laser in action :D
| #20 05:23pm 01/04/03 |
swat0r
OMG OMG OMG I GOT INVITED TO TEH BETA!!!!!!!!!!!
| #21 06:15pm 01/04/03 |
about time Swator...
| #22 08:43pm 01/04/03 |
swat0r
I cant get on tho:(
I been waiting the last few hours but I still cant activate my account: Account Activation Activating account -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Connecting to EVE cluster ... Error: Destination server was unable to connect to game database, please try again in an hour. -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Your account was not successfully activated on all servers. You can activate your acount at any time from your profile, please try again in a few moments. -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- We appreciate you interest and look forward to testing the game with you! The CCP Team |
| #23 09:16pm 01/04/03 |
Morax
That's what raid gets too Swat
| #24 09:41pm 01/04/03 |
swat0r
its ok, I got registered now.
Downloading teh client. |
| #25 10:48pm 01/04/03 |
[Q]
WHA! You bastard. maybe it will work for me now... yaayayayyayaa.
| #26 11:54pm 01/04/03 |
[Q]
NOOOO! You bastard. Its still down for me :( WHYYY! Hopefully it will work soon :P
| #27 11:55pm 01/04/03 |
dont forget to go to the Gemini web site with your secure access and grab the tutorials online their..u can grab the whole manual (.pdf) there also..Fuzzy posted this one on the Klamp page.
Not as good as the ones on the secure site but a pretty good guide for newbs like me ..:P |
| #28 12:33am 02/04/03 |
I can't check my email at the moment to see if I got one, but I logged onto the site and the "Invited into beta" light is still red :(
I must be the only person who hasn't been accepted or something =\ |
| #29 12:43am 02/04/03 |
[Q]
Try signing up with a new e-mail account khel... seemed to work for me :D My old one didnt get accepted, my new one did :P Go figure.
| #30 01:34am 02/04/03 |
Morax
Neither of my accounts have been yet :( The new one I made during the day yesterday.
| #31 06:40am 02/04/03 |
swat0r
They just invited a ton of ppl for phase 7, its all luck in getting picked atm.
I've made a few thou ISK's doing mining runs so far. Wondering what other things I can do. Still dont know half of how to work the game. |
| #32 08:48pm 02/04/03 |
Is there anything to do except mining? It seems everyone who has played it just talks about mining...
| #33 09:25pm 02/04/03 |
To make any ISK's you have to mine and explore...mine, mine ect...until you figure out the Market and Advanced Market and hopefully identify good trade runs ect.. I see people online and they have either discovered a really rare ore in a Asteroid belt and made a s***load or they are doing very profitable trade runs. Now be aware...from what I can glean in their conversations...some trade runs are 3 jumps others are 23! So some players are talking about buying cruisers exoensive weapons and skill abilities ect...they are like billionaires in the game. This is defineately not a game that you knock over, it looks to me something that you could spend several years of your life inside of if so inclined.
The mission system and agents are actually online at the moment so I am told but the missions do look like they will offer BIG $$ to be made. Dont forget to go to your player specs sheet and select skills to train up on..remember they take real time...I have been training to a level 5 elec skill and it taken the best part of three days. I love the interface and the game looks very nice but I am reserving final judgement until I have played it a fair bit longer. The Dev team have said that being a loner in the game is not impossible to make headway but the Corporation Life is really where the game will shine. It pretty busy now with only 2000 players on some nights...imagine what it will be like when there is 2 million. I think the universe will come to life bigtime then... any pointers I can help with the workings guys send me a mail and I'll try to help or point you to some stuff that might..there are a couple of tricks I have learnt already.... dwegner@bigpond.net.au |
| #34 07:18am 03/04/03 |
Just noticed a write up about the game over at Gamespy released today.
| #35 07:23am 03/04/03 |
2 million? Thats pretty optimistic :)
| #36 03:20pm 03/04/03 |
H@MMER
CYA online fellaz, Im downloading teh client now!!!
| #37 03:23pm 03/04/03 |
Well 100 thou then..
| #38 04:59pm 03/04/03 |
Heh, I have 3 beta accounts all under different names and email addresses and none of them got accepted :(
| #39 05:51pm 03/04/03 |
i'm still waiting also... heck, i even put in different countries just for good meausre ;)
| #40 07:39pm 03/04/03 |
Morax
I still got nothing :(
| #41 01:43pm 04/04/03 |
[Q]
khel, fish or morax which ever one of you first e-mails me at qmass@ausanime.com wins a cookie ;)
| #42 02:28pm 04/04/03 |
somehow i feel suspicious about the cookie :P
though i'm not in a sensible mood... just came back from taking too much schanpps |
| #43 04:47am 05/04/03 |
aarrrghh???????? wtf is "EVE"????
| #44 06:36am 05/04/03 |
swat0r
www.eve-online.com
go download the office tour (3rd link down on the downloads page) it will give you a good idea what its about (83mb) Its a mmo space game, with a completely player run universe with some 5000 systems (there will be npc's at the start tho). You can do anything, and you can form corporations and work together. Its also all pvsp, though systems have security levels so newbs can hide in the safe systems, tho theres bigger $ further out. Items can also be manufactured from players doing a technical trade, can develop blueprints. |
| #45 09:40am 05/04/03 |
Darius
I got in the beta test as well :D I am waiting for the email where it will tell me where I can get the client from , cant wait !
| #46 10:39am 08/04/03 |
Morax
be prepared for a LOT of mining :P
| #47 11:41am 08/04/03 |
Morax
For those who will be playing the release, or even in the beta, I'd like to start a corporation using only people from Australia, if anyone's interested lemme know :)
| #48 12:31pm 08/04/03 |
Darius
hmm how do I logon ? it keeps saying proxy not connected :/
| #49 03:35pm 08/04/03 |
swat0r
that means the server is down. Usually for updating.
| #50 05:20pm 08/04/03 |
DaFuGG
mmhmm *when* i get my link for the client morax i'll post on here..
I'd like to be playing with fellow gamers that understand what the phase "I'm not a total retard" means.. as opposed to what seems to be the "normal internet population".. :) Besides.. you wouldn't want to come up against my super zeta mega secret version heavy fighter now would you *cough* :) |
| #51 05:45pm 08/04/03 |
Morax
for which client?
| #52 07:26pm 08/04/03 |
Darius
ok after playing a little I have realised one thing
OMG IT IS TEH SCARY BIG WORLD :( ... my ship is so small and harmless and i dont know how to get better |
| #53 08:38pm 08/04/03 |
*curses* I'm still waiting to be accepted into the beta :(
| #54 08:48pm 08/04/03 |
dont do too much tonight guys...they are doing a full character wipe today during the server downtime...looks like we all get to start again.
Morax as far as a Aussie corp go check Fuzzy's corp site..seems he has a few interested already |
| #55 11:20pm 08/04/03 |
I hate you all :( I still haven't got in and apparently the game gets released in less than a month :(
| #56 12:12am 09/04/03 |
[Q]
khel I had an account spare you could have had but I gave it to morax because he was first in :) I have another that I might give away though... im still thinking about it. First come first served as always. I think I might give it to meta who is in dire need of a crack at it :D
| #57 12:59am 09/04/03 |
[Q]
This game is wrong...
Just found about a online radio station ( http://www.nenr.com ) that (once the full version is out) will be running a station which has news about in game events. eg Corporate wars, economics (market reports etc) its crazy s***. Right now some guy is talking about the merger of two corps and the ramifications. You can even get the station to run adds for your in game corp and you can be a reporter, or maket researcher all kinds of positions and you get payed in game with the in game currancy. Oh yeah, and it has music, mostly electronica. This game is so wrong, its like a whole new worl, another life, in game. I hate to see what this could do to some of those fans of games like everquest who like living in thse sorts of games... phwoar. |
| #58 01:07am 09/04/03 |
Eve The Second Addiction
| #59 02:11am 09/04/03 |
It sounds pretty gay from what I've heard people say, not overly intuitive and all you do is fly around and mine stuff...
| #60 02:30am 09/04/03 |
Morax
Khel there is a lot more to it than that... The mining is only in the beginning (well, if you're in a corp, for the first few weeks anyway) :P
You can research blueprints and start manufacturing/selling goods, then much MUCH later, make things like stargates and stations, charge rent etc.. If you're a corporate owner you can charge taxes, and also trade company shares. By release they'll have a mission system which will let you earn bucks too. |
| #61 11:25am 09/04/03 |
[Q]
I dont think anyone can say yet because its so early and people havnt had a chance to get out of that stpuid mining phase.
As far as they 'say': Your sposed to be able to run full on companies and get payed for working for them. You get blueprints to make things that other users need. Then manufacture and sell parts you make to other in game users. Full on battles could rage over diff corps areas. Almost like countries. From what you read it sounds like there is HEAPS to do. As far as I have seen so far there isnt a whole lot but thats only early in the game... |
| #62 11:27am 09/04/03 |
DaFuGG
DAMN YOU ACCEPT ME
YOUR BETA WANTS ME hmm.. this is like that scene with adamn sandler ARE YOU TOO GOOD FOR YOUR HOME!? (or is it hole?) |
| #63 11:46am 09/04/03 |
It doesn't matter how awesome it gets later if all the early stuff is so stupidly crap and boring that it turns you off the game.
Earth and Beyond was a prime example of how to make a game with awesome low level advancement. There was so much different stuff to do; quests and missions and combat and exploration and mining and all that, and the quests and stuff even served to teach you new skills and teach you how to use them, etc. I'm sick of games that put you through a pointless grind with the promise of it being really good later on. Same s***, different smell. |
| #64 12:06pm 09/04/03 |
[Q]
Same as life khel... ;) You gotta do the boring s*** to start with before you can move up.
Earth and beyond was s*** house because all it had early on was just what you said. Once youd done that enough there was nothing to move onto. There are also missions you can do early on in the game lik hunting down people and killing them etc... Its still beta and I dunno if thats been implemented yet... I havnt tried. Also, that aside, if you had a decent ship you could try collecting bounties (amazingly large amounts of money for a bounty) but I dont think people know how to find others yhet. :/ meh, its a crazy large game. Being able to put out a bounty on somone that crossed you is pretty funny too. I seriously think that at this time its too early to really say if its gonna be good or bad at the start or middle of the game. :P |
| #65 12:22pm 09/04/03 |
Morax
The missions haven't been imp'd yet, but yeah there's lots of money in it.. But to do most of the missions/bountys, you need to mine to upgrade your ship :P
| #66 12:34pm 09/04/03 |
Same as life khel... ;) You gotta do the boring s*** to start with before you can move up. Yeah, well, I dont intend to pay for yet another boring grind of a game. Maybe instead of concentrating on making such a big universe they should have concentrated on making it an interesting universe. The "oooo wow, the universe is so big" novelty will wear off quick, and if theres not a damn good, fun, strong game waiting underneath then its not going to last long. But yeah, I agree about E&B, after about level 30ish there was pretty much nothing left to do but an XP grind. Apparently its better now with more content but I dont really feel like playing it anymore. |
| #67 12:59pm 09/04/03 |
| #67 |