Rodolphe
I got fired yesterday, what a c*** eh... I was 99% certain that I was going to resign that afternoon, but I didn't know for certain if I had the new job yet - I was pretty sure I did though. Thing is though, I have no money until I start the new job. I was going to give 1 weeks notice and then start the new job, meaning there would only be a few days with no $$$.
Ah well, such is life. My new job is at IGA at Carina, nothing flash but better than what I was doing and it is during the day, none of this getting up at 1am s*** !! :D So f*** you to my old boss and yay for my new job. The end. |
| #0 08:25am 29/10/02 |
amms
guess ill see you at work as that's where i work. did you get full time grocery boy job? when do you start?
| #1 08:35am 29/10/02 |
fubar
if he fired you then you should actually get the rest of the weeks pay. it is normal for you to be payed for the rest of the week.
nad it is prolly better because you are going to go to a job you like. why get a job where you are going to speed most of your time if you don't like it. some people live to work and others work to live |
| #2 08:35am 29/10/02 |
Swiss_Cheeseman
if he fired you then you should actually get the rest of the weeks pay. it is normal for you to be payed for the rest of the week. Not if it's casual work (what work isn't?) |
| #3 08:44am 29/10/02 |
hah
yeah dirty employers, casual 17 year old "workers" is all the rage =P |
| #4 08:45am 29/10/02 |
amms
i work on the checkouts.
| #5 08:49am 29/10/02 |
Silentnite
Younger people are all the rage in the working industry and its sux. Really hard working people aged 19 upwards want work but arent get work cos of younger people
| #6 09:01am 29/10/02 |
FishWick
i had a job interview at donut king @ taigum on saturday and i got another today at woolworths at chermside. :D
| #7 09:09am 29/10/02 |
sMaRt
yea well last supermarket i used to work in i was asked to apologize or leave
i used to work in the deli of this supermarket and once a week this old fella would come in just to have a chat while i was cleaning at the end of my shift, no problems gave me something to do while i was cleaning , but apparently the boss though i cant see how wen im only cleaning, ne way he asked me to tell the fella to leave, i didnt do it, i couldnt do it he was just being polite but the stupid boss was just an arrogent bastard, so i told him now and well i had to apologize for telling him no or lose my job ive had for over 2 years, i told them to shove it up there ass. ps - dont mind the sig just dod :/ |
| #8 09:11am 29/10/02 |
Bucket
Yeh some bosses are a******s, havent really had any as ive been contracting the last couple of years (ooi the joy of having a new boss every 4 months).
Yeh cheers smart i remember when you use to hook us up some free bbq s*** :) |
| #9 09:21am 29/10/02 |
the last manager i had at target before i just didn't go back was a complete arsehole, while he was there about 15 people quit
| #10 11:25am 29/10/02 |
Toilet Duck
Really hard working people aged 19 upwards want work but arent get work cos of younger peopleExactly. |
| #11 11:30am 29/10/02 |
can't say i've every been fired
| #12 11:32am 29/10/02 |
Some bosses suck arse bigtime.
| #13 11:43am 29/10/02 |
haha i goto those IGA stores, all the teenage workers there look so unhappy
| #14 11:43am 29/10/02 |
thats cus they are Vash....i just turned 18 and f*** i hate my job.....i have pretty much no life cus they are understaffed and its like only me on weekends :(
| #15 11:50am 29/10/02 |
Scuzzy
haha i goto those IGA stores, all the teenage workers there look so unhappyhehe, im at a coles and i dont mind it at all, two years now on registers and i havent quit yet :) |
| #16 01:25pm 29/10/02 |
just keep aiming for that 10 year service badge scuzz, then its glory days. ask maxe.
question, are these part-time uni jobs, or are you all just satisfied being underacheiving drones? |
| #17 01:54pm 29/10/02 |
sorry strex we can't all work for telstra *sn****** :p
my lovely orderly job is a uni/phat lewt generator type affair.. sif i have any interest in persuing a medical realted career... Also Postbox pimpage!@# "A day in the Life of Boxhead.. you know you want to read it!@#!@# http://boxhead.ausforums.com/?agn=thread&id=925134 |
| #18 02:00pm 29/10/02 |
c0rr
drones!
| #19 02:01pm 29/10/02 |
yeah go drones, sif uni work
| #20 02:11pm 29/10/02 |
Insolence
bah if youd got the job a couple of months ago i could of helped train you there rodolphe, but i quite a while ago now so i guess you'll have to miss out. Trying to find a casual job when you're 18+ sucks, took me quite a while but ive finally found something which i dont mind doing and can accomodate my uni hours.
| #21 05:21pm 29/10/02 |
yay! another IGA brother, welcome to the fold!
| #22 06:15pm 29/10/02 |
sLinKy
Hey amms do you know Vincent and David Scuderi?
| #23 06:28pm 29/10/02 |
CaPt0
I worked at coles for just under 5 years on checkouts and i never had a problems with any of my store managers, checkotu managers is another thing but i was always right of course :)
But now working in a real job it is awesome :) i am basically my own boss ,atm installnig and exchange server, printer out 1200 pages today to do with exchange, 1000 of them are designing and planning the implementation, the other 200 are the actually implementation :( i will be busy this week. Also started to look at DMZ'ed today. They will be fun to setup :) |
| #24 06:40pm 29/10/02 |
That upsets me when ppl have attitudes like StreX (no offense dude), but i was without work for a year, with NO help from Centrelink whatsoever! So i'm glad i have ANY job atm.
I am now half way though a level 3 Retail traineeship after completing my Level 2 in 8 months. I work for a Variety Discount Store at Moorooka i'm absolutly proud of it, and i LOVE where i work. are you all just satisfied being underacheiving drones? THAT being said, what i am in now, is kinda below what i want to do for the rest of my life. Which is Studying Science at Uni majoring in Zoology. With Photography on the side. Point? Meh i dunno, felt like i had to defend myself and all the other ppl like myself who settled for jobs in retail. Nuff said. Can't rant anymore, i'm too damn tired from serving ppl all day. |
| #25 07:03pm 29/10/02 |
yeah, my job is pretty good. The only bad points are, the females(we only have good looking ones) are in the office :(, once the day time people see its 5, they stop and run home to mummy. And leave me with all the trucks to load(not tahts its a problem, just a hassle.
but then again, who wouldn't get f***ed around for earning $1200-1600 a week, for a 20 yr old. :) I was unemployed for 3 months, and it was great :) |
| #26 07:46pm 29/10/02 |
Tpyodemon
What does strex do these days?
| #27 07:49pm 29/10/02 |
.druid.
i thought strex was in the army?!?!?
| #28 08:00pm 29/10/02 |
HardKor
ah the joys of being self-employed or owning ur business =D
i know plecostomus is a computer retailer and i'm a computer technician, end of this year i can get my certificate saying i'm a registed qualified techie =D and best part is we r both only 17, so what was that about young ppl taking the jobs? =P |
| #29 08:25pm 29/10/02 |
well from what I gathered, he works at telstra looking at hot reception chicks all day. And I think he's still in the army, because he never said anything about quiting.
| #30 08:35pm 29/10/02 |
What does strex do these days? after my internet casino stint, i was an IT consultant working for telstra, then i got offered a better salary+bonuses at sarinarusso job access. i am now systems admin for their qld/nsw/vic branches and it f***en cains. company car/laptop/ubercomputer and so much freedom. i just f*** off to the gold coast or somewhere most days. the best part is the women. the company is 85% women, and there are heaps of babes. you know me, and we will leave it at that w00t! plus i do graphic/web design s*** on the side. i actually really enjoy going to work, and that is one of the best things you can hope for in a job. also, i am still in the army (part-time) - just over 4 years in the service. |
| #31 08:46pm 29/10/02 |
Get me a job in Brisbane StreX.
| #32 08:52pm 29/10/02 |
Get one yourself loogie head!
| #33 08:56pm 29/10/02 |
join the circus, slugman. |
| #34 09:24pm 29/10/02 |
AJ.
| #35 09:30pm 29/10/02 |
MikeSheahan
hey Rodolphe, i got a call from them asking me for an interview about a week ago..
i declined coz since i put my resume in there ive aquired 2 jobs. I used to work there when i was 14, ive got 2 mates who work there |
| #36 10:06pm 29/10/02 |
My stores manager handed in her resignation a few weeks ago and now an old assistant manager (who left for a different store) has been promoted to head boss at my store, and she f***en cains, awesome manager who I've always gotten along v.well with. Also I had to work when a trainee manager was being accreditted (btw I'm a lowly KFC cook whilst studying Civ Eng at UQ). and well as I susspected the trainee sucked the cawk and I ended up running most of the shift and now the District Manager (accrediting the trainee) would like me to start training for management, and its a pretty tough decision.
option 1) continue leeching $200 a fortnight + earning $150 a week working at KFC getting really s***ty at the staffy's who don't pull there weight. Whilst staying full time at Uni. option 2) Go into full time management, earning approx $35K a year to start with (if I get decent bonuses make that 40K) and do part time uni. Be able to lay down some smack on lazy c*** employee's and come out with a degree in civeng and 4 years experience in management. decisions, decisions...... |
| #37 10:09pm 29/10/02 |
I got fired about 6 weeks ago, was one of the best things that has happened to me i think.
I now work about 4- 7 days a week, which ever reall i feel, and im taking home about $600 - $1000 a week to do a job i love and work with fatastic ppl. Before that i was on a half decent wage with a phone, yet working 60 - 80 hour weeks with no overtimes, and i was stressed and depressed and on the verge of insanity, then i was let go and im happy again. |
| #38 10:18pm 29/10/02 |
Rodolphe
fade2black, go with option 2... Just make sure you actually finish uni.
Also my g/f works for head office of KFC and Sizzler in payroll... Want a payrise :p |
| #39 10:19pm 29/10/02 |
hybrid
im gunna goto IGA and take like 10000 5 cent coins :) an buy something im the sorta guy who likes 2 piss people off :P jks |
| #40 10:25pm 29/10/02 |
what moron would say no to a payrise? :D
| #41 10:28pm 29/10/02 |
hybrid
oh btw u couldnt find a small job for a lil 13 yr old could u :P i NEED MONEY!!!! e.g. stackin shelves or some small minor s*** |
| #42 10:28pm 29/10/02 |
hope my higher education gets me a job (Diploma IT System Admin) |
| #43 10:48pm 29/10/02 |
Fade to Black...200 a fortnight from Govt?? if so how?? cus im earning like 250-300 a week @ my part time job...but it kinda takes up all my time id love to be able to cut back on my house.
| #44 11:41pm 29/10/02 |
Who is your daddy, and what does he do?
| #45 12:30am 30/10/02 |
Toilet Duck
hope my higher education gets me a job (Diploma IT System Admin)Mate, I don't want to burst your bubble but you're going to find it really hard :|. My only advice is to network as much as possible with people you know at TAFE since there's not much chance in getting advertised jobs. |
| #46 01:00am 30/10/02 |
Fireblood my dad earns a poultry $30K per year (medically retired from teaching).
So I'm on youth allowance. |
| #47 01:01am 30/10/02 |
GoauldMember
My only advice is to network as much as possible with people you know at TAFE you mean like go to lans with them and s***? |
| #48 01:03am 30/10/02 |
I'm actually on like $330 a fortnight but I take out $40 for tax per fortnight and then I lose some due to the work I do at KFC, how that works, Any money earnt between $0 - $230 u lose nothing, any money between $230 - $310 u lose 50c per dollar earnt and anything above $310 u lose 70c in the dollar.
So if say I was to earn $330 in a fortnight The ammount I'd get from Centrelink is $310 (base amount) - $40 (tax) - $80x0.5 - $20x0.7 = approx $216 |
| #49 01:04am 30/10/02 |
as a result I try to avoid earning more than $310 in a fortnight cause the thought of working for like $4 an hour at KFC really s***s me to tears ( i.e 3/10 x $11.75 )
| #50 01:06am 30/10/02 |
Splash
Who is your daddy, and what does he do? HAhahahaAHAHah HAHAHAHAA! |
| #51 06:34am 30/10/02 |
Tpyodemon
you mean like go to lans with them and s***? You should read what you write aloud. Mate, I don't want to burst your bubble but you're going to find it really hard :|. My only advice is to network as much as possible with people you know at TAFE since there's not much chance in getting advertised jobs. Not to burst your bubble Hunter, but people get employed all the time for bottomfeeding positions, with little or no experiance. Why you havn't is a whole thread on its own. Other than that, networking is probably the best thing anybody can do, it is also probably one of the best reasons to go to Uni. I interact daily with people who will end up being managers, lawyers, teachers, engineers, programers, vets and doctors. If you want to get gainfull employment you have to learn more than a TAFE course is going to give you, in reality you are going to have to learn more than a Uni degree can impart. You have to learn a large cross-section of skills in your own time, make youself a attractive proposal. My advice is to get some s***ty job right now, because at least it shows you are keen and not lasy. Unlike hunter who refused to get any employment at TAFE and is probably regretting it right now (unless he loves work for the dole). At the end of the day what you want to do is make youself look on paper (and as little paper as possible) like you are amazingly talented. Don't put bulls*** on there, and don't go to 6 pages (not for one you are sending to them via the mail or email), just concise, correct information. |
| #52 11:00am 30/10/02 |
CaPt0
If you can't find work because of lack of experience do what i did and volenteer your time at a place and do some work experience 2 days a week or something similar, this way you elarn that organisations system and also gain valuable experience, and you never know if a spot opens up then there will be a job more than likely waiting for you in that organisation because they don't have to train you or teach you the system, coz you already know it.
Before i got my job here i did abotu 3 months of volentrary work. |
| #53 12:05pm 30/10/02 |
I started where i work (Krome Studios) as tester about 3yrs ago.
I met the head-honcho and asked if i could do some work experience doing 1 day a week while i was at TAFE (15yrs old) and im still there doing 1 day a week 3 yrs later :D best place to work! |
| #54 12:17pm 30/10/02 |
I'm hopefully getting work experience at one of my dad's mates wholesale\computer store, so i'll be quiting kfc, f***in c***s been giving me to much s***.
| #55 12:35pm 30/10/02 |
Toilet Duck
you mean like go to lans with them and s***?No, talk to them and become "friends" - even if you don't like them. Do favours (no not that kind you filthy mongrels) for them and stroke their ego. It's a really crappy thing to have to do but this world is no longer based on merits so you have to play the game by their rules or you will not get a job. |
| #56 01:00pm 30/10/02 |
HHEHEH :P
you say "no, not that kind you filthy mongrels" and then u tell him to "stroke their ego" :D |
| #57 01:02pm 30/10/02 |
No, talk to them and become "friends"Is that why you keep coming back here?? |
| #58 01:03pm 30/10/02 |
Tpyodemon
No, talk to them and become "friends" - even if you don't like them Most people can see right though that. Do favours (no not that kind you filthy mongrels) for them and stroke their ego People who suck up and crawl to others quite often get treated the the trash they obviously are. It's a really crappy thing to have to do but this world is no longer based on merits so you have to play the game by their rules or you will not get a job. That isn't true at all. Some people just belive that there merits are so much more important, and better than everyone elses. |
| #59 01:04pm 30/10/02 |
and now the District Manager (accrediting the trainee) would like me to start training for management, and its a pretty tough decision i worked at kfc when i was at uni, i had the same thing happen to me (district manager wanted me to into management) i can only say im soooooo happy i didnt kfc management is as s*** a job as u can get long hours, crap money, crap conditions (varies how crap depending on the store) and most times working with crap staff (again, depends on the store) i would only consider that if u really have no other options (if you are at uni, finish your degree) |
| #60 05:02pm 30/10/02 |
Tpyodemon
kfc managment is pretty crappy... but in the long run you do have practical managerial experiance.
I have a friend who was a manager at KFC for quite sometime, and then moved into the corperate machine. |
| #61 05:25pm 30/10/02 |
Mate, I don't want to burst your bubble but you're going to find it really hard :|. My only advice is to network as much as possible with people you know at TAFE since there's not much chance in getting advertised jobs.consider it burst. :/ |
| #62 05:41pm 30/10/02 |
So don't listen to what some dimwit, no hoper, f*** head says. Repair the hole, and blow the bubble back up!
| #63 07:30pm 30/10/02 |
Exocet
I'm at Target at the moment, started about two months ago. I really enjoy it. I'm on softgoods tidy, which basically means I go around putting clothes where they should be, and arranging them in order of size. It sounds like a s*** job, but it's not. It's airconditioned, I'm in menswear so it's often already tidy, and it's right next to fitting rooms.
The advantage of being next to fitting rooms is when you need more hangers or need to change the toppers (the little bits of plastic that say what size it is). Also, it means that your superviser is whoever is working in fitting rooms. The good thing about that is, that they're all really nice. I get $8.10 an hour, and about $113 a pay (fortnightly). I've already spoken to one of the managers, and I'll be getting register training over the christmas holidays. Out of all the staff there, there's none that I hate yet. |
| #64 10:45pm 30/10/02 |
Dodgymon
I think no matter where you go it is hard to find a work environment where everyone is compatable. Because people all have their strengths an weaknesses there will always be tension in the workplace.
The best thing you can do is try to get along with everyone and just do your job. Try to make your workplace fun rather than it being boring. |
| #65 01:06am 31/10/02 |
That sounds good exocet. I'd love to work in a big store and make things tidy. Nothing worse then working on the register though and serving a****** customers, ugh!
| #66 07:56am 31/10/02 |
even if you have a diploma in IT or whatever, you still have to start from the bottom, you may move up at a very rapid pace, you may no, depends on the industry and how much effort and dedication to your job you have.
I used to sweep floor and wrap cables for an AV company, next week (still going over contracts) i may OWN the company, but the key is to start at the bottom and sometimes to geta job. |
| #67 08:09am 31/10/02 |
| #67 |