Topic: Stinky's kitchen - fast slow roasted ribeye steak.
I fail at baiting
Coochie
you pretty much only cook meat and two vege.

i am unimpressed.

Same...ditch the veg.
wow u really must have lots of time on ur hands if ur taking pictures and writing essays to every dinner that u make.

Nice write up stinky - unlike other party poopers I'm always happy to see a new way I can be creative in the kitchen.
slightly too rare for my pref, but looks super delicious regardless! i've gotta go find some food now...

I got up early this morning to put together an irish stew in our crockpot...gonna come home to a delicious slow cooked lamb stew, hell yeah :)
hey stinky, do something in a slowcooker!

me and petal love ours to death:

we all like busting out currys and stews galore:
inspire us!
We have a slow cooker and I'm constatntly disappointed with the results. I think the wife just cooks things for too long. I could never be bothered with it.

But in saying that she has cooked a few winner hearty stew things in it.
I haven't got a slow cooker, I usually use my Le Crusett(sp?) pot in the oven at low temp to do a good stew.

The trick to making a good stew great is to have a chopped mix of rosemary, garlic and lemon zest in a bowl at the table. When you serve it, each person can take a bit (or a lot) and sprinkle it into their stew. It will immediately release some amazing fragrances and boost the flavous of the stew. There's a fancy french name for this, but it evades me right now.

Jamie Oliver has some tasty stews that you can do in the slow cooker, google for 'jools favourite stew' and 'andy the gasmans stew' I think they're both in his 'jamie's dinners' book.
There's a fancy french name for this, but it evades me right now.
Le Ghey?

You don't need to bother chopping garlic up to infuse with olive oil, just whack the clove with the flat of your knife.
that's true, but by chopping it I increased the surface area of the garlic/oil contact which helps it infuse quicker.
Don't listen to all the haters stinky! That looks mighty tasty, I'd probably do it slightly more well cooked, but not much (Medium ftw).

Making me hungry....all i have for lunch is a microwave pasta pack...:( I need more time :(
How much is that fancy thermometer? I guess you get them at kitchen stores?

I think I paid about $70 for it. It has two probes, one for the meat one for the oven ( smoker actually, but same concept ). It has the main unit, and a secondary wireless unit that you can carry around so you don't need to babysit the oven.

props to the kitchen of stinky :D
you sir, have butchered a perfectly good steak.
Most steaks have been butchered, except for those weird grow in a tube japanese things.
Hyperslide
Man I am on one of those detox kits ATM and cant eat meat or dairy (highly recommend the detox too guys it really works)
Reading this recipe made me salivate hardcore I havent eaten meat in nearly 2 weeks.... god I want some steak sooooo bad
how can you recommend anything that involves depriving yourself of steak
Man I am on one of those detox kits ATM and cant eat meat or dairy (highly recommend the detox too guys it really works)
Reading this recipe made me salivate hardcore I havent eaten meat in nearly 2 weeks.... god I want some steak sooooo bad
Detox wtf? Have you had any failed baby making attempts for it to come to that?
I love my slowcooker. Greatest thing ever
I got up early this morning to put together an irish stew in our crockpot...gonna come home to a delicious slow cooked lamb stew, hell yeah :)

Am I reading this correctly? Did you leave a stew cooking all day whilst no-one was home??

Of course, that's what's so great about slow cookers! Using mine today too

Am I reading this correctly? Did you leave a stew cooking all day whilst no-one was home??

Yeah they are a low wattage/heat cooker so they can left on for a while. The best part is if something goes wrong the house only burns down slowly.
Detox wtf? Have you had any failed baby making attempts for it to come to that?

yer wtf is up with detox... its all a f***ing mind game. "yeah i feel heaps better seeing as i didnt eat meat for 2weeks" f***ing bulls***.

I had a mate that did it at work, his was a 3month detox and all he could eat was brown rice and steamed vegies + vitamins.... who the f*** wants to eat brown rice and vegies for 3 months... apart from asians of course
While I have never been on a detox, if you eat healthy, like salad, no fat, no drinking, no suger - you do feel better for it.
So brown rice, vegies and vitamins would give you goodness of carbs, vegies and the vitamins for anything else in meat etc - you would feel better I reakon.
Coochie
So brown rice, vegies and vitamins would give you goodness of carbs, vegies and the vitamins for anything else in meat etc - you would feel better I reakon.

Everything besides the protein. I dare say 3 months with zero protein would not be good for you...you'd likely loose a significant amount of muscle.
yellow_feet

Reason: Inappropriate
Click Here to See the Profile for yellow_feet Edit This Post Click Here to send yellow_feet an email Users HomePage Message User
i just flicked over your post minxy and thought it said, i love a good slow cocking. haha

nice steak stinky, sounds like you should do the same thing with a side of beef as a roast, get some roast vegies involved, colliflower cheese mmmm
That looks awesome, I reckon I'll do it saturday night
beef & dairy aren't toxic so you can't 'detox' from them.
Coochie
It's a bit hard to lose muscle when the majority on this forum have none to begin with (maxe)

Were you bullied by nerds at school?
yellow_feet

Click Here to See the Profile for yellow_feet Edit This Post Click Here to send yellow_feet an email Users HomePage Message User
sounds like you're jealous
yellow_feet

Everything besides the protein. I dare say 3 months with zero protein would not be good for you...you'd likely loose a significant amount of muscle.

All living things have protein including plants (i.e. rice and vegetables). Muscle (meat) has more, but cutting meat out of your diet won't take you to 0 protein intake.
yeah but you have to eat 20kg of mung beans to equate to a mansized steak.
yellow_feet

Coochie
All living things have protein including plants (i.e. rice and vegetables). Muscle (meat) has more, but cutting meat out of your diet won't take you to 0 protein intake.

Ok sorry, a negligible amount of protein.
You can get as much protein from 1 cup of some vegetables as 100g of meat. It's less, but far from negligible.
nah s*** like mushrooms, lentils, soy, etc. have a pretty high protein content actually.

you could certainly get enough to maintain an average muscle mass without having any meat whatsoever. It's only if you're trying to add significant muscle mass that you need to eat stacks of protein.
who the fk uses internal temp devices with remote receivers????

can i turn the staek at 53 degrees celcius?
Coochie
nah s*** like mushrooms, lentils, soy, etc. have a pretty high protein content actually.
Yeah sorry I probably was a little hasty in my posting...I completely agree you can get enough protein without meat (I can think of at least one vegetarian pro bodybuilder)....just when I read brown rice and steamed vegetables I'm thinking carrots, brocolli peas and cauliflower....of which I guess peas may have a small proportion of the protein you need.
Theres this thing I really hated in the morning. Had this bloody coffee machine that used to make alright coffee but used to make a terrible noise. I then divorced her,
Yeah sorry I probably was a little hasty in my posting...I completely agree you can get enough protein without meat (I can think of at least one vegetarian pro bodybuilder)....just when I read brown rice and steamed vegetables I'm thinking carrots, brocolli peas and cauliflower....of which I guess peas may have a small proportion of the protein you need.
Rice is like 50% protein.

Protein isn't what people miss when they don't eat red meat, it's iron which is important for your blood. When people first turn vego and become really weak and pale, they have a low blood count because they don't have enough iron.

Of course you can get iron form god awful vegies like Silverbeat and Spinach but you'd have to be insane to eat that hateful s***.
Coochie

I'm pretty sure this is not correct...and here are a few links (the first couple of Google results) to back up my thoughts:
http://www.pechsiam.com/allabout_nutrition.htm
http://www.riso.ch/index.cfm?fuseaction=sprachewechseln&id_sprache=4&path=1-285-202
nothing wrong with silverbeat and spinach!

also, http://www.google.com.au/search?hl=en&q=good+sources+of+iron&btnG=Google+Search&meta=
My understanding of statistics is that you simply make them up to suit your argument. Doing research and providing links means you're doing it wrong and your information is therefor invalid.

Silverbeat is the worst goddamned thing ever. It's not even recognised by spellchecker which probably means it doesn't even exist.

nah it's awesome
when I'm eating it I'm thinking beet but I don't mind spelling it beat
you don't like awesome stuff like ricotta & spinach puffs for example?!?
Hybr|d

Haha.

last edited by Hybr|d at 21:21:26 28/Aug/08
what the f*** is wrong with spinach, f***in soft
speak of crappy vegeterian diets

http://www.google.com/search?q=high+soy+diet+bad+for+men&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.mozilla:en-GB:official&client=firefox-a
YUMMMMY:) You've made me hungry now, do you do home delivery stinky?