Topic: Grand Theft Auto 4 Trailer

The first trailer from Grand Theft Auto 4 has been released. You can download it in sweet high def locally from AusGamers
Tepid
looks alright. but i dont see how "things will be different".

its a russian. thats the only difference.

looks sex.

this would be my main reason to buy a 360.

new york is a good location but i would have preferred london and its geezers.

i dont like the look of the main character though.. some kind of ethnic russian chump..

Tommy Vercetti was such a cool fkn legend, and CJ was a pimp when you pumped him up..

You better be able to turn this daggy putz into a stylish russian colossus or i will be mad!
im thinking you can make the chacter look like anything you want and that guy is just a character. as that seems to be the current trend in games these days. as the guy driving the convertable look alot different to him, but hey im just speculating
is it just me, or is the dl link bust?

mite be coz im at work, or its getting hammered
is it just me, or is the dl link bust?
Fine for me; note it's a .wmv so right click save as
Interesting to see that someone who is so anti BluRay and HD-DVD only links HD previews;)
I think it would have been cooler if it were based in a new city like Boston in the 50's or 70's.
Interesting to see that someone who is so anti BluRay and HD-DVD only links HD previews;)
That's all we're allowed to link at the moment.
I like it, however I would of preferred a London or Boston setting.
wish it had some more game play in the trailer :(

looks awesome other than that though
It has nice graphics, apart from that there is little else shown :(
yeah the graphics look sic.
meh consoles..

bring it to pc already!
PC gaming is dead.
GoLocoWithaHeata9mm
A hyped up trailer that shows barely anything.

Anti-climatic plus +
hardware
PC gaming is dead.
I call bulls***. A game ain't a game without a keyboard.
is this xbox only? how gay.
ps3 also.
Tepid
my computer is too s*** to handle HD trailers ... they jerk like crazy (using pentiumIII, 1.0ghz)
hardware
Maybe its cos your computer is so old it has the millenium bug.
http://www.labkorea.com/products/polytest/images/spr_001.gif
Go to Gametrailers then, they have the non-HD version up there too.

boba
the only thing I can see from this trailer is it will look pretty
PC gaming is dead.
Yeh, except for the fact that this exact sort of quality has pretty much been achievable on the PC for years. I remember playing GTA3 on the PC in 1600x1200 when it was first released - they actually vamped it up a little (better textures etc) for the PC version, but I can't believe it couldn't have been improved further visually.

Also, the controls were superior with kb/mouse
meh i dont care what platform i play the game on, aslong as it plays well and im havng a good time, i dont put restrictions up like if something is better controlled on a keyboard and mouse or if controller is for the win.

at the end of day im in it for the games not the consoles i play them on.
Yeah but you have to remember that all previous 3d gta games were stripped of anything resembling graphical quality due to their ps2 exclusivity.

But I agree about the kb/mouse being far better controls, but they almost make it too easy. San Andreas was a piece of piss due to how easy aiming was with the mouse.
Yeh I noticed that with GTA3 - I found playing on the PS2 SUPER frustrating and I concluded that it was actually part of the game design to make it more difficult completing missions with the controller (like the sniping missions). With the PC it was the other extreme - too easy - because of the controls.

I think that's just something we have to cop with cross platform games. Well, PC owners will have to cop it most of the time anyway.
Some san andreas missions were fkn hard on console, although I didnt play it much on console I had a dig at one mission at my mates house. It was a zero mission where you were on a roof and had to shoot down the RC-planes - this was piss easy on PC but it took a fair few tries on the ps2.
It was a zero mission where you were on a roof and had to shoot down the RC-planes - this was piss easy on PC but it took a fair few tries on the ps2.
There was another mission where you had to fly the RC plane and blow s*** up. I almost gave up on the game at that point.
You guys also have to remember all the extra practice of keyboard and mouse you've most likly had over console controllers. Good aiming and movement on console comes from precise manipulation of the thumbs, whilst good mouse skills uses the wrist and to a lesser degree fingers and thumb and so on.
The RC-planes sure was easily the hardest mission for me (EDIT: and O SO Frustrating,grrrr) when I first got my ps2 and GTA, after playing various other games coming back and doing that mission a year later it was as easy as the other missions.

I'd rather a kb/mouse over a controller though. An ECG reader + retina detector would be far superior though, given the practice. :D

last edited by Tollaz0r! at 16:13:28 30/Mar/07
Tollazor - The maximum speed you can turn is defined by the controller/game setup sensitivity.
It's like using keyboard arrows to look around without using a mouse at all - more or less.
Except with the added ability of being able to circle strafe.
i play fps on consoles better then i do with a k/b and mouse, i was never great on pc but i wasnt too bad, but im sure better on the console, i feel like im controling it more acurately, auto aim helps a little but i still feel like i have more control with what im doing.

i honestly think its great that i could spend $800 on a console *my 360* and got a system that had awesome gfxs and great games, where as i know if i had invested that money in my pc it wouldnt of been able to handle what my xbox does. and on a side note ive watched both pc and xbox360 releases in the last 12months and more games have come out on 360 that ive enjoyed playing over whats come out on pc. maybe im being picky with my games but i honestly feel asif not that many outstanding games have come out for pc, when i look at a quick list of games i can remember, 360 has gears of war, tony hawsk project 8, graw1/2, test drive, rainbow 6 vegas, crack down, saints row. for pc there has only been stalker supreme comander, company of heroes, all of which i couldnt be bothered playing all the way through cause of bugs. sure some of those games came out for pc, but they made it to the xbox360 first.

not that there is anything wrong with pc gaming, thats where my roots lie so ill always go back to the pc for abit of bash everynow and again, but consoles are honestly where the excitement is right now and thats where ill focus my gaming fun.

in saying that i cant help but pc gaming is slowly being fazed out, and the only thing that would get me back into it full capcity would be more organised lans, the only time i was enthusiastically into pc's was when i knew that at in month or 2 id be heading to qgl to have great set of games with some other talented gamers. and since that can not as easily be replicated with console gaming i sure hope lan admins bring back the lans and keep the scene happening, cause im sure every user on this forum agrees, that the lan scene seems to be somewhat dead.
looks purty
Mr.Bumpy

PC gaming will never be phased out as that's where gaming started. There are millions of technical minded people and average PC users out there. As long as PC exist there will always be a demand for PC games. Plus development of games on PC is cheaper without expensive licenses to pay.

Back on topic, GTAIV looks ver nice, especially with the large crowds and bustling traffic. With a setting like NYC one can only imagine what Rockstar will do with such a large city and power of graphic technology available now.

Those complaining about the lack of gameplay and short length of the trailer should note that this is the first trailer released to announce this game, so it is a teaser. And what do teasers do? Tease! This is a very well done teaser in my opinion, and is very movie-like. They've shown enough imagary to feed forum discussions and game editors around the world into a frenzy.
kinda strange that they are doing liberty city again.
I hope they explain why, maybe they cant be f***ed making another big ass city? Hopefully they atleast expand on the city from GTA3. I have no reason to doubt rockstar and the GTA series so I'll give them this one.

If its based around the same time as GTA3, I'd expect the dude from GTA3 to pop up heaps like they did with characters in san andreas.

Also the music in the trailer makes me want to watch Batman.
they should have set it in sydney! turf wars with the lakemba lebs, cabramatta viets, bankstown bogans and the bra boys w00t
I'd rather a kb/mouse over a controller though. An ECG reader + retina detector would be far superior though, given the practice. :D

You mean EEG? ECG is your heart, unless you want to control the game with your heart?
I hope they explain why, maybe they cant be f***ed making another big ass city? Hopefully they atleast expand on the city from GTA3. I have no reason to doubt rockstar and the GTA series so I'll give them this one.

If its based around the same time as GTA3, I'd expect the dude from GTA3 to pop up heaps like they did with characters in san andreas.

Also the music in the trailer makes me want to watch Batman.

gta3 was set in liberty city this one is new york, whist liberty city was kind of like new york... it wasnt. so yes it will be a new city, with more realistic locations, and obviously it will be bigger. i thought that was pretty clear... but i guess people asssume the fictious citys they set the game in are real city, whilst similar.. they are not the same.
Special Text
gta3 was set in liberty city this one is new york
I've seen no indications that it's not Liberty City, I think it even says it on a sign somewhere in the trailer.
yeah, it said liberty city in a bunch of places..

You mean EEG? ECG is your heart, unless you want to control the game with your heart?

Opps, yer I mean that, same thing differnt place tho.

worst game preview evar

gta3 was set in liberty city this one is new york, whist liberty city was kind of like new york... it wasnt. so yes it will be a new city, with more realistic locations, and obviously it will be bigger. i thought that was pretty clear... but i guess people asssume the fictious citys they set the game in are real city, whilst similar.. they are not the same.

It said liberty city in the trailer on a few buildings and stuff.
PC gaming will never be phased out as that's where gaming started.

This is incorrect. There were game consoles before PCs existed.

Game looks good too!
yer think a few signs said liberty city plus the boat near the end had liberty city on it.