Topic: Network Issues

As you may have noticed if you've been trying to get to the QGL gaming servers, there are some network issues that are preventing normal pingtimes. If you're interested, you can do a tracert from a DOS box and check out the different routes the magic packets are taking to www.qgl.org and the gaming server (202.139.226.2). This is being worked on and normal service should be restored as soon as possible.
heardy
gaming server??

so you have one server for all your games?

man wats the specs of it?
^hir0

they're all listed on the right hand side of the qgl.org main page... scroll down a bit and u should see them...

i spose i could paste them here but that would be rendundant... much like excessive fullstops...

Cray YMP

We stole it from the government so they couldn't read our emails.

Trog I have sent you a few trace route's in the past as you know but I may havr failed to mention that the pings get heaps worse after about 3:00 pm.

Weather or not this makes any differance I don't know I just put it down to more taffic online after school is out.I'm not sure if anyone else is having the same trouble at that particular time of day but it's a thought.

Oh yeah the bad pings seem to continue through the early hours of the morning like 1:00am - 2:00am

You're on optus, right?

My bpa pings are terrible to any of the q3 servers on 202.139.226.2 but I get an excellent ping to the Powerup Tribes server on 202.139.235.201:28001 ??

sweird n stuff

dem0n, same for me

:/

EVERY other server is fine except for qgl's

pings mmmkay

Trog:yeah mate thats right I have Optus.Funny thing is though not all Optus users have the same trouble as me.

I know of a couple of guys in Sydney that get good pings pretty well all the time.Beats the hell out of me how they live further away using the same ISP and get better pings than I do they can get a ping of 60 - 80 and I get 350+.
plague

BPA Cable is routed thru brisbane. O@H Cable is routed thru sydney. BPA ADSL is routed thru melbourne.

That clear anything up?

pLAGue

thats because all of optus is routed thru sydney, so you go from bris, to syd, back to bris

where as syd guys go from syd, stright to bris

[useless, q was already answerd :]
plague

Errr, all that applies for Brisbane users, dunno about newhere else :P

pLAGue

PS soon to be PlagUE when I get ADSL :) (a week or so)

Well thats f***ed!!!I spend more time at QGL's site than any other because I like it so much.And if I could get a half decent ping on the QGL cs server I wouldn't play anywhere else.Apart from the fact that it is the by far the hardest server to get into.

Oh yeah give us another CS server please please please even though I'll get crap pings on them to but at least I'll have a better chance of getting into them.
GreyMATr

heh, should be fairly obvious why pings are s*** to qgl servers but can be fine to the powerup server, just look at the ips, 202.139.226.* 202.139.235.* different subnets, different routing (also QGL != powerup :p)
plague

main () {
QGL == WebCentral;
WebCentral == Powerup;
printf("Stfu ghey s***kunts");
return 0;
}

bad pings to qgl make ppl go crazy
plague

Oh, btw... if you want to get technical, if your not actually on powerup or ozemail or optus, then if you "connect to QGL" then your connecting to Optus, not powerup.

pLAGue

say what?
plague

Resolve the IP for QGL and youll see

My ping goes to s*** as soon as it hit's webcentral

thats crazy!

oh, btw, if you REALLY want to get technical, all of qgl is running off my linux box, which is connected to my 14.4k modem

Hmmmm QGL at home

keep us posted on whats happening trog, so far my pings are back to 100, from 300

:/

It appears to be the fact that the games server is in the Powerup subnet (as someone has pointed out), which is routed differently to stuff in WebCentral. Powerup are (afaik) investigating.

trog: it was fixed for like, 1 min, i was getting 10-15ms pings to ra3

now its back to 150

yeah same here resilient, but i was silly enough to think that it was gonna stay like that so i jumped in.
did you see me?
um but yeah its rooted again :/
and i did a trace route and it was...well you know what it is. all that s*** i see in tracert may aswell be in polish or spanish cos i have nfi what it means anyway
hmm it was almost fixed again :/

yeah i saw ya :P

now they are all dead

Nathan

test

test
Bad

Is anyone's BPA like fully f***ed now? Like cant connect to like o@h servers?
ok now this is screwed up - on cable

Pinging 202.139.226.2 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 203.166.16.46: TTL expired in transit.
Request timed out.
Reply from 203.166.16.46: TTL expired in transit.

Ping Statistics for 202.139.226.2
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 2, Loss = 2 (50% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

Then later i pinged again and got 2 packets back with approx 200
and 248 TTL

and an extract from a tracert:

3 1648ms 105ms 11ms ext-router.qld-remote.bigpind.net.au [24.192.65.3]

lets not go back to the days of high ping and s*** slow downloads on BPA, even my dial up wasn't this bad!
audi-tone

I KNOW WHAT U f***ING MEAN
THIS IS s***TING ME OFF I"M GETTIN HEAPS AND HEAPS OF f***ING PACKET LOSS s*** WHICH IS NOT!!! NORMAL
I AM GETTIN PISSED OFF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

YETi
gomer

whinge whinge whinge. wanna trade for my 33.6 dialup?
plague

I've just been informed that Telstra's Backbone has crashed from several sources (shock horror... their excuse was water damage :P). Can some QGL admin that knows what there talking about (*cough* *grin*) verify this?

pLAGue
Ad

w00t!! time to break the 1st post barrier, i am getting 400 ping on qgl but 17 on [SA] server?? what is wrong plz, f***en hell squarkyD u didnt have to take up the whole page with ur tracert s*** did u??

yup just come round to my house and get my cable modem gomer, i wont stop u:P
audi-tone

OI gomer i'll trade ya mate i'll get better pings than what i'm gettin atm :-
it takes like 5mins to load up this f***ing page!!!! :(

cya's all goin to bed :P

-=YETi=-

Ad, I would guess that they are probably on different networks within the data centre and get routed differently. At the moment, the Internet is broken anyway, so blah.
cyph

f***ing internet is broken again.

Whats with all the crying about packet loss?
what is this packet loss you speak of?
I came back from schoolies to notice that everyone on the qgl ra3 server had a ping over 200, yet my (BPA) was still the same as normal at -30ms?

still didnt see any packet loss either.