Ok I was just having a thought(yes I know thats a suprise)but anyhow.I was wondering if anyone would be interested in having a fortnightly LAN for training purpose's and biulding clans and clan skills. I don't have a location or any idea of who maybe interested but this is why I'm asking. There are a few reasons why I think this could be a good idea here are just a few.I see gaming as much the same as any other sport you need to train to become good at it particularly in a team game so a regular meeting/training would be worth it to any clan. For example if you have say 6-12 or more ppl training you would be able to biuld at least one good team and given the numbers you have left you could make a second side like a reserve grade.Both could enter comp's like qgl.The bonus of having 2 teams that train together would be that it gives the first team greater depth in player selection for comp's. Of course there are issues like location,avalibility to train and genral interest by players but if your keen in your chosen sport you'll over come these things. I guess I would like to take the approch similar to that of a football club as I believe gaming has certainly come far enough to suport this type of approch.All clubs need is few enthusiastic ppl to get together and I know there are some mad gamers here some that souldn't be a problem. But like I said it's just a thought at the moment albeit one that I'm very keen on,so if you have any thoughts on the matter I'd love to hear them. Thanks |
| #0 05:08am 15/02/01 |
Clan training... Its up to the clan to get thier members together so they can work on tactics.. [SOM] is having a clan training weekend on the 23rd to 25th of this month over at my place... Sorry, [SOM] members only... Its a good idea for at clans to practice, thats if you want to win.. Just ask [SAS], they train on maps a lot and they won last year's QGL finals... :) |
| #1 08:55am 15/02/01 |
You wouldn't have to have a clan to start off with it could just be a few interested gamers getting together for some fun and to improve their skills.Once you have a foundation of players to work with you could start putting teams together. I have asked b4 but I'll ask again ask again anyhow,is Wynnum a conveiant enough place for many of you to get to?The local Aussie rules club is a perfect size for things like this plus it has all the facilities you'd expect toilets,bar,tables chairs ect. |
| #2 11:36am 15/02/01 |
Its a game, not a sport. Anyone who goes to "Fortnightly CS training" has real issues in their life. Bloody hell there are plenty of normal lans on around the place and QGL would be worth the wait every month, so just go there and practice. I'm not saying you shouldn't enjoy playing games but I think it is totally rediculous to look on it as a sport like any other. The amount of training needed to be a good sportsman isn't even comparable to the amount of practice needed to play a computer game. |
| #3 01:24pm 15/02/01 |
Quake II was a sport :P didnt you have that regen on radio thingy? I lost it :( just had twistie and some wanker talk about regen(before QGL) |
| #4 02:01pm 15/02/01 |
AnaRot I asked for constructive thoughts on the matter,I know I didn't say it but I would thought that was obvious. For some ppl who have large work commitments like myself the opertunity to play organised sport isn't realy viable.So playing games is my substitute for not being able to play footy.I just thought that some others may feel like getting into it abit more often considering there are heaps of ppl here that would rather play in LAN situation than online. If you don't like the idea thats fine but telling ppl they have issues is f***ing arogant,who the f*** are you to judge ppl on how they choose to spend their spare time Mr 2000+ post's. |
| #5 02:20pm 15/02/01 |
Ok saying you have issues may have been going too far but still you could of said what you said above rather than refering to it as a sport. I wasn't aiming my comment at you personally, but all the fags on the net who think they are really cool cos they are "online sportsmen".... Yeah Greg I do still have that somewhere... |
| #6 02:42pm 15/02/01 |
Weather or not it's realy sport is fairly irelivent games take practice as does any sport.I was only interested in knowing if there are any people keen to get together for a regular LAN,with the bonus being able to create a clan or 2 plus the possibility of improving your skills within a team. But if ppl aren't keen to do this then there isn't much point like I said it is just a thought. |
| #7 02:57pm 15/02/01 |
Yeah thats ok. Its a forum - without arguments its nothing so don't get pissed at me for making conversation. I think you all take what I say a little to much to heart... |
| #8 03:08pm 15/02/01 |
CS gay faget orgy lan huh lucky i don't play CS |
| #9 03:17pm 15/02/01 |
BOB the Fruit
Hmmmmm... |
| #10 03:23pm 15/02/01 |
hahaha WarT. Now Taipan is asking a serious question and shouldn't have to put up with your constant abuse ok? or should I be even more gay and say mmmkay? :P lol |
| #11 03:38pm 15/02/01 |
Yeah, it's a very good idea for clans to train together. Still though, I got a team together on the day for the last qgl and won it after doing strategies for the first time before each map we played. heh, thought I'd be a smart arse while I have net connection :P Back to Noosa I go now... :P |
| #12 04:44pm 15/02/01 |
Adrenaline
Are you talkin on the net or at a lan? cause both ways FJ will most likely be interested. |
| #13 06:00pm 15/02/01 |
BOB the Fruit
DeePer, come back to civilization man!!! I want your children!!! :P |
| #14 06:53pm 15/02/01 |
Jerds0r
I know that ]LS[ would also be interested in clan training as well - a good opportunity to test some strats and what have you with this coming CPL. It could even potentially grow to a large clans gathering type event! DeePer - BOB is right. We want your children. - ]LS[ Jerds0r. |
| #15 07:30pm 15/02/01 |
Jerds0r
Oh, and why isn't it considered a sport? I think you should read the CPL webpage, AnaloT. With an up coming championships, why isn't training for it a viable option? Especially with such large prize money at stake? I don't see such glory or winnings for footy or whatever. - ]LS[ Jerds0r. |
| #16 07:33pm 15/02/01 |
BOB the Fruit
I think that when you add a cash prize, then you start to take the fun out of the actual game. |
| #17 08:22pm 15/02/01 |
Pumped Full Of Pot
hey primal guess who is gunna own j00r arse at the training weekend????? M E hahahahahahahahaha...Jason |
| #18 08:26pm 15/02/01 |
I laught.. Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha Ha You wish mate. :P |
| #19 08:32pm 15/02/01 |
Do u think ppl will bother luggin their comps to wherever the lan may be, every fortnite? wouldn't be easier if u just went to a lan place and pay money? A whole lot more convenient. plus everone would have the same comp so it's leveled. I would be interested if the Lan was held at Sunny Bank. |
| #20 08:35pm 15/02/01 |
yeah I agree Bob. Its a game ffs. Its pathetic that you get payed to sit on you ass and twiddle your fingers - I don't give a flying f*** what some web page says. |
| #21 11:44pm 15/02/01 |
Enigma for a keen player lunging your PC to a venue once a fortnight wouldn't be a problem it just depends on how serious you want to get.Hell I used to travel 240km every Saturday just to play footy and I did that every season for more than 10 years. AnaRot money in any event is dictated by firstly public interest in the event and sponsorship not by players just wanting cash to play.No-one ever takes up playing anything with a view to making money out of it.And as far it being ridiculous being payed to play PC games how ridiculous is it to be payed $1,000,000 figers to spank a little white ball around a padock. |
| #22 12:54am 16/02/01 |
Yeah but at least they have real skill. It takes years and years of effort to get to their stage. Its not even comparable. Thought they get payed way too much too. |
| #23 12:57am 16/02/01 |
Yeah they sure do get payed to much.I don't think that their skill level realy matters the money in the game is there because of the interest the public has in the game.If no-one gave a s*** about golf it wouldn't matter how good the players were there'd be no money in it. With more and more ppl taking up playing PC games it stands to reason that it'll get more serious at least at some level.Every sport/hobby had to start somewhere and in the begining no-one would of thought you could ern a living playing games of any sort,whether it be Footy,cricket or say Baseball. |
| #24 01:42am 16/02/01 |
elbaffeni
competitive games are gay coop rocks j00 |
| #25 02:18am 16/02/01 |
Sturdy
heh i live in wynnum so id be able to rock up thier cept id have to figure out how to play that damn game if anyones got a good cs cfg theyd like to share with me my icq's 43960291 cheers :) |
| #26 06:48am 16/02/01 |
| #26 |