Topic: ubuntu newb
right, i hate open source. i "did" a red hat module back in 96. was s*** then.

12 years later im setting up a whole bunch of VMs. Installed xp, 2003, vista and 2008 perfectly first time. need some VMs for testing.

so i think ill give linux another go. Downloaded the latest iso. Crashes after the splash screen.

gg ubuntu! i guess ill wait another 12 years.

begin the flames!
http://www.addanevent.com/gg.jpg
Had the same problem but I fixed it. Ended up installing packages from the internet as the latest ubuntu has problems with Virtual Server CD ROM.
dafugg
All I read was "waah waah I can't use google"
Don't know about your Ubuntu, but ditch Virtual Server and get VMWare up ya.
All I read was "waah waah I can't use google"

I love the smell of burning in the morning
sad effort mooby :)
Wait til tomorrow ; there's a new version of ubuntu coming out
I've installed Ubuntu on desktop machines, laptops and inside VMs. No problems.

You must be doing it wrong. Learn2OS. That is all.
If it's crashing right after the splash screen, all I can think is that your image is corrupt or something.

8.04 is out tomorrow, so give that a whirl.
Lunix sux big time. Windows foreva
doesn't microsoft keep 'breaking' linux support under virtual server ?
midda did you not read strange rash's post, which incidentally makes perfect sense given the error message in mooby's screenshot
^^ I have my browser in a small window on my second screen, and the pics put a horizontal scroll on my window. So no, I didn't read all of the post.
There's a local gOS mirror if you're keen.

I've been flicking thru various 3ePC linux alternatives lately - this one comes highly recommended for the task - or 'over-rated' depending on how much worth you put on geek speak.

it's pretty n stuff.

btw - incase it was missed... yes it's a joke that a varient was created with MySpace users in mind. seriously... WTF???

last edited by koopz at 20:31:19 24/Apr/08
dRanged
Dunno what it's like for other apps, but my exp with linux virtualized with JAVA apps completely sucks the fat one. They run well, but if something goes wrong, man does it go wrong, like, inexplicably wrong. Bizzaro left-field exceptions from the planet butsekz wrong!
épic™
http://blogs.msdn.com/nicold/archive/2007/08/28/how-install-ubuntu-on-virtual-server-2005-r2-sp1.aspx
vmware server is free isn't it ?
épic™
correct obes, the the player is though
http://www.vmware.com/products/server/ ... free

problem solved.

the the player is though

mmm, e-stutter.
if someone can f*** up an ubuntu installation they more then likely couldnt get a root in a brothel. its noob proof. the fact that linux will be used on the eeepc for the dumbed down version and windows will be the hacker edition speaks of how useless someone has to be to f*** up ubuntu
^^I've had Ubuntu f*** up all by itself while installing the latest version through Wubi. I had to manually tell it what HDD to look at because it couldn't get past the bootloader. It's not that foolproof.
PEBCAK
Nathan
Its almost certainly just Microsoft's Virtual Server not playing nicely.

As other's have said VMWare Server is free, and can host or be hosted with Windows or linux - there's very little reason not to use it really
PEBCAK

That's a very clever response, good on you.

even the 65 year old geriatric at work could get noobuntu working no worries. i'll send him round to show you how its done
I've gotten Ubuntu to work plenty of times you dips***. Have you tried installing the latest using Wubi? You CAN'T f*** it up all by yourself, there's a known bug where it just doesn't point to the right drive.
you dips***

says you who can't get it working. pffft go home mate, go buy an xbox or something, computers are too technical for you
Says the one who can't read. As I said, I got it working, Wubi didn't configure the bootloader properly, and I had to change it manually. You're like talking to a brick wall.
Except a brick wall can get it working and you can't.
As I said, I got no f***ing idea, ubuntu is too complicated for me, this one time i turned my computer on and it asked me for a boot disk, and like, what the f*** is a boot disk, a disk shaped like a shoe ? f***ing stupid s***, so anyway, someone told me ubuntu was like a really easy linux thingy that i can use to hack peoples wep connections, so i tried to install it on my windows partition and it wouldnt just click 'next' by itself, it actually required me to figure out how to click 'next' and boy, i let that f***a sit there for 3 whole days because i thought it was 'thinking' (like the old apples used to), eventually i called my computer nerd mate and he told me to click the next button, and after that it asked me where do i want to install it to, and i'm like 'what the f*** kind of hacker s*** is this?' so i rebooted my computer and went back to windows. it was a scary few days but now i'm back to the security of XP, it was nerve wracking, i thought i was going to lose all my j-porn, coz like, how that f*** is a nigga supposed to bat off to normal porn after watching japanese girls puking in each others mouths or brazilian fart fetish porn, its just not the same, the standard cock in pussy s*** just doesn't work for me anymore seeing as i've become so used to that sick s***, i was on 4chan even last night, and who woulda thought that i could actually bat off to anime ??? its true!! the tentacle school girl raping monsters are pretty f***en hot, but not as hot as this chick i saw on the bus one day she was awesome, i was like staring at her and she totally wanted me but she mustve been too shy because i, being the total stud that i am walked up to her g-style and said 'youve just got to give me your number' and she told me to f***off, i know she actually wanted me, i mean who the f*** wouldn't i'm such a stud so anyway, she got off at the next stop, but i know where she gets off now so i'll be waiting for her there tomorrow in case she has come to her senses, and that brings me back to the other point, this other chick who was a bit shy, i know she thought i was so awesome, but as usual they take a bit of **persuasion** sometimes, i followed her home one night and i was watching her in her room, and like i know she dug me, even though she had a boyfriend, but yeah i mustve spent at least 3 nights a week just looking at her from outside her room, i was channeling my telekinetic energies for her to finally get through to her senses but she mustve been too dumb for that, so f*** that bitch, which brings me back to my main point, i was going to go to japan to become and english teacher, because all that j-porno girls puking in each others mouths means i won't ever be able to be with any other women from any nationality except for japanese, my plan, is to get myself a japanese girlfriend, i will make her dress up in a schoolgirl outfit (maybe even a maid outfit... that so hot), and get her to puke into another japanese sluts mouth whilst i f*** them both, i can't see this being much of a problem seeing as i'm so interested in japanese culture and i've heard that they just love us foreigners so much and yeah it will be so cool, i actually saw this asian chick one day walking by herself in the city, so i followed her and i asked her if she had a boyfriend, and i knew she couldn't resist my neckbeard, i mean that f***en asian guys, they can't grow a beard to save themselves, so the ultimate masculinity of guys like me that have the 7 day growth on my neck, together with masculine male odour (deoderant is for sellouts) this chick couldn't resist me she gave me her number and i called her that night but she didn't answer then the next day some guy named steve answered the phone, he reckoned he didn't know what the f*** i was on about and that i must have the wrong number, so unfortunately she mustve made a mistake when she gave me the number, which brings me to my other point of the day, why is it that everyone that knows me always want me to fix their computers, i go to their places and they have the hide to run their computers WITHOUT 3 anti virus software (you need total redundancy) packages and 3 spybot monitor programs, so i loaded up norton and kaperskys(thats the best its not sellout, its a russian one and those guys are bling) and some other one, mcaffee or something, i downloaded them all off bit torrent, and these idiot family members are all complaining the next day saying that their windows now takes 15 minutes to load up and opening up internet explorer is taking 2 minutes, and i told them 'who the f*** still uses internet explorer, use firefox NNOOOOB!!', but they didn't listen to me anyway, who cares if it takes 15 minutes to load up, you need those anti virus software to run a scan every time you turn your computer on and at least 5 times a day because those website you visit automatically download the spyware onto your computer and harvest your credit card details, and before you know it BAM you've just had $100 spent from your credit card, so i try to show everyone how dangerous the internet is, but they always complain, i mean i dont know what the f*** theyre on about, i installed the antivirus, saved the day and they still complain, i also got them to install peer guardian because it stops the russian hackers from using your computer as an unwilling bot in their botnets, i found out about peerguardian when i was MIRC the other day, i was talking to this guy in #funchat and i found out he is one of the worlds top hackers, even though i was running 3 anti virus's and peer gaurdian, he was able to tell me what my IP address was, he said he was going to portscan me so i shut down MIRC before he could actually do it, so its cool now, he tried, but i was too quick for him, i have since deleted MIRC because thats just another way for the arsehole hackers to steal your s***, which brings back memories, i remember YEARS ago when i was a budding computer nerd at school I would get into cool channels on the BEST NETWORK EVER, EFNET!!!! id get on #exceed and use the XDCC bots to download mp3s and s*** i was the ultimate warez hacker in my school, i used to sell whole cd's full of s*** to these nerds who were so amazed at me, i was smarter then all of these nerds and none of them knew of MIRC at all, i showed them all how to get on but i kept some secrets for myself, you know, /dcc packetsize 4096. /pdcc 2146497646 , s*** like that i got ultimate speeds from my 33.6kmodem back in the day, most people were downloading at 3.2k/sec, whilst i was getting 3.4k/sec on my modem, i paid a bit extra for my modem, coz it was overclocked a little bit, just a little bit, i didn't want to add water cooling to it or anything, nothing like my 3dfx card, instead of the LAME ASS 4mb voodoo ones, i had the canopus pure3d 6MB! one, it was heaps better then, i remember on the timedemo on quake2 i used to get 25fps, whilst the other noobs were getting 23, i was the rail king back then, and coz my modem was a bit overclocked, i was geting a ping of 180 to the powerup CTF servers so i owned their asses day in day out, that krull[CARNAGE] guy had nothing on me, we had a rail duel once...... then he left the server after i kicked his ass over and over... he was a sad c***, which brings me to my other point, ubuntu is f***ed, i tried red hat in 1995 and it was heaps easier to set up then this, its just so f***en hard so i give up

whoa settle down mate
épic™
holy s*** awesome ^ rofl rofl rofl
Habib
heh I remember Krull[CARNAGE]