Topic: SAE: Brisbane - Electronic Music Production
Has anyone done this course before? or considered doing it just for their own interest purposes?

http://www2.sae.edu/aus/brisbane/electronic_music_production.htm

Starts tonight, goes for 6 months part time - Wednesday thursday nights. I have a meeting with the guy this arvo to try slot me into the course.

The ludicrously expensive nature of the course aside, I currently muck around with a few programs eg. ableton, sound forge, acid pro, fruityloops etc and reckon this would be a half decent way to get a propper grasp on how things should be done.

Could be fun!

yer a bit exxy ;p i play around with reason3 a bit n just ask ppl online if i have questions on how to do stuff... so many people mucking around with music production atm.
yer nice one, how do you find reason3 as a sequencer? Compared to say acid pro or ableton in sequence view (i'm using 6.1 which only allows 20 rows of sampling!)
i've never used ableton... i thought it was a live mixing prog :p i liked using acid-pro... nice n easy to just chuck wavs down. i use reason coz i'm not serious about music production... just like having a fiddle n making some noiz :D there are hundreds of drum fills n wotnot in the reason sample libs & with all the mad instruments that come with it you can pretty much do whatever you want to edit a sample.
yer it is, but u can use it as a sequencer aswell.
If you're serious about working in a related industry, then doing a course like this would open your eyes to knowledge and concepts you wouldn't have thought to research on your own. The computer program stuff is probably a small part of the course, and you will have access to all kinds of recording equipment, and studios, that you would otherwise pay hundreds of dollars per day to hire. As well as meeting people who have similar interests and skills, and with whom you may end up working with.

If you just hope to get better at the software, and won't find value in the fundamentals, and techniques that are peripheral to your goals, then the course might not be worth it.

Deathwalker
I've known a lot of people that have done SAE courses and none of them rate it that highly, if i was you i would spend the money on some gear and read a lot and just learn from practise.
I did a diploma of audio engineering with them a few years back. Course was well over priced but the staff were awesome and the classes fun. You will learn a s*** load more then would ever on your own and I would say if you can afford it do it.
I've been told to stay the f*** away from SAE. That is all.
^^ I have too, but that was with regards to their 3D and animation courses, which they don't have anymore.

I haven't really heard anything positive or negative about the audio courses.
BassMan
Different to you electric music guys, but I investigated getting the audio engineering through them.

After seeing some of the grads (I knew more than them & knew heaps more tricks in Protools etc) & going to their open day, I concluded my $$$ were better spent elsewhere.

I bought some good books + 2 Protools video DVD courses on ebay for a tiny fraction of the $10k audio engineering course costs.
Idol:- yeah well, its not for work, i have a professional position working in construction.. This is more for my own personal interest.

Points noted, its really too late anyways cause i signed up about 3 hours ago!
yer. a mate of mine did the audio engineering course

he liked it, but it never got him any work
FWIW i know some production companys will not hire SAE grads under any circumstance.
what if you flunked the SAE course, would they hire them then? :p
ama
im interested in making some remixes and electronic music. I dont wish to buy any equipment, are there any programs that allow me to do this or must i buy gear?
What's the best program to use? Pro Tools, Adobe Audition, Sound Forge, Vegas Pro, Acid Pro?

The last 3 are all sony but i can't tell what the difference is except i think vegas is more for making movies?
give fruity loops (i think its called FL studio now) a whirl and if you get the hang of that and like it i'd move onto logic or acid or something.

ama, you can run things directly from your computer if you want to play around with some samples & tracks etc.

I'm sure someone here would be able to burn you something and send some samples.. mainly depending on whether your female and hot or not.. j/ks :P