Topic: over speed limit points system?
anyone know how they are spread? from memory the first is 0-14 for 1 point?
and has anyone heard if it double points this Easter?
its double this weekend as well
yea evidently 1 to 13 is 1 point and 75 bux i think
JohnnyDeformed
If it's under 13k/h over it's $100 and 1 point. 13-25 is $150 and 3 points.

I don't know if it's different if you're on your Ps or Ls. I do know on the Qld Transport site it has all the points for L and P drivers for stuff like driving late at night with too many people, high powered vehicles, being on your phone etc. It's $250 straight away for being caught on your phone.
double fines and points???

Also extra 700 hundred coppers on the road this weekend if you forgot as I did.
you got done by a speed camera didn't you
JohnnyDeformed
I think double demerits/points is just in NSW and Vic isn't it? Couldn't find anything about it being in Qld.
13kmh and over is $350 and 3 points afaik. If you get done doing more than 20 over you might as well say goodbye to your license for 3 months

this was my first thought too.
pyro
mrs got done a couple of days ago.. 14k's over $150 3 points..
13kmh and over is $350 and 3 points afaik. If you get done doing more than 20 over you might as well say goodbye to your license for 3 months

I got done...like over 3 years ago now doing 20 k over, and it was 250 and 3 points.
I think the next rung up was like 4 points and expensive fine? Dunno...cant be assed checking
Straight from QLD Transport website:

Current penalties for speeding

* Less than 13 km/h over the speed limit:
A$100 + one demerit point.
* At least 13 km/h but not more than 20 km/h over the speed limit:
A$150 + three demerit points.
* More than 20 km/h but not more than 30 km/h over the speed limit:
A$250 + four demerit points.
* More than 30 km/h but not more than 40 km/h over the speed limit:
A$350 + six demerit points.
* More than 40 km/h over the speed limit:
A$700 + eight demerit points and six month suspension.

Transport site link

It also explains a bit about double demerit points.
What I wanna know is, how many km's do you have to go over the speed limit before they pull you over?? Technically it should be 1km/h over but they don't pull you over for that..

I've done 70 in a 60 zone and a copper at the bottom of the hill with a hand held didn't pull me over but looking at his facial expressions he could tell I was speeding...
mrs got done a couple of days ago.. 14k's over $150 3 points..

yer, petal got done for that exact speed over on orange grove road the other day;
I have been caught speeding once...when I first got my P's, f*** it sucked losing 3 points when you only have 4 to last you like 3 years.
And I speed around everywhere! Usually not much more than 10-20k over though.
f*** my gf was pissed when I was half asleep and was speeding around that new fixed speed camera inbound on the M1, only to find out it wasn't active yet! WOOT!
What I wanna know is, how many km's do you have to go over the speed limit before they pull you over?? Technically it should be 1km/h over but they don't pull you over for that..
There's a semi-official 10% tolerance. Ie if you're doing 66 in a 60 zone - nothing. 67 - $100 and 1 point.

What is weird though is 121kmh in 110 zone - nothing. 122 in 110 zone, $100 + 1 point. 123 in 110 zone, $150 and 3 points.

unfortunately... Ipswich Motorway, Granard Road overpass, outbound, 80k zone right before it hits 90 the bastrads.

last edited by Zylox at 20:41:03 21/Mar/08
There's a semi-official 10% tolerance. Ie if you're doing 66 in a 60 zone - nothing. 67 - $100 and 1 point.

Yeah the 10% is something i have heard a lot. But yeah, i think some of the coppers are a bit lenient - i also remember doing ~70km in a 60km zone past cops with a gun (the one time i let my guard down and wasn't scouting the road ahead). He didn't pull me over though - either he was feeling nice or my speedo is a bit over-corrected.
and how much do you think you were doing
and do you think your speedo is accurate
and did you see a flasha
and were there any other cars that would have been in the shot

like the cabbies used to say about the speed cameras: 'i've seen an awful lot of flashes but not too many tickets'

apparently they run outa film a fair bit...
in between discussing the virtues of LPG versus petrol?
Give it up mate. No, in taxiland it is just assumed that LPG is superior for the purpose. And it is superior (cost vs gain) than all other readily-available fuels for the purpose of fuelling taxis. I don't think anyone can ever doubt that. Whether it is a superior fuel choice in other situations is up to the person in the situation, not my opinion.
oh you and your taxi tales.
I'm under the impression the new speed cameras, the dark blue vans are infrared and don't use a flash. So they can tag oncoming traffic too.

Do these new fangled vans run out of film. Also, the coppers are learning a bit. Dark blue vans are heaps harder to see then the big old speed cameras at night.
and how much do you think you were doing

Probably ~68-70
and do you think your speedo is accurate

I have no reason to believe it isn't. But it could easily be out 1-2km/h without anyone knowing.
and did you see a flasha

No it was a cop using a handheld camera.
and were there any other cars that would have been in the shot

Nope.

Do these new fangled vans run out of film. Also, the coppers are learning a bit. Dark blue vans are heaps harder to see then the big old speed cameras at night.

Hmm yeah - but they can still be seen with relative ease if they put the signs out properly like they're supposed to.

last edited by Alt_F4 at 22:00:38 21/Mar/08
if you're doing 70km/h as indicated on your speedo, you probably are travelling at 67km/h or so. Most factory speedos exaggerate a little - in fact, at high speeds they exaggerate a lot as it's a percentage tolerance thing.
it's not double demerits in qld
Dodgymon
I saw 4 speed cameras and 4 cop cars using their radar between Brisbane and Toowoomba.
I gotta say thats the most I have ever seen on 1 stretch of road.
I love how they always hype up easter saying there is going to be a blitz but when it comes to easter barely a cop in sight.

1 annoying thing I noticed was everyone was doing 90km's in a 100 zone with ever car all in the left lane everyone s*** scared to over take.
if you get caught doing >20km/hr more than once in 12 months, the second and subsequent fines are doubled (point wise only)
Dodgymon
^^ yeah I found that out the hard way
got done for 21km over 8 points in 1 hit
i got my licence back in december, got one fine and lost all 12 points in one hit
doing 3 months again soon, so over it
man s*** is so punitive

I lose 3 points in June. been living on 3 for nearly 3 yrs. its not like im that c*** from Iran u know?

3 yrs is WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY too fkn long.
swissy fines are *funny*. they are based on your income.
Back in the day I got done for doing 126 in a 60 zone (before you have a go at me, the section of road doesnt have any houses on it and is pretty straight, I dont know why it is even 60).

Only lost 6 points and $250 fine, was on open license so didnt even lose my license or get it suspended. Cops didnt even seem that worried, they noticed that it had new rego plates and I told them I just got the car and they said that I should probably slow it down a bit.
There's a semi-official 10% tolerance.

thats the biggest f***in myth ever

the guys with the guns don't pull over anyone for less than 14km/h, i went and spoke to 2 cops that were gunning down the bottom of a hill near my old place. it simply wouldn't be practical for them to pull up everyone doing anything less

sat there and watched people do 70 down thie hill and not get pulled up, as in sat behind them and watched the reading on the gun

speed cameras are 11km/h over, i've been done for 71 in a 60 and can't say i've ever heard of anyone getting done for less. i also think i remember the cop on qgl saying 11km/h was the minimum they do
I was talking to a copper sitting in a camera 4wd one day and I was watching the radar detect people that went passed and people doing upto 10km/h over the speed limit weren't getting flashed. But I've also heard that is 10 - 11km/h over that you'll get done so I'm gonna say its pretty right. It was good talking to him learning how the camera set up actually works.
Strik3r
as already mentioned, most factory speedo's over exaggerate quite a bit. If you read Wheels magazine, they have a field in their review charts that is "actual speed when speedo reads 100. most cars range from 90-95... hence when youve got cruise control set on 120 in a 110 zone, your actual speed is probably around 110 anyway ! Pretty sure you can get your speedo recalibrated by RACQ if you so wish..
I think I'm sweet. I was told today if it was a hand held radar which it was. If no police pulled me over I'm fine...

The coppers death stare as I passed must of been punishment enough...
haha dips***
I think I'm sweet. I was told today if it was a hand held radar which it was.
Clap clap for the handicapped.

Back in the day I got done for doing 126 in a 60 zone (before you have a go at me, the section of road doesnt have any houses on it and is pretty straight, I dont know why it is even 60).

Only lost 6 points and $250 fine, was on open license so didnt even lose my license or get it suspended. Cops didnt even seem that worried, they noticed that it had new rego plates and I told them I just got the car and they said that I should probably slow it down a bit.

I call bulls***, 45+km/hr over the limit = INSTANT loss of licence and suspension, court summons to boot
yer my mate had his license suspended on the spot for going 40km/h over..

still if you speed you're a moron neway, grats on getting to your destination that little bit quicker.. there's already enough s*** drivers on the road without adding c***s speeding imo.

you sound like one of the "s***" drivers imo

Whateva fool... Ive only lost points once in 10 years
nah he's right, you're a handicap

That's kicking it old skool Grade 4 stylez.
at least the handicapped guy is getting some, even if he did pickup the clap
2 fines in 12 months = double points?

Ouch.....

Tis true, 40km/hr+ gets you a nice court summons.

But it's ok, I beat that WRX. ^__^
must have been a slow wrx ;)
I call bulls***, 45+km/hr over the limit = INSTANT loss of licence and suspension, court summons to boot

maybe these days, but this was 6-7 years ago, 6 points loss was all I got.
yeah, they only brought in the 40kmh = banned about 4 or 5 years ago
viper's story checks out
ITs definatly gotten way stricter these days, I lost about 16-17 points in a year including that fine and all that I had to do was go back to a limited licence where I only had 2 points I think for a year and couldnt even have over 0.0 blood alchohol, none of my fines where for drink driving though, just speeding/stupidity.

Its amazing how much less you get pulled over when you dont drive like an idiot constantly, I think back on the s*** I used to do and dont know what I could have been thinking.

You just have to learn the places you can get away with a quick thrash, like freeway on ramps (I think there may be a speed camera on one of thos now though).
viper speaks the truth.
back in the day i used to do consistently 20-30kmh over the limit, got done for 22kmh over once (fine), got pulled over for taking a two lane roundabout at friggin max speed (warning), got pulled over for doing donuts in parkland (warning). Nowadays i save the thrashing for onramps, lonely straight roads out west etc etc. I've got my full 12 points and i'm gonna try hard to keep it that way.

Also, one of the fellas at work told me that on the VZ Commodores, the cruise control works at 200.

Also, i was out west one time with work (somewhere around Moura or Theodore) and they'd given me this s***ty Hyundai Tuscon (told them i wouldn't drive a 4cyl (thinking i'd get at least a commodore or falcon), so thats what they do to me) and i had this heapa s*** wound up to about 127kmh or so and round a bend comes a Cop in a landcruiser with a sidemount. FAAARK. I'm done for sure. He stared me straight in the eye for a fleeting second before i saw him in my rear view mirror with his brake lights on, pulling up to turn around. So then i realised that he'd have an awful f***in hard time turning the big landy around considering it was just one lane each way and big ditches on the side of the road so i just maintained my 127kmh and continued on, never to see him again.

last edited by Mr Hardware at 11:09:02 23/Mar/08
that story needed more blackjack and hookers

+1 to speeding ftl

i mean really, why would i want to give my $350 (total so far) to teh govt when i could have gotten something decent even giving it to a charity would be more worthwhile

last edited by Spock at 20:22:10 23/Mar/08
If it's under 13k/h over it's $100 and 1 point. 13-25 is $150 and 3 points.

I don't know if it's different if you're on your Ps or Ls.

My mate got done for I think it was 70 in a 60 zone and her fine was $100, she's on here P's. But, she's not one of the "P-platers" as such so whatever new rules came into place didn't apply to us so I'm not sure if there's any difference to being a P plater or on your L's or not.
qq

$175 dollar fine and 0 points the other day for "not having proper control of my vehicle" in the wet

gg
I had to do a few drives from Brisbane to Noosa to Cabarita to Noosa to Brisbane to Byron to Brisbane, anyway I went through the fixed camera on the Pacific Mwy as you head into Brisbane at around 108-112 km/h completely daydreaming haha. I am quite sure my speedo is around ~9km/h out though so fingers crossed
what kinda car, jmr?
06 AH CD Holden Astra
Lithium
I drove back and fourth to Toowoomba from Rockhampton over the long weekend... 120kmph for the majority of the trip. Just took the inland route down through dalby did't see 1 copper.
same thing happened to me jmr im waiting for the mail.. was being tailgated though so dont know..
Two things:

Over the easter break i was talking to a relative who works high up for Queensland Transport, he said the fixed camera on the story bridge typically catches ~5 people an hour.

Second, on my way to work today i saw a mobile speed camera (land cruiser) parked on the side of the road, it looked a bit suspect so i slowed down to be safe. The thing was though is that the portable sign they put up was well out of the way - it would have been impossible to see it on the approach. Isn't there some rule about it having to be clearly visible?
JohnnyDeformed
It's not supposed to be visible to the people they're trying to catch right? I'm pretty sure they're just supposed to sign after to notifiy people that they are police and that they're not killing time on the side of the road but are running a speed trap.
It's a money trap not a speed trap, get it right.
The thing was though is that the portable sign they put up was well out of the way - it would have been impossible to see it on the approach. Isn't there some rule about it having to be clearly visible?

hehe yeah they're meant to, but since when do cops follow the law?

last edited by paveway at 04:05:00 29/Mar/08

hehe yeah they're meant to, but since when do cops follow the law?

Yeah i'm just wondering if you could dispute the fine or w/e.
if you spent a heap of cash and had some proof, yeah you could
If there was no sign i think you'd have to go back and take a photo of the speed camera. I have previously got out of a speeding fine by doing up a document with photos in it etc and sending it away to police.

Got done doing 60 in a 40, the next day i went to the intersection where i got booked and took a photo of each corner, there were 40 signs on each street entrance except the one i turned onto (where the cops were booking people).

I got the fine wiped and 2 weeks later there was a brand spanking new 40 sign on street in question :>