Topic: Was that a comet during sunset on Sat arvo?
Anyone else see this? Was absolutely HUGE as it crossed the sky around 5:30pm. Spewing I didn't have a camera with me. I haven't heard anything on the media (not that I'm really listening to radio or tv an stuff), be very curious to find out just what it was
ICBM
an upper atmosphere meteorite i reckon... didn't see it myself but a mate described it to me. he said the trail stayed visible for about 10mins in the daylit sky... so woulda been cool to see :/
Was pretty awesome. Tried doing a search round last night though couldn't find any details. Figured it to be high atmosphere seeing as how it lasted so long without burning up. Bit freaky as my first thought was actually "oh crap, ICBM", cept of course it was heading south so I didn't care that much after that.
I guess if it didn't burn up it would be in orbit now. Must have been pretty f***ing huge whatever it was though
sif greazy
Some guy from work saw it... so he wasn't after all.
Resonate
Saw it on a preview of the channel 9 news tonight. Looks awesome.
phathead
^^ yeah looks like some home amateur footage.. but it looks pretty clear like an orange comet. does look cool :)
that's not a moon...
Crakaveli
its a space station?
meteorite?? damn! i thought it was just a high flying jet, looked awesome in the sunset. but wow. i didn't even know what i was looking at.
its a space station?

No it's a comet... haven't you been paying attention ?
Furgle
Grimy
from new zealand........you just watched ch10 news too didnt ya?
Channel 9 said it wasn't an aircraft.
It was Superman.
TufNuT
ZOMG TEH MARTIANS COMING!@#!#@!
pics?
I for one, welcome our new overlords. May they kick America's arse an let us all go back to being free
so 17 posts and no video yet?

how f***ing useless are you guts at the internet?
i don't see you improving the situation
I tried a vid with my camera phone an it couldn't pick it up :(
I'f I'd had my S3 with me I think I could have capped it... dammit...
I was even heading over for a mates birthday who normally has a camera within hands grasp an he'd left it at home cause he was chillin on the way back from smaking a ball round a golf course. You have no idea how well he described his lack of camera when I called an said "man! look up over there! You cap this you'll make some good bucks" heheh
I followed up with "Happy Birthday anyways" :P
it was me, sorry guys didn't mean to cause a fuss
http://www.google.com/sky/
light from venus reflecting off swamp gas