Topic: gas tank refills?
So it's like $30 to go to a servo and do the swap and go thingo when you're only getting 9 litres of gas. WTF?

Dad thinks that camping stores can do straight refills for about 50 cents a litre which sounds far more sensible. Any one know where these places are?
Back when I was a cub my dad took the old BBQ gas tank to a hardware store for refills, try there.
Bunnings do Gas too.

Places like Camp-Mart use to.
depends where you are, there's a camping shop in moss street slacks creek that does gas bottle refils.

comedy option: taxi rank

last edited by whoop at 20:55:44 18/Dec/07
It's 9kgs not litres.

I go to BBQ Galore as it's convienient and it's about $24 for 9kg and every 5th (or 4th?) fill is free.

If not Mr Hardware can probably sort you out.

its actually 8.8kgs these days due to some law because people complained that they werent getting 9kg of gas
lots of servos do it

also

LPG TANKS EXPLODING
mr hardware knows about lpg
how about, quit being such a povo and enjoy the convenience of the swap and go at your local servo?
i agree with spook
i agree with you both <3
kr0wb4r
Any nerdy ppl able to tell us how many litres 9kg (or 8.8) of gas is?
myWhiteWolf
all depends on what pressure you fill the gas tank with.
CeMaX
f*** that , my local camping supplies store does 9kg bottle for $19 bucks. Swap and go is for the lazy. Uptons Browns Plains Road
time is money my friend, I can afford the swap and go fee's so I am down with that :D
haha spook for someone who plays a lot of sport you are so lazy. lol your kids are gonna hate you.
lol your kids are gonna hate you

matey, i reckon its gonna be the opposite (petal may do though), also, like heardy i roll with the cash monies, its nothing but the finest of gasses for my bbq
Swap and Go is fair enough if you're only saving a couple of bucks, but it seems pretty pricey considering the gas is worth about 50 cents per litre... (and I still have no clue how many litres are in a 9kg tank)
Expansion and Volume

The general rule is that one unit volume of liquid will expand to approximately 800 unit volumes of gas at Standard temperature and pressure with some variation due to intermolecular force and molecule size compared to an ideal gas. Normal high pressure gas cylinders or bottles will hold from 200 to 400 atmosphere (unit)s. The atmosphere units pressure held by the bottle is equivalent to the number of volumes of standard temperature and pressure of the gas held by the bottle for an ideal gas.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gas_bottle
Billy you should definately start hangin out with Mr Underware if you're gonna be stoogy enough to save 5 bucks and waste 30 mins of your time!
9kg of gas =/= 9L
1.418L/kg

so when you buy 9kg of LPG, you're actually buying 12.76L, which at current prices (~69.9 avg) is $8.92.

One of the reasons some servos charge high prices for BBQ Cylinder refills is that a staff member refills the bottle rather than you.

Also, the swap and go thing is also expensive because chances are you're getting a newer cylinder, one that is checked and maintained. IIRC cylinders are only good for a certain period of time before they need to be re-checked (5,6 or 10 years? i can't remember). What i do remember is going down to the servo like 5 years ago with the BBQ cylinder and the duder saying i won't fill it cos its out of date. Don't write off swap and go, the less frequent you use BBQ Gas the more economical it is (ie getting a fresh checked cylinder). For what you get (convenience, checked cylinder, full of gas) its actually not too bad value. If you're using LPG quite often, then look at hardware or camping or fishing type stores. Just remember, one servo's price is not every servo's price.

last edited by Mr Hardware at 10:21:57 19/Dec/07
Mr Hardware on LPG ^^

yeah, good for BBQs, bad for cars.
thats for that mr hardware
no worries paveway
i know you love LPG as much as i do.

yeah, good for BBQs, bad for cars.

Tell me what your oil looks like after 10,000klms
mine is still golden
tell me again how lpg is bad for cars?

last edited by Mr Hardware at 11:29:37 19/Dec/07
Gesthemene
Does it still taste like Maple Syrup? :)
yes, yes it does - just as much as it ever did :P

last edited by Mr Hardware at 12:51:32 19/Dec/07
step
One of the reasons some servos charge high prices for BBQ Cylinder refills is that a staff member refills the bottle rather than you.
No, servo employees basically do nothing. Swap'N'Go is a separate entity, they handle it all, the refilling, bottle conditions and so forth. They just rock up to servos and swap the empty bottles.

The prices are a rort, the servo I used to work at basically doubled what Swap'N'Go charged them, but in the end what you are paying for is the convenience.

IIRC cylinders are only good for a certain period of time before they need to be re-checked (5,6 or 10 years? i can't remember).
Correct, can't remember what it exactly was but I think the cutoff was 5 years.
so when you buy 9kg of LPG, you're actually buying 12.76L, which at current prices (~69.9 avg) is $8.92.

I don't know which side you're arguing there... how long does it take to fill up a gas tank and how much do the fillers get paid??? It's an absolute rip off. Yes it is convenient to swap and go, but if it takes less than 5 minutes, then that's not worth more than $5.
who said it has to be fair, they're a business
do you really think it costs $7.95 to produce a big mac meal at mcdonalds?

just because it's fuel, doesn't mean they cant make as much money as they want on it
its not quite like the petrol market, because LPG isnt a commodity
teq I'm not arguing that at all... merely exclaiming I'd rather go to the effort to save that money for myself.

PS it's much easier to fill a tank full of gas than it is to make a big mac :O
anywayyy... bcf does it for 19 or so..
bcf?
boating camping fishing ftw
dont listen to nova obviously
he new on these forums?
billy, don't confuse a refill for swap and go...

a refill should be around $20 like stated - a fair price

swap and go is a premium becuase of the testing of the cylinders and the convenience aspect.

if a mere refill was $30 - then that would be a ripoff.
i do swap and go about every 5 refills. for obvious reasons such as they have to check then and whatnot like mr hardware said
err...
I'm not 100% sure that BBQ LPG is the same as autogas. Sure, its still LPG, but LPG is made up of Butane and Propane. Now I know Propane (ref King of the Hill) is superior for BBQing, and i know it is the more expensive of the two. Usual composition of LPG is 60% Propane, 40% butane. I know in other LPG applications they use a higher percentage (and hence higher cost) of Propane ie Fork Lift Gas. So perhaps BBQ LPG is more Propane based and hence a higher cost. So lets say 9kg of Propane is about $12, and then you're paying $7 for the bozo to fill it up for you. Just remember for LPG filling you also have licencing fees for the site and the aboveground BBQ lpg tanks need checking too etc. So i don't believe it is a rip off, but you're certainly not getting a bargain.
Cheers fellas. I'm probably going to hit the swap n go tomorrow;)