Dodgymon
I think it might be the love of wow that causes people to hate wow.
For example husband spends too much time playing wow therefore wife hates wow. My wife (who is not a gamer) today said she really wants to play wow. I think hell will freeze over before I will let her play it as I value having a reasonably clean house. |
| #1 12:53am 11/12/07 |
I use to play wow in a nax raiding guild before the burning crusade expansion. I hate wow because it is a time sink. You can put hundreds of hours into the game and end up with nothing. You can raid for awesome loot and then Blizzard just release an expansion that makes the hundreds of hours you have invested into your character worthless. This is why i stopped playing. WTS: L60 Human Mage - full nax t3. |
| #2 12:57am 11/12/07 |
DM
I still play but i lost real interest about a year ago. its become repetitive and a huge time sink. im learning japanese to pull myself out of it. will be of more use to me than a wow character
| #3 01:00am 11/12/07 |
cause it's s***e?
For starters... It's a 3rd person game (pfft, yeah yeah, you can zoom into a 1st person view....) You have to play for f***ing hours at a time with a bunch of other people to get anything decent out of it - Gods forbid if you y'know, want to do something else with your life on a particular day (it's a f***ing game, get over it) an you get kicked out of "guilds" or at the very least have to listen to idiots abuse you You have to listen to Americans (an I mean more stupid than your usual variety) You turn into some gibberish speaking freak when you have conversations with someone An worst of all It destroys LAN's cause you "have to help" some wanker get there next best purple something or other due to some complete random on the other side of the world who still lives at home with their grandmother cause the actual mother committed suicide after realising what a wast of space their progeny was, tells them they'll be in big trouble if they don't "attend" * BOOM HEADSHOT * |
| #4 01:01am 11/12/07 |
oh yeah, never played it myself
Just been witness to an awesom LAN house go to s*** LAN wise due to WoW |
| #5 01:07am 11/12/07 |
Because it's an addictive piece of s*** that turns normal people into fat potato chip eating slobs who don't shower for days on end because they're too busy trying to level up their character. Sure any game has the potential to do that but with most FPS's you can just quit at any time and you don't lose your status whereas wow you've got to keep going and if you're in the middle of some big battle you can't just quit and come back later oh no it doesn't work that way.
f*** that s***. |
| #6 01:28am 11/12/07 |
i was in a naxx guild and had t3 on a rogue.. then they brought out the expansion.. time sync ++
f*** that s*** |
| #7 01:52am 11/12/07 |
i don't hate it per se, cause it doesn't affect me
i just think the genre is lame in general your capabilities derive from a number you earn by spending a lot of time and money levelling up (cf. most first person shooters where a grenade is a grenade and skills/reflexes rule) and basically they took that and found a way to make it more addictive and a time and money hole as people have mentioned |
| #8 02:02am 11/12/07 |
a guy i know at tafe, his ex girlfriend left his for his old guild leader in sydney
i'm not great friends with the guy or anything but seriously what the f*** |
| #9 07:50am 11/12/07 |
DM, how, where are you learning japanese?
| #10 07:51am 11/12/07 |
yep wow is gay for all those reasons, plus because it is so addictive.
| #11 08:30am 11/12/07 |
My wife (who is not a gamer) today said she really wants to play wow. How completely unfair, you disgust me. Surely if you hit your wife hard enough she'd find time for WoW and household chores. Why should she have to suffer because of your failings as a husband? |
| #12 08:31am 11/12/07 |
Your a dumb arse if you play WoW to get the best loot. WoW, or any other game should be played because you enjoy playing the game for what it is. If you are 'working' you should put down WoW and go earn money instead. |
| #13 08:37am 11/12/07 |
Lynx
I'd say a lot of wow hate stems from the same place vista, crysis and wii hate comes from.
Some people (especially forum trolls) think it is cool to hate the things that are in and popular, just to clash with others and be noticed. Look at me, I'm so great I hate Crysis, its s***, and overrated, yet I haven't even played it. |
| #14 08:38am 11/12/07 |
i just hate wow coz of the lack of skills (investing time isnt a skill) and that it encourages you to be a shutin
although i do agree that a lot of wow players have nothing better to do with their time anyway |
| #15 08:45am 11/12/07 |
you sound like a crysis fan lynx
| #16 08:54am 11/12/07 |
I quit WOW a long time ago because it got a bit boring and I didn't play enough to justify the subscription fee. That said... You have to play for f***ing hours at a time with a bunch of other people to get anything decent out of it - Gods forbid if you y'know, want to do something else with your life on a particular day (it's a f***ing game, get over it)I used to play 2 maybe 3 hours a week. I had top notch gear. Never took much effort. The amount of time you spend depends on you. an you get kicked out of "guilds" or at the very least have to listen to idiots abuse youWhy join such a guild in the first place. You have to listen to Americans (an I mean more stupid than your usual variety)I joined an Aussie only guild, I don't think I've ever heard an American on TS/Vent in WOW....maybe a Canadian and some Brits. You turn into some gibberish speaking freak when you have conversations with someoneWell.....I can't argue about that. I never did but most people do. It destroys LAN's cause you "have to help" some wanker get there next best purple something or other due to some complete random on the other side of the world who still lives at home with their grandmother cause the actual mother committed suicide after realising what a wast of space their progeny was, tells them they'll be in big trouble if they don't "attend"If you get pushed around in a game where there is no consequence....how do you go in the real world :p I agree with Lynx, people hate to try be cool. I don't hate WOW, it was just boring and repetitive. Crysis I do hate though. Found it over hyped and average at best to play. I like cutting down trees....but even that can only sustain you for so long :) |
| #17 09:12am 11/12/07 |
coz the ppl that play it are fkn DORKS!!! hahahahahahha LEEEEROY JENKINZ!
| #18 10:02am 11/12/07 |
smashingpumpkin
Because it's a very light hearted fun game.
I play maybe 5 times a week 3 hours at a time. I never got into raiding, and just aim at getting every class up to max levels. It's getting to know the class really well (with friends) that's the fun part. I'm in a guild who share the same views and are always up for partying up, so your never alone if you don't want to be. That's how WoW can be fun. If you allow yourself to get addicted and play for 10 hours a day (like i did in my first two months) then yeah it's a big addicting time sink thats a complete waste of time, and not enjoyable at all. But if you play it right it can be the most fun game ever, like it is to me. horde ftw |
| #19 10:04am 11/12/07 |
Muh, I have a lvl 70 druid and a level 62 hunter and Iv been playing for around 2 years.
I go out on weekends with friends/family, I shower twice a day , the americans in my guild are some of the nicest people iv ever spoken too, I PVP a lot, dont really raid due to time restraints, I also play sport.... I dont see the difference in my opening up TF2 (which I now also play) or opening up and playing wow for a few hours........ That said, I know there is ppl out there that have quit their jobs or turned into shutins etc etc....sucks to be them I guess. |
| #20 10:25am 11/12/07 |
Xyzzy
I used to play 2 maybe 3 hours a week. I had top notch gear. Never took much effort. The amount of time you spend depends on you. I planned a rather large post but i replaced it with this because ultimately everything i'm going to say is either outdated or second hand. Ultimately it depends on what you call "Top notch gear". If you consider the solo drops from BC top notch then i daresay that a large percentage of the server will laugh at you. I hear they're pretty good overall, but i doubt people would be calling PVP gear "welfare loot" if solo drops were competitive gear. If you consider the PVP gear top notch then i know Shad "grinds" pvp (i.e. watches movies) most of the time i see him. I'll leave him to explain the value of his gear. If you only consider Raid Uber Loot as top notch then it at best it depends on you and 9 friends. Ultimately i left WoW because it's static, boring and has about as much story coherency as the Simpsons. While i'm sure that appeals to many people, i'd personally rather reach just a tad higher than that. YMMV. |
| #21 10:44am 11/12/07 |
Heh I hate it because it meant a mate stopped coming out IRL with us for a period.
| #22 10:50am 11/12/07 |
johnhenry
before I will let her play Somehow i don;t think that such chauvinistic approaches work these days. |
| #23 10:55am 11/12/07 |
Heh I hate it because it meant a mate stopped coming out IRL with us for a period. i lost a whole heap of online buddies to it it really hurt :*( it hurt even more that they would leave me for such a s*** looking and s*** playing game i cbf'ed searching for the article, but there was a write up on why games like this appeal to parts of the community, something (missing) in their brain and they need to GRIND, CANT HELP THEMSELVES |
| #24 10:57am 11/12/07 |
Ultimately it depends on what you call "Top notch gear".Well, it has been some time since I last played I can't even really remember the dungeon names (Kara, Gruuls Lair, black temple or whatever the f*** it was called). But at the time when I left we were clearing the 10 and 25 man dungeons fairly easily rotating players through as the raid progressed to give everyone gear. I never got into PVP, took too much of a time investment. Raiding was quick gear as opposed to the PVP grind. |
| #25 11:01am 11/12/07 |
Raiding was quick gear as opposed to the PVP grind. Maybe so, but raiding you have to invest like 4 hours a night, from between 2 - 5 nights a week. PVP is great because you log in, have a couple of games, logout whenever you want. |
| #26 11:13am 11/12/07 |
The thinking thats gone into the game is pure evil, you cant finish it.
The only way i could find wow fun was guild organised PVP everyone in ventrilo with strats. Never raided cause i thought it was ridiculous. The game is fun yes, i burnt a fair few gamecards on it but games that are determined soley by a players skill ftw. |
| #27 11:33am 11/12/07 |
I think people hate WoW because they have seen what it does to their friends/family. But is it the games fault or is it the persons addictive personality that's the real issue? Would they get addicted to something else if WoW wasn't around?
I know lots of people who play it quite casually (myself, my gf, few friends, friends wives, etc) and we still have an active social life. The difference is we all treat it as a game as opposed to an alternate reality. Sure there are times when I can play all day but they are rare and it's usually because I am in a mood to just veg out and do nothing, similiar to how others could play PS3/Xbox or wath DVDs all day. It is a time sink, a f***ing massive one but learning to control how much time you sink into it is imperative. |
| #28 12:25pm 11/12/07 |
cause it's s***e? Dumbest criticism ever. I dislike WoW for many of the same reasons people have already said. It's not particularly engaging, and the amount of time I had to put into it to get effectively nowhere was laughable. And I too have a mate who, ever since he got into WoW, I've seen less and less of. It's kinda sad because it's now just become an assumption me and my mates make. "Hey, ask so-and-so if he wants to come out!" "It's a night of the week, he'll be raiding." |
| #29 01:01pm 11/12/07 |
can someone explain to me what a raid is?
| #30 01:09pm 11/12/07 |
20 to 40 WoW players in a group trying to complete a dungeon.
| #31 01:14pm 11/12/07 |
For PvE (player vs environment/NPCs/etc) there are two choices. You can go as a 5-man party (commonly called Dungeons) or if it's more tehan 5-man then its a raid (10/25/40-man).
Dungeons can usually be completed in < 1hr30mins, you'll get something from it and you can do it with randoms without much organisation. Raids are where you are made to sit for a bajillion hours a week, killing the same s***ty bosses over and over so that someone else can get better items than you. Raid's are like a dodgy vindaloo. You eat it, don't realise it's bad, but then it keeps repeating on you every hour as you run to the crapper to take another massive and painful dump. |
| #32 01:16pm 11/12/07 |
CSIRAC
Learning PvE content is abit of a timesink. but if you're in a coordinated guild with good players (not 10 good players carrying the other 60% of the raid) then after not much time you will have learned all the content and raiding drops down to 2 nights a week. End of the day the amount played depends on you and what guild you end up in. Right now we clear everything in 2 nights and you can pretty much not log on till the next week or just play casually. (8 hours total a week of raiding)
If you played the game previously just to get loot, you wouldnt survive long in many guilds as your loot whoreness would shine through. Like someone previously said, you play the game to enjoy it and with friends that you've gamed with for 2+ years, any loot from playing is a bonus really. |
| #33 01:26pm 11/12/07 |
this is a great thread by the way
Wow bashing is the new kat bashing |
| #34 01:43pm 11/12/07 |
Your a dumb arse if you play WoW to get the best loot. You misunderstand me. Before the expansion there was an order to how you progressed as a player. You geared up to goto MC, then you did MC and you got geared up for BWL, then you do BWL and you gear up for AQ40, and then you gear up for NAX etc. So now all that gear has been negated and all those people on those paths wasted their time. How many guilds still goto MC, BWL or AQ40 now? That whole part of the game has been superceeded by Level70, and soon to be Level80, greens and blues. Your statement "Your(sic) a dumb arse if you play WoW to get the best loot" is naive. If people didn't get loot from doing dungeons, raiding or PVP grinding there would be a whole heap less people playing wow still. Gear is how you progress once you reach the level cap. |
| #35 01:43pm 11/12/07 |
defcon
Alot of brave people here, i too am a survivor, the game for me became a bit of a time sink, you'd do s*** not because it was fun but because u had to, it was like a job almost, just type /played and you see how much time you've wasted (yes wasted), i knew people with 300+ days played, in freakin hours, and this was about a year ago. Coupled with the fact i was working so i could only play from 5:00pm up made me realise how much time u really need to commit, whether its grinding xp, grinding honor, grinding rep, grinding materials, grinding gold... its fine if u can take it in moderation but half the game content isn't availible to u unless u've put in the months of work for gear / rep etc. as for pvp yer sure u can log in play a few games log off, that works but u might aswell play a proper fps, its funner than throwing dice at people. anyway its summer, no excuse to be indoors. |
| #36 01:48pm 11/12/07 |
Deffy.. AIRCON is an excuse to be in doors :-(
I don't think I'm ever doing a /played again so i can avoid the following sad face. But its not really that huge a time sink. 2 nights of raiding a week + little 10 man raids if I'm around and my fiance isn't and I've got nothing better to do, working 40-45hrs a week and playing basketball 2 nights a week. WoW isn't the time sink it used to be. It caters much better to the weekend gamer so to speak. Not sure how people can call pvp the grind and pve the faster way. Given you can do 1hr of arena a week and build up points to buy decent epics that are for some classes comparable to the loot that people raid months to get. |
| #37 02:12pm 11/12/07 |
I play wow ....
but the guild I am in is all people who do whatever whenever if they want (started off as a 6 person guild, me the missus, keato, keato's missus, shad and term). Saint's started playing again, Boba's just started again.. people will coem and go and it won't matter its no stress. If we ever happen to get to 10 we'll rock up and do Kara and ZA otherwise heaps of 5man stuff to do. And that's what we do now, We don't raid. We 5 man stuff, when we feel like it.... if we can be bothered WoW is broken when you view it as a quest to get the best of everything (that's never ending), or when you use it to compare e-penii (always going to be someone with less of a life then you) And simply saying raiding is gay etc etc If you raid because you have to get the purple or the DKP then you are an addicted drone. If you raid because you happened to be on and it sounded like a challenge/fun , and will log off when it suits you then its a game. If you log on play have fun, win lose and draw. Then it is no different to any other game. I have quit wow 3 times, all 3 times because I forgot to just have fun. Turning up to be at raids at stupid times, to compete with others to get spots and earn DKP and get "pro gear".... gay. I doubt I'll need to quit now, 5 man content and pvp will keep me busy between alts. |
| #38 02:24pm 11/12/07 |
myWhiteWolf
I smoke maybe 5 times a week 3 hours at a time. I never got into chain-smoking, and just aim at sucking every cig up to the max. It's getting to know the drug really well (with friends) that's the fun part. I'm in a gang who share the same views and are always up for lighting up, so your never alone if you don't want to be.
That's how smoking can be fun. If you allow yourself to get addicted and smoke for 10 hours a day (like i did in my first two months) then yeah it's a big addicting time sink thats a complete waste of time, and not enjoyable at all. But if you smoke it right it can be the most fun habbit ever, like it is to me. winnie blues ftw |
| #39 02:42pm 11/12/07 |
Wow bashing is the new kat bashing Should it be elevated to bandwagon status? |
| #40 03:01pm 11/12/07 |
play wow .... Same as the guild I'm in. It's me, my fiancee, my mate, my mate from work, my mate from works wife and my boss from work. It's alot more fun playing with people you know. PS: whitewolf, that is the worst analogy ever. |
| #41 03:30pm 11/12/07 |
Yeah I didn't want to play again because last time I quit was from playing for loot/items, but now I have TF2 to play as well, WoW will be there to play as fun rather than something I have to be around for. Just being in a small guild of friends and doing what you want to do when you want to is alot more fun and life-friendly ;)
| #42 03:51pm 11/12/07 |
I'd rather be addicted to WoW than addicted to Jesus, AMIRITE! HI-5 Whitewolf!
What server do you play on Obes? |
| #43 04:21pm 11/12/07 |
what's the diff they are both imaginary.
| #44 04:22pm 11/12/07 |
Lithium
I bought WoW just as everyone i knew school/tafe/work was getting into it... i hate it.. i got to level 12 after 2 weeks of self-forced play... i sold my account to my mate who level'd to 30 in 1 week and is now completely addicted to it, he works 3 nights a week and the rest of his life is WoW.
Pretty sad really... need i elaborate? |
| #45 04:36pm 11/12/07 |
I hate wow because it ruined my life indirectly.
my flatmate started playing, stopped going to work and just played wow for 18hrs/day, turned into a total reject and pissed me off he's ok now though, no more wow |
| #46 04:45pm 11/12/07 |
Sif play video games at all. Ur all losers wasting your time with your timesinky videogames go outside!
| #47 05:12pm 11/12/07 |
Arize
wow.. my post turned into a good thread! ^^
| #48 05:25pm 11/12/07 |
i hate wow for most of the reasons people have already said.
i started playing to get the best loot and not to have fun. it just turning into a pissing competition as to who could make their numbers go up the fastest. i think to play wow casually and actually enjoy it you need a group of good friends to be playing it at the same time as you otherwise it sucks complete balls. |
| #49 05:58pm 11/12/07 |
neimad
This post on the day after I cancelled my account... it's a sign! Just logged in to see I've been playing my main character for 75 days, 7 hours, 9 minutes. Somehow over the last two years I've managed to change jobs, stay married and have another daughter. It never took over my life but was a big part of it (now replaced by TF2)
It was fun but stopped being fun - friends left, the game became about prepping, reading strats, maxing talents, top gear, grinding rep and somewhere along the way it stopped being fun. I'll probably give it another look after the next expansion, but I'm hoping something better comes along. C'mon Star Trek Online, don't be another Fury! EDIT - 500 AGN posts... gee, lurk much? |
| #50 07:04pm 11/12/07 |
actually towards the end of my wow playing days i found a nice thing to do solo was create a twink.. instead of endless grinding twinks have a set amout of loot which you can get so the game does have an end.. once ur twinked out then you can just pvp in a twink guild against other twinks and its alot of fun
| #51 07:29pm 11/12/07 |
hahahahaha twink
| #52 07:31pm 11/12/07 |
People like to hate things I guess, it's just the same as people hating any facet of life. At the end of the day, we all do something in our spare time.
Expansion is awesome, it made casual PVP an option. I run a 5v5 team with a mate IRL and 3 other dudes. I can arena one night a week and get epics for certain, none of this drops or dkp s***. Each season I can get upgrades, but there is no rush, just take it easy and play once a week. The coolest part is, I have 400+ resil from my pvp rewards and own up battlegrounds too. So if I'm bored, I jump on and do them instead of watching tv. The coolest part about playing WoW is that I have no time for tv, I simply don't watch it. I can fill my brain with happy nice WoW adventures instead of pathetic tv shows or the news. |
| #53 08:00pm 11/12/07 |
I'd also like to add that playing WoW for 2 years has taught me leadership, refined my problem solving and time management skills, and also increased my self esteem believe it not, and I use all this great stuff in my real life.
hahahaha Thanks Blizzard. |
| #54 08:16pm 11/12/07 |
Is anyone here on Horde on the Frostmourne server? I've got a rogue there and the rest of my toons are on Eldre Thalas. Be nice to play with some aussies I know.
| #55 08:20pm 11/12/07 |
i got 5000 gold on my account which is no longer active - i'll sell it for the going rate 300 yuan or whatever a bucket of rice costs
| #56 08:25pm 11/12/07 |
Blackrock transfers are OPEN!
GFTI (get the f*** IN) |
| #57 08:43pm 11/12/07 |
I played WoW for a fair while, although not normally to excess unless I didn't have anything better to do. I understand the lure of MMOs though, played too much EQ to the point that it threatened my studies.
Its possible to play the game as a game and enjoy it for what it is, but once you reach max level and start to really grind it becomes pretty stale. I don't have the heart to play through any PvE content more than a few times anymore, and max level MMO is all about repeating content over and over.. |
| #58 09:08pm 11/12/07 |
It's a 2-way line of thought I guess
One part is, the moderation arguement - life in moderation Second is, the hardcore approach - do it as much as possible and take yourself to the threshold to learn about yourself, then stop, or maybe keep going For me personally, I love both, I love to push myself into states that aren't sustainable to learn about myself and adapt those back into my everyday. Maybe then I might choose moderate, but then again, only for a small while, then turn the volume up again. I'm talking about all aspects of life, not just online gaming. Err, so back on thread, why do people hate WoW? Cause they are close minded f***wits who need to accept the difference of others. |
| #59 09:27pm 11/12/07 |
f*** wow and f*** you too pal!
| #60 09:42pm 11/12/07 |
| #61 09:56pm 11/12/07 |
gimpy isn't a paladin.
| #62 10:42pm 11/12/07 |
this is why it's good
u afk bot in av to get honor, thereby saving yourself countless hours |
| #63 11:25pm 11/12/07 |
smashingpumpkin
i think the only thing people hate more than WoW is Scientology...
| #64 11:27pm 11/12/07 |
Just been witness to an awesom LAN house go to s*** LAN wise due to WoW I concur.. =( Brisbanes most awesome home lan bar none.. pwned by a MMORG. At least one of you can still play quake without needing help from your GF |
| #65 12:11am 12/12/07 |
Clearly these people enjoy the game so...
MAN UP and roll a priest |
| #66 12:18am 12/12/07 |
Gimpy the first step is admitting your addiction. We can help you.
| #67 02:00am 12/12/07 |
Coz it destroys lives. I've seen it. Guy from uni, great coder, really cluely and stuff, ended up never coming to uni again half way thru (and finishing obiviously) coz he just got sucked into WoW. So now hes got fkall chance of making money with his skill unless of course he goes to finish the other half of his degree..
last edited by 3dee at 08:56:43 12/Dec/07 |
| #68 08:56am 12/12/07 |
Clearly these people enjoy the game so... Nothing destroys enjoyment of this game like being a priest. |
| #69 09:17am 12/12/07 |
| #70 10:17am 12/12/07 |
Xyzzy
i think the only thing people hate more than WoW is Scientology... I'd say Intelligent Design or Richard Dawkins(Depending on which side of the argument you sit). |
| #71 12:25pm 12/12/07 |
Rev: Teloh or Pscion on FM horde.
I think there are more QGLers as alliance though. Alot of servers did open up xfers again though. |
| #72 01:38pm 12/12/07 |
Anyone else play Alliance on Jubei'thos?
| #73 02:23pm 12/12/07 |
i used to.. had a rogue called madcap and a lock called imnotagnome.. but now im going horde jubei, sucka
meanwhile, dammit if i stayed in cs id be like a progamer and getting paid to play cs... :| f***f***f***f***f***f*** |
| #74 06:44pm 12/12/07 |
| #75 06:47pm 12/12/07 |
i was in genesis on jubai horde :)
1 of the founders from when the server started with duecy we both re rolled off blackrock last edited by Superform at 19:04:53 12/Dec/07 |
| #76 07:04pm 12/12/07 |
i was in the elite on br then went alliance to hitsquad... then frostmourne with despise... then barth with snitch... then kiljaeden with force of nature and then back to jubei with your bad / outplayed
| #77 07:43pm 12/12/07 |
People probably hate WoW because a bunch of people make massive loads of $'s from it and the haters are just jealous.
| #78 07:56pm 12/12/07 |
| #79 01:40am 16/12/07 |