Topic: Diesel or Petrol
Monaro
Hey im looking at getting a new ute, have been looking at the holden rodeo.

What would you guys recommend Diesel or Petrol.

I took a turbo diesel for a drive, but it was so slow still, not much faster than a diesel hilux.

What are the Advantages and disadvantages of each?
crazymorton
rodeo/hilux are more workman utes...low end power
if you want speed stick with holden/ford pretty boy utes
if you're determined to go rodeo/hilux judge on fuel efficiency
Diesel is cheaper in the long run and to look after and maintain......
Monaro
Yea i got a holden ute at the moment. But it cant carry much, and i need it to carry stuff for work.
talking in this context of basic consumer use.. diesel isn't necessarily cheaper in the long run at all - it depends entirely on the vehicle, how long you have it, how you maintain it and whether or not you have any bad fortune with it

diesel engines are typically dearer to maintain due to shorter service intervals and expensive periodic injector maintenance, although this is improving a lot in recent years and service intervals are widening for on-road use and if you pick the right vehicle and look after it, by the time the equivalent petrol engine is burning oil and ready for reconditioning your diesel will only just be broken in

my recommendation is not to make your choice hoping to save money with one type or the other - pick the engine that suits the use and be done with it. if the ute is going to tow, carry a load or otherwise be used as an actual ute then get a diesel. if you want a ute to rice up or tie a surfboard onto and want it to be kind of zippy then get a petrol. jap diesels are improving in terms of power and driveability but they're still miiiiiiiiiiiles behind euro diesels so don't expect them to cain

if you want a ute that cains and can still tow the space shuttle get a dodge ram conversion :)
If you intend to put s*** in the back of the ute, go diesel, if not, petrol.
3x0dus
pretty much as shad said, if you have to carry anything, diesel will cope alot better and fuel $$ wont be so bad.

if its just abit of stuff, petrol is fine, (but then again rodeo's are pretty bad fuel guzzlers imo).

i have an 07 hilux 4wd, and with highway driving i around 11/l per 100km to the tank (premium unleaded)(110km/hr average). Which for a vehicle coming in at close to 2tonne i find incredible.

Throw a 5m tinnie on the back fully loaded, that shoots upto about 15/16l per 100km. (thats sitting on about ~105~km/hr).

Equiv Hilux in diesel would see about 9L per 100km on highway, and 11L per 100 loaded up.

Not a fan of the rodeo's tho, dad used to have one, sucked down fuel like there was no tomorrow.
And both Toyota Petrol and Disel enginers produce more torque/kw at lower rpms, but if your not towing or 4wding i guess probably isnt going to matter.

as for TCO (total cost of ownership)
there isnt much of a diffrence unless you are towing s***.

Diesels get serviced more, and diesel repair/rebuilds cost a lot more, but may be cheaper in fuel.

Petrol's get serviced less, and generaly have lower replaceable parts cost. Rebuilds are probably half that of diesels. Fuel costs abit more.

so its realy 50/50 untill you start towing, and the fuel goes up.

last edited by 3x0dus at 19:57:49 18/Nov/07

last edited by 3x0dus at 20:07:46 18/Nov/07
Keep in mind that biodiesel is a growing industry and could prove to be cheaper in the long run.
3x0dus
not realy.
You have to take the crops away from other things to produce the biodiesel, which can not always be econimcal due to how the price and demand of crops go up and down.
Biodiesel isnt a long term solution it helps but only helps when it is sourced from excess crops, and not sourced from specific bio fuel plantings, since that is taking away from food production, be it for us or for animals.
queue petrol vs diesel vs lpg thread
commercially produced biodiesel is barely cheaper than dinodiesel
At the moment, give it time.
Monaro
I was looking at the same model rodeos, just one was a deisel and the other was a petrol. I have a ute at the moment, but it is not a 1 tonne its a style side. It can carry s*** no prob but, its more a show ute and i would rather one i can just chuck s*** in and not worry about it. I just dont want it to be so slow. I would like the option of 4x4 but i have seen some high 2x4 rodeos that would be good. I just want to be able to go on farms and dirt roads and stuff like that. The one i have now cant do that its just to low.
Keep in mind that biodiesel is a growing industry and could prove to be cheaper in the long run.

not before we are driving hydrogen powered flying cars it won't be.

que slaps_forehead and the thread is completely offtopic.

back on topic, by the sounds of it i think you'd be after the petrol. even modern diesels suck to drive compared to petrol if you're the sort of driver who likes to enjoy the drive.
I don't agree with that last comment nf, especially in the context of a trayback ute

I'll have to take you for a drive in my new diesel when I get it nef
yes, there'll be a 'may end up wrong side up' waiver for you to sign

Well I've driven my boss' '06 Petrol Rodeo quite a lot to pick up parts etc, manual 2x4 version and I must say it seems to have some balls. Its also a dual cab style side. Great car to drive I must say, very comfortable, quiet and they look f***ing great.
i've drivin the ranger turbo diesel ute, it goes pretty hard for a diesel! Make sure you get a turbo if your gonna go diesel, you'll find you get heaps more k's to the tank aswell.
twat
At the moment, give it time.

So now your referring to dinofuel? ;)
Monaro
Yea i would go turbo if i was to go with diesel. Its def a tray back i want, style sides are just not practical. One of the cars i have beeen looking at was a 2006 2x4 rodeo. It looks exactly like the 4x4, its just as high off the ground, but then i could never take it on the beach.

You said it goes alright, do you think the 4x4 version with the same engine would be much different?

Do you guys think it is worth getting a 4x4 ova a 2x4. Like i like going 4b driving but would i really go that often. Does anyone here go 4x4 driving alot, do you think it is worth spending that bit more and having the option, but at the same time losing some speed?
I would say if you want to keep a nice car and not have a 4WD monster, then it isn't worth it really, you'd probably just goto the beach a lot and once the sand is in, its in forever. My boss' is the high style you're talking about.
3x0dus
Depends where you go, I will often not go into 4wd mode at all when i drive on the beach, That being said if i need it (and you at some stage probably would) its nice to know its there.

I have seen bogans drive those rear drive holden wagons on the beach, they dont have a lot of weight, so as long as they keep going they float over pretty well ^_^, personaly i wouldnt try i tlol.
I'm one of the bogans who used to take his XF ute up the cooloola beach =]
the wet sand is like a highway tho, you won't move far in soft sand with only two wheels trying to drive you

Do you guys think it is worth getting a 4x4 ova a 2x4. Like i like going 4b driving but would i really go that often. Does anyone here go 4x4 driving alot, do you think it is worth spending that bit more and having the option, but at the same time losing some speed?
yes I do think it's worth it, but I like 4wding

you don't lose any speed, rodeo's are a part-time system so unless you shift into 4wd the front wheels are just freewheeling.

and unless you make some maaaaaajor modifications to the front end, a rodeo isn't going to come anywhere near being a 4wd monster

sif get a diesel turbo, get a hybrid.
ItsMe
My personal preference would be to go with a 4x4 hilux because their running gear tends to be stronger then most other utes so if you do want to fang it around a farm paddock you'll hopefully break less parts.

In regards to diesel vs petrol, i'd personally choose the diesel because of firstly better economy and secondly there's less things to go wrong with the engine. However diesel these days does tend to be 10c per litre more then unleaded at the bowser.

I drive a 4v4 dual cab petrol hilux around for work and it has alot of balls, however it's turning circle is horrible and you can pretty much see the fuel gauge going down.

My brother works at RACQ and they recently switched from the 4x2 hilux utes to the 3L turbo rodeos, but hardly any of the patrolies would take the rodeos out because of the lack of power compared to just the normal diesel hilux.

I'm also not a fan of the whole it's got a turbo so it's more economical talk. I agree that it should be the case and should offer better economy but it doesn't seem to work in practice. We often go on trips with a 4.2L patrol diesel and a 4.2L patrol turbo diesel (same model) and the straight 4.2 diesel
gets better fuel economy every time. Another thing aswell, turbo 4wds tend to also have alot of overheading problems.

Anyway goodluck with the car hunting.

last edited by ItsMe at 04:05:20 19/Nov/07
sif get a diesel turbo, get a hybrid.

As amusing as that is, expect to see more serious suggestions like this in the future, with ever-increasing tax incentives.

Also, don't buy the Dodge Ram - I want my Australia to be free of fugly American vehicles kthx.
I'm also not a fan of the whole it's got a turbo so it's more economical talk. I agree that it should be the case and should offer better economy but it doesn't seem to work in practice. We often go on trips with a 4.2L patrol diesel and a 4.2L patrol turbo diesel (same model) and the straight 4.2 diesel
gets better fuel economy every time.
what are you, whitewolf's alternate account? of course the exact same engine without a turbo will use less fuel - the turbo bolted on allows more air to be induced in turn meaning more fuel can be burnt. however, compare the 4.2 litre patrol to the 3.0 litre TD - more torque and power from the 3.0, yet uses less fuel. THAT'S how you should make your comparison

what turbo 4wd has overheating problems, where do you get this stuff from?

creepy: it's not your australia, and the ram is coming whether you like it or not. dodge are going to produce left hand drive versions for aus as early as next year, which is the only reason I didn't fork over for a conversion this year
Jim: why would they produce left-hand-drive versions for Australia?

because they need take any orders they can get whereever they are for a car like that.
queue petrol vs diesel vs lpg thread

I reckon. Derr, arguing over whether diesel is better than petrol is like arguing whether the grey cardigan is less pensioner-like than the brown cardigan. At the end of the day they're both crap.

When I was a courier driver i had an '04 Mitsu Triton on LPG. Keep in mind half the time i had about a tonne on the back. It used to do about 12L/100klms city with a load on petrol, or 14-15L/100klms on LPG. Do the maths, LPG wins.

By the way, when you say a petrol rodeo, you mean a 4-cyl, right? Get an LPG 6-cyl, more power and economy than anything else on offer.

LPG is still a by product of oil. Ergo it is FTL.
Not necessarily. LPG is also a by-product of the natural gas refining process, which there is a crazy big supply of. Ergo, you are wrong.

They are both sourced from fossil fuels.

You may have noticed as petrol prices have risen of late so has the LPG price.

You lose.
They are both sourced from fossil fuels.
So??? I never said they weren't. All i said was they were better economy than petrol and diesel.

You may have noticed as petrol prices have risen of late so has the LPG price.
Yes, I have noticed this. This is largely due to the northern hemisphere coming into winter, as LPG is used for heating in some parts. This phenomenon of increased LPG prices in our summer/their winter has been happening every year for many, many years now and is totally isolated from the recent rise in oil price per barrel. Yet again you link some half facts and try to believe you are right.

You lose.
hey, i'm not the one who's wrong here. And just because you say it doesn't make it so.

You still lose cause you use LPG.
i don't see how - for my application, i win.
Jim: why would they produce left-hand-drive versions for Australia?
oops. I meant *your* left :D

And just because you say it doesn't make it so.
it works fine for you
you're so full of s*** about lpg it's not funny
show me one inaccuracy in what i say about LPG
ok

"lpg ftw"

if you want more than one, just ask
yes, i would like more than one, as the one you mention is ambiguous. For example, if it wasn't the best value for money, then why would 99% of Cabs and a high proportion of other fleet vehicles (limos, courier vehicles etc) run it? I see that it is not meant for all people under all circumstances, but that doesn't make it s***.
ItsMe
what are you, whitewolf's alternate account? of course the exact same engine without a turbo will use less fuel - the turbo bolted on allows more air to be induced in turn meaning more fuel can be burnt. however, compare the 4.2 litre patrol to the 3.0 litre TD - more torque and power from the 3.0, yet uses less fuel. THAT'S how you should make your comparison

Sorry I should have explained the statement better. The 4.2l turbo Patrols have a different gearbox to just the plain 4.2L patrols. Every gear is alot higher then that of the ordinary patrol to counteract the extra power and torque.

I should have also said "some" 4wds have the overheating issues. Our car always overheats when towing a load either up the beach or up mountain ranges and so does the 4L Turbo Landcruiser. However they both don't have intercoolers so I guess that's why you don't get those problems with your 3L patrol.
mr hardware that's a huge change of tune from:

I reckon. Derr, arguing over whether diesel is better than petrol is like arguing whether the grey cardigan is less pensioner-like than the brown cardigan. At the end of the day they're both crap.

now you're conceding that for applications where the primary concern is 'best bang for buck in light passenger use', lpg is good - instead of busting into a thread where a guy is asking 'diesel or petrol' and saying 'get lpg, those are both s***'

My previous comment still stands. I believe that few people would not benefit from lpg.

last edited by Mr Hardware at 15:53:32 19/Nov/07
well you need to read more then
several of your previous comments fall over, which isn't like standing at all

basically it all boils down to:
btu
production/storage/distribution
emissions
available resources

lpg doesn't stack up as the answer for future generations that you repeatedly claim it does
You're missing the point. LPG is good value for money now, and has been for the past 30 years or so. If anyone is ever concerned about cost of fuel vs power, then LPG will always win.

Available Resources: I have no idea how long the world's LPG resources will last. All i know is that it will be longer than oil.

The BTU properties of LPG are crap. I know that. But cost per litre makes up for that twice over.

Emissions: Far, Far better than petrol and better again than diesel. That's why the govt doesnt have the excise on it, cos it is considered a green fuel

Production/storage/distribution: What's the issue there? Seems to have been going okay for the past 30 years or so from what i'm aware.

Why LPG is still a laughing gas
i reckon mr hardware'd be the type to have a bull bar on his falcon too. Is it still painted orange?
negative - a bull bar is just extra weight (increased fuel consumption) and negative on the orange too - its pained back to its original colour.

Also, in that interesting article ara, most of the comments in it are quite good! have a look at one by adam h, its pretty accurate.

last edited by Mr Hardware at 16:43:52 19/Nov/07
Monaro
The three utes i have been looking at are:
4cyl Turbo Diesel 4x4

V6 Petrol 4x4

V6 Petrol 2x4

All rodeos
Sorry to attack your thread there Monaro, but i'd be choosing the petrol V6 2x4.
I'll have to take you for a drive in my new diesel when I get it nef
yes, there'll be a 'may end up wrong side up' waiver for you to sign

how about you can use your fancy new diesel to pull my s***ty petrol pajero out of whichever puddle it'll inevitably get bogged in
Have you even got it running yet?
Monaro
thats what im thinking. But would it be a big disadvantage not have a 4x4 version?
If you go 4x4ing, then yes.
If not, then no.

General Camping usually doesn't need 4x4. However if you intend to take it out on the beach or go somewhere like Cape York then you'll need 4x4.
Have you even got it running yet?

its coming along, maybe this weekend.
Monaro
Yea, dont go 4x4 driving atm cause i dont have one. I like going but if i got one not sure how offen i would really use it. And if it was a good one i would not really want to take it on the beach.
mr hardware, pls stop stealing our oxygen kthx

sweet nf!
Monaro
Here are the three utes i have been looking at.

http://www.carsales.com.au/used-cars/private/HOLDEN/RODEO/details.aspx?__sid=11659C42A186&Cr=0&__Ns=pCar_PrivateSpecialFlag_Int32|1||pCar_ImageCount_Int32|1||pCar_LastModifiedDate_DateTime|1&State=Queensland&distance=25&silo=1003&seot=0&__Nne=20&Model=RODEO&R=1851059&__N=4294965857+79+499+4294965654+834+285+257&Make=HOLDEN&state_id=79&trecs=33

http://www.carsales.com.au/used-cars/private/HOLDEN/RODEO/details.aspx?__sid=11659C42A186&Cr=6&__Ns=pCar_PrivateSpecialFlag_Int32|1||pCar_ImageCount_Int32|1||pCar_LastModifiedDate_DateTime|1&State=Queensland&distance=25&silo=1003&seot=0&__Nne=20&Model=RODEO&R=1880100&__N=4294965857+79+499+4294965654+834+285+257&Make=HOLDEN&state_id=79&trecs=33

http://www.carsales.com.au/used-cars/private/HOLDEN/RODEO/details.aspx?__sid=11659C42A186&Cr=18&__Ns=pCar_PrivateSpecialFlag_Int32|1||pCar_ImageCount_Int32|1||pCar_LastModifiedDate_DateTime|1&State=Queensland&distance=25&silo=1003&seot=0&__Nne=20&Model=RODEO&R=1335159&__N=4294965857+79+499+4294965654+834+285+257&Make=HOLDEN&state_id=79&trecs=33
what the f*** is so hard about figuring out whether or not you will go 4wd'ing ?
TBH i wouldn't get a diesel. I work at an agricultural parts (tractors machinery) and some of the things I hear about Older diesels really arent that good.

Early in their life for the most part they tend to be cheaper to maintain. However down the track (this is where they differ alot from petrols) the fuel system will start costing you alot of dollars. For Eg a customer of ours just had his 02 Rodeo fuel pump removed and rebuilt as the fuel that he had been using happened to have a high content of water in it. So what you say, fuel pumps are cheap. Not on diesels. This particular pump was either going to cost him 4k for a new one or 2.5 for the rebuild. Food for thought.

I think Jim said up above somewhere about the injectors. They tend to need more attention then their petrol brothers. Not only that but when you do need to replace them they don't tend to give them away. (for eg Jeep injectors on later models after 2000 are worth $700 each)

Anyway, thats my take.
Monaro
Thanks
yeah a mates dad was quoted stupid amounts of money to get a fuel pump rebuilt in a import delica (which is same engine as the aussie mitsus). i think it was in the order of 3 grand. he said f*** off and got a second hand one, but has since had all sorts of issues with timing etc. maintenance/repair costs vs fuel costs. personally i'd rather be paying oil companies than some useless grease monkey.
yeah older diesels tend to need more love in the fuel pump and injector department, it's becoming much less of an issue as things progress though especially with europe pouring megabucks into diesel development over the past 10 years to the point where it's starting to become a case of 'why would you buy petrol' in the euro car market
V6 2x4 Petrol. You won't go 4wding in your own brand new car.
asif you wouldn't
V6 2x4 Petrol. You won't go 4wding in your own brand new car.

you wouldn't put a ca18 into an n12 pulsar either now would you?
not before we are driving hydrogen powered flying cars it won't be.
que slaps_forehead and the thread is completely offtopic.

I thought should I respond to the baiting or not?

hmm nah why massage his ego?

but maybe I could set the record straight...

nah but that would be hypocritical.

and I would be taking the thread offtopic!?

last edited by sLaps_Forehead at 02:13:46 20/Nov/07
you wouldn't put a ca18 into an n12 pulsar either now would you?

Nope I wouldn't, I'd put the et pulsar engine into an n12, but who would wanna own a s***ty n12.
probably ronald mcdonald based on the colour scheme