Topic: the flu aka super aids
so who has it?

I got it at splendour, as did at least half the people I know who went. Some people are only just starting to get sick too.. I didn't get symptoms til Wednesday.

fkn bulls***, feel like I can't move during the day and everytime I cough which is hella frequently, it feels like I'm being stabbed in the chest and my head is about to pop. Every muscle and joint is aching like a motherf***er, combined with not being able to breathe through my nose, sleep is almost impossible. Feel too sick to eat too, which leaves me feeling sick with hunger pains!

NOTE TO ALL:
if you aint sick yet, go get the shot yo. or avoid all human contact for a while. This s*** sucks.
"I hope your attitude is as positive as these test results.."
that sucks a phat one dude; I'm avoiding human contact as much as possible for the moment. It's times like this I wish our govt had spent billions on, say, medical research instead of pissing it away on, say, the war on terro
if you would stop torrenting the terrorists wouldn't have any money to fight a war against us in the first place
Hit me yesterday at work.....worst feeling. Spent all day today rugged up watching Boston Legal. Plan on doing nothing but resting all weekend.
wash your hands, don't touch your face
i had it only stuck around for about a week but the stupid cough stays for a while
had it a few weeks ago, annoyed me at work for a day and then it was the weekend, got off pretty lightly

hoping that is my dose for the year

not that death-causing super aids variety i've been hearing about
sleep is almost impossible

if you have the real flu you'll sleep for a week, and feel as though you are actually dying... and that's coming from someone who's fitter and stronger than most... and hell I smoke! I can also job 5k a day without issue when an old mate drags me into it...

imagine something that makes you feel enough like you are about to die for a good solid week, but doesn't..

if you have the real influenza.. your unconscious most of the time dude

last edited by koopz at 23:17:34 10/Aug/07

I started getting it this morning, and by tonight my throat was dead and I couldn't talk.
I have exactly what you described!

It floored me like I took 10 Ketamine pills.

I also got it from f***ing Splendour. It's s***!!! Starting to go away though.

last edited by dynamite at 23:39:01 10/Aug/07
I had a bit of chest congestion on Sunday, felt pretty ordinary Monday morning but it was reduced to minor throat clearing on Tuesday and gone on Wednesday learn2immunesystem.

It's not even Ekka week yet, maybe this epidemic will be over before it becomes Ekka aids.

Yeah I definately got this from splendour, probably didn't help that I spent the majority of my time being naked in byron and moshing the f*** out in hilltops without my top on in the freezing cold.

Prolly doesn't help that I work like diagonally accross from the ekka too, I can smell the livestock and therefore, I can smell the aids
Bullet Rain
What's with the flue and people getting sick this winter? i realise that people usually get sick around this time but it seems to me like the flue is spreading a lot more rapidly this year more than previous years? is it just me or is everyone else hearing about it everywhere? there were even reports of kids dying from sever enfluenza cases... wtf's going on mang.
Y'know what's funny?

I was driving out from home the other day an I see this asian chick walking along on down to the bus stop with a good ol paper edition spray painters face mask an I suddenly thought...

That isn't as silly as it looks

GG Public Transport
i've gotten the flu 3 times this year from f***ing gay c***s at work. every few weeks a new person has it ><

just got it back last monday again, yipee
what koopz said pussies

man up
nat
yeah, seriously, i havent caught the wog since i started eatin good tucker and exersizin regularly...and i used to catch it basically every 2 weeks. colds r for suckers

/touches wood
bio terrorism
yeah man i had it bad hey.

i am usually pretty sweet i got a good immune system i barely ever get sick...

about 2 years ago i got scarlet fever which aparently like 2% of australians get each year.. rare as f***.. i was bed ridden for a solid week couldn't move and my mum had to feed me baby food thru a straw for like 2 days.

i copped the flu after a massive weekend 2 weekends ago. went out to the met stayed out in the valley didn;t get home til like 730... maggot as all f***..

monday went to tafe for work.. felt fine.. tuesday mornin, felt fine, mid day tuesday, felt average as so i went home.. tuesday night, had the 2nd worst fevers iv ever had in my life that i can remember.. worse only being scarlet fever.... i was completely f***ed all of wednesday, thursday, and friday. got onto anti biotics on thursday and it was like a 6 day cycle.. eaten all them now and im well and truly over it.. but i still have a f***en nasty phleagmy (sp lol maggot) cough in the mornings before work... i seriously have only felt so dead in my entire life when i had scarlet fever ages ago... i never knew the flu could knock you around so badly!!!!
Its 3AM, do you know where your influenza is?

Cant sleep worth a s***, I get SOOOOOOO hot lying down, which makes me nauses. I would love to just pass out and wake up later, feelin better. Sadly...

Went to the doctor and got some tamiflu, should set its arse straight. Though, so far I think its made me a bit sick, cause I couldnt even make it to the bathroom after the first tablet.

Oh well.
I was a teenage hand model
soft hands is where its at...moisturise
It's a MAN COLD!!
yer, its nasty this flu

i had two f***ing months of sore throat, aches, lung butter by the tub

i took solace in teh fact that i took it to work and shared it with everyone there though

that made me feel all warm on the inside
I work in a nightclub :(
You people are soft cocks... eat more fruit, you never get sick

I've never had the flu in my life, haven't had a cold for at least 5+ years.

I eat 6 - 8 pieces of fruit a day, you can walk around with a singlet on, on the coldest day in winter and you don't get so much as a sniffle.

Some nasty little snot nosed kid coughed and spluttered right onto my coffee the other day, and i was suuuuuuuuuure i was going to get sick. hasn't hit yet though.

And fruit chub? the flu is just scared of you cause it thinks your going to knife it!
B@ssM@n
It certainly seems worse this year - everyone at my work gets the bug & disappears for almost a week at a time.

I've been lucky so far (touch wood) but it all seems like a game of russian roulette - it's only a matter of time. :(
not being able to breathe through my nose, sleep is almost impossible
welcome to my life for the last 21 years.. i've learned to breathe through my mouth.. but it gets so dry at night!.

someone link me to this thread about chub knifing people.
There's currently an epidemic or Influena + Norovirus, one of the worst on record or since a few tens of years i forget exactly.

Washing your hands/not touching your face as someone suggested will only help to an extent - Good for norovirus, that's the last s*** on this earth you want, it's a c***.
The other problem is that for influenza & airborne contamination from breath/caughing projects about 1M before dispersing/settling.
So for every person you are within 1M of at the ekka who breathes/caughs in your direction, you're subjecting yourself to their expelled air and whatever they are carrying.

That's a hell of alot at those places scuh as ekka/splendour etc., so chances are especially at THIS particular time, you're gonna get a few days off work if you go. But not a few fun days =]

Wash your hands & Stay away people where possible and you should be right.

last edited by Loki at 09:07:37 11/Aug/07
fkn bulls***, feel like I can't move during the day and everytime I cough which is hella frequently, it feels like I'm being stabbed in the chest and my head is about to pop. Every muscle and joint is aching like a motherf***er, combined with not being able to breathe through my nose, sleep is almost impossible. Feel too sick to eat too, which leaves me feeling sick with hunger pains!

Sounds like you actually have the flu as opposed to all the people who get a cold and call it "the flu", like this:
had it a few weeks ago, annoyed me at work for a day and then it was the weekend, got off pretty lightly

Washing hands constantly (and I mean more often than every time you think of doing it) will definitely help.

I had a flu shot for the first time this year. Cost me about $5 and so far the worst I've had is a cold that lasted about 3 days. I highly recommend people get it, and if you're worried about needles, don't be - it's more of a prick where they just scratch your skin rather than inject something.

i've gotten the flu 3 times this year from f***ing gay c***s at work. every few weeks a new person has it ><

just got it back last monday again, yipee

Flu or cold? Like reload said, flu is f***ing bad. A cold sucks but it's more annoying than anything; flu knocks you on your arse. My guess would be that you don't fully recover after you get the symptoms and that you're not actually catching the flu over and over again. See also the comments people made about your immune system sucking and that you should eat healthily and exercise;)
I started to get it a week or so ago and well my chest specialist has me flagged as a high risk patient, the slightest sign of me getting anything like this and they bombard me with high grade biotics, felt crap for about two days, they hit it early and hard and it went away. He told me I can not afford to get any bad chest infections because of the aspergillous I had two years ago and even though I am not really old I now have to have a flu shot every year.

Basically he reckons if if copt a full dose, so soon after the last infection hospitalised me, it would probably knock me off the perch. eeek.
Oh yeh, COVER YOUR MOUTHS WHEN YOU COUGH FFS@$!#@!@!#!@#@!@ ANGRY FACE... It s***s me off so much when f***ing randoms near me cough the most disgusting sounds without covering their mouths.

And I got paid out by friends when I got my flu shot because "it's just for old grannies". What the hell? It's good for the elderly to get them because it STOPS THEM FROM DYING, and it's great for everyone cause it stops you from getting the flu... sorta.
Boost Juice anti-cold/flu drinks ftw.
Sucks not to have a good immune system.

Boost Juice anti-cold/flu drinks ftw.

Just normal juice is good enough, no need to pay extra for things that have 'anti-cold/flu' written on them...
Yeeeep had the exact same thing last couple of weeks only just got better now. Funnily enough I think I caught it when I went to a birthday party, and a few other people in the office caught the same thing the *very* next day.

Puts me out of actions for about 2 weeks, but I also had to fly all over the place for work which definitely did not help. Feeling a lot better now though, went to see the doc and got some antibiotic love.

reload! my advice, if you don't get better within the next day or so go to see the doctor (if you haven't already). Don't delay like I did :(
I had a flu shot for the first time this year. Cost me about $5 and so far the worst I've had is a cold that lasted about 3 days.

Same here, had the flu shot and now I've just got a s***ty cold - courtesy of the f***tards at work who don't take days off when they are sick and cough, splurt and sneeze s*** over everything in the office.
balli
yeah i got the death flu at splendour and had most of the week off work. it was worth it though. its way to cold in byron :(
I had a flu shot for the first time this year. Cost me about $5 and so far the worst I've had is a cold that lasted about 3 days.

/raise for another flu shot first timer, although I was ordered to take it by my doctor. Free though for me!
vitamin C
Same here, had the flu shot and now I've just got a s***ty cold - courtesy of the f***tards at work who don't take days off when they are sick and cough, splurt and sneeze s*** over everything in the office.

They must have s***ty bosses that force them to work hard despite illness!!!!! OMGZ SUMMON FAT BASTARD!!
In our chemistry lecture, the prof dude was talking about anti-biotics.

He said "anyone here got the flu at the moment", trying to relate it to real world situations, and one girl, rugged up in a hoodie that looked like absolute s*** raised her hand.

I thought, GTFO you bitch. He even said "Why are you here?" with a dumbfounded tone.

I thought, GTFO you bitch.

Such RAGE!

Lucky you didn't have a knife on you eh? :))))
Of course I did, it's clipped to my shorts.

her funeral will be next week.
first time I've ever laughed at a funeral next week joke
gg
Bullet Rain
i've gotten the flu 3 times this year from f***ing gay c***s at work
well if you're f***ing gay c***s up the ring hole you're bound to catch it don't you think...
Excruci@ting
30 + people at work have had it.. it's almost wiped out our office. 3 of us are left standing.. i'm one of them. eeeek!
havent been sick this winter woot!

a guy at work was starting to get it on wednesday arvo. the boss told him to stay the f*** away from work until next week.
this flu epidemic is awesome for calling in sick without medical certs. <3<3<3
i didnt get it this time /,,/ didn't eat much fruit either so there ya go ;p
went to splendour, everyone i went with got the flu, i didnt

i got a flu shot this year ...
Habib
Flu shot only protects you against some of the strains btw, still better than nothing.

Also won't help you if like me you get bronchitis, all the fun of flu (fever, headaches, aches + pains) plus you get an awesome cough that hangs around for several weeks; in my case one month and counting.
Haha funny story, a patient came in to see me in clinic the other day wearing one of those face masks, cos she "didn't want to catch anything from anyone in the waiting room". She proceeded to take off the mask in my room, and I proceeded to cough, sneeze and snot all over her during the examination!! Ohhh the irony!
I thought the masks were for sick people, so they don't spread s*** ?
Yeah, they are.... Ohhh the double irony.
you cough sneeze and snot on all your patients or were you being cheeky?
haha forget you pal!
yeah the vaccine can only protect against previous strains because influenza is constantly changing its shape and there for getting by the protection we have for it.

Im big upping tamiflu - feelin alot better today. I think it stops the virus from binding, so it cant spread beyond what it managed before showing symptoms. The s*** is hard to get though, apparently wholesalers are on back order because of stockpiling for bird flu.

So it kind of cut the whole cycle in half because it doesnt get fully entrenched. I already forget how virii work cause im a slacker but I believe the virus injects RNA into your cells and then your body reproduces it, so I guess the inhibiters stop that somehow :P Id like to know but the internet fails me.
predat0r
Frikken panzies.

Had it about 2 weeks ago, was out for 3 and a half days, turned up to work, for 1 day and then was out for the next 4. Have just shaken the the cough throat thing 2 weeks later, it was pretty tenacious.

Super aids/anti biotics wtf? Frikken just sit it out, its all the cry babies wanting/not finishing their antibiotics who are messing it up for the rest of us for when we actually get seriously sick.

The hype isn't really benefiting anyone.

Super aids/anti biotics wtf? Frikken just sit it out, its all the cry babies wanting/not finishing their antibiotics who are messing it up for the rest of us for when we actually get seriously sick.
I would say that its probably more to do with the fact that antibiotics have no effect on viruses :P
You still don't want your bugs adapting to Anti-virus drugs and rendering them useless. Better to only take those types of things if you REALLY need it, they shouldn't be used for convenience.
Oh yeh, COVER YOUR MOUTHS WHEN YOU COUGH FFS@$!#@!@!#!@#@!@ ANGRY FACE..
I was gonna start a whole thread about this because I was raging about it on Friday.

As a pseudo-healthy alternative to buying a chocolate or something, I've started just picking up some nuts from woolies when I do some shopping - not a lot, just like a handful of cashews or pistachios or macadamia.

What's with people that just stick their f***ing hands into the nuts and eat them directly out of the container, or scoop them into a bag? Seriously, I see it happening WAY too often. I can't figure out if I'm over-reacting, but f***, they have scoops there so these people are either just dysfunctionally lazy or complete a******s.
What type of nuts do you eat trog?

Buy them whole, peanuts, macadamia, walnut, hazlenut, almonds... whatever, crack them yourself.

Raw, unsalted, ftw.
hells yeah goto mick's nuts at west end.
f*** that woolies s***, it WILL give you aids. or maybe make you impervious!?
What's with disgusting people?

People not washing hands after going to the bathroom, going to the cinema while they're sick as fuk and infecting the whole theater, touching stuff instead of using scoops etc etc...

What goes through their heads
^ haha that reminds me, Was leaving the casino last night, went to the toilets down one of the hallways (not on the main gaming floors) and these two guys walk in.
There's only two urinals and a toilet...

One of the urinals was free, the other I was using and the toilet was free..

Now, naturally you would assume that one would go to the toilet and the other the urinal... or if they were both too self aware to use the urinal then they'd wait in turn for the toilet..
OHHHHH HELL NO. These two decided to both use the toilet at the same time, no door closing or anything so there was no sexing going on as far as i'm aware.

Neither of them proceeded to wash their hands before leaving either.

That was my wtf part of the night, aside from losing about $100 =<
People not washing hands after going to the bathroom,
What about bathrooms like central station or ones full of needle boxes? You get more germs from using the taps then if you duck in, piss and duck out.

Rather my own piss germs (isn't piss sterile anyway?) then Hep B on my hands.
mscactus
Was leaving the casino last night

James Loki... I thought you didn't like the bouncers at the Casino!!!

last edited by mscactus at 12:11:51 12/Aug/07
what chub said. anyway you would have to be a complete retard to get piss on your hands.

I've managed to avoid it. No flu shot or anything. Just don't touch my face when I'm in public places. Was my hands with soap, etc. People around me are dropping like flies though.
aside from losing about $100 =<

needs more groydis luck
I thought you didn't like the bouncers at the Casino!!!
Actually that was a night I was DD and drove Dale and I, it was in the city.
But it wasn't the casino.

[edit] Pave - Where did you disappear to through the night? :O

last edited by Loki at 13:14:11 12/Aug/07
mscactus
Actually that was a night I was DD and drove Dale and I, it was in the city.

OK Well at least I know that you are definitely the person who I thought you were.
Grats?
um lol i was going to ask you the same question, i was with mongie and the main group for most of it, ek scooby and myself went for a patrol for a little while, but we came back

your friend was f***ing cute :p

last edited by paveway at 14:16:37 12/Aug/07
Ahhh, yeah we went off cause she wanted to do a bit of gambling.

She's one of my work friends.
Ahaha, should have introduced you then hey? =P
When I came back from drink queue you guys had disappeared, sorry man :P
help a brother out
what chub said. anyway you would have to be a complete retard to get piss on your hands.
Think of it this way, would you want to shake hands with someone who has just had his hands all over his dick without washing them?
Then wash your f***ing hands you filthy c***s.
Think of it this way, would you want to shake hands with someone who has just had his hands all over his dick without washing them?
Then wash your f***ing hands you filthy c***s.
Well if you touch the taps, you're touching multiple dicks, people with virus'/colds/disease, people that just have an injection in the cubicle and spread a bit of blood on the tap, people that spit in the sink but get the tap handles.

It's a lose/lose situation.
I agree with you about the public tap situation, but most of my pissing isnt done in toilets that filthy.
Exactly.

Like the Vic hotel, you're a f***ing idiot if you wash your hands there.

Everytime I go in that bathroom, someone is pissing in the sink.

The toilets in that queens plaza though FTW, sensor controlled taps = everyone washes their hands.
Turn tap on.
Wash hands.
Use elbow to turn tap off.
If not possible, get a bunch of the disposable paper stuff and turn the tap off with that, throw it out. get a new lot and dry hands.
you're a f***ing idiot for going to the vic in general
Tell me about it, worst place ever, attracts the worst kind of people.

My mates enjoy it for some reason though.
FurryBear
Assuming it is a bloke eh! What about a hot chick who comes up to you in the nightclub and you throw your tongue down her throat, without realising that she was just out the back eating your mate. Or shake hands with the chick who was giving your mate a handjob under the table without you knowing....lolz.

All through life we encounter situations where we are exposed to germs, but what is the answer. We have survived for eons in this same situation, and we will continue to survive through the latest series of viral infections. It is not about keeping away from germs, it is about keeping yourself healthy so your body is better prepared to fight these things.

As for the toilet situation, you walk out of the brasco, turn on the tap using your dirty hands, wash your hands, then turn the tap off, leaving your dirty germs for the next person. The smartest toilets are the ones where the taps turn themselves off, thereby putting you in a situation where you don't have to touch a dirty tap with your clean hands. Such is life.
What about a hot chick who comes up to you in the nightclub and you throw your tongue down her throat, without realising that she was just out the back eating your mate

i'm not sure what circles you move in :p
haha pretty sure iv been to the vic prolly 10 times and at least 8 iv been eVICted

get it lol
get it lol

The fact that you're a tool? Yeah, we got that a while ago.
So apparently I now have an infection so I need antibiotics, and also need to go get an x ray in case my lungs have the aids too.
weeeee

EDIT: you're also suggesting that the junkie is washing his hands after shooting up.
Yep.

You think somebody that just injected a stimulant (read: wants to occupy themselves with an action), that has blood on their arms, will walk out without washing themselves... looking in the mirror... fixing there appearance.

Logic reload.
logic or experience ?
Drugs are bad, mmmkay.
drugs don't kill people. knives do.
knives don't kill people. CHUB's do.
I went to splendour and I've had it the death flu since monday evening. Wednesday I was only awake for about 4 hours. Had 4 days off work. I'm still coughing now.
knives don't kill people. CHUB's do.

CHUB doesn't kill people, he just kills logic and reality with his crazy bulls*** stories.
Pfft CT, nothing wrong with my personal accounts.

Go buy your bloody 4 door Lancer and then crash it with 3rd party so I can laugh at how much of a noob you are.

Also, I hope you get the flu.

rage more
Everytime I go in that bathroom, someone is pissing in the sink.

I bet people like you get out of the shower to take a s***!

uh, wait a minute ...
hahahahaha
mscactus
Another 2 Queensland Deaths

Dropping like flies now.... or should that be birds perhaps...
did you read the article?

A spokesman for Queensland Health Minister Stephen Robertson said the tests, carried out after the two people, both in their 30s [died], had found no link with the flu.
FurryBear
lolz......but keeping my mouth shut... :P
you are letting the facts get in the way of the implication...
i often find facts f*** up awesome stories, so i usually dont bother with them
Twinsen
I've survived 5 f***ing weeks on the train from Gold Coast to Central.... People coughing and sneezing in open air like they think theirs nothing wrong with it...

One dude 2night turned away from the ppl he was talking to and sneezed three f***ing times in my direction...I let him know exactly wtf I thought of that... few verbal joists and he looked quite surprised.

I seriously thinking of wearing a f***ing painters mask on the train, i don't care if that will make my chanes of picking up 0... I don't want that s***.

and my advice if your starting\turning, take some Vitamin C tablets, 1000mg...they do the trick :)

And its Ekka day 2moz...so I expect the train to be packed with biological Terroirists..

At least there is one free show bag this year ladies and Gentlemen..its the Influenza show bag...!!!!

last edited by Twinsen at 20:55:29 14/Aug/07
FurryBear
I've survived 5 f***ing weeks on the train from Gold Coast to Central somewhere
So you could make your first QGL post.
took one 4-5 years ago and haven't been sick since, except maybe one weird thing that wasn't really a cold

hasn't stopped me taking sick days from work!

anyway, i'm scared my body hasn't had to fight any infection for a while so maybe it just won't cope when one eventually gets through my massive defenses

Tom cruise reckons he hasn't been sick because he joined Scientology lol
Scientologists don't believe in doctors do they?

I was talking to a guy from the US that went to one of there (Scientologist) drug-rehab programs. He said they don't believe in any medications to help you through it... they put him in a small room while going through severe withdrawal and kept poking him with a stick (literally) so he couldn't sleep/lie down/relax.

Sounds cool!
So you could make your first QGL post.
and use shorthand like "2moz"
And its Ekka day 2moz...so I expect the train to be packed with biological Terroirists..

it's funny just the other day when this was on the news i was thinking to myself how f***ed we would all be if this was a bioterrorism attack. Re-engineered super resistant influenza virus epidemic /tinhat

They wouldnt use influenza, they would use smallpox. No one alive has ever been exposed to it so people would drop like mad.