Im turning 18 pretty soon (lol, im young), and since it seems like a lot of people here frequent the "clubbing scene", i thought i would try and clear some stuff up.
I usually wear jeans/shorts and a t-shirt + usually thongs, so i gather that i need to up my standards when i go clubbing. I know i need a collared shirt, but what about pants/shoes. I hear a lot about guys not getting into places cos of their shoes, so is there a type i should get that will be fine for most clubs? And i need something else than jeans, right? My friends club at the city usually, although occasionally the valley. Any advice on this would be sweet, and any other general info as well. |
| #0 07:50pm 27/05/07 |
wear shoes that dont come off and hit ppl in the mouth
| #1 07:52pm 27/05/07 |
pop the collar and wear pink
word! |
| #2 08:02pm 27/05/07 |
Don't be a girl and goto a pub.
| #3 08:03pm 27/05/07 |
Don't you mean ".doc" ? |
| #4 08:06pm 27/05/07 |
yeah wear shoes that look like this
http://img136.imageshack.us/img136/4613/dsc02932lk8.jpg but are much more secure! you don't have to wear a collared shirt either. tshirts are a ok edited for realism last edited by reload! at 20:10:41 27/May/07 |
| #5 08:10pm 27/05/07 |
you have clown feet sir
| #6 08:09pm 27/05/07 |
they're size 10 nub
| #7 08:11pm 27/05/07 |
depends where you go... Leather shoes, collared shirt and jeans will get you anywhere (well just about)
| #8 08:14pm 27/05/07 |
so reload, what happened over the weekend??
tell the uniformed? |
| #9 08:15pm 27/05/07 |
uniformed - A distinctive outfit intended to identify those who wear it as members of a specific group.
uninformed - not informed; lacking in knowledge or information |
| #10 08:18pm 27/05/07 |
| #11 08:18pm 27/05/07 |
Don't be a girl and goto a pub.QFT. Boardies + thongs + pints + no fights = happy camper. |
| #12 08:18pm 27/05/07 |
thanks for pointing out my speeling mistake TK ;) i'll go a reading i'd say :) |
| #13 08:23pm 27/05/07 |
Suckah-Free
I usually wear jeans/shorts and a t-shirt + usually thongsIn that case you should be asking for "pubing" tips. |
| #14 08:23pm 27/05/07 |
Dress well, for 2 reasons
1 - the ladies 2 - you will always get in Tip: leather shoes, not thongs ffs. |
| #15 08:25pm 27/05/07 |
Having seen them in action I can say those sort of shoes suck for dancing, go some fly s*** like royals. They mold to your feet and mine have lasted really well, bought em at the Universal Store.
| #16 08:27pm 27/05/07 |
exactly forget black leather shoes, get white or similar colour casual shoes i always wear T-shirts |
| #17 08:34pm 27/05/07 |
Sorry HeardY, couldn't resist. |
| #18 08:49pm 27/05/07 |
protip: the exchange is s***, so is the vic
so is the city pretty much the port office gets a honourable mention though |
| #19 09:25pm 27/05/07 |
Port office is the only place in the city worthwhile.
I'd recommenced sticking to the valley. less f***heads, more hotties. |
| #20 09:28pm 27/05/07 |
word
| #21 09:29pm 27/05/07 |
Thanks for the tips thus far, lol...
So are jeans what most guys wear in the valley? |
| #22 09:29pm 27/05/07 |
man alive those shoes are gay
i saw many of them when i was dragged to the fringe bar last night, full of terrible terrible people, but yes basically wear those sneakers to avoid copping s*** from the fashion police at the door |
| #23 09:55pm 27/05/07 |
exactly http://uploader.ws/upload/200705/rick.gif |
| #24 09:58pm 27/05/07 |
get yourself a nice pair of slim-fitting jeans (note: not tight skinnys) places like yD and General Pants have some moderately priced stuff.
Shoes - you can't go wrong with Royal Elastics. T shirt - something slim-fitting. avoid big logos and brand names across the front. Myer or Universal is your saviour here. |
| #25 10:10pm 27/05/07 |
collared shirts are for chumps. especially the stripey variety. get a decent tee and some $100 jeans that aren't bright blue. leather shoes will always get you in, black isn't the best colour though.
this will probably sound pretty gay but it's less about what you wear and more about how you wear it. oh and how many hotties are on your arm. edit: pretty much what fade said last edited by taggs at 22:16:22 27/May/07 |
| #26 10:16pm 27/05/07 |
ah, not being let in re: shoes. i miss that. :P
| #27 10:33pm 27/05/07 |
Reload, seriously. The way your carrying on and if I was strex I would drop you again.
Tip1: Don't act like a loudmouth f***wit in line. Tip2: Dont look like/be a f***wit. Tip3: Dont go clubbing with f***wits. Tip4: Dress Properly (as clothes mentioned above) Tip5: Tip your bar people at your regular join. They will love you before long. And you don't have to ask for your drink, its ready made as you walk up. Tip6: DON'T BE A f***WIT. |
| #28 10:37pm 27/05/07 |
lol at some the gear monastery regulars wear. |
| #29 10:37pm 27/05/07 |
K so Royal Elastics, do i want white ones?
| #30 10:41pm 27/05/07 |
White cause it will go with most of your outfits. Clean white shoes will get you in most places, to be honest if you really need to ask what to wear when your going out your kinda f***ed. Go to the shops check out what looks good on you and wear it. Don't let the clothes wear you.
last edited by JigZie at 22:57:15 27/May/07 |
| #31 10:57pm 27/05/07 |
tbh the whole valley fashion thing is a complete and utter joke. wear what u are comfortable wearing (no shorts or thongs though ew) and if u get bounced goto the next joint. f***en posers can die. also: Don't let the clothes wear you.lol last edited by infi at 23:39:06 27/May/07 |
| #32 11:39pm 27/05/07 |
And if the bouncers won't let you in, don't act like a wanker and go off at them, it won't help you out in the least.
| #33 11:34pm 27/05/07 |
way to take it seriously jigz
i think the whole thing is f***ing funny it was a completely freak event that caused many lols anyway if you'd been there i wouldnt have had to tip 7: dont dance like a f***wit |
| #34 11:37pm 27/05/07 |
ATM your the only one loling about it, and over doing it. Was funny the first time but you have mentioned it in every single post since the inital one :)
| #35 11:41pm 27/05/07 |
also I agree my shoes are crap but they get me in everywhere everytime.
i was going to wear these http://img501.imageshack.us/img501/456/dsc02933ln4.jpg but wanted to guarentee entry.. but then the empire never refuses anyone haha |
| #36 11:42pm 27/05/07 |
if there's a hot biatch in your group you will get in
otherwise don't be the one clown in your group that gets bounced for being dressed like a bogan cause then you have that awkward moment where half your group is outside, half is inside, and you sort of hover at the entrance for like ten minutes while the c***s already inside weigh up whether to stay there not that this happens to me heh. in short don't worry about the fashion police, they can suck it. there's always a trendy or 'safe' style of dress if you're short on imagination but the above-mentioned "wear what you are comfortable wearing" and "don't be a f***wit" are spot on |
| #37 02:46am 28/05/07 |
While I'm taking a leave of absense from the clubbing scene, I used to be on the town every Saturday night like all the other 18 year olds I knew and I still make the odd trip in every month or two now. I find a big thing that decides if you'll get in or not is how busy it is. They get more picky if the place is really getting packed. In terms of clothing, I've found the most important thing about getting in is shoes. As long as they're not trainers or anything with clothy patches on them you should be ok. I've seen people get in with canvas, leather and suede shoes. I usually wear blue+tan suede shoes, black leather or white leather. One of those pairs of shoes plus jeans (usually something with a dirty/faded effect, old fashioned bright blue ones look kinda tooney) plus a button up collared shirt also get me in anywhere I've tried to go. You might be fine in just a polo or a t-shirt, it depends what looks good on you.
One thing I'd be careful of though is white shoes. I've seen plenty of guys get refused because their white leather shoes were kinda cracky and warn out or just too dirty. I would have to use both hands to count the number of times I've seen d*******s spit the dummy at Fridays over their s***ty shoes. If you do get refused somewhere, DO NOT BE A f***WIT ABOUT IT. Read JigZie's post above. Sure, ask why, so you can solve the problem, but don't try to argue your way in. All you're going to do is make an enemy of the bouncer (and he may just refuse you again if he remembers you) and the people in line behind you will think you're a cockstain for holding the line up. Like a lot of people have mentioned before, just go to a few clothes shops and see what looks like smart casual on you. It doesn't matter if you spend $100 on the whole outfit or $100+ per item, it's just about finding something that looks tidy enough and you feel good about wearing. Oh, and just to derail for a second: Do guys with hot-pink-on-pink polos with popped collars, torn jeans, white leather shoes, spikey hair and aviator sunglasses really think they look cool, or are they deliberately trying to make people laugh? |
| #38 02:50am 28/05/07 |
i don't know if they are but i saw a bloke out last night with the popped collar, gel fauxhawk and rubber bracelets
i nearly pissed myself |
| #39 03:01am 28/05/07 |
get really drunk in the club
be a sleazy mofo get booted by security go to strippers be a sleazy mofo get booted by security go home and regret where your life has taken you |
| #40 03:08am 28/05/07 |
Peaking of a pointless life laced with regret, how's things going for you abroad, Persay?
Bring back Persay forums! |
| #41 04:12am 28/05/07 |
rofl, it's easy
stay at home, or go out? don't sweat the small stuff |
| #42 05:42am 28/05/07 |
Crizane Tribal, you sound hot.
| #43 05:47am 28/05/07 |
dont forget to get down when you go out, most important
| #44 06:33am 28/05/07 |
I'm mentally scarred for life.
| #45 06:35am 28/05/07 |
dress would b: jeans, t-shirt/collar shirt or some kind of cool shirt/singlet.... $80 pair of shoes from city beach (like jacks or something, the casual style shoe or whatever they call it) or if u want to go real cheap i think u can get pairs pretty much the same at like lowes ;)
just dont wear like skate shoes/sports shoes and u should b able to get into anywhere :) - take lots of drugs - have relations with lots of women - have fun |
| #46 06:38am 28/05/07 |
leather shoes will always get you in, black isn't the best colour though. wrong, leather shoes wont always get u in, casual street shoes will get u in anywhere... mono/family/birdees etc always send away scum that wear leather shoes :) probaly because they are ugly tho.. but anyways. Go to the shops check out what looks good on you and wear it. Don't let the clothes wear you.u go girlfriend tip 7: dont dance like a f***wit just a query reload, what exactly do u do when u go out? sit at the end of the bar by yourself being gay? just cause ur 2 "cool" to dance and dont have any flavor :0 :) depends what music u like to where u go, i suggest going to as many places as possible at first and see which ones u like... i'd steer clear of mustang bar tho ;) hit up: empire, press club, birdees, fridays, j-buddha (only if u really want to), the beat, rockafellas, the met, family, alumbrah (sometimes have some cool s*** on, no idea how to spell it tho: its next door to family)... + whatever u find ;) So are jeans what most guys wear in the valley? pretty much, not too many places would let guys in with shorts i dont think... |
| #47 06:49am 28/05/07 |
jewellery out u deserve to lose it, no real man wears jewelery, only jewelery u will need is the golden coins in your wallet :) |
| #48 07:24am 28/05/07 |
lol rick astley
| #49 07:32am 28/05/07 |
i thought it was david caruso.
| #50 07:41am 28/05/07 |
u thort wrong
| #51 07:54am 28/05/07 |
still rick is dreamy
| #52 08:04am 28/05/07 |
Omalley's in the city is probably the best pub I've been to.
Unless it's a Friday or Saturday night, thongs and boardies are acceptable. Never seen any act of violence there + pints of guinness + (some) hot irish bar chicks... large TV's with every sporting match on. They also do a wicked quality fish and chips when you're blasted, chill down right in front of the big projector screen. Other then that, Casino is always good. |
| #53 08:25am 28/05/07 |
tung
Token Black Man
i wear jewellery...
but im black and can get away with it |
| #54 08:32am 28/05/07 |
no, no the casino is always s***.
| #55 08:32am 28/05/07 |
sorry, men wearing jewelry?
homo regardless of how cool you think you are, yor homo |
| #56 09:20am 28/05/07 |
spook wins again!
the only jewlery I wear is a watch, if you could even call that jewlery? |
| #57 09:25am 28/05/07 |
Make sure your shiv is well hidden.
| #58 09:28am 28/05/07 |
no, no the casino is always s***.Don't be a douche, where else can you sit down and play poker? The Vic? The Family? It's in a league of its own. |
| #59 09:31am 28/05/07 |
Get a few bizzos on your arm and you can crunk out with your junk out for all the club cares.
| #60 09:54am 28/05/07 |
wrong, leather shoes wont always get u in, casual street shoes will get u in anywhere... mono/family/birdees etc always send away scum that wear leather shoes :) probaly because they are ugly tho.. but anyways. lol, ok. well when i go out which is around 1-2 times a week I pretty much either go to family, mono or empire and i've been wearing the same white leather shoes with jeans and a tee for aroudn 1.5 years and i've never been refused to any of those places. i've only ever been refused to porto... which now when i think about it is a little sad >< just a query reload, what exactly do u do when u go out? sit at the end of the bar by yourself being gay? just cause ur 2 "cool" to dance and dont have any flavor :0 haha actually his dancing has too much flavor thats precisely what caused the rukkus with strex! |
| #61 10:02am 28/05/07 |
i guess i don't go out to sit down and play poker
yeah reload dances lol |
| #62 10:05am 28/05/07 |
Oh my. The world has gone to s*** when people need to ask for tips on how to go clubbing
| #63 10:06am 28/05/07 |
just go out n have fun... ya don't have to do what everyone else is doing or what everyone else has already done. s'all about the musics.
| #64 10:07am 28/05/07 |
Metrix
I have watched the Rick Astley clip twice now (considering a third) and well.. .I think I might have to steal his dance moves...
In fact that is my tip for this tread... learn, perfect and use the "Rick Astley Swish"(tm) on every dance floor you get a chance! |
| #65 10:25am 28/05/07 |
hit on fat sluts cos they´re easier to get home and they give good head
| #66 10:37am 28/05/07 |
lol rick astley...
My life consecrated by the vogue year book My style dictated by the rick astley look I drive a car but i cant read a book I dont eat meat except for a little bit of chook Born to be mild Like the first suburban child Born to be king Of the really boring things :D |
| #67 10:45am 28/05/07 |
Oh my. The world has gone to s*** when people need to ask for tips on how to go clubbing Yeah... cos that's any sadder than somebody who has to arrange social outings with members from an online forum just so she has something to do?? |
| #68 11:08am 28/05/07 |
I personally think it's great that someone would go to the effort to do that. Like any other lazy c*** around here would...
| #69 11:12am 28/05/07 |
Oh my. The world has gone to s*** when people need to ask for tips on how to go clubbing Whoops, my bad. It's all my fault im not some clubbing expert like you obviously are. |
| #70 11:36am 28/05/07 |
The fact you call someone who goes clubbing and doesn't need to ask how it is done an expert just shows that maybe you aren't old enough mentally to go out into the big wide world just yet.
Next thing you will be asking how you go out and buy milk & bread |
| #71 11:39am 28/05/07 |
ahh good ole cairns.. you walk into the clubs with thongs and shorts and t shirt.. and all the women are f***in hot europeans who are out on holidays and just wanna f***... god bless backpackers and heat and beer
| #72 11:44am 28/05/07 |
I hardly ever wear jeans out, mostly pants and cords and I get in no troubles so if you don't like jeans thats an option. I frequent family, mono, and birdies.
To be honest I think its more about how good you look not what you are wearing. |
| #73 11:46am 28/05/07 |
Next thing you will be asking how you go out and buy milk & bread Haven't you already posted that thread though, Kat? |
| #74 11:55am 28/05/07 |
scoobs it was a joke.. suggesting i was the f***wit and not to be like me... get it?
| #75 11:56am 28/05/07 |
the bottom line is that it's important to get approval from people you don't know working the door for a living.
Bouncers and doorbitches are significant people (and nightclubs are significant institutions) who it is important to impress for your future success and self-fulfillment. also asking what to wear saves having to think for yourself, which will be of assistance to you whilst consuming the drugs you will take (refusal is unlikely because that would require thought). I commend Alt-F4 for asking these questions. By doing a little research upfront he is virtually setting himself up for life. |
| #76 12:07pm 28/05/07 |
fully
in my experience a lot of the people who think they've got it down pat are rude and suck to talk to cos they think they're all that. some of my best times out in the valley with randoms has been with the complete opposite of the 'valley' image which imo gays things up completely. edit: wait, were you joking infi? :( alt_f4 go for it dude. you'll figure out most of it yourself, this just means your first night out will be a good one :) hang out with people you like and dont let anyone else ruin your night. go out to have fun!! last edited by reload! at 12:19:35 28/May/07 |
| #77 12:19pm 28/05/07 |
Thanks for the kind words.
The fact you call someone who goes clubbing and doesn't need to ask how it is done an expert just shows that maybe you aren't old enough mentally to go out into the big wide world just yet. That fact that you take everything said on the internet literally shows you should GTFO this thread. Seriously i would just rather have posted this thread and get things done right my first night out so it's most enjoyable. |
| #78 12:41pm 28/05/07 |
haha infi
| #79 12:43pm 28/05/07 |
Don't be a girl and goto a pub.I agree with ticman |
| #80 12:49pm 28/05/07 |
Two&Eight
The real danger upon arrival at the clubbing scene isn't what you're wearing.
Acting like a tool will get your face punched, do not drink past your limit and any drugs you do out, make sure you've done before. |
| #81 01:18pm 28/05/07 |
f*** me the first time i went out i was nervous and wasn't sure what to do/wear etc. trying to pay people out about it is just pathetic kat.
| #82 03:23pm 28/05/07 |
Oh my. The world has gone to s*** when people need to
| #83 03:26pm 28/05/07 |
i remember getting drunk once
| #84 03:28pm 28/05/07 |
haha yeah f*** clubbing. lets talk about taxis and/or ford falcons. f*** yeah.
edit: anyway you'll be fine OP just head out with mates and have fun and you'll be a jaded old tool like these tards in no time. gl hf. last edited by taggs at 15:30:38 28/May/07 |
| #85 03:30pm 28/05/07 |
just stirrin mate, just stirrin.
| #86 04:10pm 28/05/07 |
hi5 taggs
| #87 04:29pm 28/05/07 |
Dress smart casual, be smart casual.
| #88 04:31pm 28/05/07 |
live smart/casual
| #89 04:50pm 28/05/07 |
take lots of ecstasy but dont let it fall out of your mouth onto a roof top
| #90 04:58pm 28/05/07 |
thread lacks baby harp seals
| #91 05:03pm 28/05/07 |
one of the last times i was in the valley (4 weeks ago?) i saw fights at all the places i went to.. which was the empire, the beat(dyke fight, was hilarious) and .. i was pretty wasted so dont recall the other two places i was in, but there were fights there too.
it was quite a surprise, since part of my reasoning for going to the valley was to avoid these kind of f***wits that i was sure still frequented the city. i suppose youll just find wankers wherever you go oh also, i suppose i look like a bogan, but still manage to get into most places. ($20 k-mart jeans, s***ty $20 slipon jogger type shoes, tshirt, long hair(with lots of grey =S) |
| #92 05:39pm 28/05/07 |
AvaLon
make sure you take all your money out of the bank. because your gonig to spend it all clubbin.
| #93 05:57pm 28/05/07 |
hit up the pokies before hand, using only 5 dollar bets.
hope you win lots this was my method last weekend and it served well then i wasted it on reload |
| #94 06:00pm 28/05/07 |
clubbing is s*** these days... over it.
| #95 06:08pm 28/05/07 |
fringe then to the mono then to the stang
my saturday night. |
| #96 06:13pm 28/05/07 |
Excruci@ting
my tip...
collard shirt/classy normal tshirt (buttons are going out of fasion and will prob get some stuipid line from a bouncer saying "your too caz". jeans and white shoes (try to avoid laces)... you'll be sweet. never been rejected for wearing what i do. |
| #97 06:23pm 28/05/07 |
my saturday.... get pissed at my mates house (spring hill) sun bar for cheap drinks.. know everyone.... then really pissed by then so somewhere to dance.......
| #98 07:09pm 28/05/07 |
i think you look like a retard without laces, but thats just me
cry more, cause you didn't have any ecstasy pete |
| #99 07:16pm 28/05/07 |
100th post for me.
| #100 10:17pm 28/05/07 |
Infi, we need people to stand at doors. Its an important part of society...
No need to degrade them or the institutions they represent. ps. don't get randomly killed by a thug, do what the bouncer asks. |
| #101 10:23pm 28/05/07 |
yeah ok fine we do need bouncers... and rules. but the arbitrary ones which change on a whim are a bit rando.
| #102 10:28pm 28/05/07 |
Ask the Norwegians.
Too obscure? |
| #103 10:33pm 28/05/07 |
Make sure you buy yourself a good ole fasioned flame shirt. Pluggers are fine, just make sure you have jeans, preferably with rips in 'em (i wouldnt worry about a belt too much.. maybe an old extension cord). Then make your way down to the Shamrock at 8am on a sunday.. That place is the bestest!
Also, i'd knock out a few teeth or 2 before you went there if you have a full gob of chompers.. Just to make sure you fit in ok, but i'm sure the bar fly's will help you out in that respect, they're really accomodating! |
| #104 02:57am 29/05/07 |
| #104 |