nat
Everyone in my apartment is kept awake at night by the noisy, ignorant, selfish sods in the apartment next to us. Every single night they can be heard speaking/yelling very loudly in some foreign tongue until about 2 or 3am. I am trying to figure out a plan to cease this infernal annoyance, and I need some suggestions. What would you do? I was thinking of doing one of the following: 1). Going and seeing them personally and telling them to keep it down. (This could work, or they could just not give a stuff and continue as per normal. In addition, they will then know who it is that is making a fuss...thus rendering future plans problematic). 2). Leaving an anonymous letter telling them to please keep it down. 3). Leaving an anonymous nasty letter telling them to shut the hell up or else. 4). Waiting till they're still at it at 3am then call the cops and report a domestic dispute (dont know if it really is, but it sounds like it could be). This could be good, coz the fact that the cops come round and tell em a domestic has been reported might scare them into shutting the hell up. 5). Same as above, except make a general noise complaint instead of a domestic dispute. 6). Find a brick and heave it through their window. What do ya think? Got any others? |
| #0 06:12pm 10/05/07 |
In all honesty... I would probably do the brick. Next best options is the cops.
I wouldn't write a letter and I defientely wouldn't complain... just I'm stereotyping them to be dickwads that will cause more problems. |
| #1 06:18pm 10/05/07 |
i have neighbours that smoke stanky cigars
we live in pretty tight set of apartments and as sooon as they light up our apartment is filled with stench. i was considering writing a polite letter - or filling our outside deck with a thousand smoke alarms. |
| #2 06:28pm 10/05/07 |
Our neighbout across the road is an opera singer and she practices fairly often and it drives me nuts.
Most other neighbours we talk to don't seem to mind or even notice. It doesn't go late.... just really annoying. Lar-lar-larrrrrr - shut the f*** up fatty |
| #3 06:30pm 10/05/07 |
2 then 4.
| #4 06:30pm 10/05/07 |
Isn't this sort of issue why you pay Body Corporate fees ?
| #5 06:39pm 10/05/07 |
Denominator
Call cops every time they yelling and call the terrorist hot line and tell them whats going on it may be one small peace to a large plot
| #6 06:40pm 10/05/07 |
If they're in the same appartment block as you, complain to the body corporate or if they rent and you know which agent, complain to the agent.
Alternatively, you could just get over it. I had nieghbours that lodged a noise complaint about loud music we were playing at 2pm on a Sunday. It pissed me off muchly, especially because it wasn't even that loud. Easiest way imo is to just learn to sleep with earplugs. |
| #7 06:58pm 10/05/07 |
Leon Trotsky
given that their foreign, perhaps they just haven't caught on that you don't shout at the top of your lungs in the wee hours of the morning.
So... give them the benefit of the doubt first. Write a polite letter stating what the issue is. If it continues unabaited (as in there is no effort to stop) then ring with a noise complaint, and work your way up the severity list until results are noticed. |
| #8 07:03pm 10/05/07 |
Suckah-Free
While doing a drive by, throw a brick, then next day leave a very polite letter explaining the bullet holes in his mum.
In that order. |
| #9 07:05pm 10/05/07 |
Body Corp, then the police.
| #10 07:16pm 10/05/07 |
Crunch
Personally I would be complaining to your body corporate as a first step (if they're renting), followed by the council then police. If they are stupid enough to be shouting at each other at a time when 99% of people are sleeping they don't seem like the type who could comprehend a reasoned arguement ie "shut the f*** up". As you point out, if you go down the path of approaching them yourself and it doesn't work then it could turn ugly quickly.
| #11 07:18pm 10/05/07 |
Fubar
if they have aircon i would go and have a feast on some nice juicy prawns then when finished eating said prawns put them inside the aircon they will never find it.
| #12 08:07pm 10/05/07 |
i'd post on the internets and ask for advice.
| #13 08:12pm 10/05/07 |
I'd take loki's advice no matter what the problem is.
| #14 08:18pm 10/05/07 |
I've got it!
Fire! |
| #15 08:33pm 10/05/07 |
Yeah I'd say POLITE anonymous letter, a complaint to body corporate, then a police complaint. Seeing as they're foreign, I'd keep it anonymous incase they're lebs.
| #16 08:38pm 10/05/07 |
Suckah-Free
I'm going to link this thread to the lebs and have this place put under new management lawla leela.
| #17 09:13pm 10/05/07 |
nat
yeah nah they live in the apartment block next door... can i still complain to body corporate?
| #18 09:49pm 10/05/07 |
Dodgymon
Another option is move out.
I am in a similar situation but I don't live in apartments and the annoying noisy neighbours live about 200 metres away and I still get woken up at all hours of the morning because of them. They are kiwi's and there are about 20 people living there and every weekend is chaos. the funny thing was last weekend the neighbour that lives right next to them sent out a letter to inform everyone they were having a party. Had nothing on it compared to an average day of the noisy kiwi's. I figure in due time either they will all go to jail or forced to move out. I am not really in any position to move as I own the house I'm living in. |
| #19 09:56pm 10/05/07 |
if they rent tell the landlord, so they can get kicked out
| #20 10:26pm 10/05/07 |
yeah nah they live in the apartment block next door... can i still complain to body corporate? Maybe speak to someone who lives in that block see if you can get the body corp's details. Also see if any of those tenants have had hassles with the noise, the more who complain the better chance of a result. |
| #21 10:50pm 10/05/07 |
masturbate out side their door while banging your head on it, should get their attention... rinse and repeat until they shut the f*** up
| #22 10:53pm 10/05/07 |
lol Raider ^ I'd go with the polite letter at first. They might not realise the neighbours can hear them? I've had that happen a while back I didn't know the walls were so thin while playing music and got a polite letter and kept it down. easy peasy if they cooperate but if not -- do the STFU shout so everyone can hear.
| #23 11:18pm 10/05/07 |
tung
Token Black Man
mission, sounds like the lady that used to live across the street from us moved to your area :p
| #24 09:32am 11/05/07 |
Another vote for the polite letter than if that doesn't work, call the cops.
| #25 09:49am 11/05/07 |
knock on the door, say g'day, let them know that the noise that late is annoying - it's a perfectly reasonable expectation that even in a block of units, you be able to have a peaceful night after a decent hour
if they don't respond well, then take up other legal options |
| #26 10:03am 11/05/07 |
Coochie
I've gotto say I've had a few noise complaints from having parties in apartments. It's always because a)I'm stupidly drunk and not thinking or more often b) I don't realise the neighbours can hear us. In the latter case, there's nothing more annoying than hearing from the landlord the next day that there's been a complaint about noise. Knock on my door and politely ask me to turn the noise down and I'll do it. I know it's a hassle if you're already in bed having to get up and knock on the neighbours door, not knowing if they're axe wielding phsycos or not - but it's better than not sleeping all night then being a bitch.
This happened twice when I lived in my dad's town house. He'd go away for weeks and I'd party 24/7 and not hear s*** from the cow next door then my dad would get home and go rank because the slut next door didn't get an ounce of sleep. Eventually I learnt not to make noise but I got in heaps of s***, the slut next door hated me, I hate her and she got no sleep. Could have been easily prevented by one simple phone call. I had always been polite to her in the past and she knew our phone number so she had no excuse not to besides terminal useless whoreness. If you're scared your neighbours could be axe murderers then make a nice polite phone call but use one of the voice modulators from Scream so they are equally as scared of you. |
| #27 03:37pm 11/05/07 |
Coochie
p.s I feel much better after that.
| #28 03:39pm 11/05/07 |
Okay let's talk more about this slut next door..
Firstly, why didn't you invite her over to join in the party? Secondly, do you have her phone number? Kthnx |
| #29 03:58pm 11/05/07 |
haha coochie
| #30 04:16pm 11/05/07 |
yer thats so true coochie, i would happily turn s*** down and b quiet if they said something during the night instead of telling the landlord
| #31 04:40pm 11/05/07 |
brick to face
| #32 06:17pm 11/05/07 |
Crunch
Actually contrary to my previous advise we used to live in a unit and had an issue with the bird next door deciding to have sex in the middle of the night and letting everyone know she was enjoying it. Despite banging on the walls on a couple of occasions she didn't get the hint but was quite embarrassed when I went next door the next day and informed her that the common walls were not that solid. It didn't happen again :)
The end. |
| #33 08:56pm 11/05/07 |
what a prude
| #34 09:11pm 11/05/07 |
sifnt just try to install a cam and sell the sex tapes on the interwebs
| #35 09:29pm 11/05/07 |
mission, sounds like the lady that used to live across the street from us moved to your area :p You can have her back. Was the she married to an older bloke that drives a s***ty old blue van as his work truck? Surely there can't be too many annoying opera singers in Brisbane.... |
| #36 08:33am 12/05/07 |
| #36 |