Topic: Willy Mason - the Idiocy Continues
Latest Exploit

" Keighran's alleges she confronted Mason for an interview, to which Mason yelled loudly: "For you (2GB)...I don't think so." Keighran then claims she moved on to interview other players although Mason was mocking her in the background.

She then says Mason was doing a running mock commentary in the background to interfere with the interviews.

Ahaha, man this guy is just the worst thing about professional sport. Just a walking time bomb. He's the one guy who I feel sick about supporting in an Australian jumper/shirt/whatever.

If anyone finds comes across audio of this today, can you please link it for us poor foreigners - would love to hear what Hadley has to say about it.
ray hadley is an even bigger idiot than willy mason

ok, maybe its a tie
Mason rocks.
ray hadley is an even bigger idiot than willy mason

I'd say he is a close second, but yeah he is a bit of a twit. That's why I want to hear what he has to say about it, as I know it will be a good listen.
Mason is a f***ing idiot..

I can't believe chan 9 have him on contract AND appearing on the footy show for them!
I like the fact that just a month ago he was on about how professional footballers deserve to be paid more.

Fact is if the bulldogs had the balls that the broncos do, mason would be axed. The NRL it self needs to look at its "social agenda" as it keeps crapping on about being role models, and refuse to register his contract. He's a moron.

quick! lets sack him cos nerds on qgl told us to!
jumping on the "all footballers are druggo bevan" bandwagon
It could have been worse... at least he didn't bash anyone
Your still small fry casa.
FurryBear
In one aspect, I chuckle over the fact that somebody has harassed a reporter and made them cry, as it is usually the other way around. With regard to Mason though, he is just a boofhead with sub-standard intelligence who was lucky enough to have been able to play football.

On the matter of appropriate behaviour, I hope they kick his sorry arse off the team simply for showing his stupidity. They are repeatedly warned about their behaviour, and in the company of the whole team he decides to show his childish side and embarrass everybody. Sack him.
That reporter needs to harden the f*** up
At least its better then the cliche s*** you usually get from players "full credit to the boys" "worked hard at training and we got the 2 points"

Reading the article sounds like she is a pussy and should interview netball players or something. I think its actually kinda funny.

last edited by ctd at 10:10:44 16/Apr/07
The media are more idiotic and vile than Willie could ever be.
mscactus

I agree with the above comment. I am in no way a Willie Mason fan. I only commented in our Footy Tipping Newsletter a couple of weeks ago that watching him on the Footy Show, he seemed to have gained a bit of intelligence and grown up a bit. Wrong!!!!!
actually i have no sympathy for the reporter. the media are the scum of the earth, worse than lawyers, politicians and used car salesman all put together.

it's just sad that someone from such a revered career as professional sports mega star has to stoop to their level. if he has just stopped at the "no interview for you!" line i would have given him hi5 plus smelly sticker.
jumping on the "all footballers are druggo bevan" bandwagon

When did anyone say "all footballers"? Mason is a loser and there is no excuse.
no i was actually wanting to jump on that bandwagon, regardless of this thread. what a mug's game.
I was going to resist commenting but I cant help it :(

Bogans play league and s*** constantly happens to cause embarrassment to the code. There are plenty of people that play union which do not fit the 'rich kid' stereotype but they are not bogans and so it enjoys a much better record. The only people I can think of that cause s*** in union are ex-league players.

It might be wrong to insinuate that socio-economic class has anything to do with the way players behave in each code, there is alot of trouble in AFL too and thats as much a private school thing as it is public in Melbourne etc. So what causes this I guess is where im leading...

I think culture must be the main cause. League players are treated, or treat themselves much more seriously and like 'stars' than union. I guess most union players dont rely solely on the sport as their career where as alot of league players do?

League is definitely bigger business than union in Australia so I guess that might make sense. But you just see so many more group rape cases and stupid s*** of that ilk (not that rape is as minor as like, drinking too much and having a fight in a bar) but that kind of shenanigans seems so at home in alot of league.
Nakor
keep in mind theres 3 teams playing rugby under constant media attention compared to 17 league ones - and they are state teams too, much more pressure on admin to keep them in line

i went to a union playing school, and i can tell you that these "rich kids" dont act any more mature than bogans, they just have a lot more ways to get away with any s*** that they get into
straw hat hippie
Union is f***ing gay

dunno why your even typing about that s***, no one cares

Willie mason is a dumb but funny c***, i reckon its hilarious.
who gives a rat's about football players either way when they've stepped off the pitch
Agamemnon
why isnt stirlo still on the footy show?
he was much better than that idiot mason
He quit/got fired. Newspapers say he got fired, he came out and said he quit. He should of quit that show 5 years ago.

I would really like to know what goes through the producers heads when thinking up the ideas for it. Terrible f***en show - how about talking about football like the AFL show.
Well he quit the thursday night footy show anyway. Fatman hosts the thursday night show which is more about them dicking around, and Stirlo now hosts the sunday footy show which is more about the football....worked out well for both camps if you ask me