Is it worth it? I'm flying heaps lately and there's no sign of it stopping in the immediate future so I'm thinking about it. Each time I get screwed by delayed flights it seems like it'd be nice to have some options other than sit on my ass wishing I'd brought something to do.
| #0 10:54pm 20/03/07 |
how much is it??
ive been in there a fair bit but usually with parents who get free guest passes. it would suck waiting around outside i suppose, but all comes down to cost/benefit. some of the clubs kick particular ass, awesome buffets and all-u-can-drink ect... if i was flying once a month at least, probably worth it |
| #1 11:05pm 20/03/07 |
BiKESEAT
Its awesome.
Nice place to relax, food, free piss ... doesn't get any better. Virgin's equivalent is also just as good. We fly about 12 times a year and it's definitely worth it for that. |
| #2 11:06pm 20/03/07 |
Definately worth it if you're prepared to pay for it. Especially, if you can get your work to pay. Even if you're concerned about the cost, just get your fee back by using their services. Internet, drinks, food etc.
My Dad has membership and I love travelling with him because the Qantas Club rules for all the aforementioned things + more. Like you said, if the flight is delayed it's pretty handy. last edited by Triamks at 23:07:32 20/Mar/07 |
| #3 11:07pm 20/03/07 |
Fireman Sam
while im not a member myself ive been in the club a few times and if you are travelling alot then its well worth it. The food and internet access mean you don't have to wait in line anywhere and the chairs are much more comfortable than outside. Though I guess you have to figure out how often you will travel and how much per trip you are willing to pay for that added convenience
| #4 11:08pm 20/03/07 |
Trog,
If you are flying alot you must be close to being a gold frequent flier? that will give you free membership. If not, if the travel is work related, claim it on tax. If all above fails, its still worth it in my opinion. I reckon I've spent nearly as many hours in the Qantas Club or Cathay Lounges as I have on their planes. |
| #5 11:35pm 20/03/07 |
Virgin's equivalent is also just as good. I dunno dude.. I was blown away by Virgin's lounge in Melbourne last August, but Quantas just seems that one little step higher. I am a just a little concerned about the free internet though... dunno how secure it'd be. Although I was stoked to see how fast my (Linus iso) torrents ran while in the Virgin lounge. If I travelled more I'd certainly go the Quantas option.. bring on the Jetstar lounge though :P |
| #6 12:27am 21/03/07 |
it's great... if someone else is paying for it... and if you have many and frequent stopovers. otherwise no.
| #7 12:36am 21/03/07 |
If you are flying alot you must be close to being a gold frequent flier?Nah I really only just started; I've just hit Silver though. I am still prolly at least 6 months of flying (at my current rate of once every 2 weeks) before I ding Gold, I think - but I have a bunch of flights in the foreseeable future so I'm considering just shelling out for membership. |
| #8 09:54am 21/03/07 |
i hate flying
especially when you have cowboys for pilots who start decending like 10mins before touchdown |
| #9 09:59am 21/03/07 |
yeah cos airline pilots would get to make the decision to be a cowboy and descend too late instead of following strict procedures
... I reckon do eeet trog |
| #10 11:07am 21/03/07 |
that gold plated lear jet getting a work out :p
/phatt lewt anywho Do eeeeeet, I've got gold membership and its a fkn life saver, but I got mine through work, it's pretty damned expensive on it's own.... the thing that s***s me is different airlines have different alliances (ok I don't have so much an issue with that - but they should at least recognise other 'carriers' and allow them to use each others lounges - even if only limited services and stuff) not all carriers operate in all markets (of who you team with) if that makes sense? Dunno Anyway plane trips suck full stop, I can't sleep on planes and they are f***ing uncomfortable, even business class I don't find terribly comfortable. |
| #11 11:13am 21/03/07 |
If you fly lots GET it. It's worth it.
| #12 11:18am 21/03/07 |
you should be able to Salary Sacrifice it bringing the after-tax cost to around half price. You might need to sign a declaration to say it's for 'work' purposes only, but it should be able to fit into the 'otherwise deductable' rule for FBT.
| #13 11:37am 21/03/07 |
stinky, ORLY, good idea, I'll ask the accountant!
| #14 11:38am 21/03/07 |
asif you should pay for it
| #15 11:41am 21/03/07 |
Get it and claim it on tax since it's for work - you won't regret it.
Nothing like a bourbon and those little spring roll and mini-quiche's while waiting for your flight. |
| #16 11:44am 21/03/07 |
LOL TicMan those spring rolls disappear FAST esp in the arvo, gotta grab em quick when they reload the tray. They go down very nicely with hinnekken. :)
| #17 12:09pm 21/03/07 |
Anyway plane trips suck full stop, I can't sleep on planes and they are f***ing uncomfortable, even business class I don't find terribly comfortable. farkin aye being 6"4 and approaching typo size i cant stand flying, i dont have enough room between my chair and the chair in front of me, let alone enough room accross the seat i always dreamed that business class or first class would be better? i got no chance of sleeping on a plane unless i drink myself to oblivion or dose up on sleepy pills and then theres no guarantee that i wont attempt to leave the flight midway.... . flying from singapore to uk was a nitemare, the only sleep i got was on the floor in bahrain during transit :( last edited by Spook at 14:25:41 21/Mar/07 |
| #18 02:25pm 21/03/07 |
Business class from Sydney to San Francisco is fun, but seriously not worth the money you'd normally spend (it was a bump-up)
| #19 03:17pm 21/03/07 |
Trog,
The jump from silver to gold shouldn't take long if your company is buying flex fares. I think it amounts to about 15 trips to melbourne or something. I hit silver then flew to Dubai the next week and back, then flew to Shanghai and back two weeks after that and I was gold! Either way, if you are flying fortnightly, I would get it. |
| #20 08:30pm 21/03/07 |
every time i fly at a descent time i book a depature lounge. www.loungepass.com. its only £15 and normally get atleast 10 bevies in, in 3hrs. this is europe of course, dunno what its like downunder.
all of them have a full stock bar and snacks. few of them have better food like pasta and that. some have free internet and the newer ones like terminal 4 at heathrow have playstations and free wifi. always good setting / couches. if you dont book it, you normally spend £20 on a few pints and a coffee at the rip off joints anyway. |
| #21 08:43pm 21/03/07 |
X
Trog if your looking at joining up see if your work already has memberships going on a corporate basis. This can usually drop the price immensly and can sometimes get you out of a joining fee.
For example my work has just been offered a corporate rate for the Virgin Blue lounge. $200 a year no joining fee. Saving of about $100 a year and a $300ish joining fee. |
| #22 11:00pm 21/03/07 |
If you already have a heap of frequent flyer points, you can use them to join instead of cash.
| #23 11:25pm 21/03/07 |
Fubar
i would definatly get it. i use to be a memeber when .. f*** i can't rememeber there name they shut down a few years a go. god damn it, hte one where every one that had frequent flier miles got screwed.
well i had it then awsome best ever. definatly worth ever cent. free piss, food and they will come find you when you plane is about to leave. |
| #24 04:15am 22/03/07 |
Anset?
| #25 09:24am 22/03/07 |
My wife gets it for free with her work .. and whenever we go somewhere together it is awesome. Just being able to go somewhere, sit down have a coffee and something to eat, read or work quietly in a quite, clean environment away from the throng out in the terminal is worth its weight in gold imo.
| #26 11:10am 22/03/07 |
very worth it. it's good to be able to get some work done or surf the net at the tables and chairs, or read magazines/papers, while eating free food and drinking free drinks.
| #27 12:30pm 22/03/07 |
| #27 |