Topic: New York is tops

Just coz sharing is caring.

I went to NY last Monday for a week and arrived back in Dublin today at 6am (today being Monday morning).

I tell ya what NY is a freaking awesome place, note this is coming from a guy who hasn't done a whole lot of travelling, I've been around NZ for 3 weeks, Brissie and Melb and then aside from my 'decide its time to travel' phase and getting a job over in Ireland I hadn't been anywhere.

Things I did

NHL game - NY Rangers V NY Islanders (rorted a scalper, didn't have a ticket to this match, face value was $55USD, gave hom $50 and then proceeded to sit with my mates in the $200 seat range (that they paid for) weeee)
NHL game - NY Islanders V Washington
NBA game - Knicks V Supersonics
Broadway Show - Avenue Q, it's a cross between Sesame St and South Park, was piss funny, had a hillaroius puppet sex scene :P
Madison Square Garden (here on reffered to MSG) - access all areas tour - this was tops, got to see the locker rooms, suites, resturants and s*** that is only available to rich people.
Walked Central Park - pretty damned cool/big place, only saw half of it (or not even).
Circle Line boat tour - 3 hour tour around statten islane (Statue of Liberty) and all around the islands of Manhatten and s***, the dude who ran the commentary would have been 60-70 easy (and had prolly done it since day dawt) but he knew the s*** inside and out and would answer any questions in a flash!
Empire State - went to the observation deck, good times.
New York Skyride - kinda a rollercoast type thing of I guess it could be descibed as a birds eye view of the city, kinda cool, but lost points for a lame Kevin Bacon narration....
NBC Studio tour - is awesome, could be better (IMO) but it shows the news studio, Conan's studio and SNL stufio - they are f***ing small, they do well to fit it all in, was insightful (if not bias) about the history of tv and s*** like that.
Rockefella Tour and Observation deck - did this at dusk, have some 'OK' photo's of the sunset - I suck at the photography...
United Nations - was pretty cool, pitty our tour guide was asian and hadn't quite mastered the art of English, that let the tour down, but it was cool to see where all the world issues are debated etc, it's hillarious, all the rooms/chairs/furnishings haven't changed since the place opened and are SOOOO old school, apparently they are doing a face lift in 2008 - it desperatly needs it!
World Trade Center/Ground Zero - walked completly around it, the place is HUUUUGE, a total of 6 buildings fell that day, not just the 2 towers, lotsa sad stuff there, still to this day there are fresh flowers placed there and photo's etc, really they still haven't made alot of progress there, they are building the freedom tower at the moment.

Umm also did the Macy's and bloomingdales stuff and rode the subway HEAPS!!

Went to some huuuuge outlet mall in the outskirts of NY city (my mate's missus knew where it was at) and shopped till we dropped, there was quiksilver t's for $5usd, Nautica t's 2 for $25, freaking heaps of stuff, so I bought up big, best purchase was the $600USD buberry cashmere/wool trench coat I got for $150USD :D I had to buy a second bag to bring everything home ahhaah

I am sure there is s*** I missed out in this post... photo's will follow soonish, gotta sort through a few GB's of shots and sort the good from bad etc..

P.S if you go to NY get this - http://www.newyorkpass.com/index2.asp saved us a heap of money

P.P.S I still hate Americans, prolly even moreso after having to spend a week with them, they are loud and abnoxious and idiots, but what can ya do, like the place, not the people :p

EDIT: Corrected typo... also it was fkn cold there, minus degree's every day and the wind chill was crazy, it was colder then here in Ireland :/
fraking?!

dude!!
fixt

what are you doing awake at such an hour?
I thought Avenue Q was off-Broadway..

Also, you'll find that the well-minded Americans live on the West coast.
This http://www.avenueq.com/ says it's on broadway, but I don't know, either way I saw it :p
fixt

what are you doing awake at such an hour?

database maintenance

haha I thought you were swearing BSG style, not mis-spelling freaking :P

Broadway Show - Avenue Q, it's a cross between Sesame St and South Park, was piss funny, had a hillaroius puppet sex scene :P

Highly recommended for anyone who's ever in NY and decides to go see a Broadway musical.

You guys have all heard "The internet is for porn" no doubt - well now you know where it comes from.

I thought Avenue Q was off-Broadway..

It was. Then it moved to being on Broadway.
seconded, new york is awesome. It's no San Francisco though :)
Empire State - went to the observation deck, good times.
Did you go right to the top ?
I saw Avenue Q over here last week. Not too bad, although I didn't think it was fall out of your seat hilarious.
awesome heardy, nice writeup

my cuz is in new york somewhere as a contractual/finance lawyer

i should go visit!
sure did trog, it was tops :) awesome view

Avenue Q was great, I'll agree it wasn't fall off your seat funny, but it deffinatly had it's moments. I chose it because it wasn't a 'musical' as such, you know boring opera type music etc, so I was pretty impressed with it once I saw it.

Still haven't looked at my photo's at all, there was a death of a close family friend over night, totally out of the blue, so I have been on the phone back home :/

By the end of the week I'll have some photo's online :)
boba
surely it can't be tops with all those obnoxious loud f***** Americans around?
Sounds cool, my mum went there in 2000 and went on to one of the twins tower observation deck...... She also said the shopping was unbelievable especially clothes, got me a couple of pairs of levis jeans for $5 USD, food was ....average apparently unless you want to pay big $$$$.

Also

$600USD buberry cashmere/wool trench coat

It's BURBERRY you n000b. You don't deserve to wear that, now give it to me!.
Where's the stories about all the bitches and hoes?
yeah I got some levi's for $25USD

no bitches and hoes saint :/
It's BURBERRY you n000b. You don't deserve to wear that, now give it to me!.

f***in reckon
I think you boys have been listening to too much Jay-Z
levi's for $25... you need to buy the $250 pairs to be cool.
Jessie Slem
Yeah I been to NY twice now, stayed for 3 weeks. Ontario, Canada is awesome as well !

I think NY is awesome ! Wanna go back already !
Did any of the seppos's pick your accent or did they think you were scottish? I heard this happens alot.
I got asked if I was Eric Bana when I was in New York
Well, are you ?
no :(
seconded, new york is awesome. It's no San Francisco though :)

mmmm Anchor Steam.
San Francisco has the largest homosexual population in the world.

HMMMMMM plz explain

... trog?
Morgan
head to vegas and party..

go see the smithsonian national air and space museum(srsly cool s*** there).

go to LA and party

go down to mexico and go to cancun
yeah party hard and tap girls imo
fyi, you are less of a fagot if you drink a corona in mexico and it costs less than a dollar per beer

i saw a carton of coronos over here for $50 bux (12 dollar saving)

wtf, what sort of loser would pay that money for a carton of coronos
id just leave it at tap girls
but partying hard usually leads to girls .... they go hand in hand