I don't have my ticket handy; what's the go with taking bags, water bottles, etc? I assume they're loser nazis but just curious if anyone knows off top of head.
| #0 03:31pm 19/01/07 |
| #1 03:55pm 19/01/07 |
IT RULES????
| #2 03:59pm 19/01/07 |
http://www.bigdayout.com/theshow/safety.php
Bringing a bag or pack is handy but remember that it will take longer to get into the show & if you want to check it in it will add two more cues to your day. the 'carbon neutral' section was a bit of a larf... fukn bandwagon-jumping hippy spawn... SURE YOUR POWER IS GREEN N CLEAN JUST COZ U SAY IT IS!@#! meanwhile gladstone power station gobbles the coal & spews forth the carbons to power the bdo :P |
| #3 04:18pm 19/01/07 |
the coal was dug out of the ground with modified prius's
| #4 04:22pm 19/01/07 |
hahah
'proudly mined at a snails pace with a 4 wheel sewing machine' :D & further... :D |
| #5 04:24pm 19/01/07 |
Oh, here i was thinking this was going to be an appreciation thread. Way to go trogdor.
| #6 04:36pm 19/01/07 |
the website never seems to work for me, though on closer inspection it might just be f***ed in firefox or something :| I'll try IE, ta
| #7 04:38pm 19/01/07 |
Works fine for me in ff 2.0.0.1
| #8 04:44pm 19/01/07 |
lol sifnt ie (lol)
| #9 05:45pm 19/01/07 |
bdo noobs
| #10 06:10pm 19/01/07 |
Buy a BIG COLD bottle of water on the way there but don't open it until you get in. Taking a back pack is no big deal if you wanna pack a few things - they rarely check them anyways due to the sheer volume of people coming through the gate.
Remember to pack heaps of sunscreen, hat & sunnies, depending on the weather one of those plastic ponchos, etc. Also if you have access to the right things, shrink the map down a bit (smaller than a4 at least) and laminate it. This way it doesn't get damp and tatty and you can actually see who is on later in the day! |
| #11 06:23pm 19/01/07 |
How the f*** can they force you to pay for bottled water? That is an outrage. I am working at the BDO on sunday as a camera operator, I have never been before or know anything about it, and frankly I don't give a f*** about the music etc... I will take what I like, and if someone has a problem I will chuck a big s***. As far as I'm concerned, I'm working in the sheering hot sun, I need my own personal water bottle I filled from the f***ing tap I pay taxes for!
| #12 06:54pm 19/01/07 |
The websites front page is f***ed up, and I can't stand these music festivals using psychedlic hippie art to appear all free and easy and then they're f***ing you on the entry fee, water, and searches!
| #13 06:57pm 19/01/07 |
I need my own personal water bottle I filled from the f***ing tap I pay taxes for!I'm sure they'd let you in with an empty water bottle. It's mostly to stop people bring booze/drugs in (but probably also to make a buck on anyone too lazy to seek it out/bring their own). There's usually at least the St Johns ambo's area to get free water from (tap or their water storage containers) and the rave aid tent or whatever gay name they give it these days use to as well. Also, yeah the BDO site is dongs, full screen flash animations need to hurry up and become not cool anymore. |
| #14 07:00pm 19/01/07 |
Anyone ever tried the ole vodka in the water bottle trick before ?
| #15 07:16pm 19/01/07 |
I think you just blew my mind with your genius.
| #16 07:27pm 19/01/07 |
nah think about it.. get like an el cheapo brand.. say night owl brand, where you can jimmy the lid open without cracking the seal. Then fill the c*** up with vodka. I've seen people who have smuggled goon bags in, its comedy gold.
| #17 07:53pm 19/01/07 |
The GuVna
what about a s***load of unopened Gatorade?
| #18 08:36pm 19/01/07 |
It's not too hard to circumvent the alcohol/water bottle situation. I have taken my own in plenty of times. Just don't drink it out in the open or on pathways - do it in the middle of the crowd/tent, where you are less likely to encounter the police.
Also Idol if you have a media pass there may be different rules. There might also be an accredited area you can get into where there will be free food/drinks anyway. |
| #19 02:15am 20/01/07 |
The ONLY rule of Big Day Out this year for QGL-ers is don't munt yourself up so badly that you end up in the Emergency Department of the Gold Coast Hospital - cos I am working nights and if you're (un)lucky, I'll be you're doctor!!!
| #20 04:50am 20/01/07 |
Wish I was going - we usually stay in a motor inn directly across the road from the hospital!
| #21 04:56am 20/01/07 |
nubbin: you on the coast now? If in melbas come say hi.
| #22 07:14am 20/01/07 |
The ONLY rule of Big Day Out this year for QGL-ers is don't munt yourself up so badly that you end up in the Emergency Department of the Gold Coast Hospital - cos I am working nights and if you're (un)lucky, I'll be you're doctor!!! im coming in for my hernia check |
| #23 07:32am 20/01/07 |
so nubbin about that morphene shot...
yep still pain... still pain... still a little bit of pain... ooooh thats gooood =D i highly reccomend someone in your group of friends carrying a backback full of water and food. Last year i spent over $30 on water iirc. The lines for the tap's are always massive (last year i dont think they even had the giant water tank?) and bring a whole lot of sunscreen for f***s sake. oh and this is a pro tip for qgl'ers only. Try and carpool your way there dont rely on the busses because you will be waiting in line for hours after the concert trying to shove your way on to a bus and it sucks the big one when your sunburnt and tired an s*** |
| #24 09:29am 20/01/07 |
what's parking normally like? The only time I've been to the gold coast one was like 10 years ago and I seem to remember not having problems with parking (though I left early)
| #25 09:43am 20/01/07 |
yer, we always drive
car parking is pretty good considering (we always get there early though) and the drive down is part of the fun i drive down, petal drives home when we're done (usally we go party somewhere afterwards and come home early the next morning) heh, i hardly ever buy water, but i do buy lots and lots of beers it costs a forutne :( stupid drinks tickets |
| #26 09:43am 20/01/07 |
yeh f*** that, I'm not drinking at those events - I refuse to pay $5 for a mid strength beer
| #27 09:46am 20/01/07 |
actually i think extra dry's are usualy $2.50 a can which is pretty good and lines arn't to bad in the right tents - the dehydration from beer kills ya tho
parking's usually no drama's given that you might have to walk a couple hundread meters to the gate but it wins over busses a gazzillion times over p.s. theres parking at the actual venue incase you didnt know. |
| #28 09:54am 20/01/07 |
2.50 a can ten years ago :)
I think you will find drink tickets will run you anywhere between $2.50 and $3 per ticket. A beer is 2 tickets, pre mix 3. Water 1 at the places that do ticket sales only (but you can pay cash for it at food places). But yes, expect queues, hassles and on top of that beer that is not completely cold (and out of a can, eww). It also means you will have to use portaloos, which are f***ed up. Even if you use them early someone is bound to have pissed or shat over EVERYTHING. I refer you to the movie Kenny for further evidence of this. As for parking I'm not too sure. The roads get pretty crazy around there. I know a lot of people just park on the side of the highway and split the parking ticket between the people in the car, which isn't a bad option if you have a full car. Other than that you can catch a train to Helensvale or Nerang (can't remember which) and they usually have shuttle buses going to the grounds. They usually do a late last train for the event, which means you can catch most, if not all of the closing act. There is also a coach you can book from Roma Street station but it's probably too late now... If you want to park I'd suggest trying one of the train stations or maybe further towards Southport/Surfers Paradise and jumping one a shuttle bus. It will probably save you a few headaches. Having said that I haven't driven to it in years so it may have gotten better (or worse!) I also recommend entering via the Boiler Room entry - it's usually a much smaller queue. If you are coming from the Southport side of the Coast you will go past it first anyway. Last year we breezed straight in. That's a few of my tips. Hope they help. |
| #29 10:32am 20/01/07 |
man, the only drama we've ever had parking was getting out a few years ago took an hour coz someone got run over at that exit
every other year its been easy and the beers are full strength! hooray! |
| #30 11:35am 20/01/07 |
If you're a girly/long haired man jnr, don't wear your hair in a way that there will be a part!!! Oh how horribe, when you have a strip of scalp burnt to s***, and then its hard to comb/brush it, and then it peels and you look like you have super gross big chunks of dandruff.. This is also why its a good idea if your a girl to spray in some of that leave in conditioner s*** which has UV protection. At least then you'll have some protection for the first part of the day.
Thats just something i hate. |
| #31 12:16pm 20/01/07 |
| #32 01:16pm 20/01/07 |
on the topic of driving. last year was walking through the park towards that side street off smith st.. some muppet had drivin his 4be down there and tried to drive over the wire fence there which had totally tangled up on the underside of his diff.. I couldnt stop laughing at the poor c***, nearly started a punch on!
| #33 01:20pm 20/01/07 |
u have fun for me tomorrow please gaz
| #34 01:28pm 20/01/07 |
does anyone know if i would be able to take a digital SLR camera in, i know they let pocket digital cameras and disposables but i don't know if they would deny me entry with an SLR
?? |
| #35 04:57pm 20/01/07 |
Usually don't allow professional photography equipment without a media pass do they? I know that's what they say for splendour anyways.
| #36 06:44pm 20/01/07 |
You should be able to get it through. Just wrap it up in something. I don't expect the security guards to know the features of every camera on the market.
| #37 06:53pm 20/01/07 |
hey nubbin how long you been at GC hospie and what do you do?
| #38 07:28pm 20/01/07 |
have fun today kids!
| #39 08:48am 21/01/07 |
Last year they did have a giant water tank, but the ground around it got soaked and it stunk like sewage, and gave me and my mate a nasty rash, no wait that was the $20 hookers... no seriously we got some raspberry coloured rash from the water soaking our boardies and socks took days to clear.
Best place to stay is the Pines, not far away, $100/night or so and easy to get to and from with a cab, best of all book 2 nights Sat and Sun and you get/got a free round of golf, so quick round of golf on Saturday. The rooms have 2xKing doubles so you don't need to spoon ya mate... unless you want too. |
| #40 11:33am 21/01/07 |
We used to get a Motor Inn for £30 each for two nights. Own beds, pool and we could walk there. Plus when we first starting going there some of the Aussie bands would stay there too.
| #41 09:43pm 21/01/07 |
you're all f***en newbs.
who cares what you spend it's only once a year. Just don't write yourself off to early, I've dont that twice in about 12 years of going, so it's all good. the way I see it, it's a min $200-300 day inc tickets, that's not too bad of a day. seeing at least half a dozen bands drinking piss all day, good times. Can't wait till this Thurs, going go nuts :) |
| #42 11:08pm 21/01/07 |
PHATm
man what a great day, Muse f***ing rocked, and I found $40 dollars worth of drink tickets on the ground which was nice lol :)
| #43 12:39pm 22/01/07 |
trog, give us your lowdown on the event..
| #44 01:08pm 22/01/07 |
My quick summary (very in my opinion and music taste here so don't cry). Tool, Muse and Trivium were well awesome and worth the entry fee alone, which is just as well because everyone else was completely forgettable.
The Spazzies and The Butterfly Effect really aren't ready for the main stage, in the case of the former, probably shouldn't ever be. Trivium and Minus Life had decent sets much more deserving of the bigger stage. It's still a pain in the ass venue for the majority of the attendants (Brisbane residents) to get to. The D barrier thing is still retarded and mark my words, if it stays the way it is, one year there's going to be a serious injury/death resulting from the queue crush - I hope it won't get to that before they realise how much of a waste of time the thing is. All it does is moves the problem to where you can't see the bands anymore and frustrates all the people that can't get in - to the point where some resort to jumping the fence only to get crash tackled by security big time. I was in the D for the last three sets and witnessed some appalling excessive force being used to eject these people. Drink tickets are a farce and the cash handling convenience is just an excuse to make more money from those that don't redeem them all. Enough of the whinge though. Things they did right - program booklet is handy as always, security on the barrier with hoses was sweet. Sound production was mostly universally awesome. Despite my complaints I had a pretty sweet day though it certainly had the potential to be a lot better and I'm sure I'll enjoy the overcranked festival or Tool's eventual headlining tour far more. |
| #45 02:18pm 22/01/07 |
smashingpumpkin
All i can say is thank god they started spraying water halfway through the Tool set, otherwise i wouldnt have made it past Lateralus.
| #46 02:29pm 22/01/07 |
gah, heard from my crew that went that it was awesome
hot jap bird on the dex rocked teh boilerroom bigtime |
| #47 03:57pm 22/01/07 |
we did spooker dont u worry, u know how we do this
| #48 04:01pm 23/01/07 |
Lunch
I heard from a few people that there were alot of racist bogans around trying to stir s*** up, was it really like that?
Hope the Sydney one isn't. |
| #49 06:15pm 23/01/07 |
was a great day moshed hard to muse and tool then danced up a storm for the 2nd half of crystal method. D barrier sucked i was being completely crushed for over an hour in the sun during the killers set, saw at least 10 people feint and get crowd surfed straight to the ambo's standing by, somebody is going to DIE if this continues it is simply rediculous.
Jet was the only band i could clearly hear the lead vocalist in, the sound quality was really great but the performance was pretty crap - sounded just like a cd. was in the D barrier but not moshing just sitting down waiting for muse. Muse was amazing lights sound show everything definately the best act of the day. Twightlight was the most perfect time for them and everything was 10/10 Tool was just intense, they were all very sober looking but just awsome as always end of crystal method was fantastic bit of a blur tho (^_^") was it just me or was the boiler room not as loud at night? maybe just deaf ps change the title from ? to ! last edited by d[o_0]b at 18:32:56 23/Jan/07 |
| #50 06:32pm 23/01/07 |
nice one gaz, i knew you wouldnt let me down
and yer, some of our best times happened at twighlight i remember seeing fun loving criminals a few years back at about 6 and they werent packed or anything was a totally awesome set at an awesome time of day last edited by Spook at 18:34:49 23/Jan/07 |
| #51 06:34pm 23/01/07 |
holy s*** ps aniki rocked the boiler room it was so f***ing loud my organs where shaking against my rib cage so huge lol
the vines also went off the hook new bass player is rad as |
| #52 06:38pm 23/01/07 |
trog, give us your lowdown on the event..Well, I realised I'm far too old to go to festivals. I just don't have the patience to even be around the sort of retarded f***head drunk jerks, the idiot drugsmoking losers, the young kids, and all the other crap that you have to deal with. Obviously it's compounded by the fact that you have to go to the Gold Coast to get there@#!@# Seriously, move it to the Ekka show grounds or something. I foolishly got there at like 11am (my girlfriend wanted to go see something early) so I ended up being there all day when realistically I only wanted to see Muse and Tool. A bunch of the other bands were neat, but I just didn't care enough about them to really get into it. Muse was f***ing awesome as were Tool. The dust in the air comPLETELY f***ed me; I have had the worst hayfever for 2 days. That stupid dirt path there needs to be removed. Anyway, I would have had an INFINITELY better day if I'd arrived at 7pm and left just after Tool. Yes, I'm a grumpy old man. So sue me. |
| #53 06:02pm 24/01/07 |
CrabPeople
Said it like a true nerd...except for the girlfriend bit
| #54 06:08pm 24/01/07 |
wait til you're my age, you punk kids
| #55 06:30pm 24/01/07 |
yeah the dust f***ed me good too, i washed my hair before i left, within an hour of sitting on the hill i couldn't run my fingers through my hair cause of that s*** dust. then i felt grubby and dirty all day long
| #56 06:42pm 24/01/07 |
Sound production was mostly universally awesome thanks :P mob i work for did all the stages except mainstage, last year and this year were pretty good but next year if all goes to plan it'll be even better across the board ;) end of crystal method was fantastic bit of a blur tho (^_^") f*** me which boiler room were you in :P i'm one of the system techs for boiler room and i can tell you without doubt that it was f***ing loud all day, i had 30db plugs in all day tho so i came outta it fine :) whats scary is that we had headroom to go louder ;) all in all boiler room was boring for me this year, the bands didnt really deliver much and i'm not into DJ's so yeh, thats personal pref tho as i'm more of a rock/metal person but have seen some cool bands in the boiler room before. |
| #57 07:02pm 24/01/07 |
Denominator
o good you can take unopend water in now all I goto do is fill a bottle with vodka and put new cap on it from work hehhehehe
| #58 07:04pm 24/01/07 |
i agree with trog about the people
so many of them so many idiots thats why i get loaded and then some so they dont bother me |
| #59 07:32pm 24/01/07 |
That stupid dirt path there needs to be removed. You do realise it's a trot/horse track don't you? They were watering it down beforehand but obviously when ~50,000 walk all over it all day long it doesn't really help much. |
| #60 08:56pm 24/01/07 |
I'm also with trog on the too-old bandwagon. Actually i think i might have spotted u at one point...
The big open stages for the main acts were s***. (The orange and blue stages). Open aired stages have zero atmosphere and the acoustics obviously suck. The smaller marquee stages were where it was at. The only performance I really enjoyed was Lupe Fiasco. Some black MC from chicago who I'd never actually heard of, but he was awesome. Only complaint was the level of the bass in that stage. Can't remember the stage name, but it was the one on the top of the little hill. I thought my ears were literally going to explode and I had trouble breathing at one point. I was about 8metres from the stage, in centre, so i guess i was copping the maximum volume possible. I woulda killed for some ear plugs. It was seriously too much. Won't go again. Will go to splendor again though, its 100x better imo. Definately plenty of d*******s around also. |
| #61 09:41pm 24/01/07 |
yeah i cant see myself going to another BDO, the one i went to in 05 was out of control.. way too messy and its put me off BDO's for a very long time. the dustbowl also f***ed me over, but it was pretty cool diggin out the ubermegadustboogers.
splendour is the only major festival i havent been to, will have to try and get down there this year. summafielddayze is def my fave, but future music festival might give it a run for its money.. |
| #62 10:09pm 24/01/07 |
i much prefer the bdo to splendor
i just dont like two day events, plus the bdo has better music i give myself totally to a music festival, so bad things happened when i tried to do that two days in a row (well, it was sort of one big long crazy day) plus splendor has too many hippees |
| #63 11:32pm 24/01/07 |
top effort squarky the sound in boiler room was just massive i seriously think i was deaf by the end of crystal method love your work man.
the rest of you seem to be doing something wrong if your havin such a crappy time |
| #64 12:13am 25/01/07 |
You do realise it's a trot/horse track don't you? They were watering it down beforehand but obviously when ~50,000 walk all over it all day long it doesn't really help much.No. Wait - who cares what it is? It's stupid!@# |
| #65 04:58pm 25/01/07 |
Did anyone manage to see the Afro & the incredible beat box boys in the lilly pad? They were hilariously good! 3 Japanese dudes busting out a whole range of mainstream hip hop & house tunes all with their mouths.
| #66 05:01pm 25/01/07 |
anyone see lily allen?
got a text from a mate at sydneys bdo and he said she was awesome i have a major chubby for her |
| #67 05:06pm 25/01/07 |
hey d[o_0]b, I was right in there with you for the d barrier entry for the killers set, they sounded good, shame they put the entry in such a f***ed up spot and then deliberatly block the view to the main stage with the metal walls.
The crush going through the dbarrier entry was worse than any mosh I have ever been in, add to that the fact that you cant actually see the band which makes everyone pissed off, and the fact that there is no way out make it in my opinion way worse than any mosh. I seriously cant see how they think its better now, or is it just a "look we have put in this d barrier thing, there's no crowd crush at the front of the stage!, just dont look over there" I saw 2 people legitimatly faint, 1 who was out cold and and me and some other guys had to pick her up and they took her away. 6-7 other girls did what i call fake-fainting, eg they couldnt take it anymore and made people crowd surf them out. One guy tried to start crowd surfing behind me so I pushed him down. I was just happy I got in to see jet, muse and tool. Was a bit pissed that they seem to let everyone in to the d barrier area about halfway through jet, if they were gonna fill the d barrier area up why not do it earlier? |
| #68 05:20pm 25/01/07 |
I saw lilly allen, she was pretty good, I was suprised how good her band was, though she would just use a dj and backing but she had a full band with horn section and all.
Personnaly i think she would have gone over better on the main stage instead of the spazzys or someone lame like that. The main stage realy was a bit lame in the afternoon compared to other years. My chemical romance, bah, chuck them on a side stage for the emo's. |
| #69 05:26pm 25/01/07 |
yeah i saw half her set was pretty cool all sunflowers and rainbows and smokin joints on stage, happy times =D |
| #70 12:05am 26/01/07 |
how bout mike s?
i seen him last time he was out, was there, but sort of not there (sup strexsor) i seen he got the boiler room this time |
| #71 09:02am 26/01/07 |
| #71 |