Topic: Anyone with a PSP?
Hey guys, since i pretty much don't do anything during the day except sleep i want to do something while i'm awake, my dads got a ps2 and i've got an xbox at my mum's house but i don't have a TV for personal use and so i can only play these when my dad isn't watching TV which isn't much hah.

Anyways who has a PSP and do you recommend them, what are some good games to get for it that will keep me entertained and is ebay the best way to go on getting cheap games or does anyone know of other good stores online?

cheers
I don't own either, but have heard the Nintendo one kicks the PSP in the nuts for gaming?
No way man! Nintendo DS is s***E compared to PSP.
I got one - was awesome for the first week and now it's collecting dust somewhere in my house. Games are good but in alot of cases they just cut down the PS2 versions so occasionally it slows down to a grind or the graphics just aren't quite right, etc.

Overall, it's a pretty cool portable.
Howdy Mav,
We've got one. We scored it as part of a Strathfield mobile plan (came for free with the phone ect)

My kids (and I) love it. I'ts modded so its extra cool and can run homebrew, iso's (in theory) ect.

man i really don't understand all that homebrew s***, i would f*** something up for sure.. lol

any games you recommend E.T?
Nice find ET - think I'll give that a crack tonight.
Yeah mav, Burnout Revenge is really good, also bought Grand Theft Auto, and Sonic the hedgog. It came with Daxter but havent looked at it yet.

I managed to get internet TV working over it the other day, wasnt too bad if you have a wifi network. The Utube vid below shows it in action.

BTW, anyone can use the TVUplayer to watch free TV over the interweb. They seem to have primarily stations from around San francisco at the moment.

last edited by E.T. at 18:51:10 10/Jan/07
Both can be haxxed so you can store and play games off the memory stick or compact flash in a reader in the DS' case.

With PSP the only games _really_ worthwhile imo are lumines, locoroco and the 2 grand theft autos vice and liberty city stories. There's so many s***ty worthless games it's not funny.
Tim Tibbetts
DS ownz you all!
Be careful with the hacking - I now have a shiny black dead PSP :(
Get a PSP JUST for lumines and loco roco.
WTF Tickman, what did you do man? Do you have the TA-082 mainboard or something?
DS wins

flawless victory
Nah don't have a TA-082. My firmware was 2.80 so I tried to downgrade to 1.50 using tutorial and kaboom - came up with some error and now I just get a black screen when I turn it on.
Tim Tibbetts
If you're not going to get heaps of homebrew apps going then the PSP is not worth it.
Crusty old man
... and Mario give great blowjobs, and Princess Peach is a complete slut and likes to watch...

Just ask Tim!
DS f***ing owns if you want gaming, psp is cocks
sifn't lemmings on psp, although sony put s*** music on :(
Yeah, DS is awesomeness. Its the system that melted my cold, Nintendo hating heart.
If you're getting a psp get Def Jame: The Takeover and Burnout Revenge like mentioned earlier.

Nailbomb
an unmodded psp is total penis. Been playing alot of lemmings on it in the last few weeks, nearly finished all 156 levels which I never got anywhere near when i use to play it back in the day.

Good thing about the DS though is it doesn't need to be modded to be good because of awsome games like Mario Kart DS on it.

ticman what games did you have on psp since yours is dead now mebbe i could purchase some
tension
Im enjoying playing some of the older PSX games on my PSP currnetly, GT, GT2, coolboarders :)
ticman what games did you have on psp since yours is dead now mebbe i could purchase some

I'll probably buy another mobo or send it to Sony for repairs - so not selling games just yet.
final fantasy 7 on the psp is rocking me right now

I got mine really cheap at eb mav, $180 with all the gear, perfect cond
Any
yet another DS s***s on PSP post.
can't avoid the truth.
Medieveil is pretty jor on the PSP,...must get down to check that s*** out ET...sorry been so long replying to your email mate...

crazy here at the mo...

Mav...have u got a PSP at the moment?
nah i just bought one off ebay psycho so just waiting for it, but i still don't have any games lol, i bought two games off this dude from OCAU metal gear:acid and tony hawks somethingarather for cheap but he hasn't sent them yet, must get onto him, don't really want the PSP showing up without any games to play on it lol.
just dont update the firmware to 2.81 or higher!! unless it's already been done
it says its 1.5 but i've been hearing things about 3.03 or something?
1.5 is the base firmware, don't update it yet.

I've got lots of homebrew stuff running on mine in a virtual session sort of thing - but yeah you need 1.5 in the first place to get to anywhere.

check out pspupdates.qj.net I think it is
Unfortunately there is no way to restore the PSP's settings once system corruption has occurred. If system corruption has occurred to your PSP then it will need to be repaired by our qualified technicians. The repair of a corrupted PSP will be at an out of warranty fee as this fault is not a manufacturing fault or malfunction of the PSP. To get your PSP repaired then we do advise that you contact our support centre on the phone number listed below.

*Cry* .. hope it doesn't cost that much.
space ninja i wish i'd read your post before i bought mine.. although i kinda wanted a new one anyways and i have disability benefits from centrelink that i don't really spend cos i don't leave the house so why not get a new one :P

cost me $300 for a white jap one new in box with a few accessories but not the complete pack :(

i think i'm going to just enjoy a few games before i risk any of this "homebrewing" cos i'm a total noob and am likely to brick it straight away lol i don't know enough about it still
Are PSPs region locked?
it says i can play any region on it although i'm doubting the same for movies :|
Nailbomb
i think i'm going to just enjoy a few games before i risk any of this "homebrewing" cos i'm a total noob and am likely to brick it straight away lol i don't know enough about it still

psp's are getting harder and harder these days to mod without bricking them, i think they put new motherboards in them about 6 months ago to try and stop ppl doing firmware downgrades (could be cracked by now, havent really looked into it recently). Apparently you can get psp hardware modded and there are places around that will do it, just couldnt tell you of any in QLD but might be the safest way to go if you can find a place that does it.
I'd advise against - $145 to get a bricked PSP fixed.

unlucky ticman :(

i just got my psp before.

jap psp is right, intstructions are jap, lol. and the seller forgot to include the australian plug so i only have the jap power adapter. AWESOME
luckily pretty much any power chord fits into the end of the adapter mahjibby so i'm charging it through a laptop power chord until he sends me the right one.

not that it really matters cos i don't have any games or anything yet :( the dude who i bought some off hasnt even sent them yet apparently sending them today so that's about a week away.. then i bought GTA liberty city stories but i think that was regular post as well :(
liberty city stories is one of the ways you can crack your psp

but yeah it all depends on version and s***, thats why I went for a second hand one, I knew it'd be older and easier to mod (firmware only, no chips or s*** to open it up)

as of right now I can play any snes/megadrive/nes/sega master system/playstation 1 game on my PSP without much problem, its pretty kickin rad

and now back to final fantasy 7
man so frustrating i just thought that my psp was jap only cos i couldnt figure out wtf the language settings are considering i can't read japanese.. but trusty old google
mscactus
PSP games are on Sale at Harvey Norman - 2 for $99
you probably got my jap psp that i sold on ebay about a year ago to some dude. (v1.5.. for more then i paid for it a year earlier)

you can bend the pins to a 45degree angle and plug it in, the recharger transformer works from 100-250v
Tickman, I'm so sorry you bricked you psp man. There is a hardware mod which can unbrick it though. The hardware mod has its own firmware. I'm trying to find the place in fort valley that fits them, but having trouble. I'll let you know if I find it.

Having a modded PSP kicks ass but you have to be so damn careful while doing it. And even then, s***e can happen.
nah cainer, was brand new from a wholesaler borrowed some games from a mate of dads.. good fun but i cant play too long lol
Update: I managed to sweet talk my way into a warranty repair and it's on its way back to me now from Sydney \o/
Glad to hear it man :)

wtf i just tried to play syphon filter dark mirror and its trying to make me update to version 2.71 it won't let me play. :(
how do i avoid it.. helppp
yeah, some titles will do that. What firmware version are you running Mav ?
1.5 they want me to update too 2.71:(
Well, if your not going to want to run ISO's or homebrew, just upgrade man. Otherwise, I'd be looking to mod it :)

I'm running a hybrid of 2.71 and 1.5. It works well, but as Ticman found out, flashing the firmware can be hazardous.