ok, seeing as I got the boy a new monitor yesterday I have a nice little Samsung 753 DFX Syncmaster (17") Monitor to a person willing to drop say $30.00 in a charity bin somewhere. This will go on an honour system, if you do it cool, if you don't your a c*** and you have to live with yourself for ever.
I am currently living in Chapel Hill. mail me. first honest person in, gets it. |
| #0 08:15pm 17/12/06 |
You should take the 30 and donate it yourself :o
Honor point for you. |
| #1 08:21pm 17/12/06 |
Chapel Hill seems way to far :(
I do volunteer work for the Salvo's, dropping in $30 wouldn't be anything and my 10 year old 14 inch HP is killing me :( |
| #2 09:02pm 17/12/06 |
where r u chub?
| #3 10:32pm 17/12/06 |
lol Deception Bay, near Redcliffe :)
I wasn't even nearly prepared to go to Indro today to get a Wii, that's how much I hate driving :D BTW all you carnts, support the Salvo's, we do great work :) |
| #4 10:39pm 17/12/06 |
myWhiteWolf
btw, this is an awesome monitor. i have one exactly like it, i would take it (and drop off the 30$) but im going to buy myself a nice wide screen LCD on monday. so i'll leave it for some one who wants it.
| #5 12:02am 18/12/06 |
I think it would cost about $30 in petrol to drive from D-Bay to Chapel Hill and back again.
| #6 12:28am 18/12/06 |
I think it would cost about $30 in petrol to drive from D-Bay to Chapel Hill and back again.Factor in I got a sigma that struggles to get 6 - 7km per litre. |
| #7 12:45am 18/12/06 |
Chub if you can get here its yours, no charge, seeing as you do the volunteer work. I can't drive too far due to some terrific meds I am on, but I reckon I could get to say about Ashgrove/Lang Park area for a near-half way meet.
| #8 01:01am 18/12/06 |
Psycho! is a champ, he sent me a modem for free when I was having trouble with my ADSL, in turn I donated some money to the local salvo's.
Love your work mate :) |
| #9 01:24am 18/12/06 |
awww now ya got me blushing.
I figure like that movie 'Pay it forward' if a lot more people did that the world wouldn't be such a s***ty place it is right at the mo...I hope my two boys carry it on when I am worm food as well. I figure Chub does the volunteer stuff, it's reap what you sow time...plus it sounds like he seriously needs a new monitor! :) p.s. Heardy dude , how long you in the emerald Isle?...give us and update...its one of the few places I haven't been to yet. Nightlife, isp, women, ect. r you there for good or just travelling thru? pics as well..I think this page has enough OS peeps to have a sticky Pics thread full time from the travellers out there. last edited by Psycho! at 01:35:31 18/Dec/06 last edited by Psycho! at 01:36:05 18/Dec/06 |
| #10 01:36am 18/12/06 |
a sticky Pics thread..um I could have phrased that better hey. :P |
| #11 01:37am 18/12/06 |
www.heardy.com is a bit of a blog type place
I am here for work, loving it, I will probably hang here for a couple of years I guess, just depends on work. Nightlife is great - lots of pubs/clubs - though I am not much of a clubber, there is something like 800+ pubs in Dublin (where I am living and working) so I won't go wihout a beer hehe. ISP = www.magnet.ie unlimited ADSL2+ (sync at 20mbit), voip phone + pay tv over IP. Costs me around 70 euro a month or there abouts and that includes the sky sports add on, well that's what this month's bill is - not sure how that worked out, because is says its more on their site - not that I am complainin :) I think it was meant to be around the 120 euro a month mark. The site says 150gb, but they don't have any sort of useage meter and their helpdesk basically told me to go crazy and don't worry about any limits. I've only been to London twice since coming over in Aug, haven't really had much of a chance to travel, I went down to Cork for a long weekend. But I do have plans on travelling at some stage. I am back out to Aus in Jan for 2 weeks, then in July going to Wimbldon. Aside from that I will go do some weekends in places, Paris, Italy, Rome, Poland etc etc BUT it's comming into winter and its f***ing cold, so I might just stay put for the next few months :p Been pretty slack with the photo's and updating the site, but s*** happens hehe |
| #12 02:09am 18/12/06 |
great Heardy is bookmarked..off to read about your adventures you lucky lucky bastard!
:0) |
| #13 02:17am 18/12/06 |
Yeah I literally need a new monitor, this one just isn't crappy but has technical problems and is going to die soon (huge bright flashes, cuts out every now and then).
I wouldn't rob the Salvo's of the $30 though that they would of recieved otherwise if someone else picked it up, so the offer still stands. That being said, QGL, for a person with a brutal and crappy monitor is this monitor well worth the fuel money + time (don't care about the $30)? Also it seems like you're right near Indro and they're possibly getting Wii's in this week but need a $50 deposit, which I wasn't obviously going to drive all the way over for... WIN/WIN :) I wouldn't want you driving on Oxycontin anyway Psycho :) You stay put. |
| #14 05:24am 18/12/06 |
Omg heardy.. i hate you!
hahaah as for the travelling... london is great!! I got greeted by the friendly neighbourhood welcoming comittee on friday night who were nice enough to give me a maths lesson, 2 dudes vs 6 =pain city.. Great time for all.. they took my laptop, ipod and sunglasses... And left me in hospital for 6 hours, no skull fractures but i can only see out of one eye for the moment!! but I did get the laptop back, one of the guilty 6s girlfriend came round and gave it back... also thread derailment!!! hahahahah |
| #15 06:19am 18/12/06 |
jesus boxhead, you roll with the wrong crowd :p
sounds like a ball, what ghetto are you living in??? also next time I am over there we'll need to meet up for beers I rekon |
| #16 06:39am 18/12/06 |
Living in Stratford.. its not supposed to be as horrible as some of the worst places in london... but the % of people on benefits is high or somes***...
case of wrong place.. wrong time.. thats what the cops and ambos said.. they dont usually go after people who live like 20m from where they hang out, they just had a bit of a bee in their bonnet.. after that i told the cops and co to shut up, because hey.. i was the one with the headache! |
| #17 07:16am 18/12/06 |
doh, that dont sound real good boxhead
| #18 08:05am 18/12/06 |
guesss they don't call you boxhead for nothing :P
man that was the best travel story ever (not that i condone the attack in the slightest). definately sounds like an adventure and it sure beats the band camp crap other people tend to come back with... ;) Rezpekt yo |
| #19 08:35am 18/12/06 |
Token Black Man
okay, if this monitor is still available, im willing to do a good deed of picking the monitor up from psycho, and driving it to chub to show my appreciation for what good blokes they are.
hows that sound? |
| #20 10:48am 18/12/06 |
I put $30 in the Salvo tin at Caboolture for you today Psycho, though don't worry about the monitor as I probably wouldn't get over to your side of town and the notion of the gesture is enough... that's the act of charity, giving something for nothing :)
Please don't go out of your way to do anything, it would make me feel uncomfortable... either keep it, give it away (since the Salvo's have won from this thread already :D) or offer it to someone else if they're willing to donate too (best option :D). This thread warms my heart and it's great you're setting an example for your kids. LOL Tung, that would make me incredible uncomfortable... it's like the situation where people try to give you money, and you're like "it's alright" and they persist :) last edited by CHUB at 11:20:21 18/Dec/06 |
| #21 11:20am 18/12/06 |
Token Black Man
you guys make the decision, im prepared to do it on behalf of goodwill. just let me know via this thread or pm as to what im doing, k?
| #22 11:26am 18/12/06 |
I work at Milton and live at North Lakes so I'm also happy to drop it off to Chub. So neither of you feel guilty I'm happy if one drops it off to me and the other picks it up from my house :D
Probably wouldn't be until Wednesday though - have catchup Xmas dinner with friends tonight and my 2nd newbie Karate lesson tomorrow. |
| #23 11:31am 18/12/06 |
lol see, now I'm uncomfortable.
| #24 11:33am 18/12/06 |
I live right near chapel hill so I'll drop some coin in charity for the monitor if it's still available.
| #25 11:46am 18/12/06 |
u know...seeing how chub feels uncomfortable and all...lol
| #26 11:48am 18/12/06 |
I got no problem with that le cock :) $60 will feed a decent number of street kids for a night, a better outcome then originally intended by psycho :D
| #27 11:50am 18/12/06 |
CHARITY BIDDING WARS
| #28 11:50am 18/12/06 |
That's exactly it Trog, I could never have really accepted a monitor for donating to the Salvo's, that would of made me feel extremely dirty.
I don't like the idea of needing a reward to donate, but that being said I thought this thread was a great idea and everybody is a winner. |
| #29 11:52am 18/12/06 |
Kids? Who cares about the kids, $30 for a monitor is a bargain especially when it can be resold on eBay!
j/k :) |
| #30 11:52am 18/12/06 |
Oh great now I look like some sort of monitor-taking uncharitable parasite lol!
I always give to charity even though I'm broke as : ) U know, not heaps, but a few bucks...I figure if everyone did that they'd be doing pretty well. |
| #31 11:56am 18/12/06 |
shutup le-cock you charity scab
chub, sif feel uncomfortable. sheessh |
| #32 12:40pm 18/12/06 |
I got my own personal reasons for donating my time and money to the Salvo's, I wouldn't expect the general public to be as inclined as I am, as there's a lot of worthwhile charities out there... but I got a history with them and I still believe they're the most worthwhile charity you can give to by far.
Perhaps I should of dropped the $30 in the tin without announcing it :) Though I thought it may of got more people in the mood, since it's the season of giving :) In regards to le cock... if I take the monitor, the Salvo's got $30, if he takes the monitor the Salvo's got $60... I know which one I want :) last edited by CHUB at 12:47:23 18/Dec/06 |
| #33 12:47pm 18/12/06 |
Ok well if everyone's ok with it, I'll PM u my msn, psycho.
| #34 01:04pm 18/12/06 |
mate can u email me, i dont use msn. nice offer by Tung as well, there is still hope for humanity.
| #35 02:11pm 18/12/06 |
What's your email address? I sent u a PM with mine
| #36 08:19pm 18/12/06 |
mate just click on the little 'mail' word/icon in the post page down the bottom there :)
vvv |
| #37 08:27pm 18/12/06 |
You guys are all making me uncomfortable... in the pants. I wonder if the Salvos would want my pants!
| #38 10:14pm 18/12/06 |
Crusty old man
You guys are all making me uncomfortable... in the pants. I wonder if the Salvos would want my pants!Who wouldn't!!?? My wife works for the Salvos, and I've had some dealings with them in the past many many moons ago in Sydney. A worthwhile charity to be sure! |
| #39 10:23pm 18/12/06 |
I don't think I've ever seen Psycho swear before especially using the "c***" word.
| #40 12:02am 19/12/06 |
I have my moments...some people can only be described that way unfortunately. :)
| #41 10:59am 19/12/06 |
| #41 |