are there any cheap gyms on the northside? seriously i don't want sign some concract and pay a stupid ammount of money, just somewhere thats <$10 for a single visit
there was one in stafford but i think thet got shut down by workplace health and safety haha i'm not looking for some place with a pool and sawna and all that gimmicky s***, just somewhere i can go and pump some iron |
| #0 02:02pm 05/12/06 |
Leon Trotsky
UQ is a good bet.
| #1 02:25pm 05/12/06 |
UQ absolutely owns... only proper powerlifting / weightlifting gym in Queensland I believe.
| #2 02:29pm 05/12/06 |
u should just get a stepper pave
that would tighten your buns up no end |
| #3 02:31pm 05/12/06 |
UQ absolutely owns... only proper powerlifting / weightlifting gym in Queensland I believe. wrong. nudgee does too. |
| #4 02:35pm 05/12/06 |
Really? Hot damn! 100x closer.
Nothing like moving out of the s***ty commercial gyms and into a place full of rubber plates, power racks and GHR machines. |
| #5 02:45pm 05/12/06 |
when they move UQ over to the northside i'll consider it...
i normally go to the gym at tafe at southbank, but it's a bit far to travel just for the gym what gym at nudgee dale? is it cheap? last edited by paveway at 15:01:03 05/Dec/06 |
| #6 03:01pm 05/12/06 |
I don't know about UQ being the only real setup.
Apparently there's a place called Thors at west end which is hardcore? |
| #7 05:15pm 05/12/06 |
Oh yeah, maybe try Hendra Healthworks - it's on the northside. A hardcore mate of mine trains there (bb champ) so it must be ok.
| #8 05:17pm 05/12/06 |
| #9 05:22pm 05/12/06 |
serious, i go to hendra healthworks pretty regularly I might've seen your mate there's these 2 absolutely f***ing massive young guys who are there all the time, hardly any bb's there so ones probably him.
| #10 05:23pm 05/12/06 |
Diddy was saying something about joining at Herston.
I'll go with you man we'll tank up, and slap each other on the ass after a good workout |
| #11 05:35pm 05/12/06 |
I just joined up at the new Goodlife at Chermside (opening special). $14 per week, 12 mth contract, but you just have to pay whatever's left owing on your contract if you leave early.
f***ing awesome facilities, and cheap as s*** as far as gym memberships go. They said something about it's possible they might extend the opening special price for a while tho - so hit them up I guess. |
| #12 06:47pm 05/12/06 |
Come to Goodlife, I'm going to Chermside soon from Carseldine
See you there :) |
| #13 07:19pm 05/12/06 |
Yeah that'd be them. The better looking one (physique wise) has dark hair, and the other chunky guy has blonde hair right? |
| #14 07:25pm 05/12/06 |
healthworks southside represent.
12 months for $300. can't go wrong baby. who wants a picture of my chest? ok 10 bux kthx. |
| #15 07:45pm 05/12/06 |
I get to go to a gym for free whenever I want. Pitty I dont like going to the gym :D
| #16 07:49pm 05/12/06 |
^^
he asked for a gym on the northside not a gaybar on the south |
| #17 07:49pm 05/12/06 |
OOOooo, My mistake, they are so similar. Both full of sweaty men :P
| #18 08:18pm 05/12/06 |
yeah that's them. they're both pretty massive but spikey brown hair guy is just out of control.
| #19 08:28pm 05/12/06 |
nice pharcyde, my mates work at chermside.. i used to work at the Carseldine one, so i get free gym in either, but i live a truckload away from both, so would only go if i was back in Brissy i guess.
| #20 08:45pm 05/12/06 |
i just want a place i can go to a couple of times a week for a few weeks until i got back to tafe where i get it for $75 for 3 months
any of these places you guys are talking about that are less than $10 for a casual visit? |
| #21 10:17pm 06/12/06 |
you'll find some gyms have happy hour during the middle of the day for about $7ish
they don't care about casual members at all cos all the want is the rolling debits from bank accounts of fat slobs who will never cancel their membership |
| #22 08:47am 07/12/06 |
I just joined up at the new Goodlife at Chermside (opening special). $14 per week, 12 mth contract, but you just have to pay whatever's left owing on your contract if you leave early. I think Fitness First is about the same price, and that is pretty much the most expensive you'll ever pay for. UQ is a cheap gym, but you've gotta f***in pay for parking. I paid $400 up front for 12 months ($7.50ish per week) but probably spend about another 5 per week just on parking. It includes weights and cardio, as all memberships should, but also includes use of the pool which is great. It doesn't include classes, which is crap for chicks, because they are exy and you may as well go to somewhere newer like FF or Zest or Goodlife. I live in Indro area and the only real options for me are UQ, FF (Toowong or Indro), Zest in Jindalee or Goodlife in Sherwood. I've been to Zest before with my mate and it does nothing for me - new equipment which I don't really care about, but not much of it meaning you have to f***in' go at stupid times or wait around for ages. Everyone there gets way too dressed up and it's too noisy. I imagine FF would be similar, but worse. I've heard the Goodlife in Sherwood sucks arse. UQ is awesome because it's relatively cheap, it's got everything you could need, friendly staff etc. You go and lift weights and then you leave. It's not a fashion show and no one cares if you are massive or skinny. Even when it's peak hour you can still usually get to your weights relatively quickly because there is a lot of it. Like I said my only complaint is having to pay for parking, which is ridiculous. |
| #23 10:01am 07/12/06 |
they don't care about casual members at all cos all the want is the rolling debits from bank accounts of fat slobs who will never cancel their membership haha so true. I know this d******* who pays for a FF membership, and another mate who worked there checked his attendance record and he had been 3 times in the last 2 years. Worked it out to cost him like $350 per visit or something haha And yes, UQ is a good no-nonsense gym. Main problem I find is that it gets f***ING HOT in summer as there's no aircon and the sun comes straight in reflecting off giant metal louvers. FF at indro is s***HOUSE. It's like a friggin nightclub in there - there's all this dark mood lighting so u can't see s*** and feel like going to sleep. The benches are all f***ed up - ergonomic my ass. It's full of tossers and posers, and there's f***all weights/equipment that u actually want to use - ie. most of it is useless junk taking up space. FF toowong is better. There's proper lighting and it's more spaced out. However, it gets pretty busy and there's really only 1 of each thing so going in peak is a waste of time. I wanted to open a new gym a few years ago which wasn't f***ed. Maybe I should have. So many go out of business though so yeh. Costs a f***load to setup too. |
| #24 11:23am 07/12/06 |
my missus was paying 40 bucks a fortnight for FF at first, but with MBF that dropped to 31 per fortnight. i pay 26 per fortnight because im a student, orrrjeh and the facilities are pretty uber.
toowog ftw tho |
| #25 11:47am 07/12/06 |
I can get a FF membership for $17.50 a fortnight (for 6months anyway while a mate goes o/s) but I just despise it so much I don't want it.
I loath FF. |
| #26 11:55am 07/12/06 |
how does that work cockman? was it a founder membership or something?
for my use, its great. i have the right shape body i need, i just need somewhere i can go to do cardio to get my fitness level up and my weight down, and some basic weights training to build strength, as im already stocky and dont need to bulk up anymore poor scrawny people that need to bulk up, i feel sorry for them :( |
| #27 11:59am 07/12/06 |
I think it was a founder, but then he reduced it a lot using the referal scheme. Apparently u can get it down to $0/month which would be good. I'd consider using it then.
| #28 12:37pm 07/12/06 |
fair suck of the sav!! |
| #29 12:51pm 07/12/06 |
yeah i saw that, the referral system rocks if you know enough people wanting to get in
| #30 01:45pm 07/12/06 |
or u can just bribe one of the sales staff to put your name down as the referer each time they sign up someone new ;)
| #31 01:56pm 07/12/06 |
for my use, its great. i have the right shape body i need, i just need somewhere i can go to do cardio to get my fitness level up and my weight down, and some basic weights training to build strength, as im already stocky and dont need to bulk up anymore Change your diet if you want to lose weight fast and spend the time you would be doing cardio normally doing weights instead. It'll burn heaps of calories and you won't look skinny when you lose all the flab:p |
| #32 11:12pm 07/12/06 |
Hardball speaks the truth. Stop eating those f***ing noodles for starters. |
| #33 12:40am 08/12/06 |
there is big money in the fitness industry.. if you can open one up do it cos you'll be laughing all the way to the bank.
| #34 10:04am 08/12/06 |
Open a supplement store, then you'll be laughing even harder!
| #35 10:19am 08/12/06 |
Actually I've considered both options...and although I have great interest in it, unfortunately my career path lies elsewhere...
Most of the successful gyms are yuppie s***e ones like FF though. I've spoken to a few guys who opened serious gyms and they've said it's a pretty fine line. Unfortunately most of the public wanna be sucked in by trendy gyms like FF that don't actually help u get in shape. Supplements however...doesn't the beefcake dad at ada street drive a maserati or something? |
| #36 10:33am 08/12/06 |
as im already stocky and dont need to bulk up anymore You mean you started out as a fatty? |
| #37 07:40pm 08/12/06 |
more so that my frame means that no matter how little i weigh, i wont look scrawny :)
yeah, had a nice weights session on wednesday night, went and bowled some balls down at the cricket nets this arvo so i let tonight off my gym, ill head back on sunday |
| #38 08:20pm 08/12/06 |
doesn't the beefcake dad at ada street drive a maserati or something? I swear one time i was there i got served by beefcake, he kinda looked like dorian yates |
| #39 08:39pm 08/12/06 |
| #39 |