This thursday australia take on england. I'll let the thread do the talking but I predict a 4-0 result, Warne being the highest wicket taker and Hussey scoring the most runs.
| #0 08:42am 21/11/06 |
Where is part 1?
| #1 09:12am 21/11/06 |
I can't wait for the aussies to smash the poms
I am going to be in London from Thurs, so I will be going to some random pub and watching it all night (lets hope) |
| #2 09:13am 21/11/06 |
for the sake of playing the devil's advocate.
england win the series 2-1. flintoff taking the most wickets followed closely by hoggart(im pretty sure he's in the squad?), and pietersen taking most runs. geraint jones will step up amidst criticism, and giles will play an excellent support role/ |
| #3 09:17am 21/11/06 |
Give us a wave Hussey!!
| #4 09:17am 21/11/06 |
Where is part 1?Please leave immeditately without a fuss. And sif tung. |
| #5 09:21am 21/11/06 |
who else is going to day 1?
| #6 09:26am 21/11/06 |
it wouldnt be much fun if everyone predicted the aussies to roll over england would it?
i admit the chances of england winning the series are slim, but all they need is to draw it and they retain the ashes :p |
| #7 09:31am 21/11/06 |
go sri lanka?
| #8 09:32am 21/11/06 |
Someone please tell me if Ms Branz does a good job of commentating or not?
kthxbye |
| #9 09:57am 21/11/06 |
shes not comentating as far as i know
she is talking to players as they come off the ground and aussies to smash the poms off the park we wont be caught unawares this time poms are struggling before the first ball with injuries and teary fits they have less than zero chance |
| #10 10:18am 21/11/06 |
Oh, well she is used to a desk job with SBS so let me know how she goes anyway.
| #11 10:23am 21/11/06 |
The worst cricket commentator ever was Ray Martin during the 99 world cup.
| #12 10:53am 21/11/06 |
yes
john howard was pretty bad also for a cricket "tragic" he didnt know most of the australian players names hes obviosuly a total spastic who's never played cricket in his life stop pretending john, im not buying it |
| #13 10:58am 21/11/06 |
the aussies may be talking big but theres those cracks that may be exposed in the first test...
langer scared for his spot the clarke/watson issue mcgrath not standing up to the fitness required for a test match both teams have their issues but both teams are also looking like strong squads. everyone wrote harmison and simon jones off before the last ashes and they pulled through who knows, giles and panesar may suddenly step up and blitz through australia's middle order :o its australia's fuicking tail end that save them every time though :( |
| #14 11:03am 21/11/06 |
langer scared? he should be, jacques is totally on fire and has just cained the poms (and tassies on sunday)
no biggy, langer fails, jacques is in clarke/watson, watson wont play, clarke will mcgrath is right to go, he will bowl as well as he ever has, and certainly better than he did last ashes im looking forward to seeing what monty can do and whether he can stand up for himself and his country, should be interesting im excited about the new aussies that should get a chance this ashes plus seeing warney do his thing, although i hope he has his beard sorted he looked s***house in his interviews yesterday |
| #15 11:10am 21/11/06 |
warnie is going to be the key issue here, hes bowling really well at the moment and im scared now that his flipper is back in his repetoir :(
just hoping pietersen does what he should do to a good mate, hit him clean out of the gabba :p new blood in the english team is good too, it means theres less people that remembered how s*** they used to play strauss just needs to step up a bit and make sure the opening stand is more than 50 runs :o |
| #16 11:19am 21/11/06 |
lol @ Ray.
/Thinks back to fastforward/full frontal days. "It's crap ray." |
| #17 11:25am 21/11/06 |
Aussies to win 3-1.
| #18 11:29am 21/11/06 |
NaBeL|MuSe
Tung are you Pommie? Baeshed.
I really cant wait for this ashes series, I Predict Mitchell Johnson, To be the next Full Time Australian Fast Bowler, and i expect there to be much controversy about what bowlers are bowled where. I really Hope they give Michael Clarke a proper Run, He's the Future. Aus to win 3-0 with 1 draw. |
| #19 12:56pm 21/11/06 |
Aus to win 3-0 with 1 draw.Does the world end before the 5th test? edit: tung is sri lankan btw. It is Indias' version of new zealand. |
| #20 12:58pm 21/11/06 |
NaBeL|MuSe
LOL, i ment 2 draws, im dislexic
I dont think the Poms are good enough to Win unless they are majorly helped by rediculous umpiring decisions or something last edited by NaBeL|MuSe at 12:59:37 21/Nov/06 |
| #21 12:59pm 21/11/06 |
if i were punter, i wouldnt let johson play until he takes that horrible chin ring out
| #22 12:58pm 21/11/06 |
I dont think the Poms are good enough to Win unless they are majorly helped by rediculous umpiring decisions or somethingSort of like the last ashes series? |
| #23 01:00pm 21/11/06 |
NaBeL|MuSe
nahh i think it was more that we played horribly last series.
Were a much better side this time. |
| #24 01:04pm 21/11/06 |
Tung are you Pommie? Baeshed. Tung supports Sri Lanka and any team playing Australia. |
| #25 01:08pm 21/11/06 |
I agree I was just trying to bait somebody.
| #26 01:08pm 21/11/06 |
If I were Tung, I wouldn't say ANYTHING about a player's fitness.
Considering his namesake... |
| #27 01:10pm 21/11/06 |
touche yeah, cricket is the only sport i dont support australia in, but its fun to be where i am, because i get to rile people up :) GO THE MOTHER LAND |
| #28 02:07pm 21/11/06 |
hay, tonite on the abc at 9;20
The Madras Test of 96 everyone who loves cricket should watch it (ps watch the bill before it as well) |
| #29 02:43pm 21/11/06 |
NaBeL|MuSe
the bill rox, cricket rox more but.
| #30 04:07pm 21/11/06 |
Do you mean the tied test? Because that was 86 I think.
| #31 04:58pm 21/11/06 |
whoops, yer, its 86
| #32 05:00pm 21/11/06 |
speaking of cricket, lara looks like his going nuts against the poor paki's
83.6 Danish Kaneria to Lara, FOUR, Boundary to end the over! full toss, Lara steps out and puts it away over the mid-wicket fielder |
| #33 05:28pm 21/11/06 |
Lara is the man.
| #34 06:39pm 21/11/06 |
This was the one thing I was most dissapointed about missing when I left for England, as the first ball of the day won't be bowled until midnight London time each day. And you have to have Sky Sports to watch it, which costs extra on top of the standard pay tv packages.
Heardy - you will have to catch night buses if you want to watch it in a pub - good luck :) Aussies 3-1, Lee most wickets, Martyn most runs. Jacques to play at some point. |
| #35 08:32pm 21/11/06 |
That sucks Zak, I swear we got the first ball about 7pm or something when it was on last year didn't we?
| #36 09:53pm 21/11/06 |
Yeah Brisbane would have been 9 hours ahead of London (GMT+1 with daylight savings) at that stage, so that would have been a 10am start. With London being 10 hours behind Brisbane, 11 behind Sydney/Melbourne, a 10am Brisbane start means midnight here.
I am playing hockey with a team full of poms so I'll make sure to where my one day shirt around them as much as possible. I wore my Wallabies jersey to the pub the day the Poms got beaten by Argentina which went down a treat :) |
| #37 10:17pm 21/11/06 |
Hey I've got sky sports :)
But only in Ireland, I'll be in London for the entire first test and the people I am staying with don't have it... didn't plan that too well DID I !! I might just sign them up and pay for the month, you can go month to month (well in Ireland you can). Night buses are the suck, I might have to find a pub around Canary Wharf that is going to show the ashes! Anyways, if you want to catch up for a beer or two and watch the game PM me or shoot me an email heardy@gmail.com Zak - always up for a beer and cricket :) |
| #38 01:07am 22/11/06 |
Tait out.
| #39 12:40pm 22/11/06 |
haha lee most wickets, tell him he's dreaming
| #40 12:45pm 22/11/06 |
It's all about the warne.
| #41 12:48pm 22/11/06 |
That's a shame Tait is out, I reckon Clark is gonna get the 4th bowling spot...which is really dissapointing I reckon, the last thing we need is a bunny for the Poms to go after...which I reckon Clark will be
| #42 05:46pm 22/11/06 |
If Johnson bowled as fast in the middle as he does in the nets then he'd be able to get away with some of the loose stuff he bowls. But for top class international batsmen, some of what he bowls is genuine pump.
| #43 05:50pm 22/11/06 |
taits out eh?
better drop him from my fantasy squad hope everyone who loves cricket watched the tied test on abc last nite it was excellent and only reinforced how totally awesome dean jones was at cricket and how much of a hardman ab was |
| #44 06:10pm 22/11/06 |
omg only like 4 hours till it starts D:
| #45 07:27am 23/11/06 |
we were at teh morrison yesterday for lunch when they were setting up
i could think of nothing better than to be there now, having preashes beers!!! |
| #46 07:39am 23/11/06 |
looking forward to this one gents, it should be a cracka!
I have my ruckus crew sorted out for day 4, x10 bogans mit boonie stashes, wife beaters & fishin hats.. Wonder if we'll be dobbed for bein yobs, mmm excessive drunken behaviour. |
| #47 08:32am 23/11/06 |
10 points to the first person to dob themselves in for being yobs.
| #48 08:46am 23/11/06 |
at 6:20 this morning there was already a huge line outside the gabba waiting as i drove past
| #49 08:48am 23/11/06 |
Australia won toss and are batting.
edit: and omg panaser isn't playing. wtf??? |
| #50 10:37am 23/11/06 |
my tv tuner is working just in time. :]
| #51 10:39am 23/11/06 |
My digital TV is f***ed upstairs (or was I'll check it again) but luckily my analouge downstairs is doing fine :D
| #52 10:41am 23/11/06 |
this should be awesome!
Its midnight here... see how long I can stay awake, dont have to go to work tomorrow, but I do need to get on a plane at some point |
| #53 10:58am 23/11/06 |
hahah gg first ball
| #54 11:03am 23/11/06 |
harmison ripped outta the attack.
langer has already hit 5 4's :D |
| #55 11:22am 23/11/06 |
Should have kept him on.
| #56 11:38am 23/11/06 |
Langer is making me scared :(
| #57 11:44am 23/11/06 |
I don't think the poms really thought this out very well. Bowling to a plan rather than whatever happens to come out of the hand that ball might work slightly better.
| #58 12:12pm 23/11/06 |
Langer gets his 50
| #59 12:29pm 23/11/06 |
Hayden gone :(
| #60 12:30pm 23/11/06 |
Go punter!
| #61 12:32pm 23/11/06 |
Brilliant ball by Freddie.
| #62 12:34pm 23/11/06 |
he can't bowl all the time, can he?
| #63 12:38pm 23/11/06 |
carrn england, knock punter and langer over NOW
| #64 12:50pm 23/11/06 |
carrn england, knock punter and langer over NOW How about Harmison just bowls even shorter. It's not like Punter can play the pull shot very well or anything. |
| #65 12:52pm 23/11/06 |
Australia well on top at lunch :)
| #66 01:02pm 23/11/06 |
1/109 at lunch - nice work
| #67 01:03pm 23/11/06 |
tung you're gay
| #68 01:04pm 23/11/06 |
Australia played ok but didn't need to do any better than that because England played like s***. Flintoff was the only bowler that bowled well, you'd hope he'd give the other quicks a spray because it didn't look like their heads were in it. Especially bad when it's the first session of the series and will set the tone for five of the most hyped tests I can remember.
| #69 01:07pm 23/11/06 |
That was a tough half an hour with no cricket :(
Luckily I had gow to keep me occupied. |
| #70 01:40pm 23/11/06 |
Interesting commentary on baggygreen....
12.25pm During the interval the punters at Brisbane have been treated to kids playing Kwik Cricket to the backdrop of "horrible Australian rock" according to Andrew Miller (a man who lists The Darkness among his favourite bands) while we have been enjoying a delicious shepherds pie and purple carrots cooked by Jenny. It's almost time to resume battle with Australia in the driving seat after the first session of the series. |
| #71 01:48pm 23/11/06 |
Langers out for 82 runs
| #72 01:59pm 23/11/06 |
First in with ponting 100.
| #73 04:51pm 23/11/06 |
Australia = better than the poms.
| #74 06:31pm 23/11/06 |
13 runs til 150 for punter!
| #75 06:33pm 23/11/06 |
f*** yeah 3/346 at stumps is f***ing great, obviously o/346 woulda been the best result, but this leaves us in a great position!!
| #76 08:26pm 23/11/06 |
Awesome day, even though I won't be there until saturday, I got paid to sit in front of the TV at work and then my boss gave us some free beers even though he doesn't watch/like cricket.... and we pumped the poms.... top work Australia.
| #77 08:50pm 23/11/06 |
w00t! Roll call for Ashes on Friday?! I'll be there!
| #78 10:35pm 23/11/06 |
just got home, need sleep and after sun lotion.
Aussies 4-0 its bound to rain at some stage. the Poms are kidding, they have Bell at 3 and Collingwood at 4 - two complete hacks filling the key batting positions. Sick of hearing about Freddy, he has had one good series ffs. Bowling average in the 30's, batting average in the low 30's. this is not a world class all rounder, just a bloke that looks good in a s*** side. |
| #79 12:46am 24/11/06 |
woot let's go.
| #80 11:08am 24/11/06 |
spidz is on a winner, http://content-uk.cricinfo.com/ausveng/content/player/12856.html
I still like freddie, love his attitude, I am reading his book at the moment and he hates the way technology has got in the way of coaching and playing, he likes the 'what feels natural I will do' not over analyse s*** etc but yeah game on punter for a double ton |
| #81 11:15am 24/11/06 |
Ponting 150.
| #82 11:44am 24/11/06 |
f***it, the radio just said 150 - I must be getting it on delay :/
good work punter :D |
| #83 11:45am 24/11/06 |
| #84 12:26pm 24/11/06 |
farken... wanted huss to get a century
| #85 12:28pm 24/11/06 |
Shame Mr Cricket didn't get his century, but hopefully the poms might get into us a bit today...i'm real keen to see us having a crack at them with Lee and McGrath for at least a session this arvo, but judging on how well the pitch is playing and how long punter stays at the crease...I daresay we won't be seeing england bat till tomorrow :(
| #86 12:43pm 24/11/06 |
23 runs til punters 2 hunge |
| #87 01:42pm 24/11/06 |
Female sports presenters. |
| #88 02:05pm 24/11/06 |
Ponting. |
| #89 02:10pm 24/11/06 |
196 ARGHHHHH!!! :(
| #90 02:24pm 24/11/06 |
f***ing bulls*** he was miles forward! s*** call you f***in nigga |
| #91 02:25pm 24/11/06 |
Nah it was out.
Second time the english c***s have robbed our boys of 200. And there goes gilly. |
| #92 02:27pm 24/11/06 |
Oh well, Lee-Warne and Clarke just need to amass another 50 odd between them and we'll pretty much be in an unloseable position I reckon...especially if we can pick up a few cheap wickets this arvo
| #93 02:32pm 24/11/06 |
i reckon the english batting will crumble.
| #94 02:34pm 24/11/06 |
michael slater is the most irritating commentator evar. |
| #95 02:54pm 24/11/06 |
Might get to see Warnie carve 'em up a bit tonight.
| #96 03:01pm 24/11/06 |
michael slater is the most irritating commentator evar.No f***ing way, Taylor fo sho I was at Day 1 yesterday, it was pretty cool. Beautiful day for cricket. f*** it was gay that they didn't let me take in my backpack. I refused to pay $5 for it so we scammed the system thanks to some useless organisation on their behalf. Also $5.50 for a beer sucks s***. |
| #97 03:07pm 24/11/06 |
why can't you take a backpack in? whats the deal with paying to get it in? |
| #98 03:37pm 24/11/06 |
has anyone else lost sound? maybe its just WIN television but i havent had any sound for about 10 minutes :( |
| #99 03:37pm 24/11/06 |
its paying to put it in a cloakroom ara
security hazards and what not trumpeters kicked out and mexican wave starters too :( also lol WIN tv mav, also pm 2u2 kklah |
| #100 03:38pm 24/11/06 |
Welcome to Queensland, where you are not allowed any fun because it is against the law.
| #101 03:43pm 24/11/06 |
ahh well back to the golf i guess. |
| #102 03:44pm 24/11/06 |
what is the problem with backpacks? what are you suppose to take your food, drink, sunscreen etc in? |
| #103 04:21pm 24/11/06 |
nothing, trog just had two 2litres coke bottles of moonshine |
| #104 04:28pm 24/11/06 |
Hurry up and bowl McGrath out I want to see Warnie :/
| #105 04:46pm 24/11/06 |
i reckon they'll declare once/if lee gets his fiddy.
sound is working on HD digital or some s***. still not on normal win though :S oh no.. just declared.. poor lee :( i'd be cut |
| #106 05:01pm 24/11/06 |
velvety style oldschool helmets are so much better then the noob plastic ones
| #107 05:18pm 24/11/06 |
Anyone else getting pissed off by that RetraVision add with the s***ty version of 500 miles on it?
| #108 05:20pm 24/11/06 |
zomg
the aussies are awesome i just asked a lift full of pommys in the eleveator at our hotel in melbourne if they were enjoying the cricket lolz |
| #109 05:31pm 24/11/06 |
ON A HAT-TRICK ZOMG
| #110 05:39pm 24/11/06 |
McGrath sucks
| #111 05:42pm 24/11/06 |
I hope for the sake of things that either Pieterson or Flintoff can score a hundred, otherwise this test is gonna be over tomorrow
| #112 07:16pm 24/11/06 |
australia is going to take 17 wickets in one day?
| #113 07:58pm 24/11/06 |
I was at Day 1 yesterday, it was pretty cool. Beautiful day for cricket.they advertised pretty heavily that you can't bring backpacks, so really if you took one you are just a silly trog. Plastic bag is the go. another good day at the game, though I am getting sick of the wanker cops who ignore the actual blokes causing trouble and booting the people out who are just having a laugh. |
| #114 08:33pm 24/11/06 |
australia is going to take 17 wickets in one day? considering they took 3 wickets within half an hour i fail to see how you think this is unlikely? i mean it probably won't happen but i certaintly wouldn't rule it out and have seen many teams crumble before Australia before. |
| #115 09:12pm 24/11/06 |
f***ing awesome!!
I went to bed at lunch - 2am here, was wrecked. Farken wanted punter to get the double ton, looks like Stu Clark cut sik with the bat, 39 off 24 balls hahha binga lee still scoring runs... gilly failed again.. tho it wasn't needed, so yeh.. Good old McGarth taking wickets against he old enemy :) I noticed Binga only got 4 overs, was that because it was bad light and they didn't want the umps to call it a day OR was it because clark and mcgrath were bowling so well? anyway I slept in till 11am here, so i'll be ready for a long night in front of the cricket tonight :D |
| #116 10:28pm 24/11/06 |
I believe the idea is to bowl him in shorter spells now - 4-5 overs at a time, rather than the 7-10 most opening bowlers do these days. The belief is he is more effective when he is bowling quick, so they are trying to give him more rest periods.
Also he collided with Hussey when they got the first wicket and ended up going off for some treatment to a cut on his leg (from Hussey's spikes) so it may have been related to that as well. Speaking of which, Hussey is making a habit of taking hot catches at the Gabba. I can think of at least 2 others - 20/20 game against South Africa last year when he ran in from the boundary and took a diving catch, and the day nighter against South Africa last year where he was running with his back to the ball and managed to hang on to a one hander. Heardy - whereabouts did you watch it? |
| #117 12:00am 25/11/06 |
he bowled 4 overs because he went off to get stitches for the collision and Clarke replaced him and looked menacing so they left him on. This proved a good decision when he then removed Collingwood.
I hope to see Lee bounce KP heavily in the morning, those pansy hook shots they played in 05 won't be clearing the ropes at the Gabba. |
| #118 12:25am 25/11/06 |
Zak I just ended up listening to the BBC commentary via the net. I wasnt going to be bothered going to some pub for only 2 or 3 hours viewing...
Depending on what my mates want to do tonight, if we are out drinking or at a pub, I might try to get to one of the walkabouts or that sports cafe, but we'll see. Yeah just finished reading foxsports, cricinfo and bbc news and assumed lee didnt bowl again because of the clash. I must say both cricinfo and bbc articles are more indepth and written better (imo) even though a few of the bbc acticles are very English centric, they are still informative. Zak if you get a chance the bbc has straming vid for uk broadband customers only, generally a pretty decent wrap up of each day and some good interviews. Love how McGrath said we're going well for old fellas, they should be worried getting beaten by a buch of old blokes haha go son |
| #119 12:31am 25/11/06 |
though I am getting sick of the wanker cops. fixed |
| #120 01:01am 25/11/06 |
i like this clark fella, his tail end batting was entertaining
| #121 01:28am 25/11/06 |
Heardy how did you listen to it on the net? Do you need to be with a particular broadband company? I tried to listen to BBC Five Live but it wouldn't work on the first night...
| #122 01:55am 25/11/06 |
I am note 100% sure who my mates are with, they aint tech savvy, so no doubt it's BT and they are more hten likely paying an arseload for a small connection, I downloaded one of my tv shows today and it was only coming down at ~110k so they probably have 1mb/128k or similar....
99% sure it's BT But yeah no drama's straming the commentary from BBC website though, that and the video stuff comes through fine and dandy. |
| #123 03:35am 25/11/06 |
Well you have obviously figured it out then, but if you want Aussie commentary my mate reckons he was using this url in Media Player/Winamp - 89.207.233.32:800
He wasn't sure if it was Channel 9 or ABC radio but apparently it works. Said it is a little bit delayed, but it would be good to have some biased Aussie commentary. But yeah from the looks of it you were here - bbc.co.uk/cricket. Seems painfully obvious now, but I searched right through the BBC radio guide and couldn't get to it. Would be nice to have some footage, but I guess this will do. |
| #124 05:27am 25/11/06 |
Ahhh, I finally get to go today. Hope we absolutely give it to the poms.
| #125 08:32am 25/11/06 |
it's nearly go time, can't wait to see us rip through them :D
I think the biggest decision today will be the question around enforcing the follow one, we've got an oldish bowling line up, well the two key players are fkn old - lets be honest. and all the 5 tests are pretty much back to back, so punter might send the batters back in for a few hours??? lets see game awwwwn |
| #126 10:51am 25/11/06 |
he rarely enforces follow on
| #127 10:53am 25/11/06 |
Woooooo, Pieterson gone!
| #128 11:47am 25/11/06 |
booyah
| #129 11:48am 25/11/06 |
If we get them out for under 300 he will enforce it. No point in soaking up time - England will just play for a draw otherwise.
Listening to the ABC feed - it's weird, we are a couple of balls behind what is actually happening. I had someone tell me about a wicket on msn before it actually happened on the commentary. |
| #130 11:51am 25/11/06 |
GONE
Flintoff DUCK |
| #131 11:52am 25/11/06 |
Zak, how you get ABC comm to work, I went to their site and it's blocked by CA as they only want people within Aus to be able to listen or some s***...
These fkn pom commentators are getting on my nerves! |
| #132 11:55am 25/11/06 |
Heardy, msn if you have it - soundpimp@hotmail.com
It is so frustrating not being able to watch the game by the way. I hope you guys are enjoying it! |
| #133 12:01pm 25/11/06 |
If we get them out for under 300ahahaha, we might get them out for under 100 the way they're going atm |
| #134 12:02pm 25/11/06 |
whytf would you try to run 2 when you are completely owning the poms? stupid hayden
| #135 04:57pm 25/11/06 |
why did we not enforce follow on?
| #136 05:39pm 25/11/06 |
whytf would you try to run 2 when you are completely owning the poms? the only 10 minutes i've watched and that is what i saw that was right after the baller dude hurt himself trying to stop a cricket ball with his wrist i also watched some golf today and a guy hit the ball over the fence lol @ noobs on tv |
| #137 05:53pm 25/11/06 |
Merlyn
Thank you Zak, that IP address works a charm.
Since the CA site is so f***ed up, i will take an audio only broadcats where i can get it, thanx. |
| #138 06:10pm 25/11/06 |
hehe we are fkn pwning them!!
we will declare when langer gets his ton, and depending how fast punter scores tomorrow, might wait for him to get his ton? also pidgon with a 6 fa - the old fella is going well Warnie didn't get a wicket either, so the poms will be s***ting themselves :p |
| #139 06:57pm 25/11/06 |
why did we not enforce follow on? To not push the bowlers too much. McGrath had already bowled 23 overs in less than a days play so it's better to give him a break and get Binger ready for some fire tomorrow. |
| #140 07:01pm 25/11/06 |
Merlyn
This has to be one of best lines i have read
"If there are any leaders of rogue states reading this who are currently holding English nationals, I suggest you stick them in a very small room and make them watch day three of the first Ashes Test for the next seven hours. It's sure to be painful" How truthful. |
| #141 07:24pm 25/11/06 |
It's embarassing when the world's best bowler doesn't even need to take a wicket for your side to be knocked over for 150...
| #142 08:23pm 25/11/06 |
XandraX
I was at the Gabba today...quite boring watching the english noobs block every ball. It was more entertaining watching the beach balls floating around. The whole crowd seemed to think so too, because there was more shouting involved in the outcome of beach balls than the actual game.
A big yellow ball trickled down onto the field and a cop started walking toward it to deflate it. Brett Lee was in the outfield and quickly walked to the ball before the cop got there and threw it back into the crowd, to a massive cheer from the entire stadium. Then later a massive boo as a cop finally got it. The players must have been wondering WTF the crowd was on :) |
| #143 09:54pm 25/11/06 |
I watched a 10min highlight package just now
It can't be just the wicket causing the poms to f*** up - the aussies managed to score f***en rapidly when they went in for their second innings... My vote is they will wait for langer and punter to get a ton, before lunch and throw the poms back in for 5-10 overs before lunch, so that means they have to come out hitting tomorrow, should be an awesome days play. |
| #144 11:29pm 25/11/06 |
maybe customs took their mints so they can't load up the ball to get early reverse swing... |
| #145 06:57am 26/11/06 |
I was at the Gabba today...quite boring watching the english noobs block every ball. It was more entertaining watching the beach balls floating around. The whole crowd seemed to think so too, because there was more shouting involved in the outcome of beach balls than the actual game. Have you ever been to a Gabba test before? That's pretty much standard and has happened every time I've been there regardless of how entertaining the cricket is (and I'm fairly sure the players know exactly what is happening there). |
| #146 10:49am 26/11/06 |
nearly go time :D
Just got back from watching Casino Royale and I am ready to watch the aussies whip the poms :) |
| #147 10:53am 26/11/06 |
Merlyn
Hey Zak, is that IP adress going to be workign for today's play?
| #148 11:02am 26/11/06 |
Haha I was just logging on to ask you the same question.
I've tried opening it in Real Player and Windows Media but no luck so far. Just got the BBC stream going for the moment. http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/cricket/default.stm |
| #149 11:06am 26/11/06 |
Merlyn
I can't even get that as it is only for UK residents.
| #150 11:08am 26/11/06 |
yeah I have BBC going as well
punter sounds like he is injured? |
| #151 11:11am 26/11/06 |
Not a bad 100 by Langer, should keep his spot for a least the next 2 tests I reckon.
Now time for McGrath to have another crack (at the cracks) :) |
| #152 11:28am 26/11/06 |
i am more worried about punter to be honest...
I hope mcgarth gets at least 4 so he gets a 10 wicket match can't wait to hear wicket after wicket fall :D |
| #153 11:31am 26/11/06 |
weeee first one goooone
thing is, both punter and mcgrath are off?? |
| #154 12:28pm 26/11/06 |
WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARNNNIIIIIIIIIIIIEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE
:) |
| #155 12:39pm 26/11/06 |
What a brain explosion by Collingwood.... he was obviously nervous in the 90s but wow.
| #156 05:18pm 26/11/06 |
Parsifal
Re the cops being total Nazis with respect to the crowd. I read in yesterday's paper (while I was at the Gabba!) that the Barmy Army trumpet player was ejected on Day1 some time after lunch. Apparently they *let* him take the instrument in (er so you can't take a backpack but you can take a trumpet??) but told him not to play it. Hullo? What else would you take in a trumpet for you sk security muppets?
On Saturday at lunch I went to stretch my legs outside Gate2 and there he was playing the tune from The Great Escape on his trumpet with a camera crew filming him. I thought he was pretty good, and then I read in the same newspaper that he is in fact a member of the London Philharmonic Orchestra. Sure if he sounded like some 10 year old kid playing a recorder kick him out + bash him in the car park, otherwise let_the_man_play. The crowd was so restless today that some people opposite me in Section 12/13 took it upon themeslves to throw around a life size blow-up sex doll. Was totally LOL until the cops came down the bay 12+13 stairs in a flanking manouvre and then moved towards each other to claim the doll. Seriously, what is their beef? I know their orders come down from higher on up, but have some leeway ffs. I worked in the members bar during the corresponding series 4 years ago and it was a party atmosphere. Poms got beat within 3 days but you wouldn't have known cos the Barmy Army was going off...had a mega congo line going thru the mens toilets and out the other side. Must have been about 50 metres long. This match has been a total downer so I didn't bother buying tickets for today+tomorrow. |
| #157 06:59pm 26/11/06 |
i think a sex doll being thrown around is fair enough that the cops take it down as kids/families go to the game etc..
but the balls and all that i dont see the problem. |
| #158 07:13pm 26/11/06 |
Matt
pic from today
Got a video of the sex doll being thrown around too ehehe Very disappointed that the barmy army were separated, they really bring life to the ashes |
| #159 08:36pm 26/11/06 |
RE: Beach balls
It might be an old wives tale, but from what I understand the beach balls used to be tolerated until a lady copped one in the face at force, probaby gaining some injury from falling over. After this, CA banned them at grounds. Not sure if that is correct or not, and a google search might give you the right one. But that is what I have been told. |
| #160 08:38pm 26/11/06 |
just drove past the gabba and I had my windscreen wipers on.... |
| #161 11:10pm 26/11/06 |
Matt
The seccies saw our beachball and let us through with it...
They only get pissy when the balls land on the ground. |
| #162 11:58pm 26/11/06 |
hehe I was giving some poms s*** today in and around London, LOVE IT :D
Can't wait for us to clean them up. P.S. I rekon we'll look like tools if we lose the series, warnie clapping freddie off - a little harsh, mc grath grabbing his back etc but I have every confidence in them. New ball, mcgrath to take 5 (or at least 4) to give him a 10 wicket match! |
| #163 06:14am 27/11/06 |
ponting is going to be in so much strife if it rains today :D
CARRRN ENGLAND BAT IT OUT |
| #164 07:35am 27/11/06 |
punter had a back spasm yesterday.
but back to england having a chance. even if australia win, its going to be a mental victory for england, as australia would be getting a bit hot under the collar watching these clouds slowly move over... if england force the draw due to rain delayed play, fingers are going to be pointing at punter like they did for when he chose to bowl first in edgbaston noone believed me when i said punters captaincy skills are going to let australia down here! WOOOO |
| #165 07:37am 27/11/06 |
it would have made no difference, the decision to not enforce the follow on was the correct one, unlike bowlig first at Edgbaston.
| #166 08:14am 27/11/06 |
Australia only batted for 3 hours, without the rest it would easily take our bowlers that much longer to bowl out England so we didn't lose any time and as spidz said it made no difference. If it ends up a draw chances are it would have been anyway if we'd made them follow on.
| #167 08:44am 27/11/06 |
Yeh but asif our bowlers were tired. Maybe Glen, but our other 3 had plently left in them before a nights rest. If there ever is a time to force a follow on its after a short 60 over innings unlike englands 150+ over stint the days before.
| #168 11:02am 27/11/06 |
f***en gawwwnnnn
well done binga |
| #169 11:03am 27/11/06 |
what did langer do yesterday with his catch that made people cranky pants? i missed it?
healy this morning was like dont do that at home kids, and if he had've dropped it ponting would've gone out there himself blah blah blah |
| #170 11:06am 27/11/06 |
giles gawn now
in the bag |
| #171 12:00pm 27/11/06 |
what did langer do yesterday with his catch that made people cranky pants? i missed it?He took a high catch to dismiss Flintoff, and just before he caught the ball he clenched both his hands into fists, caught it, then ran in and celebrated. |
| #172 12:15pm 27/11/06 |
clark another wicket
| #173 12:24pm 27/11/06 |
woohoo its over, we win
Clark gets a 4 for I get to go to bed early :p 1:30am here :/ |
| #174 12:35pm 27/11/06 |
tung called this one well |
| #175 12:54pm 27/11/06 |
England lost this test in day one, no doubt about it. I do wish that Ricky had made them follow on, the mental blow would have been huge. That was the only let down for from this side. I so wish the security was a bit more relaxed, does Queensland really want to be known as the most boring place in the world?
| #176 01:19pm 27/11/06 |
Yeh but asif our bowlers were tired. Maybe Glen, but our other 3 had plently left in them before a nights rest. If there ever is a time to force a follow on its after a short 60 over innings unlike englands 150+ over stint the days before. McGrath would have been tired for sure but even with the rest Binger bowled a lot below 140 in the second innings and it clearly wasn't for lack of trying. It's looking longer term as well. With the next test starting in a few days running the three quicks into the ground with 50 overs each across consecutive innings would have been dangerous. Not for the opening spells (you're right in that they wouldn't have been that tired at the start of the second innings) but 80-90 overs into the second innings they would have been shot and we would have stuggled to use the second new ball effectively and then get back up in time for Adelaide. |
| #177 01:19pm 27/11/06 |
aah well, theres always adelaide!
| #178 05:37pm 27/11/06 |
Lee out for MaGill thanks.
Watson back in to replace Clarke, not due to form but basically because he was selected there and only went out due to injury. |
| #179 11:56pm 27/11/06 |
Lee out for MaGill thanks haha no way i think they will take michael clarke out and run with 3 quicks and 2 spinners you clazy |
| #180 12:02am 28/11/06 |
Has MacGill ever hit one out of the Gabba?
| #181 12:21am 28/11/06 |
NaBeL|MuSe
watson is ruled out he still has a sore leg.
I really hope Macgill gets a go, he really is a f***in good bowler and is so unluckey to be around when Warne is. |
| #182 01:11am 28/11/06 |
I would never bag Macgills awesome skills however I would rather watch Brett Lee run shoab stylez at the pitch than Macgills sombre stylez.
plus he hits a few biggies and smiles every now and then. |
| #183 01:28am 28/11/06 |
| #183 |