Topic: Gears of War(X360)
Tim Tibbetts
I picked up Gears of War a few minutes ago at EB in the City. If anyone wants to give co-op a bash later tonight then add me.

Damn work! I want to play now :P
this game looks super cool

co-op can never go wrong
yeah this game pwns, add me to your friends list if you need some help with co-op
people are raving about this game all over the net - whats it all about why so good?
Nailbomb
first game to be running on the Unreal 3 engine i believe. don't know much more than that myself but it does look very nice and i wish i had the money for a 360 right now :)
haha, my mate bricked his 360 attempting to mod it

hes so spewing

they did two of them, one worked fine, the other not so fine
Nailbomb
you can just take it to a swap meet and get them to mod it, i'd rather pay someone $60 to mod it and if it gets fuxed, they have to fix it cause they normally give you some kind of mod warrenty.

last edited by Nailbomb at 15:22:38 20/Nov/06
Tim Tibbetts
people are raving about this game all over the net - whats it all about why so good?

Well let me play it first and then I'll tell you :)
I think I would prefer to play it solo the first time through - I then see the co-op as something to keep me playing.
yeah casual is pretty easy, you will find it stupidly hard to solo on insane and some of hardcore
Tim Tibbetts
How did you get it so early?
review copy
Sweet, lucky wife just gave me a $50 Myer voucher she scored as a freebie, so off I go tomorrow to buy Gears of War! whoo hoo.

http://www.users.on.net/~dwegner/Pics/Gametag.jpg
I picked up Gears of War a few minutes ago at EB in the City. If anyone wants to give co-op a bash later tonight then add me.

Which one ? The woman went to the one at Queens Plaza and they claimed they didn't have any copies yet :(
Insolence
Wife picked me up a copy this afternoon from EB at Mt Ommaney. They matched prices with Myer to ($89) even though they wern't selling it yet.
GRRR! I nearly left work early to stop by Mt Omney on the way home but decided they probably wouldn't have it either ... ARGGH! I could be playing it now :(
Gears of War is one of the reasons I want to get an Xbox, such a sweet game :)
Tim Tibbetts
Well I just finished playing about 2 hours or so with a mate of mine. We were doing co-op (obviously) it's awesome! It actually feels great playing with someone else, and you actually do work in a team!

AWESOME GAME!
completed it last week, excellent game.

They matched prices with Myer to ($89) even though they wern't selling it yet.

did you have an actual myer catalogue? or just tell them it was $89 there? I can see it online but we don't get myer catalogues where I live.
KungFuCamel
picked ours up tonight at jb in kedron (limited edition)
I just downloaded the video review of it off IGN, and it looks like so much fun, so tempted to buy a 360 now >:(
Insolence
stinky: no catalogue, just mentioned the price and they agreed to match it.
I thought it was out on the 23rd :/
Free Xbox Live gold weekend

SYDNEY 21 November 2006 - Hailed as the most-anticipated video game launch of 2006 and punctuated by incredible demand from gamers, “Gears of War” will emerge on Australian retail shelves this week.

From Thursday, gamers can run for cover and crush the enemy on their own, or take the season’s hottest action title online via Xbox Live®, the world’s largest online gaming and entertainment network, which boasts four million members.

To celebrate the launch of “Gears of War”, Microsoft is shouting a complimentary weekend of Xbox Live Gold access. From 3pm EST, Friday 24 November until 10pm EST, Sunday 26 November, every Australian Xbox 360™ owner with a broadband connection will be able to experience the intense multiplayer action that is “Gears of War” online.
Damn so that was this weekend that just passed??? i probably would have bought a 360 and GoW just for that weekend lmao =(
From 3pm EST, Friday 24 November until 10pm EST, Sunday 26 November
l2read
omg how much are 360's these days? can i still trade in a ps2 or xbox at eb? wooo im gonna buy one :D
went to Myer today to use my voucher, grrr game not on shelf yet. Went to EB and saw that they are selling it for $39.95 with two xbox (360) game trade ins. Im going back tomorrow to do this deal. Don't tell the kids that some of their games will be umm ..err ..*missing*

Opps yeh what Stinkiy says xbox360 games as trade.

last edited by Psycho! at 19:42:20 21/Nov/06

last edited by Psycho! at 19:42:31 21/Nov/06
that's two xbox 360 games trade-in!
Got my copy from EB at Toowong this arvo. Will get to give a bash later tonight.
Woot :)
game is great fun multiplayer dm, if anyone one wants to give it add me to there friends list groydis or hotmail #greydenjest@hotmail.com and ill set up a server.

or even for some co-op fun.
Yeh mum just delivered my preorder then it rocks.
I might pick this up tonight or tomorrow, big W and target both have it for $79.95 in their latest catalogue

Anyone seen Rainbow 6 Vegas? it looks f***ing sweet from the video review I saw, it's also apparently got some kickarse co-op
oh and also apparently we'll be getting free xbox live gold memberships for the weekend in australia to celebrate gears of war's release

http://www.xbox360fanboy.com/2006/11/21/aussies-to-get-free-live-this-weekend/
the rainbow six demo has been out for a while now, its very swish and hardon worthy. hopefully the game will have a nice flow to it and wont let me down like double agent did.
yes well I am playing my way thru this and man does it look sweet on a HDTV, and well I guess it will have to be said but its like I am playing inside a really cool action/alien movie. My 10 yr old came home from school and watched for a while, jaw on floor. After a bit he says, "Thats just like watching a movie dad, especially when your crouched and running in combat" heh

I suck with the controller, oh just to have a mouse and KB. :( But it's still a s***load of fun to play.

Me and the boy will be doing some co-op after dinner. whoo hoo..
the rainbow six demo has been out for a while now, its very swish and hardon worthy. hopefully the game will have a nice flow to it and wont let me down like double agent did.
agreed
oh and also apparently we'll be getting free xbox live gold memberships for the weekend in australia to celebrate gears of war's release
uridthredgud
what

edit: you read thread good, got it :P
I think my xbox is f***ed :( it keeps coming up with unreadable disk when playing GOW. Tried another game and is doing the same thing. I'll get 10-15mins of playtime then *bam* unreadable disk.
my xbox would play a game for 10-15 mins then freeze, i sent it back to microsoft and they fixed it apparently, 2 weeks later i started getting the red rings of death, i sent it back to microsoft and they took nearly a month to get it back to me, by the time i got it back i was so over there s*** and lack of status report when id call them on the phone that i decided to flash the firmware and never give them a cent again.

i just hope it doesnt break again.
PHATm
I will never understand why people buy games at EB. They are a f***ing rip and the service is no better than anywhere else.

My friend bought it at lunch time from Garden City EB for 110 (collectors) and the standard was 99.

After work, I headed to JB Indro and picked up the collectors for 84, and the standard there is 79.

JB > *
I will never understand why people buy games at EB.
I don't get who does those crazy trade in deals.

PS3 $1000

Trade in your PS2 and 20 games: PS3 $800

Or something equally ridiculous.
so i went and bought a xbox360 with dead rising, gears of war and need for speed carbon =D looking forward to gunning some of you frackers down this weekend on xbox live :D woot woot
what's the collectors got over the standard?
gears is well worth the hype sp wise, but the mp lacks alot. I've played it a fair bit over the weekend, and the game is all about jumping around like a twat and grenade tagging people, it's the easiest thing to do and is full on gay. Top that off with not chosing who you can play against in ranked matches (ie friends or even australians so you get a decent ping) leaves me not wanting to play mp at all until s*** is fixed/sorted
I dn't have gold so MP doesn't really bother me, I'm more concerned with the co-op, have you managed to try it yet?
think I have played co-op
well worth the hype indeed im playing through single player at the moment it kicks alot of ass - better than halo imho. controlls were a little hard to get use to, the way your reload is pretty cool all tho sometimes im just blasting run out of ammo f*** up the reload and die.. get annoying

experienced my first crash as well after playing for about 2 hours - was fighting the berzerker and the game just stopped and said "trouble reading disk" or something and told me to restart the console =/

any ways back to it =D
i jumped online last night and did a quick connect and landed in a game full of aussies, played with them till midnight and was awesome fun, i dont know about people running around and spamming grenades, my biggest problem is not knowing the maps enough to find the decent weapons in time, but last night solved that problem on most of the maps.

probably the best multiplayer fun ive had on xbox live since i got my console back in march. in saying that i dont know to many people that have an xbox360 let alone are willing to pay for a gold subscription to play online.
Hmmm that's the same error I get!! maybe it does have something to do with the game? :(
PHATm
theres a poll on GAF about these 'dirty disc' errors. seems more common than it should be...

http://www.neogaf.com/forum/showthread.php?t=129325
Yes I too got the 'dirty disc' error late last night when starting up. juts restarted again and all was fine. I would have been pissed if it did it in the middle of a chapter and I lost all my progress. My son and I did some co-op last night and how much fun is that, co-op rocks!

Is this game using the an unreal 3 based engine?
unreal 3 yes.

The berserker scares me :(
picked this up at lunch today, can't wait to get home and try it
I remember seeing ads for this and thinking "another 3rd person shooter, where you use cover, set in a post apocolyptic gritty cyberpunk setting? We are supposed to be excited why?"

Now I know :)
i got rainbow 6 today, its pretty cool and shows a different side of the unreal 3 engine, so far its been a fun ride but the storyline just took a turn for the worse in the first act so im not expecting to much for the rest of the game. in saying that very fun and looks f***ing awesome, and runs very smooth, cant wait to give this a try online.
well i just finished the game on easy - only took me one day which is a bit of a drag.. still was kick ass fun especially co-op.

now onto oblivion
ham water
i dont know what to get first r6:vegas or gears??? help!!//1
depends what type of game play you like more, if you just want to blast the s*** out of things and spooge your pants at sexy gfxs get gears of war, if you just want somethign with a little more tactics and is also just as sexy get r6:vegas.

Pretty much.

Gears is fairly tactical too, but nowhere near on the scope as R6:V. At this point I would say Gears, because it's honestly one of the best games I have played in years. Solid gameplay, online drop-in co-op, awesome online MP, excellent story, great characters, great graphics. It's just a brilliant game, there's nothing more to it.

I only have played the demo of R6:V, which was excellent as well, but just didn't feel quite as solid as Gears.

I suggest buy Gears now, and then make R6:V your next purchase. You won't regret either, I promise.
PHATm
just had a 2.5 hours sesh. up to crossing the river in the 2nd act. lots of fun :)

I think Viva Pinata is out today too?

sooo many good games, then wii in two weeks :)
Yeah so many good games out, so little money

wanna pick up rainbow 6, viva pinata and even the old GRAW

speaking of GRAW, anyone here got both GRAW and R6V and wanna give their comments on how they compare? which is better?
After playing the demo of R6:V, I would say that R6:V is the better one (I also own GRAW).

GRAW is still a *great* game in it's own right though, just that R6:V is better
PHATm
basically, GRAW is aweosme, but as Pharcyde says, Ubisoft took what works well in GRAW and Splinter Cell and streamlined it in R6V.

It is very awesome and many sites say that it is the best multiplayer experience you can have on 360. There is a multiplayer demo out now for Gold subscribers.

I checked viva pinata, that isn't out till next week.

But with Yoshis Island DS, R6V, GoW and then Zelda coming, I've got my hands full and my wallet crying.
hehe how much fun is that chainsaw on the gun? if this is a taste of the spooge that is the Unreal 3 engine we are in for some amazing, immersive games to come for both PC and concole.

My son and I did a co-op during the river crossing and then thru that dark bat filled area, firing up the propane cannisters and moving together through the environment. We were totally into it, covering each other drawing their fire while one of us flanked them, talking to each other ect..ect... we are having a hoot of a time. At one stage there he simply covered my immediate area defending me from all those leapy crawly things attacking us, which gave me tthe time I needed to take out some long range baddies with the sniper rifle, then he went round to their left and cleanup the wounded. It was great concentrating on sniping and all the time hearing him owning with the gun and chainsaw in the background, blood flyin everywhere..he's a Psycho like his dad! great game.

coolest dad everrrr!
we should all go to psycho's house for an GOW xbox lan! byo TV and headphones!
viva pinata is one of the most addicitive games ive ever played, and so it should be considering that its microsots pokemon, they have commisioned a tv show for this thing and everything. bassically your a cursor that owns a patch of land, pinata live around you but you want them to live on your land, why? so you can mate them, why? so you can sell there offspring for chocolate coins, why? there is no point to this game. You grow plants make ponds decorate pinata, do what ever you can to get pinata to your place, the game holds alot of secrets and is an overal joy to play its just a giant time waster in the end.

r6:vegas is what someone else said, the best of graw the best of double agent. it gets a little comando every now and again and it can be extremely difficult at times, but overall its a fun game and looks sexy as on the unreal 3 engine. as for online, well ive only had the chances to play with americans, and the lag was s*** and more or less ruined it for me, also the graphics seemed to go down a notch when playing online, like the have reduced all the pretty textures or something.

this month has been the best month for all year for xbox360, im so excited.
did I miss the instructions during the tutorial about how to use the chainsaw? or do you get it later? cause I can't figure out how to use it
yeah i dont think its explained, bassically you rev it by pressing b, if you get shot will reving it you have to rev it again, so bassically run up to bad dude rev *press and hold b* and bang you got one gutted locust.
WetWired, the chainsaw bayonett is only on one of the guns. (not the machinegun you start with in the prison, the other one)
It is on the lancer, the full auto one not the burst fire one.
anyone got any news on this free xbox live thing thats apparently just started for the weekend? had any luck? I'll be trying it tonight when i get home from work..

also psycho have you had any dramas with you wireless network card? would you say it's worth getting one?
The xbox wireless addon and arial?...works like a charm here mate. Never had a drop out, it is on a network and my wireless modem/router is the Dynalink RTA1025W, which according to a lot of posts over at Whirlpool puts out a s*** hot signal strength, thus far I have to agree with them.

The router/modem is in my study and the xbox is in the lounge with 3 large rooms in between, a 2.4 cordless phone system, kitchen stuff ect..ect.. and its rock solid. Considering the xbox wireless doohicky is tucked in the bottom of a home theatre cabinet with the arial up against a solid timber back, with a s***load of Hi-Fi, Home Theatre crap & electrical cabling all around it, I would have to say it performs amazingly well.

thrax
Psycho!, I've been trying to invite you to a co-op game for days now!

oh this is very short notice, I've managed to get a few people to come to Switchlan this weekend to have some mulit player action with gears of war. should be sweet!
http://card.mygamercard.net/sig/thraxjor.png

last edited by thrax at 00:15:03 25/Nov/06
thrax mate thanks dude, but my son has been on xbox live using my tag. He informed me today that someone called thrax was asking him to play...sorry mate. Things are chaotic here at the moment, we are moving house this weekend to our rental at Chapel hill.

How do you create another xbox live profile so someone else can play with their proper game name ect// I am a noob in this area.

We will be offline for a few days until the telstra guy comes to our rental and hooks us up with a nice ADSL2 connection. I'll hunt you down then.
cheers

maybe you could write a users guide to how gumby xbox newbs can locate, contact and connect in online games? Hosting and stuff.
ham water
ZOMFGXBOX360 IS AWEOME GOW IS AWESOME OTHER GAMES IS AWESOME WOOOOT <3
Sign out of your account (press x) and the option to make another account will appear.
I'm up to that boss dude with the birds around him on the train, how far is that into it?
that's the end
thats the end, ps run up to where he was standing when you first encounter him and use the turreted gun thingo, wait for him to release birds fire untill dead. i spent a day tryign to figure out how to kill that f***er, i even stooped low enough to read a walk through, little did i realise a f***ing turret gun thingo was up there.
Keato
Someone post some screenshots !!
Tim Tibbetts
I can't say I used the turret :) I suspect that on the harder levels of difficulty you would need to though.
torque bow is all you need =P
Keato, Location = Netherlands, WTF !

You move again Dalton?
Anyone have trouble with the pushable car getting stuck half way down the road most of the time? Freaking bugs.
hmm finished it, kinda disappointing, I'm beginning to think I should have bought rainbow 6 vegas
Anyone have trouble with the pushable car getting stuck half way down the road most of the time? Freaking bugs

that the level my son and I did in co-op, funnily enough the first time I pushed the car I too thought it halting was a bug, then we tried itagain with both of us pushing and it does indeed stop there, but when you analyse it it does it for a reason. a) there is a big are chucnk of concrete in front of it and :
b) It juuussst gets you close enough for someone to dive and roll left into the builing and flank the dude spewing lead with the turret. If its the same pushable car we are taling about then no I don't think it is a bug. Just cleverly laid out stuff to test and frustrate your progress. :)

I tell you what I reckon the engine is glorious, up until now I would have given the top slot to Source but this Unreal 3 tech looks very tasty indeed. Imagine what she will look like on dx10 capable cards/sytems ect..
I would have thought it was where it is supposed to stop as well except the 1st time I tried it went all the way to the end. Maybe that was the bug and not what its doing now?

Oh well, will push on.
One of the games boba and I were playing, both of us pushing the car flipped it completely over when it got to the end. But the next time through it wouldnt do it.
yeah, like me and dan were both pushing yo momma, and the first time we fully flipped her over, but the second time, she just wouldn't budge
Sent my xbox in today for repair. Xbox support were very clear that I shouldn't send my xbox 360 back in it's original box. So I found another suitable box to send it in.

http://xesla.ro/static/images/xbox/1.jpg

http://xesla.ro/static/images/xbox/2.jpg

http://xesla.ro/static/images/xbox/3.jpg
lmao gg stinky
i want a xbox360 now :(