Topic: Going to Thailand WOOPWOOP

Me and some mates are going to thailand in early January for about 3 weeks (4 nights bangkok, 4 nights koh samui, rest at phuket), anyway I was wondering if anyone here had been and want to share some tips, stories, or whatever.

We havent planned anything solid as such, however we know we are goning to do the following
- Tours, atractions
- Elephant rides, like on Babar but with humans
- bungy jumping
- ATV tours (f***kk yeahhh)
- check out some muay thai fights
- get blind every night and party
- play some golf on what I expect to be awesome courses - the green fee's are expensive
- Jet skiing & Parasailing (probably not, depending on safety s***)

Anything else people can suggest?

i have a friend that went, and by the storys he told me i can assure you that you will have a blast, just stay away from the thai bitches and ladyboys. also dont feel bad about offering the locals money for anything, eg, please drive us around in this cab while we throw squirt people with water pistols, heres $50 tell me when the meter gets to $25 and ill give you another $50.
sifnt get some prosties while you're there.. that's half the fun!
i really wanted to go over late january.. but see how the finances hold up
When I went to bali one the best things I thought about taking, was 9 toliet rolls and 3 packs of condoms.
forget prosties, just hit up the girls that all want a white husband.. just don't tell them you're leaving.. until you leave.
there should be enough hot traveling bitches to f***, so asif prosties, unless you are a truckie or a retard
I was in backschlong 8 months ago for a few days. Go to MBK shopping center/markets. It's like garden city but 100 times bigger.

Bargain every price you see cause chances are they'll doubled the price once they notice you're a cash loaded white boy.

last edited by Booyah at 23:36:42 07/Nov/06
^^ yeah maybe on a contiki tour bahaha
pingpong show
full moon party
underage sex

Thailand is the AIDs capital (per capita) of the world.
Geez, everyone seems to be going to Thailand atm...what's the attraction?
Finno
yeah i'm going same time. Make sure you go to Ko Phangan (North of Ko Samui) .January 4 is the Full Moon Festival. It's basically a massive beach party. Get there early though, or you won't find accommodation.

Go up to Chiang Mai and do hill tribe treks, you might even get to smoke opium with hill tribe elders.

Dont' stay in phuket. It's too westernised. It'll be like Gold Coast, but with heaps of Indians. From Phuket, try and go to Ko Phi Phi. You can stay on the island too, much better than phuket.

and yeah groydis is right, if a thai girl is dressed up and 'good looking', it's usually coz she's a he.
Simes

I'm going to Thailand late in december after christmas, for new years. Staying in bangkok, phuket and on phi phi island. Its gonna be f***en aaaaawesome.
make sure you hire some ladyboys
+1 to thailand bandwagon

i am going late january to phuket, phi phi and koh samui. making sure to avoid bangkok, everyone who has been there says its a f***en horrible place.

re: full moon festival, apparently you just cant rock up anymore... you have to have tickets well in advance. we already have ours organised.

i know one guy who went to thailand for the sole purpose of f***ing bitches, and he did succeed. 21 girls in 16 days, he is a cashed up f***en ugly miner c***. he said for he was getting multiple hot bitches for $30 each that would do crazy s*** (inc. licking his dirty miner ass) and if they didnt want to something he requested, he would offer another $2 and they would spring into action. f***en sickening.

another mate went for adventure, and found himself on a cattle farm type place where the owner was offering interesting ways to dispose of his cows.
this included grenades, machine guns, bazookas... whole heap of s***.
he opted for a grenade and blew the s*** out of the cow, then the locals promptly ran around collecting the chunks of meat. who needs a butcher?!

wacky s***
Man the food over there is just awesome. The booze is cheap and women do anything you want for the right price.
ride the tsunamis!
happy finish ?
Notice how you are all going to the same places ... They are basically the bogan holiday hangouts. The activies you all mentioned you can do in lots of different places... Bali (and a few other islands in Indonesia), Philipines etc etc ... Infact you could prolly do it at the Gold Coast.

eg.
- bungy jumping ..... Yup, Gold Coast
- ATV tours (f***kk yeahhh) ..... Yup, Gold Coast
- check out some muay thai fights ..... Yup, Gold Coast
- get blind every night and party ..... Yup, Gold Coast
- play some golf on what I expect to be awesome courses - the green fee's are expensive ..... Yup, Gold Coast
- Jet skiing & Parasailing (probably not, depending on safety s***) ..... Yup, Gold Coast

imo Grab a Loney Planet guide and do something other then get drunk and be a bogan for atleast 1 day. You spent a bunch of money to get there, go see/experience soemthing unique to that culture/place.

eg.
Kanchanaburi ... the Death Railway and Bridge on the River Kwai
Ayutthaya (the old capital), Chang mai (nice place thats not a beach)
But in Bangkok .. the Grand Palace, Wat Pho, Thonburi canals
Day trips out of bangkok .. floating markets, Nakhon Pathom

Also if you are getting clothes made, remember that a suit will take ATLEAST 1 measurement and 1 fitting. That means ATLEAST 24 hours, a good one might want to do 2 or 3 fitings depending on how f***ed up your body shape is (ie. anywhere up to 4 days). Once they have the measurements right tho, they can make it for you and send it to you.

And finally Mahboonkrong NPK for the shopping.

Just my 2c worth.
Coochie
do not go elephant riding it is the most boring thing ever.
Geez, everyone seems to be going to Thailand atm...what's the attraction?

Aussie chicks don't put out anymore.
gross! the germs would be jumping on your schlong before you even put it in.

sarki sarki 5 dorrah?
Finno
agree with obes regarding the bogan activities.

We're doing scuba in Ko Tao & Ko Phi Phi, hill tribe treks & elephant treks in Chiang Mai, the full moon festival in Ko Phangan, and avoiding the touristy places (phuket) like the plague. I'm going with my gf so i'll get some aids-free loving - local girls in thailand have never ever appeared on my To-Do list anyway.

I do know that you need to take your own rubbers, as the 1x1" piece of cling wrap they pass off as a dom probably comes with aids in the packet.

but yeah, avoid the typical touristy stuff and see some culture, and you'll still be able to have a few $1 beers on the way to satisfy your inner bogan. Spend little time in bangkok - just for shopping - and venture outside of the city.
make sure you catch speed boats to and from the full moon party for extra good times!
Simes

I'm just going to get drunk and root bitches. I know I can do that on the gold coast, but f*** spending all that money on petrol getting there and back!
QGL meet @ thailand ftw! we can all rock up to a brothel and f*** some chix with aids.. 2 rubbers on my doodle thx.
So what if we just wanna go to root euro tourists and get magget. You are an old c*** who needs places like thailand so you can look at some chick at a location that doesnt end with dotcom. EDIT: dont assume they are the only things we are going to do, secondly just cause you can do it at the goldcoast doesnt mean the thailand holiday is pointless.

We miss out on fullmoonparty which f***en sucks (checked the dates).

All the dudes saying stay away from the touristy places, we are only going for 3 weeks, once uni and shiz is finished I will probably go back sometime for a longer period.

Anyway, we wont be staying in our hotel rooms for 3 weeks, knowing us we will do our own exploring.

last edited by ctd at 17:23:51 08/Nov/06
nat
haha looks like i might be going too, on my way back from canadia
I'm just going to get drunk and root bitches.

Well atleast you'll get drunk

I know I can do that on the gold coast, but f*** spending all that money on petrol getting there and back!

Well you can try on the coast too ...
And its not the petrol that costs you all the money ... its all the child minding fees for the single internet mums you hit on!
Simes

But obes, they aren't mums just yet, pregnant 16 year olds, remember?

and dont drag me down to your level just because you're teh gumby at picking up women!

last edited by casa at 10:36:09 09/Nov/06
You aren't allowed to count picking up your BEST MATE's ex-girl friend (when he was still pretending they weren't ex's) either!!!

Also yes pregnant 16 year olds ... but you were just driving her everywhere... and driving doesn't count
I was there last week.

Been reading with some of the posts that have been made already, and there are some things I both agree and disagree with.

- Don't stay too long in Bangkok. There are some cool things to do, but when it comes down to it it's still a pretty filthy place to be and the air quality is s***house, so you will feel fairly dodgy after a while.
- Phuket is fairly touristy and commercialised, but who cares? You can still do some really great stuff there. The shopping is awesome, the beaches are nice, there is always something happening each night (especially in Patong) and you can do it all fairly cheaply.
- Seriously haggle the s*** out of everything. You may feel like a bastard at first, but after a while you will discover how much mark up they put on their stuff, which means they have a lot of room to give.
- If you are catching a tuk tuk or unmetered cab, set your price before you get in and be firm on it. Again, they will try to rip you off wherever possible. Case in point - we caught an unmetered cab from Bangkok airport into the MBK shopping mall, then a metered one back to the airport. The metered one was less than half the price of the unmetered. It was still fairly cheap anyways, but it just goes to show what they get away with when dealing with tourists.
- I got 2 suits and a winter coast tailored while I was over there. If you are going to get something done, shop around as it really pays to do it. There are thousands and thousands of tailors over there, its unbelievable. Make sure you also pick your own fabric - don't go with something they suggest, as chances are its fairly dodgy. But you can pretty much get anything you want made - you just show them a picture and they will do it. And yes, you will need at least 1 fitting, so if you want to do it perhaps organise it on the first day. I had a pretty good guy sort me out in Karon - if you are staying near there I will give you his details if you want.
- Definately do some sort of tour/adventure thing. We went to Phi Phi islands on a speedboat tour. Went snorkelling, swimming, etc. It was really cool - the water is crystal clear, sand snow white and the fish and coral are spectacular. It's usually an all day thing where they feed you, give you good time at each place to check everything out and you meet some pretty cool people too. There are several companies that organise these sorts of tours, and you can find brochures everywhere. Your hotel will probably even book it for you.
- There are other cool things to do though at Phuket - they have a shooting range, paintball, ATV, paragliding, jet skiiing, etc. Just depends on how much you want to pack in.
- I was with my girlfriend on the trip so I wasn't scouting for ladies, but from what I saw even the ugliest guy in the world would have a fairly succesful conversion rate there. And you don't necessarily have to pay for the privilege...
- I went to Chang Mai the last time I was there (1989 I think) and from memory it was pretty cool. You can head up to the mountains, check out elephants and locals, and there are some pretty full on markets there too.

and finally...

- One pretty handy tip I got was when you get to Bangkok, go grab a couple of cartons of cheap ciggies from duty free and use packets as little tips/bribes/whatever, whenever someone does something for you. They really appreciate it (although they are the nicest people in the world so they appreciate anything), and in some cases it makes them go that extra mile for you in terms of whatever it is they are selling/doing for you. Best of all, they work out to be like AUS$1 per packet, so you don't drop much. I bought too many so I have a carton sitting upstairs at the moment - they look pretty foul...

I think that's it for the moment. It seems like its a right of passage for Aussies to go to Thailand, so you will hear heaps of different info/advice/stories, some of which will conflict. If you are going to bang women, make sure you wrap it up tighter than tupperware. Make sure you get all your immunisations done too, the earlier the better!
Haggle :)

Also stay away form tuk-tuk's they are stingy c***s.
Also anyone offering you s*** for free. there are some very serious con men in bangkok.
Lastly, get out of there as soon as you can and visit the purrrrdy places in thailand :) its a world of differance :)

thats awesome info zak... ciggie tip is geniusssss!

was there any particular brand that they liked?

also, are the suits really worth it? like price/quality

last edited by StreX at 21:51:37 09/Nov/06
f*** yeah zak, madddddc***
don't run a tab at the bar pay as you go.

don't eat salad. peel any fruit.

you do not want to visit his sponsor, you just want to go straight to location such and such.

don't budget for your suits based on window prices, you will pay more to get what you actually want. Find someone you like, go with them. You can order more once they have your measurements.

stay out of southern thailand

Ciggie brands - not really. The local ones all have pretty funny names. I think I bought a brand called falling rain or something. I checked them out in convenience stores in Phuket, and they were double the price of duty free, so its good value.

Suits - again, be careful about it. You can negotiate, but just make sure you are firm on the fabric you want, as there are many stories of them being dodgy and changing it. And if you want anything altered or fixed before you buy, make them do it before you pay. You do have to give them a deposit once you agree for them to make you one, but don't ever give them as much as they ask for - they will take anything, no matter how small the amount.

I'm really happy with the quality of mine. The only issue I have had so far is that I ripped a button off my winter coat, but that was my fault anyways, and I had put it under a fair bit of pressure before it happened. I got waistcoats made with them which was cool because I don't think they do it often so they were really careful with it. I was going to get them to make me one like that brown one in Napoleon Dynamite, but I didn't have a picture with me, haha. But yeah, if you see something you like, just show them and they can make it. Like I said if you are going to Karon beach I can put you in touch with the guy who did mine. He has MSN/Yahoo and a webcame in his shop, so if you ever want something done once you have left Thailand, he has your measurements and can show you the fabrics and designs on his camera.
zak ,What was the price like/what did you have made?
nat
re: full moon festival, apparently you just cant rock up anymore... you have to have tickets well in advance. we already have ours organised.

strex mate, whats the dealio with the tickets?? we wanna go to the feb bash (same as u, i believe :D). i just had a look at http://fullmoonparty-thailand.com/ and it says no tickets are required..? if they are, where do i buy em?!
hmm.. i dont really know much info, one of the girls i am going with has organised it all through travel agents. best bet is to speak to yours and get some updated info.

next qgl meet: full moon par-tay feb 3
Finno
yeah I couldn't find any info on tickets, though I expect the jan 3rd one will be big enough because of New Years to warrant tickets. Did you get conned even before you got into Thailand?? hehe.

I read an article in GQ or somewhere about a guy who got a suit at a standard tailor in thailand, and took it to one of nicer tailors in LA, and even that tailor said it was worth it for the price... just don't expect it to last as long as other suits.
nat

i concur!

strex and ctd, add me: ministryofnat at hotmail
I will be leaving before then, sucks. We picked it perfectly in between the jan and feb moon parties.